Need advise: component and player

zennn
post Jul 17 2012, 01:59 AM

no more eclipse, kenwood bought them over, if i heard correctly...
turion64
post Jul 17 2012, 10:05 AM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 16 2012, 07:24 PM)
Below rm500 i would guess that Pioneer and Alpine is about the same in terms of SQ, BUT Pioneer has more tuning options like EQ. I feel that Clarion might be ok also, but have yet to test. I'm not sure if Eclipse is still available in the market.
Kenwood is ok for the price but isnt as good SQ wise. Dun even touch Sony or china HUs unless your budget is really tight.

Your answer is Yes IMO.
really thanks for the info bro.
any specific model to recommend that is value for money...im looking for iphone connectivity & usb mp3 function...
krayden
post Jul 17 2012, 02:12 PM

578 posts

no, just go with whichever got iphone/usb then whatever suits your budget. PLease be informed that a used Pioneer p8rsii rm1k will blow these sub rm500 HUs out of the water, so something ese to think about if you can stretch your budget.
turion64
post Jul 17 2012, 02:50 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 17 2012, 02:12 PM)
no, just go with whichever got iphone/usb then whatever suits your budget. PLease be informed that a used Pioneer p8rsii rm1k will blow these sub rm500 HUs out of the water, so something ese to think about if you can stretch your budget.
which brand should i go for if at similiar price/functions? let's say Rm500 with a usb/iphone function
newtoapple
post Jul 17 2012, 02:51 PM

56 posts

the sound quality from iphone or MP3 good meh?
Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2012, 03:06 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jul 17 2012, 02:50 PM)
which brand should i go for if at similiar price/functions? let's say Rm500 with a usb/iphone function
can look up on alpine/pioneer models. *may* need to top up a bit for iphone if im not mistaken

Added on July 17, 2012, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(newtoapple @ Jul 17 2012, 02:51 PM)
the sound quality from iphone or MP3  good meh?
why not? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 17 2012, 03:06 PM
krayden
post Jul 17 2012, 03:09 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jul 17 2012, 02:50 PM)
P
I
O
N
E
E
R

Step 1: make sure got ipon/usb support. check whether HU got ipon control or you have to manually molest ipon while driving. make sure got free ipon cable. select appropriately.
Step 2: choose any model that you feel you want to spend at the time. EQ useful (more band better), Crossover not useful, Time Allignment (if no amp) not useful.
Step 3: make sure price is with installation or else check automotive garage for cheaper price. HU installation cost is rm20
in 1980, now is rm80?
Step 4: make sure you feel it looks pretty
Step 5: nego with taukeh some more and make him promise to tune to champion car level.
Step 6: get your friend to call you, then say loud loud "walau rmxxx only ah? where ah this shop? pioneer xxx model woh? got installation or not? okok i go now" then slowly walk out.
Step 7: agree on final price
Step 8: DO NOT buy anything else without consulting the sifus here. otherwise you cry later also no use.
Step 9: DO NOT go home. Stay there and watch everthing they do. When they finish, test ipon, usb, CD, radio, off-on-off, set clock, make sure display no dead pixel, take home everything including box and foam.
Step 10: post a new thread on what to buy next.

Added on July 17, 2012, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2012, 03:06 PM)
why not? smile.gif
uh oh.....

This post has been edited by krayden: Jul 17 2012, 03:10 PM
Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2012, 03:12 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 17 2012, 03:09 PM)
P
I
O
N
E
E
R

Step 1: make sure got ipon/usb support. check whether HU got ipon control or you have to manually molest ipon while driving. make sure got free ipon cable. select appropriately.
Step 2: choose any model that you feel you want to spend at the time. EQ useful (more band better), Crossover not useful, Time Allignment (if no amp) not useful.
Step 3: make sure price is with installation or else check automotive garage for cheaper price. HU installation cost is rm20
               in 1980, now is rm80?
Step 4: make sure you feel it looks pretty
Step 5: nego with taukeh some more and make him promise to tune to champion car level.
Step 6: get your friend to call you, then say loud loud "walau rmxxx only ah? where ah this shop? pioneer xxx model woh? got installation or not? okok i go now" then slowly walk out.
Step 7: agree on final price
Step 8: DO NOT buy anything else without consulting the sifus here. otherwise you cry later also no use.
Step 9: DO NOT go home. Stay there and watch everthing they do. When they finish, test ipon, usb, CD, radio, off-on-off, set clock, make sure display no dead pixel, take home everything including box and foam.
Step 10: post a new thread on what to buy next.

Added on July 17, 2012, 3:10 pm
uh oh.....
^

your complete guide to car audio (aka ICE)

=edit=
i will shoot down every single purist i see rolleyes.gif

of course, if they keep it to themselves, i will do the same tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 17 2012, 03:14 PM
turion64
post Jul 17 2012, 03:14 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2012, 03:12 PM)
^

=edit=
i will shoot down every single purist i see  rolleyes.gif

Hahahhaa. nice bro...very funny..
krayden
post Jul 17 2012, 07:31 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2012, 03:12 PM)
^

=edit=
i will shoot down every single purist i see  rolleyes.gif

I am also the kinda purist you speak off.
I will give you equal SQ on FLAC or any other lossless. Actually wont know till someone decides to bring in a FLAC player. Until then I will accord lossless media equal status.
Mp3....... Got diff, whether you encode like you're a sound enggr or a garage enthusiast, got diff.
Not so much on every system, most ppl may not hear it. But I heard it on my old system. So it makes a diff to me. Your choice of media is exactly that, your choice. You can listen to 64kbps for all I care.

Thats why I never particapated in your ongoing verbal battle with Mr. Night-and-day.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2012, 02:58 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 17 2012, 07:31 PM)
I am also the kinda purist you speak off.
I will give you equal SQ on FLAC or any other lossless. Actually wont know till someone decides to bring in a FLAC player. Until then I will accord lossless media equal status.
Mp3....... Got diff, whether you encode like you're a sound enggr or a garage enthusiast, got diff.
Not so much on every system, most ppl may not hear it. But I heard it on my old system. So it makes a diff to me. Your choice of media is exactly that, your choice. You can listen to 64kbps for all I care.

Thats why I never particapated in your ongoing verbal battle with Mr. Night-and-day.
icon_rolleyes.gif
itu tau la, but as i said, if you dont kacau people or me, i could really care less laugh.gif

yeah, really cant tell for sure until someone actually have a FLAC HU, or balls enough to do DBT/ABX testings wink.gif

to me it was really that simple, whatever choice people have, it's their choice, what for i want to care about it as music is such a personal and subjective matter aye? it just hit my buttons when people are going "OMG MUST CD" regardless if the person they are harping at voiced out their own choice or now shakehead.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Jul 18 2012, 07:33 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

*keeps quiet*

lol

may I add that I do listen to MP3s too at times since it at least offers better quality than Radio. I'm not forcing ppl to buy CDs, merely stating that CDs are better than MP3s and if you can afford, should try out some CDs if you haven't.

~END~

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Jul 18 2012, 07:38 PM
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2012, 09:25 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 18 2012, 07:33 PM)
*keeps quiet*

lol

may I add that I do listen to MP3s too at times since it at least offers better quality than Radio. I'm not forcing ppl to buy CDs, merely stating that CDs are better than MP3s and if you can afford, should try out some CDs if you haven't.

~END~
^

that's not keeping quiet rolleyes.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Jul 19 2012, 12:33 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Thats why i say may I add tongue.gif laugh.gif
JakzT
post Jul 24 2012, 02:00 PM

455 posts

My xtrail also same as TS, 4 speaker only 1 work other 3 no sounds.
Can recommend me front component speaker and HU?
HU I'm looking for Pioneer 5450 Mixtrax unit..
TSxtjs
post Jul 28 2012, 04:02 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(JakzT @ Jul 24 2012, 02:00 PM)
My xtrail also same as TS, 4 speaker only 1 work other 3 no sounds.
Can recommend me front component speaker and HU?
HU I'm looking for Pioneer 5450 Mixtrax unit..
i miss my original speakers

it works well with radio

the current component set, only certain radio channels r clear... i am not sure why....
some channels like got hissing breaking sound.

cd and usb no problem

JakzT
post Jul 31 2012, 04:48 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 28 2012, 04:02 PM)

it works well with radio

the current component set, only certain radio channels r clear... i am not sure why....

cd and usb no problem
Ya,original speakers are good.
But now I still dunno want to change what brand component..
howiechoo
post Aug 1 2012, 10:13 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

it works well with radio

cd and usb no problem
usually this problem is because ur new component set are able to produce higher frequency range than your oem speaker which muffled every details from the weak radio signal. suggest u check your antenna and radio reception....i believe you will find that your new speaker sound more cleaner/detail or even sharper than your oem speakers.

Added on August 1, 2012, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(JakzT @ Jul 31 2012, 04:48 PM)
Ya,original speakers are good.
But now I still dunno want to change what brand component..
i do agree ori is good, but after market is excellent smile.gif If you change to a proper 1

This post has been edited by howiechoo: Aug 1 2012, 10:14 PM
turion64
post Aug 2 2012, 11:56 AM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

it works well with radio

cd and usb no problem
hehe same here. after changing to component can hear every detail of the song. need some getting used to when listening to radio...as it produce 'more refined' hissing noise when the reception is bad biggrin.gif
jeff07
post Aug 2 2012, 10:28 PM

any one have experience with HU alpine w520E...quality sound or else...pls advice... im looking to change HU....any 1 can advice me

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0252sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:41 PM