Need advise: component and player

TSxtjs
post Jul 4 2012, 08:13 AM, updated 14y ago

43 posts

i am not into ice...

just recently my x-trail speakers gave up one by one

yesterday i paid a visit to the acc shop and got some things done as what recommended. i did not want something exp as i am not into ice and most of the time listen to radio/fm only smile.gif

the part which is making me wonder is... the shop rec. me to put from n back components... and i did it since the x-trail had 4 speakers and i wanted to change all since faulty

front n back were installed with JBL CS-6C Speakers (6 1/2 2 way component ) rm300 each set, so total rm600.. apart from this had to pay rm38x2 for some spacers.... looks expensive

thats all i did despite some asking to add the amp n change the player.

so now the car is fitted with a component set in front and back + tweeter in front n back too

and i have just realised in this forum a component is only for the front. i kept asking the installer if ppl installed components for the back and he said it very common.

is this set up ok for normal usage? first i did not like the sound but after some playing with the player setting, managed to get something acceptable.

is the component speakers ok?

now thinking of changing the player.. will they be any improvement? my old player is 8 years old clarion DX-Z53s. cd is jammed n not working. only use the radio.

What player to get? they reco me the kenwood KDC-U453(USB, MP3,) RM360

Is this model ok and will there be any improvement? Or shall i go for a better set?

Is an amp necessary ? will it improve this set? was reco an adam digital 1200 4 channel amp@ rm520.

Kindly advise.

krayden
post Jul 4 2012, 10:11 AM

578 posts

It sounds like you got some ICE poison, despite your first sentence.

Its not common for ICERs to put any speakers at the back, let alone comps. Should use the rm600 to get better speakers in front. But since its ordy in then just leave it.

You can change HU to get Mp3 if you want. The Kenwood might actually be a downgrade from your Clarion, sound wise. Go look for a Pioneer or Clarion, at that budget range.

I think you can decide on the amp later later after the HU change. See whether you need it or not. In any case, i dun suggest the adams unless you need power on a tight budget.

TSxtjs
post Jul 4 2012, 10:48 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 4 2012, 10:11 AM)
It sounds like you got some ICE poison, despite your first sentence.

Its not common for ICERs to put any speakers at the back, let alone comps. Should use the rm600 to get better speakers in front. But since its ordy in then just leave it.

You can change HU to get Mp3 if you want. The Kenwood might actually be a downgrade from your Clarion, sound wise. Go look for a Pioneer or Clarion, at that budget range.

I think you can decide on the amp later later after the HU change. See whether you need it or not. In any case, i dun suggest the adams unless you need power on a tight budget.
yup

the poison is a bit there.

i have the budget but dont wish to spend unless necessary since i am also looking for another ride.

Thanks for the advise. I will look for a pioneer perhaps. Any reco models? what about alpine?

Dont know why the shop reco a kenwood... perhaps to cut my throat.....
krayden
post Jul 4 2012, 10:56 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 4 2012, 10:48 AM)
yup

the poison is a bit there.

i have the budget but dont wish to spend unless necessary since i am also looking for another ride.

Thanks for the advise. I will look for a pioneer perhaps. Any reco models? what about alpine?

Dont know why the shop reco a kenwood... perhaps to cut my throat.....
Its never necessary. No radio also still can drive.
For rm500 or less better stick with Pioneer. Any pioneer that fits your budget. Alpine is above 500 is ok but they all lack tuning options like EQ.
Shops like Kenwood cause for that price you get all the tuning options and fancy display but you trade off the sound quality.
Its not terrible, just get what is important to you. At least you're not looking at china HUs.
newtoapple
post Jul 4 2012, 12:29 PM

56 posts

Once bitten with ICE ...never twice shy...even you always listen to the radio...not everycar sounds the same.
TSxtjs
post Jul 4 2012, 12:34 PM

43 posts

i will look for a pioneer.
any good shops in penang? or pj?

i dont mind pushing budget higher for a better player if the sound is better without amp

or shall i add an amp together.... lets see.

Quazacolt
post Jul 4 2012, 12:36 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 4 2012, 12:34 PM)

i will look for a pioneer.
any good shops in penang? or pj?

i dont mind pushing budget higher for a better player if the sound is better without amp

or shall i add an amp together.... lets see.
pj can look for either kf audio/audio creations.

however if you dont mind going further to bukit jalil, can find howiechoo (EA autoworks) who's very active on LYN too smile.gif
TSxtjs
post Jul 4 2012, 12:52 PM

43 posts

i will see if if have time to look around pj or bukit jalil. will be only there this weekend else will look in penang.
MyWifeCar
post Jul 4 2012, 02:38 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Recommending you Kenwood doesn't mean the shop is waiting to chop you. Shops do tend to push for brand that they are carrying most of time, unless they are carrying numerous different brand at the same time.

Since you keep on insisting that you are not into ICE, I'm guessing you tell the shop the same thing too, selling you Kenwood would be the most appropriate way. Since it has so many functions and cheap on the per price per function ratio.

But I will wonder why is he selling you comp set at the back, you car rear door original comes with tweeter holder/area ah?

TSxtjs
post Jul 4 2012, 02:55 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jul 4 2012, 02:38 PM)

Recommending you Kenwood doesn't mean the shop is waiting to chop you. Shops do tend to push for brand that they are carrying most of time, unless they are carrying numerous different brand at the same time.

Since you keep on insisting that you are not into ICE, I'm guessing you tell the shop the same thing too, selling you Kenwood would be the most appropriate way. Since it has so many functions and cheap on the per price per function ratio.

But I will wonder why is he selling you comp set at the back, you car rear door original comes with tweeter holder/area ah?
thats the issue... maybe wan to chop me into getting the comp behind. nope. the tweeter was fitted by making a hole the door panel.

btw i am not into ice so is component at the back really weird?

first i went to the shop with the intention of checking why 3 out of my 4 speakers (ori) failed. they said its the lifespan and i asked them about the components for the front. there was some cheaper brand he reco, some banana or something....but i was asking for something else/

then he mention this jbl under promo rm300

so i was ok with it... got it installed. then the sound was like from front n back (1 speaker-ori)
should have asked him to remove the back speaker but as i am a stupid icer, i ask him what about the back?
he ask to fix the same set... and i stupidly agreed. haiizz

i kept asking him if ppl installed component behind? he said is common... *&^%...

lucky i did not go with their recommended amp n player.

anything wrong with this setup?

This post has been edited by xtjs: Jul 4 2012, 02:57 PM
MyWifeCar
post Jul 4 2012, 04:43 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 4 2012, 02:55 PM)
thats the issue... maybe wan to chop me into getting the comp behind. nope. the tweeter was fitted by making a hole  the door panel.

btw i am not into ice so is component at the back really weird?
first i went to the shop with the intention of checking why 3 out of my 4 speakers (ori) failed. they said its the lifespan and i asked them about the components for the front. there was some cheaper brand he reco, some banana or something....but i was asking for something else/

then he mention this jbl under promo rm300

so i was ok with it... got it installed. then the sound was like from front n back (1 speaker-ori)
should have asked him to remove the back speaker but as i am a stupid icer, i ask him what about the back?
he ask to fix the same set... and i stupidly agreed. haiizz

i kept asking him if ppl installed component behind? he said is common... *&^%...

lucky i did not go with their recommended amp n player.

anything wrong with this setup?
Errr.... chop or not, I can't really comment lar... I wasn't there at the time of the incident to see your face expression and the selller punya face expression.

Anyway, knowing that you are not free and getting you to survey around would be impossible.

So coincidence that you are free this weekend, why not : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2399500
It will definitely save your time surveying in shops (Which you mainly go also to check price).

All fellow icers are consumer like you. I'm guessing what they share will make more sense to you.

Do take note that one of the shop owner will be there, and there is also one car that you should not jump into.

Quazacolt
post Jul 4 2012, 04:53 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jul 4 2012, 04:43 PM)
Errr.... chop or not, I can't really comment lar... I wasn't there at the time of the incident to see your face expression and the selller punya face expression.

Anyway, knowing that you are not free and getting you to survey around would be impossible.

So coincidence that you are free this weekend, why not : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2399500
It will definitely save your time surveying in shops (Which you mainly go also to check price).

All fellow icers are consumer like you. I'm guessing what they share will make more sense to you.

Do take note that one of the shop owner will be there, and there is also one car that you should not jump into.

whos car? brows.gif
krayden
post Jul 4 2012, 05:18 PM

578 posts

howie's car?

Quazacolt
post Jul 4 2012, 05:31 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 4 2012, 05:18 PM)
howie's car?
he dun let me sit inside also cry.gif
garykam
post Jul 4 2012, 06:37 PM

145 posts

i very interested on krayden car brows.gif
TSxtjs
post Jul 4 2012, 06:48 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(garykam @ Jul 4 2012, 06:37 PM)
i very interested on krayden car  brows.gif
well, i would love to join the tt but but ..... sure get poisoned..
how far is his shop from pj?

i am also not sure where to stay yet... supposingly should be pj as i will be attending a seminar at uem centre.
krayden
post Jul 4 2012, 07:13 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(garykam @ Jul 4 2012, 06:37 PM)
i very interested on krayden car  brows.gif
Ah taikor, I also need to talk to you about wood.
Quazacolt
post Jul 4 2012, 07:17 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 4 2012, 07:13 PM)
Ah taikor, I also need to talk to you about wood.
what wood?
Nightstalker1993
post Jul 4 2012, 07:31 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Morning wood
MyWifeCar
post Jul 4 2012, 07:35 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 4 2012, 05:18 PM)
howie's car?

You really know how to crack jokes.

If you guys line up your cars during TT, Howie's car should be the last car... Hiding inside the bushes. What do you want to see in a stock setup car?

0.0221sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:24 AM