Need advise: component and player

Sh@rty 5
post Jul 4 2012, 07:49 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jul 4 2012, 02:38 PM)

Recommending you Kenwood doesn't mean the shop is waiting to chop you.
Shops do tend to push for brand that they are carrying most of time, unless they are carrying numerous different brand at the same time.

Since you keep on insisting that you are not into ICE, I'm guessing you tell the shop the same thing too, selling you Kenwood would be the most appropriate way. Since it has so many functions and cheap on the per price per function ratio.

nod.gif agree .

and for the price quoted, its a very reasonable price smile.gif
TSxtjs
post Jul 4 2012, 09:09 PM

43 posts

with this new set

i noticed more interference when using the radio sad.gif
garykam
post Jul 4 2012, 09:26 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 4 2012, 07:13 PM)
Ah taikor, I also need to talk to you about wood.
can can, no problem smile.gif
MyWifeCar
post Jul 4 2012, 09:31 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 4 2012, 09:09 PM)
with this new set

i noticed more interference when using the radio sad.gif
But you didn't change HU, how come got inteference??
krayden
post Jul 4 2012, 11:04 PM

578 posts

I tot got some keng liu estima to audit?
TSxtjs
post Jul 4 2012, 11:24 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jul 4 2012, 09:31 PM)
But you didn't change HU, how come got inteference??
i also dunno

i told u

i a stupid in ice... maybe reception of radio ..voice like breaking

.cd player not working so cant check

MyWifeCar
post Jul 5 2012, 07:04 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 4 2012, 11:24 PM)
i also dunno

i told u

i a stupid in ice... maybe reception of radio ..voice like breaking

.cd player not working so cant check
If you did not change the HU, then your radio reception should not be affected. Unless the installer accidentally hit the wire at the back.

Would suggest you to go back and check, but probably you really hate your installer already.

Anyway, the rear just put coaxial can already, so no need drill hole.

But some shops punya attitude is like this, always brag about their price only... But when it comes to installation, macam shiat. HPF and LPF also can terbalik. doh.gif
TSxtjs
post Jul 5 2012, 02:14 PM

43 posts

today went back to the shop

they insist my 8 yr old clarion player

they mention the new player has more power n the breaking sound can be avoided... is this true?

some radio channel are ok... some r breaking....

i cant test cd since its not working.

new players have a lot of diff?

saw few models

cde1213 alpine rm499 same shop
pn2450 ub pioneer rm425

100eub alpine rm440 to rm30 install - diff shop

Added on July 5, 2012, 2:33 pmregarding the interference, the said the old ori speakers were normal ones while the new got more bass which causes interference... dunno true or not

however he said if change player can solve

This post has been edited by xtjs: Jul 5 2012, 02:33 PM
kevyeoh
post Jul 5 2012, 02:56 PM

4,721 posts

bro...

so far when I play ice...normally just install the component set at the front...

BUT...it is also common for some to install both front and back...

so to be fair to the shop.... there are people who install both at front and back also... smile.gif nothing wrong to install component set at the back...

but from the 1st day i play ICE many many years ago until now, i always use front only la... rear no speaker at all... smile.gif except subwoofer at the back...

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 4 2012, 02:55 PM)
thats the issue... maybe wan to chop me into getting the comp behind. nope. the tweeter was fitted by making a hole  the door panel.

btw i am not into ice so is component at the back really weird?
first i went to the shop with the intention of checking why 3 out of my 4 speakers (ori) failed. they said its the lifespan and i asked them about the components for the front. there was some cheaper brand he reco, some banana or something....but i was asking for something else/

then he mention this jbl under promo rm300

so i was ok with it... got it installed. then the sound was like from front n back (1 speaker-ori)
should have asked him to remove the back speaker but as i am a stupid icer, i ask him what about the back?
he ask to fix the same set... and i stupidly agreed. haiizz

i kept asking him if ppl installed component behind? he said is common... *&^%...

lucky i did not go with their recommended amp n player.

anything wrong with this setup?
MyWifeCar
post Jul 5 2012, 05:02 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 5 2012, 02:14 PM)

they mention the new player has more power n the breaking sound can be avoided... is this true?

saw few models
pn2450 ub  pioneer rm425

Added on July 5, 2012, 2:33 pmregarding the interference, the said the old ori speakers were normal ones while the new got more bass which causes interference... dunno true or not

laugh.gif New speaker cost interference ah? Die lar like that, next time if someone want to change or do minor upgrade to their ICE.... They better be prepared with shiat load of money, just to change everything.

Loads of crap~

Before this, was everything fine with your radio sound? Or you can't tell the difference because your speakers all kong already?
TSxtjs
post Jul 5 2012, 07:48 PM

43 posts

i gipe up

maybe its not interference ...could be hissing from tweeter

never use tweeter before

but some radio channel super clear... so...

shall i go for the pioneer set or alpine as posted above? or keep standard

MyWifeCar
post Jul 6 2012, 12:33 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 5 2012, 07:48 PM)
i gipe up

maybe its not interference ...could be hissing from tweeter

never use tweeter before
but some radio channel super clear... so...

shall i go for the pioneer set or alpine as posted above? or keep standard
Keep standard? I thought you said the CD part already cannot use?

Aiya, plenty of advice available... from cheap to expensive. Join the TT, all FOC... Sure you definitely have the idea what to get. Only 2 days ma...

Better than you now heart big heart small, couldn't decide what you want...

Now so many brand also headache right? Pioneer or Kenwood or Alpine or Clarion or McIntosh etc.

Sh@rty 5
post Jul 6 2012, 01:58 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 5 2012, 02:14 PM)

saw few models
pn2450 ub  pioneer rm425

if they insist on that why not ask them to get a clarion player to try plugging it onto your car, to see whether it solved the prob, remember to tell them, if problem isn't solve, you are not going to buy the hu thumbup.gif

100 ueb , a little overprice
Bongpb
post Jul 6 2012, 10:38 PM

54 posts

TS, not common to install component at back, but I did it, but adjust ur head unit so tat louder sound comes from your front speakers. And have you consider using eclipse player?
TSxtjs
post Jul 11 2012, 01:26 PM

43 posts

might get the pioneer 2450ub HU priced at rm420

ok or not?

saw the 5xxx model pioneer but price rm650 ... abit too high i guess.

MyWifeCar
post Jul 11 2012, 01:33 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 11 2012, 01:26 PM)

ok or not?

If the HU offer you the features that you need, and the price is within your budget.

But I will wonder if you are going back to the same shop...?
TSxtjs
post Jul 11 2012, 01:36 PM

43 posts

nope

prefer try others

btw i managed to get the cd player spinning for a while, tested the sound n seems ok ..no hissing or breaking... only certain radio channels only having this prob.

just need a new player now
krayden
post Jul 11 2012, 07:09 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(xtjs @ Jul 11 2012, 01:26 PM)

ok or not?

I hope that price includes installation.
turion64
post Jul 16 2012, 06:00 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

QUOTE(krayden @ Jul 4 2012, 10:56 AM)
Its never necessary. No radio also still can drive.
For rm500 or less better stick with Pioneer. Any pioneer that fits your budget. Alpine is above 500 is ok but they all lack tuning options like EQ.
Shops like Kenwood cause for that price you get all the tuning options and fancy display but you trade off the sound quality.
Its not terrible, just get what is important to you. At least you're not looking at china HUs.
bro, does it mean for below Rm500 budget pioneer HU have the best in terms of SQ?
krayden
post Jul 16 2012, 07:24 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Jul 16 2012, 06:00 PM)
bro, does it mean for below Rm500 budget pioneer HU have the best in terms of SQ?
Below rm500 i would guess that Pioneer and Alpine is about the same in terms of SQ, BUT Pioneer has more tuning options like EQ. I feel that Clarion might be ok also, but have yet to test. I'm not sure if Eclipse is still available in the market.
Kenwood is ok for the price but isnt as good SQ wise. Dun even touch Sony or china HUs unless your budget is really tight.

Your answer is Yes IMO.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0248sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:32 PM