Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

wokan
post Jul 1 2012, 09:30 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(urameshi81 @ Jul 1 2012, 02:37 PM)
Just got mine installed yesterday.

So far the line is stable and the speed is awesome....

Ping for me is ok...less than 10ms...
Maybe because mine is landed...

But for those staying in 2.5 or 3 storeys, you might face problem with the thomson router..
I put my router in my living room (ground floor) but i couldn't get any line in my room (highest 2nd floor). Very poor reception. Even if it can detect, the speed is lower than my previous streamyx (<1Mbps)

At the end need to buy those home plug.... After using the home plug, I can get speed of 10Mbps in my room. Download 1.5gb file in 1/2 hour.

Confirmed home plug is compatible with 3 phase wiring....
bro urameshi81, which home plug model you use ? Aztech which model ?
wokan
post Jul 1 2012, 10:28 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(urameshi81 @ Jul 1 2012, 09:40 PM)
Wokan,

I use Aztech model as D-Link is more expensive...

Living room: HL110EP(A) - pass through
Room: HL110EW-AR - Wireless
Thanks bro..I most probably going to get one also. Which model i dunno yet.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 1 2012, 10:34 PM
wokan
post Jul 3 2012, 11:03 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(seyuripa @ Jul 2 2012, 03:24 PM)
I just tried and deleted all my previous missed call or drop call but still not solve. The line is like very busy, keep engaging... I still don't know how come I can on Internet, if the line is busy. Maybe did I messed up the cordless phone settings?
Hi Seyuripa, you can login to Thomson gateway page and on Home page, click Telephony.
There is Configure link on the top right. Click that and you can see Telephony service configured.

Make sure the following:
1. Enabled Telephony is checked.
2. User name uri should be your maxis voip number (Eg: 03xxxxxxxx).
Port should be ALL.
Status column and Registered column should be Green (V).

If the Registered column shown as Red, goto Edit and specify the password.
The password should be maxis voip number + 1 (Eg: 03233018881). Click Apply.

It should now show as Green on the Registered column and the Maxis Thomson device light on Phone 1 and Phone 2
slot would be Solid Green. Please check that. If everything ok, test outgoing and incoming call.

If the Status column shown as Red, call up the Maxis FTTH support: 1800-82-4663.
The Customer service would be able to help you.

Hope this helps!

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 3 2012, 11:03 PM
wokan
post Jul 3 2012, 11:07 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(steventyy @ Jul 3 2012, 09:16 PM)
Hi all,

Wish to ask, how come i no need to login to access the thomson router?

I can access by just keyin 192.168.1.254, no password require.

Then if some one hack the wifi then they can easily configure the router?

I able to change the password of the user MAXISBB, but i dun need the password to login??  blink.gif

Any one got any idea?
Hi Steventyy, after you change the password for MAXISBB, restart/reboot the Maxis Thomson router.
If should now prompt you for password if I not mistaken.

Hope this helps!
wokan
post Jul 3 2012, 11:13 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jul 3 2012, 08:14 PM)
Oh craps...Just home, Thomson dead edy. Internet light RED color... After restart back to normal again.....zzzzzzz
Bro feizai, did you manage to check the Event log? It should be some error listed there.
If you have please post it up.

THanks.
wokan
post Jul 3 2012, 11:50 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 3 2012, 11:16 PM)
Dear  wokan,

Do you know the command of call forwarding ?
Call forwarding is not enable in the Thomson router I believe. Unfortunately I not into
hacking of this Thomson router. You may google for it.

Sorry, I can't help you much on this.
wokan
post Jul 12 2012, 10:38 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 12 2012, 09:48 AM)
Damn, i thought maxis automatically alloted the free 150 minutes to my maxis mobile already.
As the matter of fact, no free minutes alloted to my maxis mobile account yet. I need to call them, ask them and the CS replied " i need to check with the Home department first".
What is it Maxis?..I also thought it is automatically allocated to Maxis Mobile primary line..just check..my case same as yours...I going to call up Maxis tommorrow and scream at them...

Why can't Maxis do it properly for consumer rather than consumer have to find out this is not there and complain to them...another lousy service.

Added on July 12, 2012, 10:41 pm
QUOTE(xVince @ Jul 12 2012, 10:28 PM)
the thomson router is pure rubbish. overheat more than 4 times in a month, still counting.
bro xVince, this Thomson router is known for overheating..This is known issue.. However, there is workaround
by just placing a notebook cooler underneath it and overheating issue resolved.

I am using one Cooler Master X-Slim Single Fan with quite stong wind. No issue with overheating at all.

Hope this helps!

Added on July 12, 2012, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(alonso33 @ Jul 11 2012, 03:33 PM)
anyone facing problem that thomson auto rebooting? What 'Kernel warm restart'?
bro, many subscriber faces this issue. This seems to be known issue.
I was told by the installer that Maxis Thomson router overheat issue and advise my to get a notebook cooler..Since then, the Maxis Thomson router is rock stable.

Please get a notebook cooler and give it a try. It problem persists, maybe the router issue, complain to Maxis and try to get a replacement router if possible.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 12 2012, 11:01 PM
wokan
post Jul 14 2012, 11:39 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 14 2012, 10:50 PM)
I know the Mac id a0:88:b4:d6:ea:28... But don't know what device it is... Anyway this message appear after my thomson router being changed yesterday by Maxis technician

But aside from iPad, I've no other devices... The message is showing even of I off my iPad... Anyway, my iPad can connect to the wireless with no problem.

The only instances it stop is when I switch off the wireless broadcast by untick the 'broadcast network name' box in Thomson router wireless setting.

But the moment I switch on my wireless back, the message appear immediately... Could it be possible for the Thomson router be hard coded with certain automatic wireless connection?
Daniel, that address probably a device used by Maxis technician who came to replace yr router. Anyway, that Mac address would be dissapear from the log file after a while. I not sure whether a reboot would do that or after a period of inactivty for that device, it would be drop out from the log file.

As for "xDSL linestate down" message, my router log do shows. It is most probably due to line SNR noise that causes the connection to drop/reconnect. Although it is intermittent drop, you probably will notice it if the page you are viewing is slow to load.

I stay in condo, so it is still using copper telephone line which would carry some noise and you can check the setting
in the ONT device (TM device). The SNR would be listed there on the xDSL tab. Mine SNR margin on the download shows between 20.8db to 21db.

Those stay in landed property, please post whether the log file shows the message "xDSL linestate down" as the fiber configuration is different from condo.

wokan
post Jul 14 2012, 11:44 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 14 2012, 11:36 PM)
impossible lah... that lousy thomson router wifi signal can't even reach my kitchen

some more where got human being try to login since 4pm constantly until now, every 1, 2, 3 or sometimes 5 minutes.

as mentioned, the frequency is similar to the xDSL linestate down i've previously
Yes, the Wifi signal is weak that is a fact already. What you can do is buy a pair of Aztech homeplug and you can use the Wifi from the homeplug which connect thru the powerline. It is more stable and stronger Wifi signal.

Alternatively, use a Wireless Router connect to Thomson to act as a repeater and would need some configuration.
I leave it to you which choice u prefer. If you not technical person, suggest you go for homeplug which is plug and play and minor config on the Wireless setup for homeplug.

Added on July 14, 2012, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 14 2012, 11:43 PM)
Yes, do have it occasionally.

Now I'm facing slow crawling internet. Wonder why. Direct download of eclipse failed by Chrome with network error as cause.
Please do check the SNR margin from the ONT device from TM if you know how.
Could you post the error from the Thomson log file for our reference. One more thing, please use notebook cooler to cool down the Thomson router as it is overheat is known issue for Thomson router.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 14 2012, 11:48 PM
wokan
post Jul 14 2012, 11:54 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 14 2012, 11:49 PM)
 I have bunch of these. Landed house.
Jul 14 23:27:04 LOGIN wireless station [6c:23:b9:84:f7:e7] can't get authorized.
  Jul 14 23:42:27 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:40:38 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:40:16 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:37:54 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:10:12 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:09:50 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:01:29 xDSL linestate down
  Jul 14 23:00:30 xDSL linestate down
bro aeiou, please post the SNR margin value from ONT device (TM device) for our reference and comparison if you know how to access the ONT device.

I have read numerous overseas forum posting on this issue, and mostly point down the the noise coming carry by the t/phone line or from the server termination point.

By the way, which area are you staying and do you happen to know roughly how many Unifi/Maxis subscriber in yr area from the conversation with the TM/Maxis installer?

Added on July 14, 2012, 11:57 pm
QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 14 2012, 11:53 PM)
As the thomson has built in antenna, I guess we can't blame thomson, but just poor choice by maxis smile.gif
Well, that antenna is not built with strong frequency, furthermore if have to penetrate the thick wall of yr house, the signal would be worse the further the distance is. So I guess this is a cheapo router that Maxis can get since the package itself is already cheap (I assume you are on RM118 package), which I think Maxis is subsidize part of the cost for this package.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 14 2012, 11:57 PM
wokan
post Jul 15 2012, 12:08 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 15 2012, 12:00 AM)
Paiseh. Tried google but no answer on how to access the ONT. Mind sharing? smile.gif
Connect the network cable from yr computer to the ONT device. Plug to LAN4. It should give you auto IP address.
If no IP address is given, configure manually (use IP address: 192.168.1.xx. Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0) Do not use 192.168.1.1)

Once connected, goto browser and specify 192.168.1.1
User: admin, Pwd: PM me.

Goto Network Page > xDSL. You should see bunch of info there.

I forgot to mention here. The ONT device I am using is ZTE ZXDSL 931 series. I hope you guys are using the same ONT. If different, you need to search around the forum on how to access the ONT.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 15 2012, 12:14 AM
wokan
post Jul 15 2012, 01:05 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 15 2012, 12:16 AM)
My google result shows I'm using the white color Alcatel Lucent I-240G-P smile.gif
bro kiawin, you might want to check this link to help you out.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1755367/+200 on user: ruffstuff posting on Feb 20 2011, 08:26 PM.
wokan
post Jul 15 2012, 01:11 AM

61 posts

Mine:

Product Name: TG784n
Software Release: 8.4.3.I
Software Variant: AR
Boot Loader Version: 1.1.2
Product Code: 3667917A
Board Name: DANT-P

Current Issue: xDSL linestate down message.

Issue consider solved: Place notebook cooler to prevent router Overheat issue.

Guys, you might want to edit yr posting and specify what problem you facing with the current version of Thomson and what version solve that "xDSL linestate down" message.

Cheers.

Added on July 15, 2012, 1:24 am
QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 15 2012, 12:24 AM)
Ladies n Gentlemen, just off the phoned from conversation with maxis technician.

I can confirm the "xDSL linestate down" and "Login wireless station..." is the router problem.

I just changed my router this Friday because of "xDSL linestate down"... This solve the issue but a new problem coming up ie "Login wireless station"

The maxis guy guide me thru the setup to reconfigure the internet connection to ensure it's the router issue. The outcome is confirmed Thomson router issue yet again!

So my guess that the new firmware just rechannel the xDSL linestate down as Login wireless could be true. I can feel the connection still give me problem although not appearing in the connection event logs. They are just trying to hide the problem by diverting the command to be recorded as something else. I've over 15 years experience as a software guy, so they can't cheat me on logic.

At first I called up, one guy trying to con me by saying it's my problem. But I call the 2nd time they failed to answer when I throw some logical questions to them.

He said I need to change the router again, router and firmware issue. But there is no new firmware as I am on the latest version. So it'll waste my time yet again. Furthermore, you never know the Thomson router quality you get with a new one. The old one is cooler while the new one i got is hot the moment it's switch on.

If you do not want to bother, better tutup sebelah mata because it looks like a circle of never ending problems for this Thomson router.

I almost give up, this constant interruption is really bothering me.
bro Danieltay, aeiou and other who facing this "Login wireless station" issue, check this
posting: http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php?topic=96763.0

ALthough using different Thomson model router, but nevertheless it is still does not deviate much.
Apparently need to change the wireless encryption key to resolve this issue.
Problem is whether you can settled for this security encryption.

Hope this closer to resolve the issue we are all facing.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 15 2012, 01:26 AM
wokan
post Jul 16 2012, 09:48 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(jetwash @ Jul 15 2012, 03:47 PM)
ohh ok. so it helps if you have 30 year old walls  biggrin.gif

Added on July 15, 2012, 4:15 pmBy the way guys, i also have the "xDSL linestate down" thingy in my event log every 5 minutes or so. Can't say there has been an effect on my connection at all. Torrents work fine at max speed, ping to local servers is good, my dreambox (which needs to connect every 6 seconds) is fine, browsing is quick enough.

So might be the problems with your connection have nothing to do with the xDSL linestate down? Could it be something else? I'm landed btw..

My only problem now is I still haven't been able to register with mylaunchpad haha.. Time to bother the CS girls then!
bro jetwash, with that message, torrent would be fine and not noticeable but when you browsing or loading pages, sometimes you would see interruption or slow in loading the page. For landed, it not too noticeable at it is Fibre all the way into yr home but for those stay in condo, you will notice it more.
wokan
post Jul 16 2012, 10:01 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Jul 16 2012, 08:54 AM)
my ff browser always hijack by maxis launchpad url
is there anyway to disabled it?
Hi Aerobowl, the problem happens on the IE9 browser.
You can clear your cache by going to Tools>Internet Options>Browsing History> tick everything inside the check list
and delete it. Do try it.

wokan
post Jul 16 2012, 02:12 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Jul 15 2012, 09:18 PM)
my dns is sort of unstable as well

can't find anyway to fix it at thompson
unstable? can you describe what you mean by unstable ?
wokan
post Jul 16 2012, 02:47 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Jul 16 2012, 02:39 PM)
Usually when disconnections happens, It says that connectivity to the DNS server failed. I want to set it to google dns but it seems that I can't find any options to do so
That means either you can disconnect and reconnect again. The DNS should be fine.
By setting to Google DNS, would it resolve the connectivity to DNS server issue should it fail again the next time ?
wokan
post Jul 16 2012, 03:07 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(TerryZeroX @ Jul 16 2012, 03:04 PM)
Both, not the connection to the PC/Laptop problem. Its the DNS that's screwing up I guess, first router I've seen that don't have the option to switch to my own dns  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Terry, fyi..the DNS setting is on the ONT device not Thomson router.

Added on July 16, 2012, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 16 2012, 03:06 PM)
stability for:-
wifi 50%
lan 90%

sometimes need to reboot the router to get better connection..
so much pain in the $
bro ryudell, for Wifi connection, what you can do is buy a pair of Aztech homeplug and you can use the Wifi from the homeplug which connect thru the powerline. It is more stable and stronger Wifi signal.

Can you post me this info just to check whether you are on the same router firmware version as mine.

Software Release: 8.4.3.x
Software Variant: ??
Boot Loader Version: ??
Product Code: 667917A

Also, did you use notebook cooler for yr router ?

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 16 2012, 03:12 PM
wokan
post Jul 16 2012, 03:21 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Jul 16 2012, 03:11 PM)
About a month after install Maxis Home, kind of disappointed with the router Thomson TG784n. Kinda overheat fast and WIFI will lag and after disable the wifi, LAN port not stable.

I am so much disappointed with the router.
Hi ahsiah, can you let me know what firmware version are you using? You can check on the Thomson main page
under Information. Should look like something below

Software Release: 8.4.3.x
Software Variant: ??
Boot Loader Version: ??
Product Code: 667917A

wokan
post Jul 16 2012, 03:24 PM

61 posts