Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

wokan
post Jul 22 2012, 01:08 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Jul 21 2012, 06:11 PM)
Do you guys know the Thomson Gateway router's WIFI is 300mbps or 150mbps?
I think it only support up to 150mbps since this router does not have dual channel capability. I use homeplug to test and the wireless connected at 150mpbs.

Connect using Wifi straight from my notebook only can get 75mpbs since my wireless card does not support N-speed connection. Strange but true.

Anyone manage to connect Wifi at 300mbps?

Added on July 22, 2012, 1:21 am
QUOTE(Dec2012 @ Jul 22 2012, 01:01 AM)
password no required for MaxisBB.....

before hard reset i can login with Administrator account with Access Key as password for more setting options..
after reset the cant login anymore
Do you have backup copy of the router configuration file? If you have, you can restore the original configuration.
It should have the Administator account in it. Please do try.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 22 2012, 01:21 AM
wokan
post Jul 22 2012, 10:23 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Dec2012 @ Jul 22 2012, 06:16 AM)
the screen shows:

You're currently logged in as [ MaxisBB ]
This page allows you to change your password based on your current one.
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
I guess you have to call the customer service and request them to recreate the Administrator account.
They would be able to do it.
wokan
post Jul 23 2012, 10:23 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 23 2012, 01:25 PM)
common  problems that cannot be solved for ages... since the 1st day installed until now, the same symptom... getting worst on weekends... so i guess it has to do with the maxis server overload

Added on July 23, 2012, 1:29 pm

yes, shitting... imagine surfing so irritating nowadays since changing from streamyx... i guess eveyone is facing the same problem, only they do not realise it or tend to ignore it or force to live with it in silence ... this is obvious when you tend to open a new tab for new connection... for example while reading thestar, from the page you're reading, you open a new tab for business section, metro section , etc, you'll see the same behaviour... you guys can try it
I have tried it from the example you have given. It work fine for me. I am using wired connection and Google Chrome. By the way, I have Disable the Web Browsing Interception and it seems to work better than before.

Other setting that I have in router would be
1. Dynamic DNS - Disabled.
2. Content Sharing - Disabled.
3. Games & Application Sharing - uPnP Enabled.

Try those setting first and also you may test using other browser IE9/IE10, Firefox and see whether it helps.

About the thestar website, I notice that jumping to other news in the thestar have many side access to other website such as below (just to list a couple of them)

www.google-analytics.com
star-big-knorex.asia
www9.effectivemeasure.net,
etc,

You will notice it in the Google Chrome status located at bottom left. This side access to other website will slow down the loading of the page and would be even noticeable if you have many tab to access many news with TheStar website. This will certain slowing down access as it need to contact those servers and sometimes those
server are not responding in fast manner, so overall time to load the target page will increase.

With these, you may think the loading is hang/interrupted, etc. It is really sometimes down to what the webpage
contain.

Please take note.

Added on July 23, 2012, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 23 2012, 03:51 PM)
nothing to do with public or private ip lah!

yes, it freeze/hang... it keeps on processing forever but nothing come out... the new tab does show the link on the bar, but no webpage coming out
Sometimes it could be browser settings. Perhaps it may have to do with browser setting?
Did you check? Did you google around for answer?

Added on July 23, 2012, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jul 23 2012, 05:51 PM)
MyLaunchPad seems to come out randomly once in a while out of nowhere!
Yes, agree. I notice that when I left the page for some time and when I refresh again, it somehow hijack my url and redirect it to mylaunchpad..This is iriritating and I google around but no solution yet.

Anyone manage to solve this problem, please post it up.

This post has been edited by wokan: Jul 23 2012, 10:55 PM
wokan
post Jul 25 2012, 05:25 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 25 2012, 07:43 AM)
I saw this particular IP as part of manually added lease in the DHCP setting under user.ini
I wonder can I delete it or not....  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
bro ronnie, .253 is reserve and permanent for yr USB hor..don't simply delete hor..
wokan
post Jul 26 2012, 10:18 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Jul 25 2012, 11:56 PM)
Ok.. Be fair, the speed is nice.
They need fix the disconnection and improve the customer service.
Anyone still feel disconnect once a while and DNS cannot not reachable after that?
Need to disconnect and reconnect again?
wokan
post Aug 6 2012, 12:22 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Aug 6 2012, 06:42 AM)
Now I can login back as Administrator using Access Key after a reboot. Doing master reset need at least a reboot so that you can login back as Administrator
I concurred as you said, no P2P or any hosting site blocked so far. My download with Rapidshare is great now. My torrent also still get maximum speed 1.2MBps. For your video streaming issue via youtube, did you test with other streaming website like break.com tonton.com.my etc? Maybe you need to upgrade your flash player plugin for your web browser.
bro, I also have the same disconnection problem On/Off. By the way, what is your Thomson firmware version?
Yr residence is Landed or Condo?

wokan
post Aug 6 2012, 02:03 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Aug 6 2012, 12:45 PM)
Landed. Thomson at 1st floor, laptop/smartfone/iptv all around 1st floor & ground floor.
Thanks. after factory reset and reconfigure the Thomson router and reboot the router to get back the Admin access, does the disconnection still happen ? Frequent or intermittent or no disconnection ?

Looking for your feedback.
wokan
post Aug 6 2012, 03:15 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Aug 6 2012, 02:06 PM)
No disconnection at all, unless I click on disconnect/reboot the Thomson router.
Even with the Maxis WAN IP refresh every 2 days, the connection still remain stable ?
wokan
post Aug 6 2012, 10:16 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Aug 6 2012, 06:04 PM)
Good news! The browsing issue is most probably solved, that is why you no longer experience site not loading or having to wait for a long time to load.

Just got a call from one guy in cs who has been in contact with me from day one. We basically exchanging infos/feedbacks on maxis ftth.

He called me just about 30 minutes ago asking about my browsing experience. I told him it has been smooth lately. He told me there has been work carried out in the maxis server centre to solve the issue.

What they have done is to bypass a certain process which cause the website not to load, looping forever. Actually the process is done on purpose, sort of cache I was told to make the browsing faster. But that does not go according to plan, so the process is taken off from browsing now onwards.

Anyway, any of you guys still experience problem when browsing websites? Please post/update in the forum here so I can give him some feedback when he call.

As for slow speed on downloading at torrent, rapidshare etc, he told me most probably throttling is being done.

I forgotten to ask him about fup, will ask him when he call next time(I do not have access to him anyway. So I can only talk to him when he call me next time). So far the frequency is once a week.

Oops... one more thing, forgotten to complain to him about the cs waiting time, good to write here so i can remember to tell him next time.
What about the frequent intermittent disconnection issue ? remember to take up with the CS the next time he calls.
wokan
post Aug 8 2012, 11:16 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Aug 7 2012, 07:53 PM)
still face the intermittent disconnection issue. All lights will be like normal and even the thomson will say internet is connected but no machine can online until i manually disconnect and reconnect or wait longer than 10 minutes maybe. Most of the time i face this issue i will go manually connect/disconnect.

The timing for it to happen seems random, can be few day once, or few times within a couple of hour.

For the record, I'm on Public IP setup.

Apart from that, consider everything else normal la.
Exactly the same problem I am facing now...Mind to share what is yr router firmware version?
Can check the Thomson router page 192.168.1.254
wokan
post Aug 8 2012, 12:48 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Aug 8 2012, 12:35 PM)
My user.ini for reference (masked version for those who want to compare with their)
User.ini

Added on August 8, 2012, 12:50 pm
QUOTE(swimming @ Aug 8 2012, 12:39 PM)
my thomson TG784n with 8.4.3.U software also has intermittent disconnection.
i am using public IP. need to reconnect eInternet everytime Internet not working.

another issue i have is time to time my browser goto mylaunchpad.com.my unexpectedly. i tried to create fake mylaunchpad.com.my at 127.0.0.1 in order to redirect back using Referrer but Referrer info is not available. this forced marketing by Maxis is annoying and i donno what i have missed when i open so many links at once.
If that is the case, you might want to give customer service a call and ask them to come and reconfigure the Maxis Thomson router.

This post has been edited by wokan: Aug 8 2012, 12:50 PM
wokan
post Aug 9 2012, 12:16 PM

61 posts

Yes, this wee morning got interupttion and call Maxis CS and they answer replied within few hours when I am sleeping...Gosh..they really disturb customer sleep..lolz..Anyway, not their fault as I ask them to update me soonest.

Apparently, Maxis is doing some software upgrading work on the server which outage to all Maxis FTTH and would solve connection issues.

So far, I am monitor whether any disconnection happen again. So far, 6 hrs since last ONT and Maxis router reboot, connection is still alive.
wokan
post Aug 9 2012, 11:24 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(wr6969 @ Aug 9 2012, 10:14 PM)
Managed to connect another DECT GAP compliant handset (Philips SE171) to the Aztech base station provided by Maxis.  Apparently it supports up to 5 handsets, so you can mix and match brands as long as they're GAP compliant.  So now you can have one handset in your living room, dining room, kitchen, bedroom and main jamban tongue.gif
Mind explain how do you do that?
wokan
post Aug 10 2012, 05:40 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Aug 10 2012, 03:25 PM)
yup, it actually started about 5pm yesterday... i check 8pm it's becoming worst... at night until 3am still the same... then about 5am i try ok already

it has problem especially with foreign website... the webpage loading is completed but nothing come out in the browser... hope it's maintenance work but i am worry now to be honest... it looks as they started to implement some processes yet again for web browsing... now i still notice some webpages will take longer than usual to load with the "sending request" at the bottom screen... something is not right... damn it! not sure why they want to implement the processes for web browsing... it was smooth sailing for only one week!

the old, white thomson router is phased out already, that is why no stock... too bad we're going to get the same brand, thomson router but this time in black box, new model... i guess they are now doing some testing for the new thomson... heard it would be available somewhere september

honestly, if i can turn back the clock, i'll stick with my streamyx for good... the maxis ftth is constantly having problems, it makes you worry too much especially when you rely on the connection for work purposes... but now it's too late, so i can only move forward and hope for the best
Well, from Maxis forum, it says maintenance is ongoing until end of August, so those midnight outage most probably due to the upgrading work.

Which webpages is slow to load? Could you give some example so I could test as well.

wokan
post Aug 10 2012, 11:06 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Aug 10 2012, 05:57 PM)
Pretty much any international ones. Local sites like lowyat loads very fast
I'm using Google Chrome? are you guys using Firefox or IE?

FYI, I have disabled the Web Browsing Interception, Parental Control, so it is fast on my side..Perhaps you guys need to do the same things.
wokan
post Aug 11 2012, 12:10 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Aug 10 2012, 11:49 PM)
some stupid engineers in maxis server centre trying to be genius yet again... placing some processing in the server for web browsing request, yet again... wtf!

they just removed the processing a week ago and now trying some new tricks... you would see the "Sending requests..." message at the left bottom of your browser screen

Added on August 10, 2012, 11:52 pm

i do not believe it has to do with maintenance work... they are screwing the maxis server centre yet again by placing some processing for web browsing request

why i say so? because my own website hosted in USA load very slow or not loading at all at times... but when try to ftp, it's going smooth and fast... it must have to do with the way they handle the web browsing
which browsers are you using? Firefox ?
wokan
post Aug 11 2012, 12:38 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Aug 10 2012, 11:49 PM)
some stupid engineers in maxis server centre trying to be genius yet again... placing some processing in the server for web browsing request, yet again... wtf!

they just removed the processing a week ago and now trying some new tricks... you would see the "Sending requests..." message at the left bottom of your browser screen

Added on August 10, 2012, 11:52 pm

i do not believe it has to do with maintenance work... they are screwing the maxis server centre yet again by placing some processing for web browsing request

why i say so? because my own website hosted in USA load very slow or not loading at all at times... but when try to ftp, it's going smooth and fast... it must have to do with the way they handle the web browsing
Ok. i get it. You using Chrome. Can you give me the website that you are accessing. let me try and feedback to you
how the speed like.
wokan
post Aug 11 2012, 12:44 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 11 2012, 12:41 AM)
No ideas WTF is wrong with MAXIS. The connection is like sh!t today.
Be aware that Maxis is doing some patching work between now and end of the month. So, I expect past midnight going to be problem for Maxis users be it slow or disconnect problem.

wokan
post Aug 11 2012, 02:09 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 11 2012, 01:31 AM)
Did you guys call Maxis and make a report? If not they would think their Internet is working fabulously.
Guys, read my previous posting. I have make report to Maxis and basically there are doing maintenance until end of the month. So, outage or slow speed is expected. Call Maxis CS and make an incident. They will call you back.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0476sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:17 AM