Google Nexus 7 Official Thread V1, The first Jelly Bean Tablet.

jpaq
post Jul 18 2012, 10:20 AM

411 posts

I checked out the Singapore ASUS website page for the N7. One of the features listed is "Camera With Single-Motion Panoramic Mode - Take amazing photos or 720p videos, edit and then share them right from your tablet". Mana ada??!! LOL!
jpaq
post Aug 1 2012, 04:47 PM

411 posts

Asus Malaysia had mentioned on their Facebook page (in response to questions) that they are bringing in the Nexus 7. But can't confirm when. But they also mentioned possibly August (though no promises). So I wouldn't call it "rumours".

The Nexus 7 has also made an appearance on the Asus Singapore website (though it is not officially available yet). I think it will just be a matter of time. So, hoping for the N7 to land in Malaysia is not entirely unrealistic.

Like many others, I can hardly wait as well. But the warranty coverage is a major concern for me. I hate it even if a minor defect is on any of my gadgets, what more a major one. I have had many gadgets over the years, but I have only had to claim on warranties a handful of times. However, the need to repair or replace even once when you have no warranty is enough to screw me over.

I may even get it from Singapore if it becomes officially available there before Malaysia. Sending it to Singapore for warranty claims is waaaay better than sending it back to the US or UK or Australia. On top of that, I myself travel to JB often, so it won't be too big an issue anyhow. Even if I had to purposely make a trip from KL to Singapore for a warranty claim, I would do it.
jpaq
post Aug 2 2012, 11:52 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Aug 2 2012, 11:38 AM)
Just want to ask why this tablet is selling like RM 950++(8GB) and RM 1150++(16GB)? OMG... =.=! Overcharging...?

I give up for the price already...  doh.gif
Because it is not officially available here and there is demand here? Because they charge for their services to get it for you? Because they have importation costs? Or simply because they want a profit (as do almost every middle man)?
jpaq
post Aug 14 2012, 11:50 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 14 2012, 11:34 AM)
Has problems handling the CWM Touch recovery 6.0.1. Check XDA forums seems many users has such issues probably due to bootloader
I first flash it through GNex toolkit - it was successful but fail to reboot into it either at fastboot mode or through 3rd party app such as quickboot. Tested with the Nexus connected and tried doing it at fastboot - phone just boot back to system
Flash it gain using Rom Manager - this time successful but than I noticed it is only a temporary CWM. Each time i have to flash it again to boot it into recovery mode - very leceh.
Managed to backup the stock rom and tested a new rom Team EOS nightly. Thought of shortcutting it without wiping data, phone hung at the X logo forever. Tried to boot back to recovery - all attempts failed
Seriously thought of flashing back stock image to revive phone but than tested flashing TRW recovery instead through the Nexus toolkit. PERFECT - recovery installed and each attempt to reboot into recovery was successful
Just sharing my experiences
Sorry... you lost me... so the best steps/method would be...?

Added on August 14, 2012, 11:56 amOh... for those asking about the S Pen. It will ONLY work with Samseng Galaxy Notes. The Notes have an additional special digitizer layer, as mentioned by another member, on the display. The S Pen will only work with such additional digitizer layer. No other consumer tablets available out there currently has this additional layer.

But for other types of styli with the "normal" capacitive tip/nib, it will work on the Nexus 7 and other tablets. But not as good as the S Pen + digitizer layer combo on the Notes though.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 14 2012, 11:57 AM
jpaq
post Aug 14 2012, 01:17 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 14 2012, 12:30 PM)
I would think flashing TWRP recovery is a better choice in the Nexus toolkit
Thanks benny...

Added on August 14, 2012, 1:23 pm
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 14 2012, 12:40 PM)
Latest news is that distributor unable to fulfil the late August window for the Nexus 7 stock. Will most probably be middle of September. Still unknown if it'll impact the opening launch date of the Nexus Store.
Damn... I actually pre-ordered from the Asus Store in MidValley. The guy told me late August or early September. So now mebbe have to wait summore.... oh well, can't complain too much, I guess. I just want to make absolutely sure my eventual unit will be covered by Asus Malaysia's warranty.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 14 2012, 01:23 PM
jpaq
post Aug 15 2012, 11:56 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(wshen6 @ Aug 14 2012, 04:20 PM)
What is the price of your pre-order?
They quoted me RM1199. A bit steep, I know. I asked them this price set by Asus or not and he answered yes. Asked him few times even, lol. But he did say that in the event Asus sets a lower price upon official launch, they will honour the lower price as well. So, it's not too bad.

Added on August 15, 2012, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(un_id @ Aug 14 2012, 04:52 PM)
can do pre-order dy meh? which shop?
Asus shop at Mid Valley Megamall. Next to another computer shop , which I think it's Acer. It's at the IT section, where most of the IT shops are. Near the bridge to Gardens. Lot S-090, 2nd Flr, Mid Valley Megamall.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 15 2012, 12:05 PM
jpaq
post Aug 15 2012, 01:02 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 14 2012, 08:39 PM)
Ha great news indeed. Warranty honored in Malausia by Asus rclxms.gif
Bro gin&tonic,

I am guessing you bought from 88sales88? Did you get any sort of official receipt from Google US for your particular unit for your purchase? Just concerned about about claiming international warranty.
jpaq
post Aug 16 2012, 09:43 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 15 2012, 10:48 PM)
@gin&tonic, 88sales just email me the receipt.
It should be sufficient for warranty claims if required.
Does the receipt list or show you unit's imei number?
jpaq
post Aug 16 2012, 10:19 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 16 2012, 09:53 AM)
No just the CSSN number.
Oh, okok. So the CSSN number is the serial number. Actually, what I'm getting at, can the receipt be easily linked to your individual unit?
jpaq
post Aug 16 2012, 10:21 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 16 2012, 10:08 AM)
WiFi only device don't have imei number. Only serial number.
You can check your serial number at the box, or in your tablet, go settings, about tablet, status
Yes, you are right. Totally forgot about that! Too long never own wifi-only device....

Actually, I don't mean to be fussy and it is not that I don't trust 88sales88 (Bro 88sales88, pls don't misunderstand if you are reading this). I just don't want Asus to try to be "funny" with any warranty claims next time (if so bad luck have to claim). There is only so much 88sales88 can do as he is just the "middleman" and not a full blown authorised reseller.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 16 2012, 10:25 AM
jpaq
post Aug 16 2012, 01:01 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(88sales88 @ Aug 16 2012, 11:34 AM)
smile.gif Yes I am reading this to keep up with the N7 community. No problems at all. Customers always have freedom of choice and indeed I am a just a plain Lowyat Garage sale reseller smile.gif

As for warranty claims, based on what I have heard/read Asus warranty claims from Asus direct (N7/other devices) over in US/local isn't the smoothest experience.

I have spoken to Google play rep on US warranty i.e. those N7s purchased from Google play store (all of mine are from google play) and they have a very good claim process at least on paper (since I haven't tried it) and benefits customers. Claim still have to be done in US though. So extra shipping costs to and from US will apply.

Keep on a lookout on my topic first post and I will be updating the warranty claim process for clarity today.

Good news to those who ordered, first shipment arrived. Will arrange for pick up for the 1st 10 customers today. Final shipment expected tomorrow/Sat. Part of SPs may only arrive next week.
Okie dokie. Thanks so much for all your effort, bro 88sales88. Will be pressing F5 frequenly on your sales thread! tongue.gif
jpaq
post Aug 24 2012, 11:45 AM

411 posts

Hi Guys,

It seems that I am one of the unlucky few with hardware issues. I have the screen lift problem (on the left side as per everyone whoever had this issue) and the screen flickering problem as well.

For the screen lift problem, I tried most of the "self-fix" methods and the problem came back. Tried:
Tightening the screws on the affected side>>problem came back after a few hours
Tightening all screws all around >> problem back after a few hours
Loosening and tightening on the affected side >> same thing
Loosening the screws and tightening just "ngam ngam" (so long as the screws don't fall out) on the affected side >> better result but creaked a lot and was driving me nuts
Loosening and tightening all screws all around >> same thing, problem came back after a day

Please note that screen lift problem wasn't there when I first got the unit. It appeared after 2-3 days of usage.

Then I kena the screen flickering problem. In the end, I got fed up and sent it to Asus Service Centre at Low Yat yesterday. Showed them the Delivery Order provided by the seller that it is genuinely bought from Google Play Store. They confirmed that it is covered by Global Warranty. So no issue for warranty coverage. Told them about the screen lifting and the screen flickering problems.

Only possible problem I see is that Asus Malaysia may not know what to do with it yet, procedure wise and parts order wise, as it is not officially sold in Malaysia yet. They said they will get their engineer to look at it and if have to order parts, they will order it from Taiwan. But dunno how long the whole process will take, including the paperwork, as, again, it is not sold in Malaysia. But they will liaise with Asus Taiwan and see how it goes.

I asked them whether a 1 to 1 exchange was possible. I said from researching the internet, the screen lift problem appears to be a manufacturing process defect and there may be nothing much they can do to repair it. The problem may come back even if they gave a new LCD part. It's not the LCD that is the problem, but the way it is assembled. I also told them it appears that the very latest batch does not appear to have this problem anymore. They say they will seek advice on this. They guy told me he will try to get it exchanged. But no promises. I told them Google has a policy of 1 to 1 exchange. They said that is Google's prerogative as the official retailer, not Asus'. So he said see how.

Of course, I DID NOT tell them I attempted my "self-fix". Don't tell them anything about what you may have attempted, guys. They may refuse you warranty because of this.

The seller who imported the unit was really great. Very professional and very very nice and helpful guy. 88sales88, cheers, bro! Too bad I was unlucky to get a dud, got the unit last Saturday night, and had to send it in on Thursday evening. Sigh...

Actually, they initially asked me take the unit back and they will call me when the parts are in. Having concerns of them just sitting on the problem, I told them to keep it. I told the guy to ask their engineer to take a look at it in the meantime. If I keep the unit, they can't do shit. On top of that, I told them in any event, it's no use I keep the unit as I won't be using it anyhow, as I am afraid I may crack the LCD due to the screen lift problem. Yes, the LCD may crack if you have the screen lift problem due to uneven pressure (have read of some experiences on the internet). If it cracks, it's better that it cracks while in their hands!

jpaq
post Aug 24 2012, 12:20 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Aug 24 2012, 11:04 AM)
I did wipe everything before and after flashing. Nope, I have not flashed anything before, just unlock bootloader and rooted it(alone with permanent CWM using toolkit). Then I couldn't restore stock anymore. Basically right now as long as I reboot, it will back to the same state no matter what I do (Install/uninstall app, flash, etc)

Added on August 24, 2012, 11:05 am

yes  I did, I even tried to download a few different time, but it still doesn't work as it should be.
Besides that, I couldn't even flash any TWRP recovery image, whenever I flash it and reboot, it goes back to the same state again and I reboot manually to recovery, it goes back to CWM again. My device is like a permanent hard disk that couldn't write anymore.
Did you try with mskip's Nexus 7 Toolkit? I wanted to reset everything to stock without trace of rooting before I sent it to Asus Malaysia. I had unlocked and rooted and then unrooted with flashing back to stock rom image and locked using mskip's toolkit without any issues. However, I did manually install TWRP recovery using the same toolkit. Dunno whether it makes any difference.
jpaq
post Aug 24 2012, 02:18 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Aug 24 2012, 01:38 PM)
Wow. I feel bad for you. Truly bad luck.

Is your flickering only occurring when auto-brightness is enabled in a very dark room? If so, It's probably just a less than 100% brightness sensor coupled with software. If it's flickering at all brightness settings, then it's hardware.

Tell you what; if Asus return it to you saying they can't do anything, and the flickering issue only happens in the situations I mentioned above, then there's still a chance you can remedy it yourself.

Since you mentioned that tightening initially solves the screen-lift, only for it to return a few hours later, then it's not a problem with adhesive or whatnot. It's just that (as I initially suspected) Asus skimped on giving the screws proper Loctite coating. You can Google Loctite to learn what it is. I'm about 70% sure that should solve the issue. You just need to buy a tube of Loctite and apply it very carefully to each screw, screw them back in and let it dry. It's used in all kinds of hardware, from small electronics to high-performance racing cars, and it's often solved a lot of mounting issues I've had with various things.

I still hope Asus fixes it for you, but if that doesn't happen, then what I mentioned is something you can take into consideration as a last resort.
Yes, flickering occurs on auto brightness in a dark environment. Also on manual brightness, if I set the brightness to below 30%. And it only occurs when I am connected to wifi. I have done some research on the internet, and some say it's hardware, some say software. And I have also come across the remedies, from installing an app called "Lux" to applying electrical tape to your wifi antenna to even changing your wifi router! Apparently the cause may be due to a combination of the brightness setting plus a weak wifi signal.

As for the screws, I went to iFixit and there was no mention of glue for the Nexus 7. But you could still be right, nonetheless. I really don't know. Also, I noticed that when I loosened the screws near the affected area, the display "sank" back into the bezel nicely by itself without me pressing on it. So I tightened the screws just enough so that the screw won't fall out and nothing is obviously loose. However, it creaked a lot when I held it in that area and it drove me nuts.

One guy on xda had this theory that if you screw in the screw too much, the end of the screw actually pushes the display out on the other side. So he applied a homemade "washer" for the screw so that he can still screw the screw in tight but the end doesn't jut out too much on the other side. It seemed to have worked for him. I did not try this.

If Asus really says they cannot do anything, I will hassle them till they do. I am sure it is a simple thing for people like them, with the right skills, knowledge and tools. They can take the whole thing apart and put it back together again properly without voiding my warranty. And if they really can't fix the problem, I will hassle them till they give me a replacement unit. It is a term of their warranty, after all.

Anyway, it seems that this screen lifting is a common problem but apparently Google says that the latest batch no longer has this issue. That means Asus solved something. So, all Asus Malaysia has to do is to contact Asus Taiwan and ask them how the problem was solved. If it can only be solved at the factory assembly level, then I should get a replacement unit. I am not being unreasonable mah! smile.gif

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 24 2012, 02:20 PM
jpaq
post Aug 24 2012, 02:51 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Aug 24 2012, 02:34 PM)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1819596
try tis n c?
i dono y but i can't seem 2 replicate the screen on my nexus 7
i think maybe it is my imagination tat my nexus 7 screen flicker
Thanks for the link, bro. But yeah, similar solution to what I mentioned... tape on wifi antenna. But the method you posted is better as it won't muck up the antenna if the tape is removed later.
jpaq
post Aug 24 2012, 03:35 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Aug 24 2012, 03:03 PM)
u ady get ur nexus 7 to service center ady?
i still not sure want 2 go or not, bcauz can't seem 2 replicate screen flicker
If it's not too irritating and you can't seem to replicate it again, don't bother. If it becomes worse, hopefully by then, it will be officially selling in Malaysia, then go and send it it. Then, turn around time will be faster.

jpaq
post Aug 25 2012, 05:44 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Aug 25 2012, 02:09 AM)
Bought Nexus 7 today @ 9PM.  rclxms.gif At last, my kid won't kacau my phone anymore.

Redeem the promotion gift and damn... screen popping up.  doh.gif It was not there when I unboxed it at the shop.

Anyway, after reading a few guides on the net, I started prying off the back cover from the top all the way to the bottom. If you familiar with Samsung phone, I bet you can pry off the cover easily.

Used two methods to stick em back. The loosen and tightening screws on hard cover book and slotted in washers methods at the same time. So far it works, no more pressing and popping up screen anymore. The screen fit snugly on the bezel.

I just used my old laminated driving license ID as the washer. More flexibility.

Might take a while to load the pics...

Can you please share with us how you make the lubang on the laminate for the screw to go through? And if the problem happens again despite your fix, do share with us too. Please don't misunderstand that I am trying to curse you or anything, hahaha! It's just that I read that the problem may come back despite the fix.

jpaq
post Aug 27 2012, 10:58 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(keanyuu @ Aug 25 2012, 07:03 PM)
any1 get they nexus from this seller ??

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2412147/all
I bought from him too. Great guy. Trusted.
jpaq
post Aug 27 2012, 06:03 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 27 2012, 05:46 PM)
I bought this slim magnetic case from ebay:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?V...ME:L:OC:MY:3160

When i close the flap, it will auto shutdown the display but will not wake it up when i flip it open
Another irritating issue, when i turn the flap completely flat backwards, it will shutdown the display too. What a design and i see it as useless. So i have to hold the tablet with the flap turned back not fully but prop slightly up at the edge to avoid display shutdown
Sounds like a fail to me... time to change! biggrin.gif
jpaq
post Aug 29 2012, 12:46 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(kiwlm @ Aug 29 2012, 11:37 AM)
Lol the answer was obvious as well.

Anyway, realized that directd have dropped their price in lelong.com.my, signs that the official set will be lower than 1199? biggrin.gif

How do you guys decide whether to get the 8/16GB version? Originally I was eyeing for the 8GB one for price point, but now starting to be afraid that it is not enough, since my Nexus S also is 16GB already.
How much memory free space your Nexus S have left? Bear in mind, 8GB doesn't give you the full 8GB. It will come 4-5 GB available only at best or maybe even less. Do a Google search to confirm this. As for the 16GB, mine had about 13GB free memory out of the box.

So how to decide? Nobody can answer that for you, really. You can use your usage of your Nexus S memory as a guide, I suppose. But having more is always better than less, especially if the price difference is not too great.

Added on August 29, 2012, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 29 2012, 10:29 AM)
Mine is C70 batch, yours?

send in to ASUS service center waiting for spare part since 17 Aug
Craaappp... I had sent my unit in to Asus Malaysia SC for screen lifting and screen flickering issues. Sent it in on 23 Aug 2012. Also waiting for spare parts, though I dunno exactly what they intend to change - mebbe the wifi component (quite possible) or the frame of the unit holding the screen (rather wishful thinking). When I first sent in, the guy told me they may even change the LCD! Dunno for what... doh.gif

If yours sent in on 17 Aug also not yet kao tim... my one... err... die lorrr... hahaha! I just called them, they say my case may need another 2-3 weeks because have to order parts from overseas. Mebbe they giving me a new unit due to the screen lifting issue? Another round of wishful thinking.... kakaka tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 29 2012, 12:55 PM

0.0468sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:20 AM