Google Nexus 7 Official Thread V1, The first Jelly Bean Tablet.

jpaq
post Aug 29 2012, 01:12 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 29 2012, 01:02 PM)
I will give them 2 more weeks (after Raya and Merdeka) before I call them or direct go to their office...mine sure need to change the speaker...regarding the screen lifting I didn't check it  rclxub.gif
I suggest you check for the screen lifting problem on the spot when you collect your unit. Then can make noise on the spot. If they had opened up the unit to replace your speakers, the screen lifting *may* happen then. So, good to check on the spot.

And hopefully, your part/s come in the same time as mine and we can both get our repaired units back at around the same time i.e. early!

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 29 2012, 01:15 PM
jpaq
post Aug 29 2012, 02:20 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Aug 29 2012, 01:28 PM)
Ok thanks...I will keep it in my mind when I collecting it back...

Let hope we can get it back ASAP...

rclxub.gif I only touch it for less than 1 week
Less than 1 week - me too!!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
jpaq
post Aug 29 2012, 02:53 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 29 2012, 02:37 PM)
Cannot blame Asus Msia as it is not officially available yet. It will be better once it is in
Yup. The price to pay for being an early adopter (esp in Malaysia). Bangga like early adopter, face problem like early adopter (like me) but now, WAIT like LATE adopter! Kakaka! doh.gif

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 29 2012, 02:53 PM
jpaq
post Aug 29 2012, 06:19 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 29 2012, 04:47 PM)
which service center you send to?
the one inside lowyat plaza?

i'm thinking no point sending to the service center now.
since they dont have spare parts, send also waste effort only, the tab will just sit in their office.

i rather continue use it. its working find as long volume dont more than 40%
wait 1 month later they got spare parts only send.

Added on August 29, 2012, 4:50 pmi realize my tab more warm after i flash new CNA rom,

i check CPU spy, then only realize its running most of the time at 1.4GHz,
on stock rom, its running most of the time at 1.2GHz,
i dont like the heat and i believe it will  cause bad battery life.

i set the performance settings to be 1.2GHz max, but it does not follow the settings. anyway to make it stick to lower frequency?
Bro, what you can do is go there anyway, make your warranty claim, demo the sound problem to them, lodge in your case in their system. They should then order the necessary parts from abroad. In the meantime, you actually can have the option of taking home your device with you and continue using it, while waiting for the parts. At least enquire with them about this. This would be considerably less of a waste of time then. And how would you know for sure they have spare parts for you 1 month later? Especially if you never brought your case to their attention in the very first place?

They offered me the same arrangement earlier, but I declined, preferring to leave the device there, hoping that they may get the repairs done that little bit faster (sort of put indirect pressure on them). On top of that, I was not going to touch it further anyhow, worried about cracking my raised display. So might as well leave it there.

Oh, I went to their service centre located at Level 4 of Low Yat Plaza.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 29 2012, 06:26 PM
jpaq
post Aug 29 2012, 07:03 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Aug 29 2012, 05:00 PM)
Looks like Asus SC here is not prepared to handle rma issues for Nexus 7. All devices for warranty claims will just be sitting there collecting dust. They don't even know when spareparts are available & whats the turnaround lead-time for the fix. Really hard not to equate Asus SC with Proton SC. doh.gif
RMA stands for "Return Merchandise Authorisation", if I am not mistaken. Meaning you can return the merchandise to the retailer. Depending on what is the retailer's policy, you can either return it in exchange for a new one or in exchange for a refund. The retailer for the Nexus 7 in your case is Google and it appears that they have a policy of allowing the return of the device in exchange for a replacement unit. I don't know whether they do full refunds.

The point is, the retailer is Google and not Asus. And the RMA policy is Google's, and not Asus', a very important distinction. The guy at the Asus SC told me that normally, for Asus Malaysia's merchandise, they allow 1 to 1 exchanges under warranty PROVIDED you go back to the authorised retailer you bought it from within 7 days and the authorised retailer should exchange it for you. This is Asus' (at least Asus Malaysia's) RMA policy. However, this doesn't apply to the Nexus 7 as it is not officially sold here. In any event, how are you going to return it to the retailer if it is the USA?

This is where Google's RMA comes in. AFAIK, Google's RMA is even better. It is good so long as you lodge in a claim within 15 days, and they do a 1 to 1 exchange for you under their RMA. But do you want to go through the hassle of the RMA process when you are here and Google is in the US?

There is no reason at all why Asus should handle Google's RMA process for Google, unless Asus is obliged under some contract, which I doubt. Asus' obligation is only to do repairs, failing which, then only do a 1 to 1 exchange. If I am not mistaken, they must attempt to remedy the problem without the exchange first.

And can you really blame Asus Malaysia for not knowing when the spare parts will come and what is the turn around time for a repair? It is not sold here officially. In fact it is only sold officially in 5 or 6 countries. Professional and efficient support will be difficult if it is not officially sold here. On top of that, this device is so new! We only hope that Asus Malaysia tries their best.

This is the risk one takes when buying something from overseas that is not officially sold here. I knew the risk, and I took it. At least, it is covered by international warranty and I don't have to pay for any repairs or parts. And at least, Asus Malaysia honours the international warranty and accepted my claim. I can only hope that they will genuinely and sincerely try to solve my problems with the device. Remember, Asus didn't sell it, Google did. Asus only OEM'd for Google.

Why am I writing all this long winded BS? I also want this post to serve as a guide of sorts in regards to warranty claims for potential buyers of the device. For them to know what they are getting into before they plonk down their hard earned money for the N7. And I am not siding Asus Malaysia nor do I work for them. I am just pointing out matters objectively.
jpaq
post Aug 31 2012, 08:20 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Aug 30 2012, 05:36 PM)
you are not answering the questions, but giving definitions instead.. the fellow ask HOW to test? means was asking for methods
You like spoon feeding don't you?

Added on August 31, 2012, 8:30 am
QUOTE(fantastic_giselle @ Aug 30 2012, 10:00 PM)
oh yes,realy specific,thanks a lot notworthy.gif
Ever occurred to you to do a search? If not here, maybe on Google? Your questions are general questions, not requiring specific details of a particular case. So ask Google for such general questions next time. And don't get too used to spoon feeding. Never benefited anyone really. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by jpaq: Aug 31 2012, 08:32 AM
jpaq
post Sep 3 2012, 12:09 PM

411 posts

Price at ipmart like stock market... go up and down like yoyo.
jpaq
post Sep 3 2012, 01:40 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Sep 3 2012, 01:19 PM)

Added on September 3, 2012, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 3 2012, 01:20 PM)
Rumor 3G for Nexus is coming out soon. Check out here
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-a...medium=referral
Haha.. I was just about to post about this piece of news! Now this news makes me wanna sell off my current N7... any takers? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jpaq: Sep 3 2012, 01:41 PM
jpaq
post Sep 3 2012, 03:22 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 3 2012, 02:43 PM)
Same as me. I can do tethering from my laptop/phone rather than wasting to invest another data plan. Besides, it wont be that cheap as asus keep mentioned they build nexus 7 with low budget. So add more features= more $$$$.

It wont be that fast to reach malaysia as currently wifi version not yet official available in malaysia.
I already have another data only plan which I originally got for my MiFi a couple of years back. So that would come in handy for a 3G tablet. Currently the SIM is taking turns between my Sammy Tab 10.1 and the MiFi.

Yes, I can do tethering from my phone, but that eats up quite a lot of the phone batt. Smartphone batt life not fantastic as it is. And yes, I also can just use my MiFi, but that means carrying another gadget around. And the MiFi batt lasts me only about 4 hours of continuous usage.

And true, 3G functionality will increase the price. But we will have to see the official price in relation to other 7 inch 3G tablets. With a quad core one, if any. I am thinking a pricing of USD300 is possible.

As for availability, it is entirely possible that Asus Malaysia may offer both wifi only and wifi + 3G versions at the same time, now that they have more time to plan the launch of the 3G version. It is possible they may delay the wifi only version launch to coincide with the 3G one in Malaysia. Or still launch the wifi only version first in Malaysia to capture as many buyers first and then launch the 3G version a month later. Who knows?
jpaq
post Sep 3 2012, 04:34 PM

411 posts

After experiencing the freedom of 3G tablets, I missed it with the N7. I hope the news/rumour comes true, and the 3G 16GB model will cost a max of USD300.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Sep 3 2012, 04:34 PM
jpaq
post Sep 4 2012, 03:26 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 4 2012, 02:05 PM)
Asus just released Nexus 7 in Taiwan. Can pre-order and get the device by 12 Sept.Expensive 50 buck. Refer to http://thenextweb.com/google/2012/09/03/go...eb+All+Stories)

Heard rumor that Singapore will only launch after Oct 31. Starhub (local sg telco) give free Nexus 7 but only can get stock after Oct 31.
Very interesting news. Thanks for the heads up, eric! thumbup.gif After Oct 31 only for Singapore? Hmm... does not sound too good for the Malaysian market then. Even if for some reason Malaysia gets it first, it won't be too much in advance of Singapore, I think. Maybe this could point to a simultaneous availability of both the 3G+WiFi and the WiFi only versions for the Malaysian and Singapore market? Fingers crossed! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jpaq: Sep 4 2012, 03:27 PM
jpaq
post Sep 5 2012, 08:46 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 4 2012, 04:21 PM)
But Asus SG already publish Nexus 7 since last month:- http://sg.asus.com/Tablet/Nexus/Nexus_7/.

Added on September 4, 2012, 6:31 pmConfirmed 3G is coming. Refer to http://news.yahoo.com/google-launch-nexus-...-131059886.html

next stop Hong Kong: Refer to http://chinese.engadget.com/2012/08/20/nex...6gb-sell-in-hk/
http://www.androidauthority.com/nexus-7-ta...ability-112159/

Only 16GB is sell to Asia.
I wouldn't say "Confirmed 3G is coming" la with that bit of news. But I sure hope it's true!
jpaq
post Sep 5 2012, 04:42 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 5 2012, 03:39 PM)
Yahooo...Asus call me to pick up my Nexus 7 liao
Good for you, bro! I called up to check on my unit's status. Say STILL waiting for parts. Ask me to call back by END of the month! doh.gif I am gonna hassle them again beginning next week! flex.gif
jpaq
post Sep 5 2012, 06:28 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 5 2012, 06:16 PM)
Penang E gate branch
Oh craaap... could it be Penang SC more efficient? Mine was sent to the KL branch... won't be surprised if mine is delayed. The KL SC is almost infamous by now for complaints.... cry.gif
jpaq
post Sep 6 2012, 10:10 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 6 2012, 08:47 AM)
This is my 1st tablet and its give me problem like this...haihhh...

After changed speaker, sound softer... sad.gif
Sorry to hear that the speaker is now softer... mebbe you can spend some of that USD25 Play credit on an app called Volume+ (Volume Boost) by developer Meltus. I bought it for USD1.50 last time, not sure how much is it now. Max would be USD2.00 only, I think. I used it for my GalNex which had pathetic default volume levels.

However, some has said it doesn't work with Jelly Bean whilst others have said it does. There is a free version but it doesn't really work as well. The paid version is way better. Disclaimer: I have not tried it on my N7 before I sent it in repairs.
jpaq
post Sep 6 2012, 12:17 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 6 2012, 10:22 AM)
i strongly recommend against it.
the speaker may spoil again if too loud.
softer is better than totally cracked and muffled.

take note that speaker issue that people reported is not spoilt out of the box but happen over time.
even after fix may happen again.
Of course, don't go overboard with the volume boosting. Gradually increase the settings. But users decide for yourself whether to use this app or not.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Sep 6 2012, 12:18 PM
jpaq
post Sep 8 2012, 12:21 PM

411 posts

[quote=devour,Sep 8 2012, 01:29 AM]
[attachmentid=3039148]

rclxms.gif Asus Malaysia will bring in officially , stay tune

This is a pic of what actually? Looks pretty familiar...
jpaq
post Sep 8 2012, 01:18 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 8 2012, 12:44 PM)
soon how soon? i have heard the word soon since last month yawn.gif
Haha... yeah. Me too.
jpaq
post Sep 8 2012, 01:50 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(yeewensmc @ Sep 8 2012, 01:25 PM)
Guys and gals, i'm a N7 user here. For now nothing happens on my beloved N7, finger crossed.
Can share your xp on how to claim the warranty @ ASUS Malaysia if anything happen to our N7 ? I know we need to register @ the website first right ? Or just call the hotline will do ?
Just bring your receipt or proof of purchase and the warranty paper (found in the box). That's it. They should know what to do for the rest. I didn't pre-register. Confirmed covered by international / global warranty as far as Malaysia is concerned.

Added on September 8, 2012, 1:56 pm
QUOTE(yeewensmc @ Sep 8 2012, 01:46 PM)
Wow nice to hear that, thanks for your input tenchi0205 ! Anyone got other xp ?
tenchi0205, they didn't even ask for ur shipping DO or receipt ?
Actually I show them the warranty paper and they didn't even bother to look at it and gave it back to me. But they took my DO though. Anyway, just bring everything along just in case. No harm.

This post has been edited by jpaq: Sep 8 2012, 01:56 PM
jpaq
post Sep 9 2012, 02:45 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 9 2012, 11:40 AM)
You did not even have it yet and how you can make such a baseless and irresponsible comment such as this, i quote ????:

"Tab 7.7 is slow. Even Tab 2-7.7 also Slow. Nexus 7 is faster"
+1

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0500sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:57 PM