8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Fitness The Runners Thread V5, RUNINSPIRED !!!

TStenno
post Jul 7 2012, 03:51 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(norizan @ Jul 7 2012, 09:16 AM)
plseas use ice only for sore calf or muscle...it was advise by m'sia no 1 marathoner....using deep heat will burn ur muscle.... icon_rolleyes.gif
Well, generally, applying ice is to prevent the injured part frm swelling. The 1st 48hrs U apply ice. After 48hrs, U apply heat, whether in the form of heatpacks, soaking in warm water or cream. Any sports medicine practitioner will proly recommend the same thing.
TStenno
post Jul 9 2012, 12:07 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(Sohlan @ Jul 8 2012, 01:42 PM)
Hi, im someone who used to do quite a bit of running last time, and then i hurt my knee and have not ran seriously for 3 years. My knee is perfectly healed now and i can jog just fine, but i tend to get a sort of sharp poking pain at the sole of my foot. excatly in the middle. my running shoes are not too worn out yet, but ive never used this particular pair for running since i bought them. could it be because of the arch of my foot? or is it normal. Its annoying to slow down or even stop when my legs are all okay but the pain in my feet get worse and worse.

Too all the sifu's out there, muchhh help needed. =)

oh and does anyone know any shop in kl or pj where they check the foot type and recommend shoes?
Sharp poking pain in the midfoot eh ? Sounds like plantar fasciitis to me. Very hard to heal this injury....
TStenno
post Jul 9 2012, 12:08 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

I realized the background for Health & Fitness is now showing two runners.... good for us.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TStenno
post Jul 9 2012, 02:01 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(norizan @ Jul 9 2012, 01:12 PM)
use to have plantar fasciitis at early stage or my forefoot running...take me 2 month to heal and strengthen my foot....hopefully not coming back... sweat.gif
Lucky U man.... I've been injured since April last year... been to sports clinic, ISN... still no go... sad.gif
TStenno
post Jul 10 2012, 02:18 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Jul 9 2012, 09:40 PM)
anyone know moto ac tv gps running watch.https://motoactv.com/home/page/features.html

hw is the price n spec compare with garmin 610?
This is like comparing a BMW 5 series with a Myvi man....
TStenno
post Jul 10 2012, 10:39 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 10 2012, 06:54 AM)
Seremban HM and Shape Night run is on this coming weekends  ...
Anyone ready ?? brows.gifbrows.gif
I'm going... but my left calf is still injured & I haven't done any real running since SCKLM becoz of that... had to resort to swimming, biking & weightlifting since then... I dun think I'm up for a PB this Sunday... maybe just go run for fun... Seremban route is a beautiful one...
TStenno
post Jul 10 2012, 11:12 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

Fasting month for me is off season, though I still continue training becoz I dun wanna start from scratch after puasa. Last year this is what I did : after sahur I will do core work, plus some bodyweight workouts.. I will add on weights towards the end of puasa. In the afternoon before buka I'll go to the gym & run treadmills, around 45 mins, maybe 3 times a week. This year I think I'll alternate running & weights after sahur. In terms of food, I dun really eat that much during buka, but it will consist of carbo of course. I also try to maintain my normal water intake, around 2 liters. Too much water will leave U feeling bloated at nite... a good thing becoz U won't feel that U need food. For sahur it's pretty much leftovers from buka.

Intensity will be toned down, obviously. But the thing is, becoz we go thru bulan Ramadhan only once a year, I try to devote myself more towards everything religious.... smile.gif
TStenno
post Jul 12 2012, 12:00 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(wh0cares @ Jul 11 2012, 11:27 PM)
ooh..collect my goodie bag today already. 1:30 is walking pace la, where got fast.
So you run both Shape Night Run & Seremban Half? very powerful.
I encountered this kinda case during Men's Health run 2010. I was warming down when an auntie came to me.

Auntie : Alo fren, last year U ada masuk ini race ah ?
Me : Xda la (afraid to call her auntie). Apa pasal ?
Auntie : U tau bila dia punya prize giving ceremony ka ?
Me : Oh... saya tak tau la
Auntie : Sudah lambat la, saya kena drive pergi Johor mah.... esok pagi ada lagi satu race...half marathon
Me : (very the surprised) Oh.. esok ada race lagi ka ? Ini race U nombor brapa ?
Auntie : No 4... ada hadiah ka ?
Me : Saya tak tau la... U pegi tanya sana la, organizer...
Auntie : Ooo... ok ok... (walked towards the start/finish line)

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
TStenno
post Jul 12 2012, 02:30 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(dude1218 @ Jul 12 2012, 12:47 PM)
im just 1yr in long run, but i think exp at the timing chip. Cause last year seremban HM without timing chip just RM15, now with become RM50 doh.gif
correct me if im wrong
Last year Seremban RM20 rite ? Maybe RM15 for early birds. Last year also no online registration.. no chip... but goodie bag was nice... got tiger balm... hahah...

I think goodie bags are sponsored, I mean filled with sponsored goodies, so even if U take away the goodie bag, won't make much difference in terms of entrance fee. The xpensive portion is the online registration, bib, vest, timing chip... water station maybe...
TStenno
post Jul 13 2012, 11:32 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Jul 13 2012, 09:18 AM)
IMHO, i think some races in Malaysia doesnt need timing chip.  Unless the event have a very big crowd.  maybe timing chip is to ease off the manual way of recording the times.  But again, Seremban 1/2 marathon have been doing manual recording all these while and doesnt hv much issues.  So my opinion was tat they shud hv minimise the cost there
Very true. Last year Seremban HM open I think not even 1000 ppl.. this year no goodies at all. Last year Antah Corp. giveaway a plastic bag full of goodies... dun mind really. I really appreciate the simplicity of that event.. rclxms.gif
TStenno
post Jul 14 2012, 12:46 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Jul 13 2012, 04:58 PM)
tenno, we will not get back the original Seremban Half marathon then.  Rm15 for registration, Goodies bag full of goodies from sponsors especially Antah Holdings, and not forgeting the huge Finisher medal.  cry.gif
The finisher's medal was one of the best around...made by Royal Selangor summore... rclxms.gif
TStenno
post Jul 14 2012, 02:42 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(donkeydoink @ Jul 14 2012, 03:56 AM)
Hey,

I am just wondering if there are any serious complications if i take over a friends bib and run.. my friend could not make it and she is a female, and i m male..

Will be running for mens health.. lol
No problem at all. Ppl do it all the time. Unless Ur one of the podium contenders...thts when tge problem comes...disqualification tht is...
TStenno
post Jul 14 2012, 11:36 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(norizan @ Jul 14 2012, 03:51 PM)
what brand? i buy mizuno compression cheaper than that....rm118 after 30% discount...
U sure it's Mizuno compression? AFAIK Mizuno dun sell compression tights locally, only normal tights. Normal tights is not compression...
TStenno
post Jul 15 2012, 11:46 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Jul 15 2012, 11:27 PM)
if the run start in morning 7am, do u think is best juz drink salt with water? i drink milo + fully cream milk half glass + 1 bread, wan vomit when almost finish line
Things to consider before U take anything for bfast bfor a run/race:
1. Distance of run/race (if 10km or less it's pretty much okay that U dun take bfast at all)
2. The time gap before Ur bfast & the start (solid food can sit in Ur stomach for up to 4 hrs)
TStenno
post Jul 16 2012, 02:12 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(deadmau5 @ Jul 16 2012, 01:15 AM)
For 10/21k, I'll be having a bowl of oats, 2 bananas, plain milo, energy bar, peanut butter/jam toast and of course Redbull right at the starting line biggrin.gif
U eat all that before 10K ? Wow....
TStenno
post Jul 17 2012, 06:30 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(SYAMiLLiON @ Jul 17 2012, 04:55 PM)
anybody got new balance voucher that wanna to let go??
Unfortunately I dun...but I do hv a couple of Brooks voucher tht I dun need...can PM me if Ur interested...
TStenno
post Jul 18 2012, 10:34 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jul 17 2012, 08:19 PM)
where can we use the brooks voucher?.. hmm.gif
Try bringing it to Nike store & use it... then post the reactions here la... tongue.gif tongue.gif

Added on July 18, 2012, 10:35 am
QUOTE(norizan @ Jul 17 2012, 08:43 PM)
i have 1 voucer 20%.....valid until 23 august 2012, pm me if u want

those runner running SCKLM 2012....u all hv this voucher laa... hmm.gif
Really ? Dun even know what was in the bag also...

This post has been edited by tenno: Jul 18 2012, 10:35 AM
TStenno
post Jul 18 2012, 12:10 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Jul 18 2012, 11:49 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  tongue.gif tat would b classic!!! using brooks in Nike..later kena halau... tongue.gif
Dun forget to snap the photo of the Nike staff !! tongue.gif
TStenno
post Jul 19 2012, 10:41 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(heliora10 @ Jul 19 2012, 05:10 PM)
hello. what do you mean you run as tenno? where do you usually train?
He bought my bib...so he ran as me... hahah

Added on July 19, 2012, 10:53 pm
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Jul 19 2012, 05:28 PM)
but i won't wear LYN Runner shirt unless is a race day ..
For me it's the opposite.... I dun wear LYNR vest on race day... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tenno: Jul 19 2012, 10:53 PM
TStenno
post Jul 21 2012, 10:17 AM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(black_howling @ Jul 20 2012, 07:00 PM)
PM tenno...and he will arrange it for you.
Take me to Ur leader !!! biggrin.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0478sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:00 PM