Fitness The Runners Thread V5, RUNINSPIRED !!!

SheeKenSays
post Sep 6 2012, 03:00 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Sep 6 2012, 02:54 PM)
running tee or finisher tee?
Uhhhh...i thought it's the same? Haha biggrin.gif

no idea, just got this pic from a friend~~ tongue.gif

Wait for tomorrow, they'll probably give more info~~
SheeKenSays
post Sep 7 2012, 03:02 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Sep 7 2012, 02:58 PM)
But web registration is still not loading well until now...

Added on September 7, 2012, 2:59 pmI wonder if they are using a home computer as a server with some streamyx connection.
Same here as well...sigh...at this pace, I think it'll be full by Tonight...

Hopefully be able to register soon...I've got a few friends who I promised them that I could register their names in too...tough to let them down cry.gif
SheeKenSays
post Sep 7 2012, 03:32 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Sep 7 2012, 03:29 PM)
Yup, their Fb page also announced that registration is closed...
GG.com...sigh...there's going to be a LOT of Rant coming...
SheeKenSays
post Sep 7 2012, 09:54 PM

207 posts

Guys, I've collected my colleague's bib for the Adidas KOTR...

Its in yellow (FYI my colleague is a She)...so I was wondering...would it be odd if I wear the bib to run and will I get stop for questioning?
SheeKenSays
post Sep 11 2012, 04:51 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Sep 11 2012, 04:30 PM)
Seriously???? Dance Gangnam Style???  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
YAOOO MOOOO!!! so free to Dance in the middle of the race...
SheeKenSays
post Sep 11 2012, 06:06 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Sep 11 2012, 06:03 PM)
why not ... brows.gif
I did a final last sprint with all my breathe towards the finishing line... flex.gif

and yet got people do Gangnam style to finish... sweat.gif
SheeKenSays
post Sep 11 2012, 06:11 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Sep 11 2012, 06:08 PM)
if you register our FB LYNR pages ... you will see alot of Gangnam runner ...  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
I did...well, last post I saw was that...2 runners ( males ) holding hands running... tongue.gif

not KOTR run...hilarious biggrin.gif

then got a photoshop edition of those 2 runners again but with a paparazzi background on red carpet... laugh.gif
SheeKenSays
post Sep 12 2012, 11:47 AM

207 posts

I've just found out this morning...that the BIB I run in my colleagues name...ranked in 12th place for the Women's 10KM category...

If I had run and finished top10...would I...kantoi?...hahaha

Just wondering if what the consequences would be...

http://results.hivelocity.com.sg/events/ad...2012_result.php

My colleague's BIB is F8218~~
SheeKenSays
post Sep 12 2012, 04:00 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Sep 12 2012, 02:46 PM)
who are you in FB? just wondering..this is your captain speaking
QUOTE(90Boyz @ Sep 12 2012, 03:39 PM)
Captain, you added him a month ago.
Yeah, I was added in around a month ago...I don't post much...so not surprise if you don't recall me... blush.gif

Anyway, my name here and my FB name are similar...so it'd be easy to spot me tongue.gif

oh and, I'm still lightyears behind you Sifu's...I consider myself as mediocre level only whistling.gif whistling.gif
SheeKenSays
post Sep 13 2012, 10:53 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Sep 12 2012, 11:07 PM)
I have a friend who might not be able to join the Nike Run

1x Mens above 25  (size M shirt)
1x women above 25 (size XS shirt)

wondering if anyone wanna buy over? when collecting the goody bag will give everything to the person taking over..
YOU HAVE BEEN PM'ED!!!
SheeKenSays
post Sep 13 2012, 12:09 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 13 2012, 11:46 AM)
so far only did once, when i check back my gps data after run, there's a 10k session that i did 59:5x haha...
my fastest 10k race was like 63mins T_T
if 7mins is ur comfort zone, meaning hardly break your sweat still can chit chat while u run, 6mins/km isn't that far away..

try do pyramid running..
start with 8min pace for 1km, 7:30 for 1km, 7:00 for 1km, 6:30 for 1km, 6:00 for 1km, 5:30 as long as u can hold on, then slow reverse back to 6:00, 6:30, 7:00, 7:30, 8:00 pace respectively..

Or do interval training
take a track eg:400m, for 300m go easy recovery run, 100m go as fast as u can until you are run out of breath, use the 300m easy run as recovery. Do set like 5.

Do hill repeats
Take a short hill, eg 100m hill, sprint ur way up, it will train ur strike gait, your core stability. But dont overdo it, will cause injuries.

I find above best to train speed and stamina, at least for me
I do practice the Interval training and the Hill repeats.

As for Interval training, other than the Carpak area in 1shamelin ( I go to GorgeousFitness there ) I find it very hard to have a wide stretch of flat surface area, w/o much/any interuption

As for the hill, nearby my house there's a one...nice slope, though don't think it reaches 100m, but it does the job...
(I usually could only sprint till halfway, it's VERY difficult to sprint uphill)

SheeKenSays
post Sep 19 2012, 12:04 PM

207 posts

Any of you guys are participating in the Barbags charity run??

The Be a Runner Be a Giver event, coming this Sunday.
http://barbag2012.wordpress.com/

I know it's just 6.4km...should be 'routine' for Most of you sifu's...
SheeKenSays
post Sep 24 2012, 09:25 AM

207 posts

So, anyone who went to the last Sunday's BarBag Charity run...

Have any complains?? And got anybody going for the Gorgeous Fitness Run this coming Sunday??

I know it's the same time as the PJ run as well~~just asking...and a very Good Morning to you all.
SheeKenSays
post Sep 27 2012, 11:07 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(fastreader @ Sep 27 2012, 11:01 AM)
maybe they have a female only policy?..to keep the ratio balance?  hmm.gif
Haha, the admin is probably busy~~doubt they got such 'policy'

I also got accepted into the group a few weeks back. tongue.gif

They'll get back to your request real soon~~
SheeKenSays
post Sep 27 2012, 05:44 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(dinor01 @ Sep 27 2012, 02:50 PM)
anyone using new balance 890v2 shoe?
thinking to get one as my nike lunarglide have worn out..
Wow, from Google pics...looks very nice...got info on how much it would cost??

SheeKenSays
post Oct 1 2012, 01:36 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(bill229 @ Oct 1 2012, 10:54 AM)
I saw him too... I lost my motivation after the u-turn near airport, and turn out this guy was in front of me after the final drink station....

Timing was not so good.. Expecting 2:15 this time but end up 2:23:30. Agree with most of u that they should give water after the finish line... So exhausted aldy still wan us runner pusing pusing for water... =.=
Waoo...a blade runner...a very inspiring figure to see on the road.

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Oct 1 2012, 12:21 PM)
My first run at PJ Half Marathon yesterday. Took 7km, but managed to clock 45mins without training. Is it good? Didn't wear my specs so I missed all the water stations lol!

It was quite a fun experience but my lower thigh hurts now.

But had to search for water and was wondering around in the stadium, not knowing water are outside. sad.gif

I feel like doing proper training for future marathons now. biggrin.gif Will be joining Nike 10km, but not sure if I can make it.
If you can't make it for the Nike 10km...there's plenty of people willing to buy it from you tongue.gif (exp: me) blush.gif

Just saying...btw Congratz on your Run!! rclxms.gif
SheeKenSays
post Oct 3 2012, 04:15 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 3 2012, 04:05 PM)
How to run faster ?

If U run at 6:00/km everyday, everytime, every training session, it's little wonder why U can't run at 5:30/km or even 5:45/km right ? If U want to run at 5:30/km, U have to train at 5:30/km la, or faster even...

One keyword here :COMFORT ZONE

A lot of ppl are afraid to see what they are capable of. Very conservative in their pace estimate. My advice is : JUST DO IT. Get out of Ur comfort zone. Be prepared to hurt a bit. Back in 2010 when I 1st run HM, I ran 2:35 then 2:29.. & I thot that was the fastest I could go. But then, during my 3rd HM I ran 2:04 & I was surprised I could maintain that pace without much problem. I never thot I had it in me. So, IF U DUN TRY, U'LL NEVER KNOW WHAT U R CAPABLE OF.

Sports or even fitness is pretty much the same. To progress or improve, U need to get out of Ur comfort zone. At the gym, if U've been lifting 10kg curls for the past 6 months, pls do not think further why U have shown little or no progress in terms of muscle mass or strength, for example. U need to lift heavier. The same goes with running, cycling, swimming. U need to go faster la. No pain, no gain.
+1000 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This doesn't only apply to Sports or Fitness, but to Life as well. In our work, studies, relationships, etc~~

Never try, never know...Just Do It (Nike) & Nothing is Impossible (Adidas)...very good advice there Tenno rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
SheeKenSays
post Oct 4 2012, 02:51 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(deadmau5 @ Oct 4 2012, 02:39 PM)
Looking to buy Nike 10k Entry for Male, pm me plz.
Haha...good luck...I've also been asking/looking around...doesn't look like anybody is letting go... unsure.gif
SheeKenSays
post Oct 5 2012, 09:30 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 5 2012, 09:29 AM)
This like a feast man...

During KOTR I tried running without refuelling... I took 1 gel be4 flagoff.. I was pretty much okay, but at the finish I was really craving for something...luckily the organizer placed the banana station right at the finish...if it was PJ HM I wud've fainted edi...
Hahaha...the only thing worth remembering after KOTR was the Corn Flakes!! Took 5 cups of it!! GOODING!! tongue.gif
SheeKenSays
post Oct 8 2012, 11:02 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(RunForAGoodCause @ Oct 8 2012, 10:27 AM)
Hello, anybody here wants to relinquish their BIB for the NIKE WE RUN KL 10K? PM me, thanks.
Another hopeful buyer...just don't get your hopes to high...going to be very tough finding a runner whose Not going to run that...I've been asking around a lot too...

Probably going to run as well on that night, no di* ah!! And hopefully can get myself another of their sidewalk banners tongue.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0246sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:45 PM