4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Final Fantasy X|V: A Realm Reborn v6, Phase 3 Test #1 ENDS! See u next Friday!

Convael
post Apr 5 2013, 05:44 PM

1,109 posts

Looks like they haven't been adding much new content but several quest fixes.
The priority seems to be on the gamepad control testing .

So far it looked okay , the control is smooth and quite convenient and feels responsive on your hand .

1.0 was so awful that I had to abandon the game on the 2nd week I bought it .
I can tell they are very determined to make the relaunch as good as it can be .

But they have promised way too many things and at the same time they have very limited time frame to accomplish them. It is very unlikely they will achieve all the goals before the time runs out. And that is when all the missing promises are going back to haunt them .

Comparing with 1.0 , a lot of things have certainly gotten better .
But to compare within the the mmo field , the game still has a lot of catch-ups to do .
For example : parts the game feels quite empty so far , the combat system is not particularly special or fun ,
there are not many things to do beside the very typical MMO style of questing etc...

I shall reserve my verdict until the last stage , but as things going now it doesn't look too bright . And I just heard Square Enix is having a Layoff in various division , pretty sure it is going to affect the development more or less .

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 5 2013, 07:48 PM
Convael
post Apr 5 2013, 10:57 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Kyxs @ Apr 5 2013, 10:33 PM)
I found the graphics wasn't up to my expectation. I've been telling myself this is just beta, and this game might not be how it is when it releases. Really hope they bump up the graphics.
There likely aren't going to be any major improvement on the graphic, as they have already revamped it several times.
There isn't even any TXAA setting . Wasting the potential of the these 600 series gc.

Remember majority of the audience doesn't got a super graphic card , they will have to adjust the game to be affordable and appealing to the majority. Some of the spell effect is still way over the top and the visual effect is blocking a lot of things , but I know they are planning to add an option to toggle it off .

I do like the aesthetic of the game , I just wish they spend more time polishing on the details . Some of the minor town feels too empty , they just placed a few wooden barrel on the spot and call it a town , it is hardly convincing .

Convael
post Apr 9 2013, 12:35 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Apr 8 2013, 11:44 PM)
wow bit short for a beta test if only 3 weeks. cry.gif
It has been going for awhile already. They were undergoing several stages before this , they need times to collect and digest the feedbacks they have collected from players .

Convael
post Apr 13 2013, 03:55 AM

1,109 posts

Reading the replies from developers , its getting hilarious.

Anyone has anything to say , he would direct your answer to " Its going to happen in Phase 3 " or " yes soon in the future " Its like they are trying to make a perfect game , even for for the nonsensical requests .

This is by all means , not a good a sign.
They are ambitious but have promised way too many things to players .
Right now most of the players have built up an anticipation and hype , that Phase 3 or the relaunch of the game will be
" PERFECT FF14 WORLD' that will solve every single of their question and satisfy every one of their demand.

Not to say it is impossible but developers are human too , with 24 hours a day .
When they failed to accomplish some of ( or possibly delayed ) these promises , which they will , thats when they will get struck by more disappointment , complains , mass exodus , and then FF 14 ARR will undergo another challenge to survive in the field.

On a side note , they also seem to favor Japanese players feedback more.
I have noticed they have actual developer team members replying to Japanese while the English forum has only get replies from a middle person-moderator who is conveying the msg between the 2 sides.

Not surprising since the game is still primarily developed in Japan, but Japanese players are very much of a green horn when it comes to MMORPG. There almost aren't any long term successful mmo games in Japan ( if you ever count FF11 or PSO as 'successful " ) none of the mega-budget AAA hit have any localized Japanese version either

You can easily tell from their feedback ( if you can read Japanese in their forum ) , they care about different aspects on the game than most of the other guys , such as a bunch of them spent pages complain about lack of customization of tails color and the tails length for miqote race , seriously ?

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 13 2013, 04:15 AM
Convael
post Apr 14 2013, 10:17 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(darez @ Apr 14 2013, 06:46 PM)
認証時の環境との同一性が確認できませんでした。恐れ入りますが再度ログインからお試しください。
Unable to verify the Multiple environment of your authentication ( login ) .
Please try to re-login again later .

Likely because your last login is still getting stuck in the authentication process from disconnecting improperly.
But yes the testing time is over.

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 14 2013, 10:18 PM
Convael
post Apr 19 2013, 01:22 PM

1,109 posts

SE just released a lot of new screenshots on the jobs and location

check it out

here

note : most of these are not in the current testing phase , so don't feel like you're abandoned if you didn't get in.

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 19 2013, 01:24 PM
Convael
post Apr 26 2013, 11:42 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(shojikun @ Apr 26 2013, 11:30 PM)
Hmmm are we allowed to post image/video/sound/discussion of character creation? their new post about NDA lifting for Nico Nico Weekend abit confusing for me doh.gif
Only a several person are given the rights , the rest are still under NDA.

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 26 2013, 11:43 PM
Convael
post May 5 2013, 03:26 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(shojikun @ May 5 2013, 03:12 AM)
da faq... tis malaysian jonathan journalist dude.. so many wrong in that article he wrote for preview

http://asia.gamespot.com/final-fantasy-xiv...reborn-6407453/

many wrong informations.
Its very typical for game journalist trying to caters to the audience , while himself has barely spend any longer than 5 minutes in the actual game. Shame that he tag himself as Malaysian game editor and in the future Malaysian game editors will no longer have any credibility .

The entire article is mostly hit and miss , although some of "DIE HARD FF11 ' defenders have gone overboard . It is common for people to compare among the rivals in the same game genre .

I don't see anything wrong if someone is trying to compare an aspect with other games , although this guy definitely haven't spend much time in the game.
Convael
post May 6 2013, 03:40 PM

1,109 posts

There is a Large amount of screenshots released by Square-Enix.

While we had seen some of them before , there were some new ones among the bunch , check them out here :

magicbox

This post has been edited by Convael: May 6 2013, 03:41 PM
Convael
post May 6 2013, 10:37 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Ohiki @ May 6 2013, 10:05 PM)
shocking.gif  is the NDA lifted ? How come this video can be show in youtube ??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4ucndqbBa8
Not until phase 3 , not officially at least.

But of course there will always be ppl breaking the rules . With P3 coming up pretty soon, I doubt they really care much about the information leakage now.
Convael
post May 7 2013, 04:23 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(erueimo @ May 7 2013, 04:09 PM)
wanted to play, but the subscription fee is a little bit of a turndown =(

*i am a student, 12.99usd per month is kinda... affordable but waste*
Its all depend on how much are you willing to spend on gaming .

At least it isn't like the F2P games where it constantly force you to pay 2 win.

What is worth RM 38.77 ( 13 usd ) to you every month ?
Convael
post May 8 2013, 05:57 PM

1,109 posts

Back in the days of 2000s , typical MMORPG cost about 15~18 usd a month , converting at 3.8 ~ which equals to about RM55-60 /month ,
which is a kind of hefty price for student .

With US dollars conversion to ringgit going down in the recent years ,
I believe even as a student with appropriate expenses planning RM 38 shouldn't be too much of a burden.

In fact I am seeing mid school juniors spending hundreds of bucks on social game like Maple story every month ,
subscription based games is more beneficial to both the health of the game and wallet of the gamers.

Convael
post May 9 2013, 04:23 PM

1,109 posts

And when they are charging for games, you can almost be assured of one thing. Free of infestation from typical Pinoy (Filipino ) gamers .

I am pretty sure majority of us had some extremely unpleasant experience with any players from that region.
Plus they can only afford to play F2P games , therefore its an assurance at least.

This post has been edited by Convael: May 9 2013, 04:29 PM
Convael
post May 9 2013, 04:28 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(merru @ May 9 2013, 07:55 AM)
13usd is way better than 15~20usd for some mmo
Back in old days, 15-20 usd was standard.
For example Ragnarok Online International used to charge 15 US dollars a month , so was Anarchy Online .
Because the genre was new , the equipment, the expenses to hire professional server techie for MMORPG wasn't cheap either .

The 2-3 dollars don't make much difference for the American but it meant a lot for some other regions in the world.
Convael
post May 11 2013, 03:47 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(morn70 @ May 11 2013, 01:23 AM)
Pre-order's & release date coming at end of this month?? biggrin.gif
http://forum.square-enix.com/ffxiv/threads/61825
Release date is summer , so around June , July and August . Very soon !
Convael
post May 24 2013, 03:13 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(shojikun @ May 24 2013, 02:03 AM)
Because NA Store not allowed us to order outside from US & NA region.

This also include EU Store, i know is suck, need to wait retailer, on the other hand i hope i can u know get as many people to send mass email ticket to NA Customer Service to allow us to do so. I mean blizzard allow it doh.gif why can't SE! xD
Actually the Blizzard NA-Store does not permit collectors edition orders from SEA region any longer , the international shipping process is really hassling especially when it came to SEA .
But they have digital limited edition which is open to all . I once had ordered previous expansion and end up getting my box mailed from SEA blizzard instead ( so the box is SEA version, not the actual US version )And of course , not to mention Blizzard is still an USA-based HQ , their distribution is of course operating far more precocious than SE.

Convael
post May 30 2013, 07:57 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(Arzwart @ May 30 2013, 03:30 AM)
I don't read Japanese. what this mean?

Cute living being Minion following behind adventurer's back

A limited gift with the first batch of the sound track , named ダラガブ (daragabu)

*Minion does not provide any beneficial stats to your characters.

Enter your code before 2014/12/31.

*This item can be obtained when the official service is launched.

This post has been edited by Convael: May 30 2013, 07:59 AM
Convael
post May 31 2013, 09:02 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(ngparksern @ May 31 2013, 07:38 PM)
did looks kinda nice in action....did the action always so fast in game?? coz i saw some other video (perhaps low lv i guess). the action isn't that fast.
Faster than the original FF14 for sure , but still slow compare to the likes of , say T.E.R.A.
Its a nice flashy video, that shows all the over-the-top beautiful abilities.

But I am unsure why everyone is so picked up on the video .The combat pace still seem sluggish and slow.
First time casting a screen shaking , world destroying spell definitely feels good I am sure . But after the 1000th times ?

The last Black Mage is just horrible . I imagine the BM players could probably watch TV and do laundry while leveling .
Reminded me of lvling the Paladin job from a certain blizzard game back in the launch day . I could do cooking while leveling my characters ! .

Again this is still the beta , hopefully they do something about it .
Convael
post Jun 5 2013, 12:20 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(finecut @ Jun 4 2013, 05:51 PM)
watched the beta combat footage, everyone just stand still and clicking skills. sad.gif
use to play this kind of combat system on other mmo and i always fell asleep half way. then soon uninstall.
not sure how things has changed then
I actually agree with you somewhat . Stagnant movement system is what kills a MMO faster than flies drop . Would look at an example at how quickly Aeon died off (which has the exact same problem )
But again the key here is " wait n see " . Hence there are so much anticipation for Phase 3.

QUOTE(wensiang @ Jun 4 2013, 06:42 PM)
too much of moving while killing normal monster wont be enjoying..really....at first maybe..but after 50 levels of moving here n there just to kill normal monster = super boring,,
FFXIV will need you to move a lot while doing dungeon and killing bosses..low level not much but at end game you need to move a lot..just google ifrit battle and you can see how you must move.
Movement is 1 of the biggest challenges game developer could bestow upon the players . Similar things were said by the developers of the long running Everquest , W.O.W and Anarchy Online. Movement impairing , taking huge damage by not moving away from AOE spells , caster inability to channel spells when moving ( exclude the special limited ability which allow them for a duration ) , these are all the fundamental in MMORPG.

It is exactly what differentiate between the caster and melee combatant / instant spells.
I have kited my way from getting 3 #1 realm from wow to 9 x level 50 characters in swtor , you could say its gimmick . Most players are used to their very own jumpy way when it comes to Mmorpg.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jun 5 2013, 12:21 PM
Convael
post Jun 16 2013, 01:26 PM

1,109 posts

So far the game has receive quite some negative feedback ,
even for Japanese ( who usually have very high endurance to games ) .
2ch response has been less than favorable so far .
FF14's game hype on mmorpg.com has also dropped by two place since the Beta launched .

The infamous queuing "system" is still there , the pictures are quite hilarious . Especially given how polite they are.

Read here : FF14 " Some things never change "

Warning : Some Ads on the site are NSFW. Visit at your own risk.

This post has been edited by Convael: Jun 16 2013, 01:28 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0424sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:04 PM