I have ADHD son, Need an advise and support

Rosey
post Jan 20 2013, 03:41 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 21 2012, 02:42 PM)
ADHD is quite a common developmental disorder and can persist thru out life. There are quite a number of celebrities with ADHD as well if you look it up on the Internet. They can still live a very normal life as long as they have it properly diagnose and under control. Many parents think that the child does not want to listen to them or is naughty but don't realise that they have ADHD. It's good that you have already found it out.

It's best that you get professional help on this on how to handle children with ADHD. If not mistaken, some doctors may recommend medicine as it has been found to be very effective to control ADHD.

Don't bother about your other family members, in this country, mental disorders are not very well accepted in our society, especially the older generation. You have to be strong and love and support your child. Try to get some professional help for yourself too, you may go into depression or stress can affect your physical and mental health if this continues. Think about your child's future.

If money is a concern, there are government hospitals with counselling dept or psychiatric departments. I believe there are also some NGOs around to help special children and their families.
ADHD is a real phenomenon but where do you go for help. I know of 2 kids who went for speech therapy and got a lot of their issues sorted out. Apparently only some speech therapists work with ADHD as not everyone has the right training. I think parents need to really seek answers and find the right professionals. At first the parents of these 2 kids thought they would grow out of it. But they did not. Then they went for extra classes and that didn't work either. They they tried speech therapy. PM if you need to speak to me.

Rosey
post Jan 20 2013, 03:45 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(catherinessc @ Jun 21 2012, 05:08 PM)
Hi dear, u can always bring your son to the doctor to help to deal with ADHD...

Usually psychiatrist will prescribe some medication for them to lower down the activeness so the child can be more managable and calm so they can concentrate more in class... (if they think it is needed after assessment)

There are lotsa degree of ADHD-mild, moderate, severe...

Sorry to say but there are no medications to treat/heal ADHD, only medications to control it...

Basically child with ADHD needs to go through behavioural training (usually they will have it in hospital), some might need medications to calm their behaviour and some might need special class. (kelas pemulihan in certain school for special kids, where there's a teacher who only take care of few students plus they have different syllabus)...as ADHD kids (usually moderate and severe are not suitable to be in usual classes as they cant pay attention). To apply for these classes, u will need a doctor to certify and diagnose the child with ADHD and u will need to deal with some documentations...

For now, I think u need to get opinion from specialist to verify that your child is really having ADHD), the reason is:

1) do not label a child with something he doesnt have that he needs to carry with him whole life long...make sure u get the specialist to have a look at him and make the diagnosis...

2) do not just go to a normal GP or any KK doctors as they are not expert in this field, they might know about ADHD but not to a specialised level...

3) If can, go see a child psychiatrist (specialist), they are the one who is dealing with ADHD, autism etc... (psychiatrist doesnt mean the child is crazy, its just that they deal with all the disease relating to chemistry in brain)

Don't be worry, u can always talk to us, we will try to help u...

U also need to be tough as your child depends on u...

Good luck  smile.gif
As ADHD concerns your child's communication and language development, you SHOULD seek out a qualified speech and language therapist with membership in at least ONE professional body.
catherinessc
post Jan 22 2013, 10:34 PM

541 posts

Yup, better go and find a child psychiatrist. Assess and diagnose. Then the child psychiatrist will refer the child to other necessities such as psychologist, speech therapist, social welfare (OKU status) and child occupational therapist altogether...

kiantee
post Feb 7 2013, 12:09 AM

17 posts

Can try this:
Psychiatry Adolescent & Child Unit
Department of Psychological Medicine
University Malaya Medical Centre
59100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

(6) 03 – 79494422 extension 3098 (to speak to a staff / administrative assistant for general enquiries) OR
(6) 03 – 79493099 (to speak to a nurse for appointments or clinical matters)
memorybooster
post Feb 10 2013, 03:10 PM

Well, do not think that this has happened because you have failed at parenting.

Parenting a child who is suffering from Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder can be tedious and can really test your patience. However, you need to understand that as a parent you must be there to support your child every step of the way. A child suffering from ADHD suffers from great peer pressure and other problems faced in school or at the play ground. Therefore, parents need to explain to their children what ADHD is and why he or she is suffering from it. Parents and kids both need to understand the disorder and sometimes even need to take joint counselling sessions.

DanielW
post Feb 16 2013, 05:57 PM

327 posts

I read somewhere that having an aquarium helps to calm ADHD kids. Get your son to go with you to the fish shop and let him choose the fishes that he likes. http://www.examiner.com/article/aquarium-therapy-and-adhd
thadd88
post Feb 28 2013, 09:15 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(emily8 @ Jun 21 2012, 06:35 PM)
Please view this web site;
http://www.autism.org.my/
ADHD is completely different from Autism my friend.
zaii
post Mar 4 2013, 10:58 AM

go to the nearest hospital n the doctor wl refer yr child to the OT (occupational therapy) department where they hv trained therapist who wl assist u n yr child with the problem on a periodic basis.

there are also PDK (pusat dlm komuniti) under the welfare dept who can assist. u can google the nearest centre to you.

there are also privately runned centres available to seek assistance.

abubin
post Mar 8 2013, 12:19 PM

10,429 posts

first, you must get your child properly diagnosed. ADHD could only be one of the symptom he have. He might have other mild disorder syndrome from autism.

My son is diagnosed with ADHD and asperger syndrome. Some kids have combinations of disorder. The reason to get it properly diagnosed is so that you could apply effective method in helping the child.

One thing you must accept is there are no cure for it. There are on therapies to make things better. For ADHD, sometimes food play an important role. Some ADHD kids will get worse when they eat too much sugar or chocolate or ice cream and so on. Try to check the diet of your child. If less sugar can make him less hyper, then it would be good thing to do.

Don't worry you are not alone. There are a lot of government and NGO societies that can help. I send my son to NASOM (national autism society of malaysia). They have nice people there who could help. Google for NASOM.

As for other people who doesn't understand the problem or ignorant about this issue. First, try to explain to them. If they still unable to accept then ignore them. It's your son and your child. Avoid listening to some old-wives tales of eating this or that medicine to help cure the "sickness". Lots of these people trying to take advantage of desperate parents.
JLET
post May 17 2013, 01:48 AM

I know it is not conventional, but do you know about sign language? I have a very active baby, so there was a time I was worry myself. Then I teach my baby sign language, buy the dvd : signing time. He loves it, he communicate better now. I heard that fish oil (DHA) supplement helps too. Read some review in amazon about children's fish oil, it helps with speech delay and ADHD. I know it is hard, but arm yourself with lots of information (but be careful with pseudo-science), then you can make better choices.
AntiSurge
post May 17 2013, 11:05 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(nazimah @ Jun 21 2012, 09:52 AM)
I am a single mom sad.gif  I have an 8 yr old son who is diagnosed with ADHD.  he's been having problem in class and do not want to do his work especially what was written on the board.  he's having problems writing it down on time.  and lately he always having problem listening and behave.  i have no clue what is ADHD at first, until i bought a book about it.  need advise how to handle him better and where can i go to to help him gets help. the hardest part is that, i have no support from my family, coz' they keep cricised me and denying that my son is having problems.  sometimes i cried all by myself in my car.  dont know who to talk to. 

thank you.
TS, be strong. We are all here to support you. I dont knwo much about ADHD but the comments here really help. Be strong ok!
berrychexin
post May 17 2013, 05:28 PM

14 posts

try homeschool...but fees are expensive
erei
post Aug 17 2013, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(nazimah @ Jun 21 2012, 09:52 AM)
I am a single mom sad.gif  I have an 8 yr old son who is diagnosed with ADHD.  he's been having problem in class and do not want to do his work especially what was written on the board.  he's having problems writing it down on time.  and lately he always having problem listening and behave.  i have no clue what is ADHD at first, until i bought a book about it.  need advise how to handle him better and where can i go to to help him gets help. the hardest part is that, i have no support from my family, coz' they keep cricised me and denying that my son is having problems.  sometimes i cried all by myself in my car.  dont know who to talk to. 

thank you.
Hi Nazimah,
The best place you can get help is to get a licensed professional child therapist to help.
So far the best child therapist in Malaysia is Ms. Su Chen from Kin and Kids

She is a licensed professional counselor and a child therapist with many US certifications.
She has many experience working with children and may help your child adapt better in school.

Her contact is available from the website: http://www.kinandkids.com/su-chen/

Take care.
low yat 82
post Jun 26 2018, 05:28 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Mar 8 2013, 12:19 PM)
first, you must get your child properly diagnosed. ADHD could only be one of the symptom he have. He might have other mild disorder syndrome from autism.

My son is diagnosed with ADHD and asperger syndrome. Some kids have combinations of disorder. The reason to get it properly diagnosed is so that you could apply effective method in helping the child.

One thing you must accept is there are no cure for it. There are on therapies to make things better. For ADHD, sometimes food play an important role. Some ADHD kids will get worse when they eat too much sugar or chocolate or ice cream and so on. Try to check the diet of your child. If less sugar can make him less hyper, then it would be good thing to do.

Don't worry you are not alone. There are a lot of government and NGO societies that can help. I send my son to NASOM (national autism society of malaysia). They have nice people there who could help. Google for NASOM.

As for other people who doesn't understand the problem or ignorant about this issue. First, try to explain to them. If they still unable to accept then ignore them. It's your son and your child. Avoid listening to some old-wives tales of eating this or that medicine to help cure the "sickness". Lots of these people trying to take advantage of desperate parents.
sorry bring up old post. when got problem, shud i start of wit gomen or directly go private? nasom can help me wit wat type my son problem is?
COOLPINK
post Jun 26 2018, 05:31 PM

3,663 posts

it tough to be a single parent - respect notworthy.gif

Gomen hospitals have specialist that can help with ADHD.

stay strong ya.

btw hows the progress of your son after so many years?

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Jun 26 2018, 05:32 PM
iamoracle
post Jun 27 2018, 08:58 AM

614 posts

If your child has been confirmed with ADHD, quickly enrol your child to an early intervention programme.

Overview of Early Intervention
http://www.parentcenterhub.org/ei-overview/

0.0187sec    0.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:35 AM