RAM Handbook, updating ... zlol 23/12/07

Natalie_Ooi
post Apr 1 2013, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(keropi88 @ Mar 28 2013, 10:48 PM)
Guys ... I was thinking of adding another 4 GB to become 8GB total

Why suddenly all the ddr3 ram so expensive ?

I'm looking at DDR3 ram but got 8chips and 16 chips .. What's the difference ?

Is t necessary for me to go 8GB from 4 GB ? Any big difference ?
Q: Why suddenly all the ddr3 ram so expensive ?

A: I bought a 4GB DDR3 RAM for RM96 a couple of days ago, Kingston RAMs with 16 chips on each RAM. Electronic stuff are getting more expensive nowadays.

Q: I'm looking at DDR3 ram but got 8chips and 16 chips .. What's the difference ?

A: There is no much differences between 8 chips and 16 chips, just that 16 chips is running faster than 8 chips. Chips are like "manpower". The more chips a RAM has, the faster it operates, just like more manpower get the jobs done faster.

Q: Is it necessary for me to go 8GB from 4 GB ? Any big difference ?

A: If you want your computer to operate faster, my answer is yes, especially if you are a programmer, graphic designer, or video gamer, etc.

I just upgraded my laptop from 4GB to 8GB on last Friday (29/3/2013). As for my experience, 8GB RAM is running faster than 4GB ram on my laptop, half time faster. If you want to go for 8GB RAM, I recommended you to go for 2 pieces of 4GB RAM. BUT, if you want to remain 4GB RAM, then it is better for 2 pieces of 2GB RAM. Because using 2 pieces of RAMs is always run faster than using ONLY 1 piece of RAM. As I mentioned above, more chips makes the computer operates faster, because 2 pieces of RAMs always has more chips than 1 piece of RAM.

This post has been edited by Natalie_Ooi: Apr 1 2013, 08:29 PM
keropi88
post Apr 1 2013, 08:32 PM

292 posts

thanks for replying !

is there any way i can check my current ram is 8 / 16 chips ?

if mine is 8 chips, then if i bought another one 16 chips, is it going to work like it is suppose to ?
Natalie_Ooi
post Apr 1 2013, 08:33 PM

QUOTE(endau02 @ Nov 13 2012, 07:59 PM)
is it possible for me to add in another kingston 4GB 1333Mhz RAM on my Dell Vostro 3750?

seems like both of them different manufacturer.
It is okay to have different manufacturer RAM in your computer. But what I've heard that all the RAMs in your computer has to be in the same Hertz.

This post has been edited by Natalie_Ooi: Apr 1 2013, 08:49 PM
Natalie_Ooi
post Apr 1 2013, 08:48 PM

QUOTE(keropi88 @ Apr 1 2013, 08:32 PM)
thanks for replying !

is there any way i can check my current ram is 8 / 16 chips ?

if mine is 8 chips, then if i bought another one 16 chips, is it going to work like it is suppose to ?
Q: Is there any way i can check my current ram is 8 / 16 chips ?

A: Yes, just take out the whole RAM from your computer and calculate how many "giant black rectangles" stuff are on your RAM on both side. If you are using a laptop, the RAMs should right below the touchpad.

Q: If mine is 8 chips, then if i bought another one 16 chips, is it going to work like it is suppose to ?

A: Not really. But as long as they have the same Hertz, then both rams are able to run on a computer, unfortunately, the ram with 8 chips will run slower than the 16 chips.
keropi88
post Apr 1 2013, 08:54 PM

292 posts

i heard like if you run dual ram 1333 and 1600, the one with 1600 will be dragged down to 1333 by the other one... is it the same thing gonna happen to chips ?
Natalie_Ooi
post Apr 1 2013, 09:02 PM

QUOTE(JML @ Oct 13 2012, 05:21 PM)
If after my PC startup, able to enter Windows, but after like 1 minute it restarts again.. is this RAM problem?

i have only 1 module, and i tried to change to another RAM slot. but still same problem.

appreciate your help. Thx
No, it is not the RAM problem, it could be the problem of the processor or the system. RAM is Random Access Memory, different Hertz of RAMs change the operation speed of a computer, RAMs is all about "speed". As for the restart, I've countered this problem before. Try to format your computer see if it works. If it works, then could be the system (software) problem, cuz system can be crushed sometimes. If it is not working, then it should be somethings wrong with the processor or probably the motherboard. If it is the processor or motherboard problem, I'm sorry that you will need to send it to the factory of your computer, cuz nothing you can do with the hardware.

QUOTE(keropi88 @ Apr 1 2013, 08:54 PM)
i heard like if you run dual ram 1333 and 1600, the one with 1600 will be dragged down to 1333 by the other one... is it the same thing gonna happen to chips ?
The reason the 1600 ram dragged down to 1333 is because computer cannot run with different Hertz of RAMs, and chips could be the same.

QUOTE(j.hafiz10 @ Jan 31 2012, 06:20 AM)
Guys, anyone can share, what kind of RAM should I choose? Which brand is better? BTW, someone told me that better two different ram than 1 ram only.

I mean 2 pieces of RAM 2GB are better than 1 piece of RAM of 4 GB. Is it true? Or just a myth??? rclxub.gif
I'm not sure what brand of RAM is good, but I'm using Kingston. Also, 2 pieces of RAM 2GB RAN is always run faster than 1 piece of 4GB RAM. This is because more RAMs have more chips, and more chips make your computer runs faster. Chips are like "manpower", you know what I mean.

QUOTE(Fame2163 @ Oct 3 2012, 02:48 PM)
Hi.  I want to upgrade my Notebook RAM which is currently 2gb.

So if i buy 1pc of 4gb RAM, will there be conflict or run just fine with total of 6gb usable memory?

OS is the 64bit Win7. I included the info from CPUZ down below.

Any suggestion is appreciated.
Hi, I'm not sure about if different Hertz of RAMs can run on a computer or not. But it is recommended to use same Hertz of RAMs all the time.
keropi88
post Apr 1 2013, 11:57 PM

292 posts

thanks Natalie for clearing my doubt

getting another 4GB ram soon to make it 8 GB total

thanks a lot , appreciate that
Natalie_Ooi
post Apr 2 2013, 08:35 AM

QUOTE(keropi88 @ Apr 1 2013, 11:57 PM)
thanks Natalie for clearing my doubt

getting another 4GB ram soon to make it 8 GB total

thanks a lot , appreciate that
Your are welcome... =)

By the way, if you want your RAMs to have better function/operation, the RAMs of the computer should always have the same hertz and the same numbers of chips.
arecheese
post Apr 2 2013, 01:54 PM

309 posts

hey, not sure if this is the right place to put it but just wanna share kingstons new BLACK PCB ram which looks awesome! hehe http://youtu.be/ionva0GCMv0
kasey1314
post Apr 8 2013, 08:39 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

Wanted to ask ,

Gskill 16GB 1866 F3-1866C9D-16GXM 8gb x2

Or

Corsair Vengeance 1866 16gb kit set c9 ?

Use for rendering rig,

Sifus, please help
XterNalz
post Apr 27 2013, 02:28 PM

330 posts

I have 4 RAM slots on my desktop motherboard. I had previously occupied two of the slots with 2 Corsair 1333mhz 2GB DDR3 before I recently added one Team 1333mhz 4GB DDR3. However, the computer won't start with 3 RAMs attached, it will only start with either 2GB+4GB or 2GBx2. Any idea about this?
KUROsaki23
post Apr 29 2013, 07:15 PM

330 posts

basically kingston ram got how many years warranty?
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 29 2013, 09:48 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(XterNalz @ Apr 27 2013, 02:28 PM)
I have 4 RAM slots on my desktop motherboard. I had previously occupied two of the slots with 2 Corsair 1333mhz 2GB DDR3 before I recently added one Team 1333mhz 4GB DDR3. However, the computer won't start with 3 RAMs attached, it will only start with either 2GB+4GB or 2GBx2. Any idea about this?
Here are the steps that you can use to troubleshoot or solve the issue you're facing:
1) Update your motherboard's bios
2) Enter your board's bios and manually set the RAM modules parameters to 1333MHz for memory frequency and 9-9-9-24 for RAM timing.
3) Google for Memtest (a RAM testing software) as well as for the tutorial on how to use it and use it to test the 4GB module you have
4) Run only one RAM in your system and on the slot that seems to be giving you the issue to see if it's working normally. If there is any issue the problem may lie with your motherboard's RAM slot.

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 29 2013, 07:15 PM)
Kingston offers lifetime warranty for their RAM modules. The definition of lifetime warranty for the RAM module is for as long as the modules are still in production.
OC4/3
post Apr 29 2013, 10:17 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 29 2013, 07:15 PM)
Product lifetime
KUROsaki23
post Apr 30 2013, 12:53 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Apr 29 2013, 10:48 PM)
Kingston offers lifetime warranty for their RAM modules. The definition of lifetime warranty for the RAM module is for as long as the modules are still in production.
how to know my ram still in production or no? the only thing left with me is the ram itself and where can i send the warranty to?
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 30 2013, 12:39 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(KUROsaki23 @ Apr 30 2013, 12:53 AM)
how to know my ram still in production or no? the only thing left with me is the ram itself and where can i send the warranty to?
You can send the RAM back to the shop you have bought it from. Alternatively, you can bring it to a Kingston products distributor like Amble Action, though I would advise that you drop them a message first to see if they accept returns from end-users.

The production for the RAM you have stops when the manufacturer announces so, or when the market starts focusing entirely on a new generation of RAM, e.g DDR4 chips.
mavezai1984
post Jun 26 2013, 04:06 PM

1,610 posts

Er guys, heard FM2 benefited from performance ram, any different if i use G.Skill 4gb 1600mhz value ram compared to Ripjawx or Sniper series performance ram which running also at 1600mhz?

This post has been edited by mavezai1984: Jun 26 2013, 04:06 PM
OC4/3
post Jun 26 2013, 07:44 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(mavezai1984 @ Jun 26 2013, 04:06 PM)
Er guys, heard FM2 benefited from performance ram, any different if i use G.Skill 4gb 1600mhz value ram compared to Ripjawx or Sniper series performance ram which running also at 1600mhz?
If running at 1600mhz at same latency/timing for real world usage,nil
If OCing purpose,depend on several factor:
1.)Ram Chip(Some ram chip is better than other for ocing and some 1600mhz ram might come with it)
2.)Ram chip binning(Even same type of ram chip,some is better than other;Usually higher binned chip is found on higher end ram)
3.)Motherboard behavior with ram(this is something that take experience to learn)

mavezai1984
post Jun 26 2013, 08:03 PM

1,610 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 26 2013, 07:44 PM)
If running at 1600mhz at same latency/timing for real world usage,nil
If OCing purpose,depend on several factor:
1.)Ram Chip(Some ram chip is better than other for ocing and some 1600mhz ram might come with it)
2.)Ram chip binning(Even same type of ram chip,some is better than other;Usually higher binned chip is found on higher end ram)
3.)Motherboard behavior with ram(this is something that take experience to learn)
Ah thx, RAM for me usually just plug and leave it that way lol. But just read an article stated that, AMD FM2 socket iGP actually take advantage on higher memory latency and timing on performance ram. Looks like a pair of 1866mhz ram is needed for my A10-5800k lol. smile.gif

http://m.hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/46073-...ter-ram/?page=3

This post has been edited by mavezai1984: Jun 26 2013, 08:04 PM
vin_ann
post Jun 28 2013, 11:59 AM

10,912 posts

hi all sifu, i have question on RAM upgrade for my old old Fujitsu Lifebook S2110 laptop.

it's uses " DDR 333MHz (max. 2GB)"

Currently running at 1GB with 2 512MB.

Q: how much DDR RAM for laptop selling now? where i can check the indicative prices?

Q: To upgrade, i have to buy 1GB DDR RAM x 2 and have to put aside my 2 512MB RAM. I'm right?

64 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:28 PM