Wait iphone 5 or get Galaxy S3 now

SUSKuLi
post Aug 14 2012, 08:07 AM

You won't like me when I'm angry
1,293 posts

here's another reason to choose iPhones instead.

apple takes security very seriously.

Does society really want extremely private mobile devices if they make life easier for criminals? Apple's newly toughened standards sharpen the focus on that question.

By Simson L. Garfinkel

Less than a month after Apple first shipped the iPhone in June 2007, a group called Independent Security Evaluators documented deep security design flaws in the device. Apple's most embarrassing flub: every iPhone application that Apple had written ran with so-called root privileges, giving each one complete control over the entire phone. Hackers found bugs in those apps that could be used to take over the phone from the inside. Apple didn't fix the design flaw until January 2008.

But after that rocky launch, Apple invested heavily in iPhone security. It's still possible for a hacker to take over a phone, but it's increasingly difficult, largely because each app runs in its own isolated "sandbox." The phone even verifies its operating system when it boots. Today the Apple iPhone 4S and iPad 3 are trustworthy mobile computing systems that can be used for mobile payments, e-commerce, and the delivery of high-quality paid programming—all of which bring Apple significant revenue in the form of commissions.

In fact, in its efforts to make its devices more secure, Apple has crossed a significant threshold. Technologies the company has adopted protect Apple customers' content so well that in many situations it's impossible for law enforcement to perform forensic examinations of devices seized from criminals. Most significant is the increasing use of encryption, which is beginning to cause problems for law enforcement agencies when they encounter systems with encrypted drives.

"I can tell you from the Department of Justice perspective, if that drive is encrypted, you're done," Ovie Carroll, director of the cyber-crime lab at the Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section in the Department of Justice, said during his keynote address at the DFRWS computer forensics conference in Washington, D.C., last Monday. "When conducting criminal investigations, if you pull the power on a drive that is whole-disk encrypted you have lost any chance of recovering that data."

Mass-market cryptography hasn't been thought of as a potential threat to law enforcement since the "crypto wars" of the 1990s. Back then there was a very public battle against U.S. laws and regulations that limited the use and export of cryptographic technology. On one side, civil liberties groups and business interests said that the public needed strong cryptography to protect privacy and financial transactions. On the other side, law enforcement organizations warned that the same technology would empower drug dealers, kidnappers, money launderers, and terrorists.

Law enforcement lost the crypto wars: today there is essentially no restriction on mass-market cryptography. Fortunately, few of the predicted horribles came to pass. One reason is that the encryption systems developed and sold to consumers over the past 20 years have had an Achilles' heel: there has been no good way to let users securely manage encryption keys. Cryptography, for all its power, provides no security unless the keys used to lock the data remain secret.

Enter the iPhone. Apple's security architecture is so sturdy, and so tightly woven into its hardware and software, that it is both easy for consumers to use encryption on their phones and very difficult for someone else to steal the encrypted information.

At the heart of Apple's security architecture is the Advanced Encryption Standard algorithm (AES), a data-scrambling system published in 1998 and adopted as a U.S. government standard in 2001. After more than a decade of exhaustive analysis, AES is widely regarded as unbreakable. The algorithm is so strong that no computer imaginable for the foreseeable future—even a quantum computer—would be able to crack a truly random 256-bit AES key. The National Security Agency has approved AES-256 for storing top-secret data.

Apple did not respond to requests for comment on this story. But the AES key in each iPad or iPhone "is unique to each device and is not recorded by Apple or any of its suppliers," the company said in a security-related white paper. "Burning these keys into the silicon prevents them from being tampered with or bypassed, and guarantees that they can be access only by the AES engine."

What this means in practice is that when iOS devices are turned off, the copy of the encryption key in the computer's accessible memory is erased. That is why an investigator who gets a suspect's phone would have to try all possible keys—the task deemed impossible by the NSA.

The iPhone and iPad do keep a copy of the encryption key deeper in flash memory—otherwise there would be no way for the device to recover data when it was turned back on. But that encryption key is itself protected by the user's "PIN lock," a code that must be entered before the device can be used.

The iPhone always supported a PIN lock, but the PIN wasn't a deterrent to a serious attacker until the iPhone 3GS. Because those early phones didn't use their hardware to perform encryption, a skilled investigator could hack into the phone, dump its flash memory, and directly access the phone's address book, e-mail messages, and other information. But now, with Apple's more sophisticated approach to encryption, investigators who want to examine data on a phone have to try every possible PIN. Examiners perform these so-called brute-force attacks with special software, because the iPhone can be programmed to wipe itself if the wrong PIN is provided more than 10 times in a row. This software must be run on the iPhone itself, limiting the guessing speed to 80 milliseconds per PIN. Trying all four-digit PINs therefore requires no more than 800 seconds, a little more than 13 minutes. However, if the user chooses a six-digit PIN, the maximum time required would be 22 hours; a nine-digit PIN would require 2.5 years, and a 10-digit pin would take 25 years. That's good enough for most corporate secrets—and probably good enough for most criminals as well.

"There are a lot of issues when it comes to extracting data from iOS devices," says Amber Schroader, CEO of Paraben, a supplier of forensic software, hardware, and services for cell phones. "We have had many civil cases we have not been able to process ... for discovery because of encryption blocking us."

Another iPhone innovation has to do with how and where data gets encrypted. Years ago encryption wasn't used very often because it was difficult to implement and computationally expensive—it took a lot of resources. Not so with the iPhone. Apple designed iOS devices so that the hardware that encrypts data is in the path the data travels when it moves from flash storage to the iPhone's main memory. This means that data can be automatically decrypted when read from flash into memory and reëncrypted when saved from memory back to flash. On the iPhone, encryption is essentially free.

That makes it possible to offer services like Foxygram, an iPhone app that allows users to share encrypted data in the knowledge that it cannot be intercepted and provided to law enforcement. Markus Kangas, cofounder of the app's creator, FoxyFone, says the goal is to "provide easy-to-use secure messaging for everyone and at the same time protect user privacy." He adds: "We are not there to police people."

Google's Android operating system also supports encrypted storage, but only for some of the data on the phone. More important, there is no key burned into the hardware, so even complex passwords can be broken by extracting them and using a network of a few hundred computers. BlackBerry phones, on the other hand, also have a strong encryption system that can be based on multiple factors in addition to the user's PIN.

But the BlackBerry system is designed for business customers and is harder to use than Apple's, which is made for the consumer market. Now that hardened, military-grade encryption is tough and easy for consumers to use—assuming the user has set a PIN lock that's both long and hard to guess—the nightmare scenario of the crypto wars may finally have come to pass.
SUSKuLi
post Aug 14 2012, 10:45 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Aug 14 2012, 09:12 AM)
yea,same case,if im gonna get both,i wont resell.I rather keep it or lend it to family members to use first.
yea,they mind security a lot,thats why flash is not implemented.
flash also reduces battery life.

where apple leads, ppl follow. even android also drop flash. user posted image
LOL

SUSKuLi
post Aug 21 2012, 10:51 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 21 2012, 09:32 PM)
dude, patent and copyright is not about who's the first.
its about who's put it under patent -.-"
some of the feature might not be patented by other company but apple did.

alexander graham bell, is not the first telephone inventor.
but because he is the first one who patented his invention, he got the title!
understand this concept first
Apple learnt their lesson painfully after their ground breaking Mac OS was shamelessly copied by Microsoft until they almost went bankrupt.

Imagine if u work until midnight and sacrificed leisure time just to write ur fantastic essay but some bugga just copied and get same marks like u...

SUSKuLi
post Aug 22 2012, 12:25 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Aug 22 2012, 04:31 AM)
Every move have a story behind, this is what Apple learn from and will not make the same mistake again  tongue.gif
budak budak nowadays do not know the history of apple. they just think apple was successful all the time.

but the fact is, apple almost died and went bankrupt bcos of microsoft copying their GUI.

and now, samsung is trying to do the same thing. if u look at the court documents, it is clear samsung is succssful only after they start to copy apple hardware and software design.

SUSKuLi
post Aug 23 2012, 12:14 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 22 2012, 11:11 PM)
dunno why android will lag
to understand why android is still lag even though using bad-ass specs like quad core and 1GB RAM, u must first understand how android was born.

the person who started android was an engineer working for Apple.
Google chairman also knew abt the idea of touch screen phones when he was board member in Apple.
so android is a copycat system. and like most copycats, they can capture the most parts but not the soul of the thing they copied.

Apple has much experience in graphics design in both hardware and software.
They use this superior knowledge to design and produce the great iPhone.
Like all their products, Apple designs the product where hardware and software are working together as one in perfect harmony.

whereas android is like frankenstein monster. it is open-sourced and designed to fit almost all hardware configuration. this creates the huge problem of fragmentation and the hardware/software are not working together properly.

SUSKuLi
post Aug 23 2012, 02:15 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 23 2012, 01:56 PM)
I was sitting beside my ceo who of course is not computer literate. He has an iphone 4s . and I know he uses it only for basic communication. And of course it's stock. A phone call rang and he try to swipe to answer it but iphone didn't respond. Up to a point it hang up. He then turn to me since he knows I am quite a gadget freak. Ask me why is like this? After asking a few questions about his phone. I can't figure out why too. So people who talk so great things about iphone don't lag must be be kidding. Even my ipad lags sometimes. As much as my s3 lags too. I am not keeping count which lags more. But let me tell you it's not significant that I will jump ship to the other platform
pls check the fingertips of ur ceo.
most likely is it is soiled or wet. thats why the touch screen cannot respond properly.
a quick wipe of the finger is required. thumbup.gif
it happens to android phones as well.
SUSKuLi
post Aug 23 2012, 06:09 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 23 2012, 04:04 PM)
the time will come.
if u go to Android thread, they are expecting Sony to make turning point with their comeback product smile.gif
its just a matter of time before Sony can beat Samsung and iPhone market.
Sony smartphone equipped with ICS, integrated with the legendary Live Walkman (one of the best phone speaker in few years back), and also with camera 12MP. u know, sony phone is the best if it comes to camera.
most of the newly launch sony phones comes with dual core but it is comparable to HTC One X (quad core) already, based on review.
sony has good industrial design and proven expertise in sound (walkman)and sight (bravia). there is no doubt abt this.

their experia series is very nice and proves that u dun have to be a copycat like samsung to make a great design. whistling.gif

unfortunately, they have lost their way by choosing android as software platform. for those old enuff to remember, sony made great palm pcs with the clie series. somehow they lost their way by joining with ericsson.

since using iOS is impossible, what sony can do now is to use windows phone 8 instead of android. it is much better compared to the clunky android.
SUSKuLi
post Aug 23 2012, 06:34 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 23 2012, 06:25 PM)
Each brand have their own win point
how true. but even among the different brands but there will always be winner.
like ms universe contest, each beauty is different. some with b itchy faces, some with sultry and even with innocent looks.

but there is always only 1 winner, who may not be the best in every category but great in all categories.

and in this case, iPhone is the Best!
SUSKuLi
post Aug 23 2012, 07:13 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Aug 23 2012, 06:42 PM)
I have a sense that the new iPhone going to be big. After 5 generation of iPhone, hope this is a "true" redesign.

Not trying to be bias but Apple hardware quality is top notch compare to those 'plastic' phone.
It's definitely going to be earth shaking as the design was still influenced by the late Steve jobs.
Not sure abt ip6 and beyond though. But with sir jonny ives still thr, still might be hope.
SUSKuLi
post Aug 23 2012, 08:53 PM

1,293 posts

Steve Jobs said, “Good artists copy great artists steal"

When Picasso and later SJ said it, they meant that every artist is influenced by what has been done before their time. If not by direct exposure, the information the artist is exposed to through other people, media, etc. influences them. We are all a product of our times and have the benefit of those who have walked similar paths we are now on.

We all borrow because it has all been done before and we are not the originators. To merely copy is to take an existing interpretation and not run away with it. To steal an idea is to take something of value and make it yours. To make an artistic element yours you have to interpret it your way with your own approach.

This cannot be done when you are merely copying the idea. When copying the idea you are just doing everything exactly like it was previously done. When you have done it your way you have used the element and not simply duplicated it.

It is not required that you advance the element. You can go sideways and even backwards with the idea and you can be stealing the element and not copying it. On the contrary, when merely copying the element you have failed if you do not match the original

Sometimes I really cant under these Americans writing all these crap. They rather a foreign company copy an American idea just so that they can play with their little Samsungs......

SUSKuLi
post Aug 24 2012, 07:44 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 24 2012, 06:37 AM)
not according to market share, only according to profit. but all business men knows market share is more powerful than profit. but this is as of now (i always say things in context)

maybe u say android is not a phone so not counted. so let's compare apples and apples
samsung android vs. iphone - samsung still wins in market share.

but having said that, with iphone 5 coming soon, it might be different stats later on. only time can tell, but i would still bet for samsung.

don't get me wrong, i am not a fan of samsung. in fact i hope i am wrong. i don't really have high praises of samsung apart from the OS that is running on it.
Dun know what business mindset u have, LOL but ultimately it's all abt profits!!!!
Mkt share is important no doubt bcos u keep ur business running. Even if u have 99% mkt share but ur profit is low...ppl say it is just work for nothing.

2ndly, Samsung product lines stretch from low end to premium, with a few products in every segment. Apple only plays in the upper-medium and premium end. Certainly, mkt share of Samsung is higher.

For example, apple only compete and win s in miss universe where the prize is highest whereas Samsung takes part in miss Korea, miss bangla, ms tranny, etc.

This post has been edited by KuLi: Aug 24 2012, 07:47 AM
SUSKuLi
post Aug 24 2012, 08:04 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(aiden.azari @ Aug 24 2012, 07:53 AM)
better u wait iphone 5, not worth buying S3 coz i already has experienced using the S3...
Explain more.
SUSKuLi
post Aug 24 2012, 08:37 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Aug 24 2012, 07:11 PM)
Different people got different experience, my mum love her iPad 3 very much as she always carry the iPad 3 go to everywhere and she can easily connect to the WIFI at coffee shop surfing web, checking email, check Facebook notification, take some photo and Facetime with my nephew. She fully utilized all the basic features that integrate in iPad but less using third party apps or playing games. I can tell she really happy and enjoy with her iPad 3 thumbup.gif
The power of apple products is fully demonstrated here.
They can make complicated stuff so easy and user friendly that all people can njoy the technology.

Bravo!
SUSKuLi
post Aug 26 2012, 09:30 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Aug 26 2012, 06:42 PM)
Yes,,, angry smell also
dun worry abt the troll user posted image. he will be taken care of very soon.

SUSKuLi
post Aug 27 2012, 08:50 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Aug 27 2012, 03:02 AM)
Haiz, never mind there is too many naive Samsung user just simply insult other people and they are just can't accept that their beloved Samsung company had lose the court so they come and insult us pula sweat.gif
Don't waste time and energy even mentioning those pathetic losers who try to incite hate.
The mods will do their work very soon, hopefully.

SUSKuLi
post Aug 27 2012, 10:25 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Aug 27 2012, 09:44 AM)
we'll just take it as people is immature enough to take the fact and siding one side too much.

Patent is there for a reason.
When u talk abt creativity and innovation, USA and Europe easily comes to mind.
Not only they hv good education system, but they hv laws to sufficiently protect the artists from thieves.
SUSKuLi
post Aug 29 2012, 09:20 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 29 2012, 08:51 AM)
if u buy a phone and intend to resell then yes. some people change phones very often, and they are mainly hobbyist. but for most of us, we use it to the last drop.  buying phone is not like buying a house.  its never an "appreciating investment"
not hobbyist but trendy.
hobbyist are like android geeks, who chge their phones once got any upgraded specs.
these ppl achieve orgasm when their benchmark scores is higher. wink.gif
SUSKuLi
post Aug 29 2012, 01:35 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 29 2012, 11:08 AM)
not really. its because nearly all iphone models run on the latest OS. so it gives a perception that its still not outdated. therefore it can fetch a higher price.
and not to mention the design is still acceptable. timeless classic.

unlike korean designs although hip and hype, but gets outdated real quick.

somemore koreans dun give a rat's arse abt existing customers.
difficult and slow to get latest software updates. user posted image
always chasing new ones.
SUSKuLi
post Sep 1 2012, 11:57 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Sep 1 2012, 11:49 AM)
Duh.  Wasn't it Jobs who said, "We have always been shameless about stealing great ideas."?
obviously, u do not understand the real meaning.

refer here.
Steve Jobs said, “Good artists copy great artists steal"

When Picasso and later SJ said it, they meant that every artist is influenced by what has been done before their time. If not by direct exposure, the information the artist is exposed to through other people, media, etc. influences them. We are all a product of our times and have the benefit of those who have walked similar paths we are now on.

We all borrow because it has all been done before and we are not the originators. To merely copy is to take an existing interpretation and not run away with it. To steal an idea is to take something of value and make it yours. To make an artistic element yours you have to interpret it your way with your own approach.

This cannot be done when you are merely copying the idea. When copying the idea you are just doing everything exactly like it was previously done. When you have done it your way you have used the element and not simply duplicated it.

It is not required that you advance the element. You can go sideways and even backwards with the idea and you can be stealing the element and not copying it. On the contrary, when merely copying the element you have failed if you do not match the original

Sometimes I really cant under these Americans writing all these crap. They rather a foreign company copy an American idea just so that they can play with their little Samsungs......

This post has been edited by KuLi: Sep 1 2012, 12:00 PM
SUSKuLi
post Sep 3 2012, 08:36 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Sep 2 2012, 12:43 PM)
u wan compare ip5 with s3? samsung's unleashing the note2 just fight off ip5 lol. and u said "as a phone" what s your definition of a phone? one that can call and sms? note sucks? i admit the os and ui is abit no no. but please. its a start for something different. and then the argue can go on and on
note is nothing really different except for the big screen and stylus.

the stylus again, is nothing new bcos it was very popular during the palm and windows mobile days.

it did not really catch on bcos ppl was not keen on using the stylus (very troublesome) but preferred using their own fingers instead. in fact, this has not changed. if u noticed, not many ppl uses the stylus.

then the question rises, why is note so popular? very simple.
it's the big screen and the thin-ness.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0231sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:52 AM