No qualified ppl even fresh grad RM100k pa., Investment banking is so hard to hire

yellowflashdude
post Oct 12 2020, 04:54 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Oct 12 2020, 10:57 AM)
Investment banking or the on I currently hire?
Both of them. From basic google research, Investment banks do hire non-finance degrees but I'm not sure if that is the case with Malaysia in particular.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Oct 12 2020, 05:44 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ Oct 12 2020, 04:54 PM)
Both of them. From basic google research, Investment banks do hire non-finance degrees but I'm not sure if that is the case with Malaysia in particular.
Yup. both. as long as you can show strengths.

I did Engineering
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 28 2021, 01:03 PM

619 posts

Suddenly have friends hiring. So I do a posting here for investment banking and asset management. Multiple posts, RM4-12k.

LinkedIn seems more effective these days.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jul 2 2021, 01:08 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 15 2012, 06:35 PM)
hey all, i am here to b****.

At first i thought hiring ppl is easy, always tell CF frens, u all sure not serious, always get lousy candidates.

Now i really feel like vomitting blood.

Front office investment banking job, just need 2 real good fresh  grad, interview until i pusing...
where r good ppl?

willing to pay also canot find  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Note: new package is up to 100k cos bonus now up to 36 months

Update: Now hire for transformation office only
Will the time be back again?

Helpmeplis
post Jul 2 2021, 09:13 AM

166 posts

I joined one of the top local IB as one of their management trainee & I got the opportunity to rotate around different departments (Asset management, sell side research, ECM & etc). I was the only local grad in the program & the rest were all from foreign uni. My pay was decent & a bit higher than most of my Petronas peers.

However, I fucking hated my job due to the working hours & lack of work life balance. I told this to my mentor ( head of equities at that time) he said that it will get better as I progress. Honestly, I saw the lack of work life balance even among my senior colleagues with 20+ experience lol. I investigated how much are my senior colleagues getting paid to find out if this job is even worth it. Most depressing of all is that, I found out a colleague of mine with 5+ years of experience was only getting paid RM6k at that time & another colleague of mine with 8+ experience was only getting paid RM10k !!

This was the exact moment when I knew, this crusade of mine in search of success in IB was nothing but a big fucking lie & waste of time!! I stayed there just for 1.5 year & GTFO. The pay is totally not worth effort & mental distress I had to face ! Only foreign IB (Nomura, JP, & Barclays) can pay good money for their analyst, all the local IB is shit in comparison.

I enrolled for master's program & graduate at the top of my class & I got offered by a reputable Global MNC. Now I getting paid RM10k & planning to move to SG in 2 years to double my income. Meanwhile my friend who just graduated from the management trainee program got offered a place as an analyst in sell side research & getting paid RM6K.

As far as working hours goes, probably he is working 1.5-2x more than me at his current role lol. If anything, IB glory is all gone & the 90's bonus are just not there anymore .... So, is IB even worth it ? You tell me

I'm so glad that I left the industry !! At my current company, I'm enjoying the work, my friendly colleagues & peaceful atmosphere much much more than my short stint in IB.

This post has been edited by Helpmeplis: Jul 2 2021, 09:35 AM
Oklahoma
post Jul 2 2021, 09:41 AM

-
878 posts

QUOTE(Helpmeplis @ Jul 2 2021, 09:13 AM)
I joined one of the top local IB as one of their management trainee & I got the opportunity to rotate around different departments (Asset management, sell side research, ECM & etc). I was the only local grad in the program & the rest were all from foreign uni. My pay was decent & a bit higher than most of my Petronas peers.

However, I fucking hated my job due to the working hours & lack of work life balance. I told this to my mentor  ( head of equities at that time) he said that it will get better as I progress. Honestly, I saw the lack of work life balance even among my senior colleagues with 20+ experience lol. I investigated how much are my senior colleagues getting paid  to find out if this job is even worth it. Most depressing of all is that, I found out a colleague of mine with 5+ years of experience was only getting paid RM6k at that time & another colleague of mine with 8+ experience  was only getting paid RM10k !!

This was the exact moment when I knew, this crusade of mine in search of success in IB  was nothing but a big fucking lie & waste of time!!  I stayed there just for 1.5 year & GTFO. The pay is totally not worth effort & mental distress I had to face ! Only foreign IB (Nomura, JP, & Barclays) can pay good money for their analyst, all the local IB is shit in comparison.

I enrolled for master's program & graduate at the top of my class & I got offered by a reputable Global MNC. Now I getting paid RM10k & planning to move to SG in 2 years to double my income. Meanwhile my friend who just graduated from the management trainee program got offered a place as an analyst in sell side research & getting paid RM6K.

As far as working hours goes, probably he is working 1.5-2x more than me at his current role lol. If anything, IB glory is all gone & the 90's bonus are just not there anymore .... So, is IB even worth it ? You tell me

I'm so glad that I left the industry !! At my current company,  I'm enjoying the work, my friendly colleagues & peaceful atmosphere much much more than my short stint in IB.
Good observation...I quit IB due to this reasons too. Malaysia IB not worth it. Real money are only in satellite offices like singapore, Hong Kong, London/Paris, and New York.

I did 1 year, tired of bullshit making information memos, pitchdecks, book building, all that shiat for 15 hours a day everyday. Then I peeked over my director's cubicle. His job sucks too imo. Left, went to commercial transformation office, got the salary hike better than if I stayed, then now back in client facing as a consultant.

This post has been edited by Oklahoma: Jul 2 2021, 06:44 PM
siew14
post Jul 2 2021, 09:56 AM

845 posts

However, I fucking hated my job due to the working hours & lack of work life balance. I told this to my mentor  ( head of equities at that time) he said that it will get better as I progress. Honestly, I saw the lack of work life balance even among my senior colleagues with 20+ experience lol. I investigated how much are my senior colleagues getting paid  to find out if this job is even worth it. Most depressing of all is that, I found out a colleague of mine with 5+ years of experience was only getting paid RM6k at that time & another colleague of mine with 8+ experience  was only getting paid RM10k !!

This was the exact moment when I knew, this crusade of mine in search of success in IB  was nothing but a big fucking lie & waste of time!!  I stayed there just for 1.5 year & GTFO. The pay is totally not worth effort & mental distress I had to face ! Only foreign IB (Nomura, JP, & Barclays) can pay good money for their analyst, all the local IB is shit in comparison.

I'm so glad that I left the industry !! At my current company,  I'm enjoying the work, my friendly colleagues & peaceful atmosphere much much more than my short stint in IB.
QUOTE(Oklahoma @ Jul 2 2021, 09:41 AM)
Good observation...I quit IB due to this reasons too. Malaysia IB not worth it. Real money are only in satellite offices like singapore, Hong Kong, London/Paris, and New York.

I did 1 year, tired of bullshit making information memos, pitchdecks, book building, all that shiat. Then I peeked over my director's cubicle. His job sucks too imo. Left,  went to commercial transformation office, got the salary hike better than if I stayed, then now back in client facing as a consultant.
it depends on which team you join i feel.

you join those team only doing bonus issue those ez deal, of course cheap la, and the bonus also. you try complete 1b market cap ipo and see or those big deals brows.gif

the money actually comes in when you completed a huge transaction.

This post has been edited by siew14: Jul 2 2021, 09:57 AM
Oklahoma
post Jul 2 2021, 10:00 AM

-
878 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Jul 2 2021, 09:56 AM)

you join those team only doing bonus issue those ez deal, of course cheap la, and the bonus also. you try complete 1b market cap ipo and see or those big deals  brows.gif 

Bonus is good nonetheless. But it was not as good as the glory days.
Helpmeplis
post Jul 2 2021, 03:25 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Jul 2 2021, 09:56 AM)

you join those team only doing bonus issue those ez deal, of course cheap la, and the bonus also. you try complete 1b market cap ipo and see or those big deals  brows.gif 

I have completed leong hup IPO & there was nothing to hu ha about. Infact, KLCI is going down on a daily basis & there is just no big IPO coming in........ IB is a sunset Industry & that's a fact !

I can earn much much more in different industry & secure myself a better work ife balance.

This post has been edited by Helpmeplis: Jul 2 2021, 03:28 PM
siew14
post Jul 2 2021, 03:40 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Helpmeplis @ Jul 2 2021, 03:25 PM)
I have completed leong hup IPO & there was nothing to hu ha about. Infact, KLCI is going down on a daily basis & there is just no big IPO coming in........ IB is a sunset Industry & that's a fact !

I can earn much much more in different industry & secure myself a better work ife balance.
hmm... it is because you are management trainee hence you didnt get to eat the pie from the ipo? if you are there from head to tail i believe you wil be rewarded accordingly..

but anyway, for IB, the time/effort you put in, is what you get lah... wont be like 9 to 5, and get 5 digit salary.. no way.. haha other industry like you said , yeah is possible.

This post has been edited by siew14: Jul 2 2021, 03:45 PM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Aug 13 2024, 10:17 PM

619 posts

Can I ask where are you now?
TSIBank BeanBag
post Aug 13 2024, 10:22 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Oklahoma @ Jul 2 2021, 09:41 AM)

I did 1 year, tired of bullshit making information memos, pitchdecks, book building, all that shiat for 15 hours a day everyday. Then I peeked over my director's cubicle. His job sucks too imo. Left,  went to commercial transformation office, got the salary hike better than if I stayed, then now back in client facing as a consultant.
Macam some BNP Paribas
Helpmeplis
post Aug 14 2024, 12:50 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Aug 13 2024, 10:17 PM)
Can I ask where are you now?
Working as an expat in SG & will be moving to META region in 2 years time (Probably as Regional Head).

What about you ?

This post has been edited by Helpmeplis: Aug 14 2024, 12:51 AM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Aug 23 2024, 07:22 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(Helpmeplis @ Aug 14 2024, 12:50 AM)
Working as an expat in SG & will be moving to META region in 2 years time (Probably as Regional Head).

What about you ?
Not bad. Must be earning a lot of money to say “expat”. I had a personalised employment pass a while back but I also thought that is the passport to be 马劳 (Ma Lao) or Malaysia Labour.

Wish u luck. Not everyone need to do IB and for long.

I am focusing on helping company IPO and data centre inbound investment. Still long hours that you farking hate.

Like day time work in Shopee, night time become grab driver. Malaysia hard to survive on one job.

Not smart like you go SG earn SGD. Easily can be expat and earn RM100000 a month.

Later when go MENA Region become double and no tax, soon you will be RM100000000 wealth. Well chosen path. IB sure find it hard to be RM10000 salary a month still.
mystvearn
post Aug 23 2024, 07:32 AM

6,639 posts

Just thinking. With the liberation of investment instruments like moomoo app, if the person is good at investing, why would they want to work a job. They can do it themselves, especially those with capital and without financial commitments. Very small part of the society, but also the same demographic which investment banking is looking at also.

If ASNB say benchmark at 6.5%, this person makes 15-20% pa, then their investment strategy works. These kind of people are not selling products, they use all their time to increase their income.

27 Pages « < 25 26 27Top

0.0202sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:42 PM