No qualified ppl even fresh grad RM100k pa., Investment banking is so hard to hire
TSIBank BeanBag
Oct 12 2012, 02:04 AM
QUOTE(xinde1314 @ Oct 12 2012, 01:59 AM) Thank you for the interview. Knowing that insufficient knowledge in myself and not prepared at all for it. Good Night. was thinking of doing another interview but no more applicant at this time. Good nite.
zer0hour
Oct 12 2012, 02:33 AM
Epic thread, had to reply.
To TS, I am from one of the big 3 strat houses, i.e. mbb. Even we have difficulty recruiting in Msia, appears the top talent has all fled.
Having said that, we recruited one guy from this very forum..
xplodingbomb
Oct 12 2012, 03:10 AM

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Oct 12 2012, 02:33 AM) Epic thread, had to reply. To TS, I am from one of the big 3 strat houses, i.e. mbb. Even we have difficulty recruiting in Msia, appears the top talent has all fled. Having said that, we recruited one guy from this very forum.. Wah...MBB also hire from this forum? Maybe you should open a similar thread so we can have chance to apply
nocturnal banker
Oct 12 2012, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(xinde1314 @ Oct 12 2012, 01:59 AM) Thank you for the interview. Knowing that insufficient knowledge in myself and not prepared at all for it. Good Night. looks like we all are facing the same problem on the hiring front ppl seem to talk alot about investment banking, yet not prepare for the interview
thefridge
Oct 12 2012, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(nocturnal banker @ Oct 12 2012, 03:19 PM) looks like we all are facing the same problem on the hiring front ppl seem to talk alot about investment banking, yet not prepare for the interview what/how are the preparations for those who totally have no investment background?
nocturnal banker
Oct 12 2012, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(thefridge @ Oct 12 2012, 04:23 PM) what/how are the preparations for those who totally have no investment background? IB is not rocket science google bout it, study it for a few days, and attend the interview i would imagine this applies to any other career field no? standard interview preparations
TSIBank BeanBag
Oct 15 2012, 02:25 AM
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Oct 12 2012, 02:33 AM) Epic thread, had to reply. To TS, I am from one of the big 3 strat houses, i.e. mbb. Even we have difficulty recruiting in Msia, appears the top talent has all fled. Having said that, we recruited one guy from this very forum.. I recruited one intern (ivy league) and one fresh grad (top student locally) from this forum, and the quality is indeed good. Looking fwd to receive more CV as new jobs led to another two investment banking vacancies at ECM. Need someone who speak IB and not bullshit. Dun tell me u duno the basic questions for IB.
ThanatosSwiftfire
Oct 15 2012, 09:03 AM
ITT : lowyat.net becomes a consulting/banking recruitment website.
TSIBank BeanBag
Oct 15 2012, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 15 2012, 09:03 AM) ITT : lowyat.net becomes a consulting/banking recruitment website. unfortunately, yes. but very painful too. so many ill-prepared CV that we have to look through before seeing 1 good 1?
ThanatosSwiftfire
Oct 15 2012, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Oct 15 2012, 03:00 PM) unfortunately, yes. but very painful too. so many ill-prepared CV that we have to look through before seeing 1 good 1? Haha, ask your staff to recommend their friends la. That's how most of my friends got in to IB anyway.
zer0hour
Oct 15 2012, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(xplodingbomb @ Oct 12 2012, 03:10 AM) Wah...MBB also hire from this forum? Maybe you should open a similar thread so we can have chance to apply  Pure random, I met a guy who just graduated from an ivy, he bulked a tech item for me. Hahaha. QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Oct 15 2012, 03:00 PM) unfortunately, yes. but very painful too. so many ill-prepared CV that we have to look through before seeing 1 good 1? The quality of forumers is rather uneven, there's a lot of ppl who have no clue AND refuse to google to find out..
ThanatosSwiftfire
Oct 15 2012, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Oct 15 2012, 03:46 PM) Pure random, I met a guy who just graduated from an ivy, he bulked a tech item for me. Hahaha. The quality of forumers is rather uneven, there's a lot of ppl who have no clue AND refuse to google to find out.. I generally think Ivy league-ers normally are here for entirely different reason. You are more likely to find an ivy leaguer spamming in /k/ than browsing this subforum
ajitgill1
Oct 15 2012, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(tohff7 @ Oct 10 2012, 10:59 PM) dude, Labour Law (Employment Act 1955) does not cover anybody with monthly salary of RM1,500 and above. So your argument is invalid. Correction, Industrial Law. Thanks for correcting me. Best Regards GR
TSIBank BeanBag
Oct 15 2012, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Oct 15 2012, 03:04 PM) Haha, ask your staff to recommend their friends la. That's how most of my friends got in to IB anyway. We already forced them to share their phone book on mobile phone with us.
ThanatosSwiftfire
Oct 15 2012, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Oct 15 2012, 06:46 PM) We already forced them to share their phone book on mobile phone with us. Added all their facebook friends as well?
TSIBank BeanBag
Oct 15 2012, 11:20 PM
she dun allow la... no choice. any forumers are keen?
Mayb intro 1 permanent get 5% increment?
M_century
Oct 16 2012, 01:21 AM

I came from IB, there for 3 years +.
Kelentong my way through interview although my exam results are below average. That time I just want a job, no idea about IB. Google out what IB is and understand before interview. I don't prepare speech before hand. Pure kelentong all the way, of course I filter everything carefully on what I want to say to answer questions, really, most questions I not able to answer.
Thought won't get the job, but surprisingly got the job. Ok, so go work la.
damn, late at first day of work! Overslept.
Can scent the burning smell from my superior although he did not said a word. So I apologize and faham what to do next time la.
Result not so good in beginning either...
Then results improve significantly. Of course that also depend on market condition.
After 6 months, I find that is not what I like. I do not like to do things not my flavor. It would seems like I'm a quitter but what the heck I told my superior I want to resign.
He ask me where I going, I said no where
Ask again, is it XOXOXOXO recruited you is it..... I was like !! NO!!
Then what. I said not my type.
Told me to give a bit more time, also said I'll do well in future bla bla bla...
My performance started to decline because my mind already else where.
In the end, cannot tahan because I felt I kelentong too much already to client, and I felt sick of what I'm doing, then made firm decision to quit.
After quit, I ask him. Why hire me in the beginning? He said just for my talking skills ZZZzzz... my kelentong skills.
So I find that, IB people, I mean those capable ones are really good.
I don't like to Kelentong my way to performance especially when it borders ethics in my opinion. Ethics, better not say about this as this also an issue across all other industry.
So I now do my own business, do my own sales (but not kelentong), my stuff actually do work and I have peace of mind that my stuff are genuinely beneficial to my clients.
SO why all these long story.
Candidates must ask themselves whether they are the right material for being in IB, not just for the hype of being in IB although IB has many other job scope which I don't understand that clear either ^^, only the basics.
Everything matters there, not just performance. Must also have passion in what you do or else you can't go far. But of course have to juggle correctly between passion and reality.
IB really pay what you are worth, so no worry about slow increment in IB than in other industry.
RM200 increment + 1 month bonus means you are doing it wrong and the company just layan hibur hibur you only.
So if really think you have what it takes! You can start Bombard TS with plenty of pm's and email again and again that show that you have the tenacity to be his/her man/woman that looking for. Heheh
Added on October 16, 2012, 1:33 amGood Luck to TS and future candidates.
Fellow aspiring IB ankers to be, Don't stress out.
TS, don't go so tough on the little didi's and mei mei's here.
Others don't talk nonsense that "all" talented ones flew away. And those read this, don't allow such saying cast inferiority on you. If you don't believe in yourself, who will? your mother?
Many obviously haven't seen those really talented ones that still here as I have not stop seeing new ones every now and then and leeching knowledge from them. Look! TS stayed so that does not mean TS not talented.
"Real talented people can be and do well at anywhere in the world including this country" Quote from someone I know
This post has been edited by M_century: Oct 16 2012, 01:33 AM
nas787
Oct 16 2012, 06:40 PM

agreed =)
TSIBank BeanBag
Oct 16 2012, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(M_century @ Oct 16 2012, 01:21 AM) .... "Real talented people can be and do well at anywhere in the world including this country" Quote from someone I know A long reply. thanks for support.... and thanks for all who have sent me PM to f*** me.
nas787
Oct 18 2012, 05:18 PM

cool huhu...so any update? still searching =)