4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V24, "Drive so fast for what???" EDITION

lhwj
post Jun 22 2012, 09:02 AM

QUOTE(gogoman86 @ Jun 22 2012, 08:48 AM)
wanna exchange with mine?  brows.gif

Added on June 22, 2012, 8:49 ammorning everyone,

i was wondering, was it all proton CVT based car using clutch converter? (ex. inspira, exora bold, preve)
I think the Inspira's CVT is torque converter based. The rest are clutch based.

lhwj
post Jun 22 2012, 05:36 PM

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Jun 22 2012, 05:32 PM)
summore check bootlid tend to close when open, kenot on hold.
Spring problem? hmm.gif

lhwj
post Jun 23 2012, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(mieza @ Jun 23 2012, 10:10 AM)
I want to check but I don't want to register  icon_question.gif
Where got register. Just enter your IC no or car no.

PS don't bother with the Myeg or Rilek etc links. Just click on the JPJ or PDRM logo. You might have missed that.

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jun 23 2012, 10:24 AM
lhwj
post Jun 23 2012, 01:50 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 23 2012, 01:12 PM)
Last night and today so quiet geh.

Reporting on the cornering-til-gf-panic test.

Same corner. Saga and vios. Speed when gf yell WOI! at me :

Vios - 50kmh.
Saga - 65kmh.

thumbup.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Anyways my 40,000 km service yesterday was a major one.

- Air cond (changed gas, compressor oil, receiver drier)
- Front wheel alignment (it's always been straight anyway)
- Changed engine oil and filter (I found out I can bring my own oil. Next time then)
- Changed radiator coolant
- Changed air filter
- Changed brake fuild
- Changed manual tranny oil
- Changed spark plugs

Despite all that I couldn't tell any difference before and after servicing. Either I'm really numb, or my Gaga's condition was still really good before service rclxms.gif

While servicing my friend came to pick me for breakfast, in her mum's 1.3 FLX CVT. After breakfast my friend said she was sleepy so I took over the wheel and went for a test drive to Teluk Bahang and back along the Batu Ferringhi road brows.gif

The ride was definitely firmer than pre-FLX, and taking the tight corners near the Teluk Bahang Dam I felt there was less body roll. Yes pre-FLX is more comfortable, but I'd rather trade that for the better handling. I really don't mind changing to the FLX suspension if anyone wants to swap with me tongue.gif

The CVT is great for hypermilers and those looking for a smooth and relaxed drive. Driven sedately, the revs are kept pretty low, so there is hardly any engine noise. The lack of gears make acceleration feel silky smooth. On the other hand, for those times when you need power for overtaking, I'd still prefer a manual tranny. Now I understand what Dares meant when he said:

Make no mistake, though. The CVT was developed for comfort and fuel-saving, not performance, so don't be surprised if you find yourself staring at the tailpipe of a 1.5l or even 1.3l manual car, with no means to catch up because the damn RPM just won't go up.

Upon flooring the throttle the engine revs up first, followed by the increase in speed as the CVT adjusts the ratio. Not being used to the CVT I found that a pretty weird feeling, if I may say. The power delivery is there, but it is delayed and requires a different overtaking style. Oh I totally forgot about the L setting, maybe that would have made a difference. I did turn on SAT for a short while but I don't have much to say about it. Maybe it's just me but I felt that the CVT was too smooth, until I couldn't feel the car accelerating during overtaking. The engine growls loudly, but you can't feel the power surge. No wonder those who test drove the Preve said the car feels slow but looking at the speedometer the speed was building up quickly (PS I gotta test drive the Preve in future).

In starting and stopping, I found the jerks were not really an issue and no worse than a manual tranny with an experienced driver. I don't remember hearing any CVT whine though.

I'm sure it was the right decision to replace the lame four speed auto with the CVT, and those of you who have it are pretty satisfied with it. But I guess, the CVT is just not for me.

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jun 23 2012, 03:18 PM
lhwj
post Jun 23 2012, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(ibnuasad @ Jun 23 2012, 03:23 PM)
Saman?  hmm.gif

My car is not in there, don't think I've even driven there before whistling.gif

Ganas lor, the taxi exceeding the limit by 50% sweat.gif
lhwj
post Jun 23 2012, 05:43 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 23 2012, 04:58 PM)
You should try L especially when overtaking and climbing slope  brows.gif
Next time, next time nod.gif

lhwj
post Jun 24 2012, 03:24 PM

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jun 24 2012, 01:06 PM)
Does any owners here changes their power steering fluid ? .. any specific mileage that we are encourage to change once ? unsure.gif
Mine was changed and flushed at the 30,000 km service.
lhwj
post Jun 25 2012, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Jun 25 2012, 11:03 AM)
LOL now baru i tahu, our alarm system located somewhere not infront LOL. haha...
In the boot on the left side, if I'm not mistaken.
lhwj
post Jun 26 2012, 08:50 AM

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jun 26 2012, 01:35 AM)

Added on June 26, 2012, 1:44 amMeanwhile, just finishes a tank of PETRON BLAZE 95 on my Iswaga...

13.4km/l in KL TOWN DRIVING! 1.5x Smile point.  flex.gif  Haily recommended!
Y U NO try on Gaga first? brows.gif

QUOTE(iskazulka @ Jun 26 2012, 08:23 AM)
yeah, i can't imagine when you said you roughly drive 85km/hr... for otais here (except for grandpa like me biggrin.gif), 80km/hr in straight highway is nothing..
I've tried driving from Penang to PJ at 80-90 km/h constant all the way. Felt super boring sweat.gif But I was rewarded with hybrid-like FC thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jun 26 2012, 08:51 AM
lhwj
post Jun 26 2012, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(gogoman86 @ Jun 26 2012, 02:45 PM)
94 hours to go rclxms.gif

lhwj
post Jun 26 2012, 04:08 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 26 2012, 03:40 PM)
Adui, need to countdown like that meh? sweat.gif
It's not like I'm counting down every hour whistling.gif

lhwj
post Jun 28 2012, 08:12 AM

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 28 2012, 12:11 AM)
Buat ape nak cucuk u? aku pemandu berhemah ok  whistling.gif

What is CBT?
Cucuk belakang talent whistling.gif
lhwj
post Jun 28 2012, 07:39 PM

QUOTE(Mahihi @ Jun 28 2012, 04:33 PM)
i have a bad news guys,the factory side just called me up and told me that the raw material is temporarily out of stock,need like around 10 days to compile the stock for fsb. Eventually,the manufacturing side told me that they managed to rush for me,but in the end they couldnt,so have to wait for around 10 days,.....i am so sorry guys,if any1 that couldnt wait anymore,pls pm me bank acc num via pm,i will refund,so sorry......
I still want the FSB. Pasang some other time lor...

I have exams soon, won't be free until the 18th next month.

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 28 2012, 04:59 PM)
Wahh huge sacrifice

OK, TT this Sat Kajang Satay, same time 1.30pm

1. dares
2. Mieza
3. Ixora.Ix
4. gogoman86
Sorry guys I won't be going cry.gif

lhwj
post Jun 28 2012, 11:19 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 28 2012, 11:02 PM)

hmm.gif
It's true, you know.

This post has been edited by lhwj: Jun 28 2012, 11:19 PM
lhwj
post Jun 29 2012, 08:55 AM

QUOTE(creative zn @ Jun 29 2012, 12:05 AM)
+1.

Act my loan for FLX SE also pass. Then my dad still doubt to buy my dream car. Coz, at first choice he want me to take myvi, but i dont want. End up last two week go to proton edar and apply loan. Now after loan approve he change his mind. Persuade me to take myvi. And he want the SE or Extreme variant some more.  shocking.gif  I said, better get preve instead of Extreme myvi. But he dont trust proton, bla bla with 1001 excuse. End up booking myvi extreme tomorrow.  shakehead.gif Totally waste. I had to agree. Dont want wasting time fight anymore. Really need car atm.
Never mind, Maivee good resale value right? In a few years' time, when Saga v.3 released, sell the Maivee and buy that icon_idea.gif
lhwj
post Jun 29 2012, 11:54 PM

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 29 2012, 09:43 PM)

UR really damn fast... blink.gif
But Preve has a factory installed strut bar hmm.gif

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 29 2012, 10:51 PM)
So lucky, red preve dem rare you know  whistling.gif

Last Preve TT, out of 30 odd cars there was like what? 2-3 red Preves? Other than that, I only ever saw 1 red Preve OTR.
Is it just me or most of the test drive cars are red? unsure.gif
lhwj
post Jul 2 2012, 12:58 AM

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jul 2 2012, 12:48 AM)
solid is just normal paint...metallic is more shinnier tongue.gif
solid need to wax every week to keep the shine...metallic no need wax also shine but still recommend to wax every 3-6 months
white and red are usually solid, the others are metallic
The red on the FLX SE is metallic lah. That's why the white colour is about RM 500 cheaper.
lhwj
post Jul 2 2012, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(GP mad man @ Jul 2 2012, 12:52 PM)

Added on July 2, 2012, 12:54 pmeh guys, another future gaga owner

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2410926&hl=

Thread is surprisingly free of bashers despite being in K rclxms.gif
lhwj
post Jul 3 2012, 08:34 AM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 3 2012, 08:22 AM)
MOAARRRNING  yawn.gif
wave.gif
lhwj
post Jul 4 2012, 12:42 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 4 2012, 12:38 PM)
Rear ARB makes it easier to oversteer lol
With your new tyres, i think you should repeat the "corner until GF screams" test thumbup.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0258sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:40 AM