8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

The best GPS App for Malaysian: PAPAGO vs Sygic, Need your opinion on these two good apps

Gurvin Abruzzi
post Jun 18 2012, 01:11 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

Sygic la. Easy to use.
Got voice assistance.
From Penang u can set go to KL.
State city.

Papago X5
Lame, too few function.
Good to use to navigate to nearby area.
Got junction view at highway.

I use sygic 90%.
Papago only when Sygic cannot find the POI.

This post has been edited by Gurvin Abruzzi: Jun 18 2012, 01:24 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 18 2012, 03:45 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Why i installed Sygic but it cant detect signal??? Im on Galaxy Note
digitalz
post Jun 18 2012, 03:49 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

Wow. Sygic overtook Papago after a few days without logging in. Obviously Sygic is working well for a lot of users as well. biggrin.gif
ramz
post Jun 19 2012, 11:02 AM

21,326 posts

i been using sygic on my s3 for 4 days now (3 more days trial then must purchase already). well, for s3, there is currently no competition. papago m9 doesn't work on s3. so i on have sygic. so, i can't comapre, but i get make comments on what it has to offer.

pros:
1. nice colours and good graphics. very clear on the roads ahead.
2. very precise on the gps. if sygic says u are 10meters from a junction, then in reality u are! the refresh rate is also very good
3. doesn' use lot of battery unlike waze.
4. the voice is clear and sexy. it give u exact instructions. for example it will say at the 3rd exit turn left. then u count 1st, 2nd, turn....perfect all the time.
5. it knows to take minor roads to your destination, if it is shorter.

cons:
1. some roads are not updated. for example it advice me to double back on a double line highway!. coz last time u can do that. but now the road has been upgraded already but not reflected on the map. but its not a big issue, and there are only a few occurance like that.
2. some of the point of interest not in my search function. for example i want to go to semenggoh. but when i type that in my search, cannot find. but good thing it allows me to quick go to an area nearby and select the semeggoh from the map. so at the end i still manage to choose my destination, but sometimes is not straighforward.
3. doesn't know the traffic situation, so can't give me good advice on the fastest route by considering the traffic. not in my town at least.

so is it good. well good, but not perfect. definitely better then waze. but waze is free.
digitalz
post Jun 19 2012, 11:09 AM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
i been using sygic on my s3 for 4 days now (3 more days trial then must purchase already). well, for s3, there is currently no competition. papago m9 doesn't work on s3. so i on have sygic. so, i can't comapre, but i get make comments on what it has to offer.

pros:
1. nice colours and good graphics. very clear on the roads ahead.
2. very precise on the gps. if sygic says u are 10meters from a junction, then in reality u are!  the refresh rate is also very good
3. doesn' use lot of battery unlike waze.
4. the voice is clear and sexy. it give u exact instructions. for example it will say at the 3rd exit turn left. then u count 1st, 2nd, turn....perfect all the time.
5. it knows to take minor roads to your destination, if it is shorter.
cons:
1. some roads are not updated. for example it advice me to double back on a double line highway!. coz last time u can do that. but now the road has been upgraded already but not reflected on the map. but its not a big issue, and there are only a few occurance like that.
2. some of the point of interest not in my search function. for example i want to go to semenggoh. but when i type that in my search, cannot find.  but good thing it allows me to quick go to an area nearby and select the semeggoh from the map. so at the end i still manage to choose my destination, but sometimes is not straighforward.
3. doesn't know the traffic situation, so can't give me good advice on the fastest route by considering the traffic. not in my town at least.

so is it good. well good, but not perfect. definitely better then waze. but waze is free.
Well for now, the only thing that I can say that the users of Sygic in your place (should be Kuching) isn't that much yet to get enough traffic situation. For now that is. But Sygic should really update itself from time to time, try emailing them? thumbup.gif
raclette
post Jun 19 2012, 11:48 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jun 17 2012, 10:04 AM)
I can install papago my to my tablet. 1280x720.

only problem of my is cannot zoom out to full malaysia map.
Have u tried to change view to 2d? On x5, need to do that to further zoom out.
KB1
post Jun 20 2012, 10:18 AM

514 posts

good day to every one... can some one teach me how to update maps on my papago x5 for sg2
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 20 2012, 11:43 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(KB1 @ Jun 20 2012, 10:18 AM)
good day to every one...  can some one teach me how to update maps on my papago x5 for sg2
Just download from MFM and put it into the SD card.. got specific folder i believe, but it aint hard to find.
alucard89
post Jun 20 2012, 08:21 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(KB1 @ Jun 20 2012, 10:18 AM)
good day to every one...  can some one teach me how to update maps on my papago x5 for sg2
Download maps from MFM and place in the NaviSea/Maps directory
Looks like the latest map update for X5 was from October last year.

Although I would advise for you to just upgrade to the Papago M9 since it does comes with latest map,
plus you can upgrade for free (if you did purchase X5).
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 21 2012, 11:06 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Hey guys does Sygic uses A-GPS or GPS???

Coz previously i tried to logon with just GPS turned on but cant find signal..But if i turn on "enable wifi and mobile" option then 1 second already detected...

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Jun 21 2012, 11:07 AM
mynewuser
post Jun 23 2012, 07:31 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(raclette @ Jun 19 2012, 11:48 AM)
Have u tried to change view to 2d? On x5, need  to do that to further zoom out.
the m9 zoom out cannot reach whole malaysia map. but x5 can zoom out to whole malaysia map. just imaging if your current location at johor but you need to goto kedah detail map. how long to drag till reach kedah.
TSbestofel
post Jun 23 2012, 08:30 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
My Sygic trial expired already. Dreaming papago x5 map used by Sygic for next time. Then, it will be the best.

I remember, GPS in my SGS3 still working and Sygic still following my way when I on SMART Tunnel.
ramz
post Jun 23 2012, 09:02 AM

21,326 posts

i accidently bought sygic.

by buying it give u bonus the upcoming version 12.1 beta. only available for paid customers.

quite good lah sygic. anyway, i got no other choice at the moment. compare to google maps and waze is like comparing merc with kancil.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 23 2012, 09:03 AM
TSbestofel
post Jun 24 2012, 03:57 PM

528 posts

12.1 beta? When will released? What bonus they said?
ramz
post Jun 24 2012, 07:01 PM

21,326 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 24 2012, 03:57 PM)
12.1 beta? When will released? What bonus they said?
That's the bonus. Version 12.1 beta is the bonus. It has been out 3 months ago and has gone through 1 revision. When it be out they didn't say. But should be soon

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 24 2012, 07:02 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 24 2012, 09:17 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 20 2012, 08:21 PM)
Download maps from MFM and place in the NaviSea/Maps directory
Looks like the latest map update for X5 was from October last year.

Although I would advise for you to just upgrade to the Papago M9 since it does comes with latest map,
plus you can upgrade for free (if you did purchase X5).
I bought M7 when i was using iphone and i have emailed their MY agent whether allow me to get free for Android or not...waiting for reply..
www.m3asia.com

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 23 2012, 09:02 AM)
i accidently bought sygic.

by buying it give u bonus the upcoming version 12.1 beta. only available for paid customers.

quite good lah sygic. anyway, i got no other choice at the moment. compare to google maps and waze is like comparing merc with kancil.
Seriously i think Sygic sux.... Not the functions or anything, but the proposed route sux.
gaarared
post Jun 24 2012, 10:35 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Jun 18 2012, 01:11 PM)
Sygic la. Easy to use.
Got voice assistance.
From Penang u can set go to KL.
State city.

Papago X5
Lame, too few function.
Good to use to navigate to nearby area.
Got junction view at highway.
I use sygic 90%.
Papago only when Sygic cannot find the POI.
Your usage same with me..but now sometime I use route 66 aps.

Added on June 24, 2012, 10:36 pm
QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 23 2012, 08:30 AM)
My Sygic trial expired already.  Dreaming papago x5 map used by Sygic for next time. Then, it will be the best.

I remember, GPS in my SGS3 still working and Sygic still following my way when I on SMART Tunnel.
+1

This post has been edited by gaarared: Jun 24 2012, 10:36 PM
ramz
post Jul 5 2012, 09:51 PM

21,326 posts

Sygic 12.1 beta release 2nd revision was out 3 days ago

Get it here
https://support.sygic.com/sygic/topics/sygi...12_1_beta-s215e

chewlf
post Jul 5 2012, 10:58 PM

1,217 posts

How much sygic cost in RM?
Dannyl
post Jul 5 2012, 11:57 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Papago M9 can't show full screen in HD screen, so disappointing. X5 works better after renaming some folders. Sygic can play on any screen reso.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0549sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:27 PM