The best GPS App for Malaysian: PAPAGO vs Sygic, Need your opinion on these two good apps
ramz
Jun 15 2012, 10:15 AM
waze only good in downtown. aside from klang valley, it doesn't do navigation even at the town fringe. so its really for downtown.
i wonder will the upcoming new turn by turn navigation by google makes the paid sygic and papago obsolete?
ramz
Jun 15 2012, 12:30 PM
is google doing a voice turn by turn navigation? i read somewhere in the news that google is releasing offline maps soon, but no details about it atm. i wonder if it has voice turn by turn navigation.
ramz
Jun 15 2012, 04:08 PM
so in conclusion is wise to invest in a paid navigation app? contemplating if i should spend.
right now i am using waze and google maps. google maps kinda sucks coz it don't talk, and always switch off after 30 secs. waze, well, is good on some destinations especially downtown but sucks in countryside. and there are some flaws in giving good directional advice.
ramz
Jun 19 2012, 11:02 AM
i been using sygic on my s3 for 4 days now (3 more days trial then must purchase already). well, for s3, there is currently no competition. papago m9 doesn't work on s3. so i on have sygic. so, i can't comapre, but i get make comments on what it has to offer.
pros: 1. nice colours and good graphics. very clear on the roads ahead. 2. very precise on the gps. if sygic says u are 10meters from a junction, then in reality u are! the refresh rate is also very good 3. doesn' use lot of battery unlike waze. 4. the voice is clear and sexy. it give u exact instructions. for example it will say at the 3rd exit turn left. then u count 1st, 2nd, turn....perfect all the time. 5. it knows to take minor roads to your destination, if it is shorter.
cons: 1. some roads are not updated. for example it advice me to double back on a double line highway!. coz last time u can do that. but now the road has been upgraded already but not reflected on the map. but its not a big issue, and there are only a few occurance like that. 2. some of the point of interest not in my search function. for example i want to go to semenggoh. but when i type that in my search, cannot find. but good thing it allows me to quick go to an area nearby and select the semeggoh from the map. so at the end i still manage to choose my destination, but sometimes is not straighforward. 3. doesn't know the traffic situation, so can't give me good advice on the fastest route by considering the traffic. not in my town at least.
so is it good. well good, but not perfect. definitely better then waze. but waze is free.
ramz
Jun 23 2012, 09:02 AM
i accidently bought sygic.
by buying it give u bonus the upcoming version 12.1 beta. only available for paid customers.
quite good lah sygic. anyway, i got no other choice at the moment. compare to google maps and waze is like comparing merc with kancil.
This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 23 2012, 09:03 AM
ramz
Jun 24 2012, 07:01 PM
QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 24 2012, 03:57 PM) 12.1 beta? When will released? What bonus they said? That's the bonus. Version 12.1 beta is the bonus. It has been out 3 months ago and has gone through 1 revision. When it be out they didn't say. But should be soon This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 24 2012, 07:02 PM
ramz
Jul 5 2012, 09:51 PM
Sygic 12.1 beta release 2nd revision was out 3 days ago Get it here https://support.sygic.com/sygic/topics/sygi...12_1_beta-s215e
ramz
Jul 6 2012, 05:13 AM
QUOTE(chewlf @ Jul 5 2012, 10:58 PM) How much sygic cost in RM? Malaysia Singapore map, 29.99usd about 90+rm
ramz
Nov 2 2012, 04:34 PM
i repeat, i don't know about papago. but sygic sucks! i use to depend on sygic because waze sucked. but now, waze is really f***ing good! the maps are so detailed, and the directions are percise, and there is also lotsa of social fun u can have with it. the only issue is probably battery drain which can easily be solved with a car charger.
i paid 139rm for sygic and my free waze is 10 times better. what the f*** is sygic doing?
ramz
Nov 8 2012, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(N33d @ Nov 8 2012, 11:56 AM) for better user experience, sygic is better but lack of latest and more detail map and POI papago is laggy and buggy but have free and recent updated map with POI What's the point if the maps not updated. Countless times I find myself driving on grass. And taking illegal turns. I understand if the road is new. But the roads are already 2 years old