17 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Web Applications Web Hosting / Domain Discussion Thread

xavierchan
post Nov 11 2006, 04:12 PM

Ultraman has turned to the DarkSideā„¢
1,266 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Nov 11 2006, 02:58 PM)
haha... i jz build a forum for my classmate. so that we can stay in contat after graduate. so, i choose free hosting lo. i heard that hav some free web hosting is NO Banner de.. thats y i ask u guys where can sign up. but nvm la..
well, if so, maybe you can try to use this and see... smile.gif http://www.dhost.info/
sonictheory
post Dec 29 2006, 07:12 AM

510 posts

just wondering if i were to set up a forum in hosting....average 80 posts perday...how many bandwidth and space do i nit per year?....image would be remote hosting...

another thing is, those paid host... normally they give us DNS to direct to our webpage oor there's actually a adres for us.... like http://webhosting.com/sonictheory/index.htm? or give us http://202.88.121.23?

if i register both domain name and hosting on diff company, is there make any diff?....like i cant get subdomain for my domain or anything...

coz i currently register 1 domain name with 1 compnay...i only manage to redirect the domain to my actually address ...not sure if they got subdomain feeatures o not...

This post has been edited by sonictheory: Dec 29 2006, 07:53 AM
michaelfoo
post Dec 29 2006, 08:00 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(sonictheory @ Dec 29 2006, 07:12 AM)
just wondering if i were to set up a forum in hosting....average 80 posts perday...how many bandwidth and space do i nit per year?....image would be remote hosting...
another thing is, those paid host... normally they give us DNS to direct to our webpage oor there's actually a adres for us.... like http://webhosting.com/sonictheory/index.htm? or give us http://202.88.121.23?

if i register both domain name and hosting on diff company, is there make any diff?....like i cant get subdomain for my domain or anything...

coz i currently register 1 domain name with 1 compnay...i only manage to redirect the domain to my actually address ...not sure if they got subdomain feeatures o not...
It is very hard to judge how much bandwidth will consume for 80 posts per day. Probably you can start with a company that suits your budget. Avoid unmetered/unlimited bandwidth hosting companies.

Paid hosting, you'll get an address like this:
http://iphere/~user/ anyways it doesn't matter because you'll get your domain name to mask up the IP.

There's no difference if you register your domain and hosting from different companies.

Subdomain features is given by the hosting account. Just point the domain DNS to your hosting provider and you can start with the subdomain icon_rolleyes.gif

Good luck!
jackal1950
post Dec 29 2006, 11:40 AM

572 posts

Why dont you guys use a free web hosting server to redirect the page to your home PC as main web server. From there you can have total control of your website and you can add whatever you want to the web server.
saimatkong
post Dec 29 2006, 11:50 AM

1,938 posts

QUOTE(jackal1950 @ Dec 29 2006, 11:40 AM)
Why dont you guys use a free web hosting server to redirect the page to your home PC as main web server. From there you can have total control of your website and you can add whatever you want to the web server.
you have a lot of trouble using pc at home as a server.
you have to on ur pc 24hours and it will be harm for your pc as a long run.
if for personal stuff it's ok to use pc at home as a server but if for business you can't, it's not as stable and speed wise. you don't have such high tech equipment at home as compared to the paid web hosting.

just my 2cents.
jackal1950
post Dec 29 2006, 11:53 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(saimatkong @ Dec 29 2006, 11:50 AM)
you have a lot of trouble using pc at home as a server.
you have to on ur pc 24hours and it will be harm for your pc as a long run.
if for personal stuff it's ok to use pc at home as a server but if for business you can't, it's not as stable and speed wise. you don't have such high tech equipment at home as compared to the paid web hosting.

just my 2cents.
my computer has been 24x7 on for 4 years, nothing wrong with it, still performing smoothly.

of course business cannot use your home pc as server. more over, if you are doing business you should not be so stingy about buying hosting plan.
saimatkong
post Dec 29 2006, 11:57 AM

1,938 posts

QUOTE(jackal1950 @ Dec 29 2006, 11:53 AM)
my computer has been 24x7 on for 4 years, nothing wrong with it, still performing smoothly.

of course business cannot use your home pc as server. more over, if you are doing business you should not be so stingy about buying hosting plan.
if for personal stuff then i totally agree. coz i was doing that for almost 4years also. now my hdd gonna K.O liao ... tongue.gif
yikyeou
post Dec 31 2006, 04:32 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

erm...
how do i say it...
is there any web hosting provide this domain?
http://xxxx.yourdomain.com

Hunz
post Dec 31 2006, 04:50 PM

znuh
1,238 posts

you want a subdomain?

xxx is the name you want and yourdomain.com is people's domain name correct?

I think there is a lot service which offer subdomain.
yikyeou
post Dec 31 2006, 05:35 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

oh, i mean. i wan to have my own site. then at my site, like i wan to make it separate like blog.mydomain.com. sorry for my bad english, i dont really know how to ask this question, hahax.
sasaug
post Jan 2 2007, 03:10 PM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

Do you got any free web hosting llike this?

50MB
SQL
PHP
No-ads

Any?C u guys tell me pls?
michaelfoo
post Jan 2 2007, 05:18 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(jackal1950 @ Dec 29 2006, 11:53 AM)

It is not impossible but hosting your site at home limits your number of concurrent visitors.

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Dec 31 2006, 05:35 PM)
oh, i mean. i wan to have my own site. then at my site, like i wan to make it separate like blog.mydomain.com. sorry for my bad english, i dont really know how to ask this question, hahax.
Yes, any hosting companies that give you the ability to have your own subdomain has this feature smile.gif

my44
post Jan 14 2007, 11:28 PM

2,494 posts

Wah liao man, pixcle.com hosting is getting worse and worse. Bad news for 4 of my website. A few months ago they were great, until got this 16-hour downtime and seemed cannot recover from it. I monitor their uptime record closely because I'm thinking of switching to other hosting.

pixcle.com uptime stats: http://www.siteuptime.com/statistics.php?I...2&&UserId=14621

And what I notice now that they no longer reply to my emails. Everytime the server is down, I emailed them to get explanation. I think 2-3 of my last emails no longer layan by them. The mobile numbers on their website also no body angkat.

*shaking heads*

Just my review. People who had PMed me to propose their hosting package, I thank you guys very much. I'll make my decision soon.
my44
post Jan 15 2007, 12:06 AM

2,494 posts

QUOTE(mandelism @ Nov 8 2006, 11:43 PM)
maybe this wud help www.webz2host.com
they allow u multiple domain, just pay xtra few tens of ringgit ly

gud luck dude!!!
Not sure lor, they don't publish their uptime record anywhere. Afraid the server will go down.

keith6668
post Jan 17 2007, 11:18 AM

133 posts

Anyone heard of these companies? Price looks good,... but not sure abt the service. Comments appreciated...

AUTOS Web Hosting

Shinjiru Web Hosting
xavierchan
post Jan 18 2007, 12:22 PM

Ultraman has turned to the DarkSideā„¢
1,266 posts

QUOTE(keith6668 @ Jan 17 2007, 11:18 AM)
Anyone heard of these companies? Price looks good,... but not sure abt the service. Comments appreciated...

AUTOS Web Hosting

Shinjiru Web Hosting
i heard Shinjiru.com before, but not AUTOS... sweat.gif

Anyway, shinjiru's price is quite expensive ler... 5GB for 200++ MYR... doh.gif
my44
post Jan 18 2007, 08:18 PM

2,494 posts

Email them to ask for their uptime record.
jassicaskylpm
post Feb 8 2007, 04:36 PM

373 posts

any recomended free web hosting for m'sia(local)? seems the link that provide is link to oversea tongue.gif
tcy
post Feb 9 2007, 10:25 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(jassicaskylpm @ Feb 8 2007, 04:36 PM)
any recomended free web hosting for m'sia(local)? seems the link that provide is link to oversea  tongue.gif
free hosting in msia? I advise u to go for oversea well known free hosting..

if not later u regret too late tongue.gif
HMMaster
post Feb 9 2007, 11:31 AM

10K Club
10,308 posts

QUOTE(xavierchan @ Jan 18 2007, 12:22 PM)
i heard Shinjiru.com before, but not AUTOS... sweat.gif

Anyway, shinjiru's price is quite expensive ler... 5GB for 200++ MYR... doh.gif
i think it is 50GB and not 5GB. Quite cheap if you ask me.

17 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0238sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:16 AM