5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V8, I9300BUALF1.DM OTA in 1 - 2 weeks ?

farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 12:17 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:15 AM)
I hope TS can put your review to the first post biggrin.gif
Hopeless dy.  Every time coming back to this thread see the green slime.  People are trying to contribute and he act like he's contributing.
i will let him decide. cz i m writing a quite comprehensive one. covering most of the stuff from hardware to software to UI and to each function and tips and tricks to avoid getting wasted shutters.

yea, all he do is only copy and paste. or just blank shooting. inside his head is all empty.
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 12:27 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Silver Isle @ Jun 11 2012, 12:24 AM)
I really really can't wait for your review! thumbup.gif
DO u want me to cover the front facing camera review for u? brows.gif

in FFC mode u still can use best photo and Beauty function too.. brows.gif
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 12:31 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:26 AM)
It's gonna be real useful rclxm9.gif  That way we can maximise the camera's potential further.  Instead of just simply point and shoot every time sweat.gif
everything is in my mind. just thinking how to present out in a good way so that non technical ppl can understand better. need to divide the sub topics carefully.. sweat.gif

a few things i find very interesting. brows.gif later will describe one by one. and also will list everything in a summary.

anyway, for another teaser bcz i failed to deliver my article on time.

pictures first. what is it about these three comparison will come in a few days time. brows.gif

This post has been edited by farscope: Jun 11 2012, 12:37 AM
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 12:37 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 11 2012, 12:34 AM)
dont forget to put inside spoiler please  icon_rolleyes.gif
wokkay boss.. done..
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 12:44 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Jun 11 2012, 12:38 AM)
all reviews r welcomed
bt the zero shutter lag
i noticed if move abit when takin pic it will blur abit
well
today only start takin pics
learnin as i go along
so ur review is comin out at a good time
actually the camera still requires time to focus. but instead of waiting for instructions to focus, the camera will prefocus first before you and just wait you to tap the shutter button.

hence, everytime you move the camera away from the subject you focused, it will try to focus again. or if you did not move at all, the camera will refocus every 3 seconds. that's how they achieve the zero shutter lag bcz the camera focuses before u.

however, if u tap on the screen to change the focus area, then u will experience the same snapping speed with any other phone. and it also will bounce back to the middle after 3 seconds as well. Meaning to say, the camera will pick the middle as its main focus area all the time.

another reason of blur is hand shake. hand shake is apparent during slow shutter speed, occurs mostly in low light.

yr picture blur bcz of wrong focus or bcz of movement? u need to know which type of blur then u will know where is the mistake.

blur = motion blur
out of focus = focus wrong place and everything seems "blur"

different meaning.
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 12:49 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jun 11 2012, 12:39 AM)
i can see the detail started to lose as iso increase and the noise level also increase with iso. well, this is pretty normal for digital camera. but does this performance consider good in term of smartphone camera?
yes, it happens to any camera even DSLR. higher iso will lose its sharpness and details.

for a smartphone, the sharpness is very acceptable. But only for ISO lower than 400. above 400 still acceptable. considered very good for smartphones. exclude nokia n9 and 808 out pls. blush.gif

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:41 AM)
the higher the iso, the more noise it creats? higher iso is for dark shots right
yes.. technically correct.

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Jun 11 2012, 12:42 AM)
Comparable to PnS, but can't tell yet... Need to try it in darker places...
darker place all die.. PnS oso die, phone oso die.

maximum ISO for S3 = ISO 1600
minimum ISO = ISO 80

min shutter = 1/10000 (yes, 10k)
max shutter = 1 sec

but for auto mode (most cases)
max shutter = 1/17 only

only a two modes will enable 1 sec and 0.5 sec shutter. make a guess.. rolleyes.gif

Added on June 11, 2012, 12:50 am
QUOTE(Xabrius @ Jun 11 2012, 12:47 AM)
To addon,

A camera uses slower shutter speed at darker environments because the longer the shutter the more light it will take in, thus compensating the dark. Hardware wise, to solve this is to use a flash, bigger sensor or a brighter lens (like f/2.0)

User wise, keep your hands steady smile.gif
keeping hand steady not enough.

sometimes it's not the hand that moves. its the subject. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by farscope: Jun 11 2012, 12:50 AM
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 12:56 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 11 2012, 12:52 AM)
STFU. i ady have my DSLR as my "powerful alternative". I'm now discussing about camera in S3 ONLY.

megapixel doesn't equal to quality. The S3 is indeed much better than S2.
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 12:58 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Jun 11 2012, 12:54 AM)
but i did read some review saying the camera in N9 and L900 (both using same camera module) is disappointing... if the max shutter speed is 10k then it is much faster than those entry level dslr -.-"
yes, i was quite shock too. i shoot directly into bright light to try out its maximum shutter speed. I rubbed my eyes twice when i saw 1/10000. I thought its 1/1000.. yes, it's very fast. but seldom will reach that shutter speed for normal usage.

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Jun 11 2012, 12:54 AM)
for now
i try to balance my hands on somethin b4 i shoot
minimize the shakin
instead of tapping the shutter button to take picture, which will induce shaking. Try use voice command. wink.gif
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 01:02 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Jun 11 2012, 01:00 AM)
Night mode/Firework?
bingo..

firework by default
ISO: 80, shutter 1 sec

night more depends
ISO capped at 800 to lower noise. Shutter min i hit before is 0.5 sec only, cant seem to get it to do 1 sec.
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 08:29 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(moon* @ Jun 11 2012, 08:24 AM)
the printscreen thingy, do i need to download and instal this as well?
no need.. u just need to enable it in Settings > Motion > Palm actions > tick the relevant one.

or manually print screen by long hold power + home button

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 11 2012, 08:24 AM)
My previous question from previous thread still no answer/solution:

One question to macbook / imac user. How you do tethering with SGS3 by USB cable?

Before this, I use SGS 1, I managed to do tethering by USB cable.
not using any mac, so cant help u
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 09:06 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 11 2012, 09:00 AM)

what sucks:
1. the keyboard, they downgraded the swype, and never introduce anything better. the keyboard now sucks and looks like ios keyboard,
2. the s voice sucks big time. not practical at all. only the alarm seems like the only thing i do on svoice.
1, agreed. they removed every other keyboard available. i still love the original swype in my tab. immediately downloaded swype beta for my s3 on the first day and never looked back. biggrin.gif
2. not a big fan of s voice to begin with. even when siri came out for ip4s i also condemn quite a lot. i only use s voice when demo to ppl, or just when i'm bored or lazy. seldom use driving mode. laugh.gif
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 09:09 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Jun 11 2012, 09:07 AM)
Sometime the S3 may gave strange/weird (para-normal) self light-on with notification sound without any human physical touch intervention !?  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif

Any clue ??  hmm.gif  sweat.gif
u mean when sms comes in? yes, the screen will turn on.. other than that, never face any situation like u mentioned.
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 09:16 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Jun 11 2012, 09:10 AM)
No SMS or WhatsApp or Viber notification...nothing !!  rclxub.gif  sweat.gif  unsure.gif
QUOTE(rakyat @ Jun 11 2012, 09:13 AM)
Yep happened to me quite often, middle of the night wake up to an eerie glow from S3, check and nothing
LOL.. THAT'S CREEPY MAN!!

let me check my screen wake.

i do notice many wake locks, but screen doesn't turn on. hmm..
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 09:24 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 11 2012, 09:22 AM)
the dropbox feature is better than ipad btw. it allows u to automatically (without intervention) upload your photos to dropbox the moment you take it! amazing.

for ipad, after take it just sits there in your ipad. termenung syndrome. must go to photos and push it to dropbox than only can work. why no automation is beyond my understanding. can do on ICS why can't do ios?
bcz iOS cannot multitask? tongue.gif

i turned off the feature anyway. cz not every photo i wanna store in cloud. rolleyes.gif
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 09:31 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 11 2012, 09:27 AM)
can my s3 access icloud? yeah yeah i lazy to google

i looking for a harmonious cloud feature for my s3 and ipad. so far dropbox seems to be the best, although ipad has a substandard dropbox function
of cz not. iCloud needs apple flavour only can pass.

i think Dropbox is the best option for u. other than that, microsoft's skyDrive. but skydrive belongs more to windows phone. the support for other platform is less.
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 10:41 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 11 2012, 10:35 AM)
the trouble is in 1 house i have 4 devices all with same dropbox id!!!. so i take a picture, then download will happen on 4 devices simultaneously. so suddenly my house network traffic jam!! solution: unifi 20. thanks. bandwitdh is never enough.
i believe dropbox doesn't work that way. it only SHOWS u the file is available in your cloud, but wont download it unless u initiate the download.

otherwise if yr 50GB full ady, then how is it gonna download into yr 16GB devices?
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 10:49 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(techi5 @ Jun 11 2012, 10:45 AM)
i bought my s3 two days ago, i've turn on my mobile data but not using it, and my battery drop quite fast, i have 100% in the morning (8am), and drops till 22% by 9pm. hows ur s3 battery performance?
with mobile data of cz will drop faster.. as long as it is sufficient for your one day usage, then it's fine. not too concern.

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 11 2012, 10:46 AM)
hmmmm, u are right. only pc download automatically into the hardrive. the devices remain in the cloud. sorry wrong. then must be congested with my porn downloading...that's another topic for another website.

sorry
lol.. laugh.gif
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 11:28 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Criollo @ Jun 11 2012, 11:09 AM)
That irritating glossy fingerprint magnet back cover looks like mine xD

been using my pebble blue for a week naked without any casing. Got some thin hair line scratches at the bottom of the phone but i don't really bother much. tongue.gif

bcz my finger print is more annoying than the scratches, but I'm still looking at the beautiful screen 99.99% of the time. brows.gif
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 11:35 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jun 11 2012, 11:29 AM)
Haha. I swap my Rock and Nillkin occasionally for the back cover lol. Can't stand a scratch or fingerprints on the back tongue.gif
when my back cover gets too many scratches then only I will slap in a casing. No use of using a ugly and thick casing to cover the beautiful and slim back cover. wub.gif

what's the use of protecting the back cover but u never get to look at it?? brows.gif
farscope
post Jun 11 2012, 11:36 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Jun 11 2012, 11:34 AM)
are you rich enough to scratch your rm2+++ hp? shocking.gif ...not me sweat.gif
the phone may cost >Rm2k, but buying an ori back cover to replace it is only <RM100.. brows.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0411sec    1.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:41 AM