31 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

The UCSI University Thread, V2, UCSI @ Cheras, Kuching, Terengganu

nicole_4ever
post Sep 27 2013, 07:51 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(reubenster93 @ Sep 27 2013, 04:02 PM)
Hey people! just wanna ask,

1. How is the mass comm degree at UCSI compared to other colleges and universities? good? bad? Is UCSI reputable for mass comm? Any current mass comm students who would like to share their experiences? According to a friend, apparently the good lecturers are leaving but i'm not sure lol.

2. The environment, culture, etc. Mainly chinese speaking or english speaking students? i'm trying to avoid a chinese speaking dominated university cause i've had enough from TARC Penang  rclxub.gif

3. Cost of living. whut is the usual budget?

4. Campus (facilities, etc.)

That's all for now  smile.gif

If you guys can provide me with more info that'd be great!
not sure about the course but overall, the campus facilities are good enough and currently they are doing improvement for car parking...

for cost of living, if you are talking about food, is not really that expensive if want compare to oldtown etc...you can spend below RM 10 including drinks...the food taste acceptable (always eat at block B)

any information regarding ucsi, u can visit here: https://www.facebook.com/ucsi.university
Icehart
post Sep 27 2013, 08:14 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Sep 27 2013, 07:51 PM)
not sure about the course but overall, the campus facilities are good enough and currently they are doing improvement for car parking...

for cost of living, if you are talking about food, is not really that expensive if want compare to oldtown etc...you can spend below RM 10 including drinks...the food taste acceptable (always eat at block B)

any information regarding ucsi, u can visit here: https://www.facebook.com/ucsi.university
I wouldn't rate UCSI University facility as "good" enough. They really need to work harder on this aspect. Library need to add more books. I mean really good and educational books. Do some stock-update. Old outdated books should be donated or recycled.

Parking recently only Student Council gather petition. That also don't know if they're serious enough to do improvement over the parking.
nicole_4ever
post Sep 27 2013, 08:23 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 27 2013, 08:14 PM)
I wouldn't rate UCSI University facility as "good" enough. They really need to work harder on this aspect. Library need to add more books. I mean really good and educational books. Do some stock-update. Old outdated books should be donated or recycled.

Parking recently only Student Council gather petition. That also don't know if they're serious enough to do improvement over the parking.
good enough as in they provide bus shuttle for the students like us, hahaha laugh.gif

you are right about the library, instead built the lift, they can buy or restock more academic books...and i don't understand why most of the so called good academic reference located at the lowest ground floor and 'locked'... hmm.gif

and the stuff attitude is terrible too

oops...i think i recommend wrong uni to people already laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nicole_4ever: Sep 27 2013, 08:25 PM
Icehart
post Sep 27 2013, 08:32 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Sep 27 2013, 08:23 PM)
good enough as in they provide bus shuttle for the students like us, hahaha laugh.gif

you are right about the library, instead built the lift, they can buy or restock more academic books...and i don't understand why most of the so called good academic reference located at the lowest ground floor and 'locked'... hmm.gif

and the stuff attitude is terrible too

oops...i think i recommend wrong uni to people already laugh.gif
Staff attitude?
Last week I was there and the registrar staff raise her voice to a student. smile.gif
nicole_4ever
post Sep 27 2013, 08:39 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 27 2013, 08:32 PM)
Staff attitude?
Last week I was there and the registrar staff raise her voice to a student.  smile.gif
reminds me few years back ago again!

I am shock when the library systems shows that i haven't returned the book but i already returned few weeks ago.

I approached the staff and he keep saying, ''Most students thought they have return the book but actually not''. I request can he look again? He said don't have (less than 10 minutes, he told me he couldn't found it), i am piss off, i go up again and look for the book that i returned and guess what?!?! He or other staff actually forgot to key in the system for the return and that's why i still in the list book pending.

omg! I am so piss off! what the hell!!!!!! I regret i did not report him actually to the management, such an..lazy bum...

oh god, plz don't go ucsi anymore..lol
reubenster93
post Sep 27 2013, 08:53 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Sep 27 2013, 08:39 PM)
reminds me few years back ago again!

I am shock when the library systems shows that i haven't returned the book but i already returned few weeks ago.

I approached the staff and he keep saying, ''Most students thought they have return the book but actually not''. I request can he look again? He said don't have (less than 10 minutes, he told me he couldn't found it), i am piss off, i go up again and look for the book that i returned and guess what?!?! He or other staff actually forgot to key in the system for the return and that's why i still in the list book pending.

omg! I am so piss off! what the hell!!!!!! I regret i did not report him actually to the management, such an..lazy bum...

oh god, plz don't go ucsi anymore..lol
is it that bad? lol. which college or uni is better and as affordable as UCSI then? haha
nicole_4ever
post Sep 27 2013, 08:59 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(reubenster93 @ Sep 27 2013, 08:53 PM)
is it that bad? lol. which college or uni is better and as affordable as UCSI then? haha
is UCSI really affordable? i thought it is expensive already sweat.gif

i thought Taylor or HELP basically the fees are the same?

for my program, i only found one of the best lecturer among all i studied since foundation..

facilities...is quite fancy lol, got the 'ogawa/osim chair some more sweat.gif sweat.gif

Icehart
post Sep 27 2013, 11:22 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(reubenster93 @ Sep 27 2013, 08:53 PM)
TARC. Now offering Degree program already.
Pending approval.

Last time when I entering UCSI also pending approval.
reubenster93
post Sep 28 2013, 01:08 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Sep 27 2013, 08:59 PM)
is UCSI really affordable? i thought it is expensive already sweat.gif

i thought Taylor or HELP basically the fees are the same?

for my program, i only found one of the best lecturer among all i studied since foundation..

facilities...is quite fancy lol, got the 'ogawa/osim chair some more sweat.gif  sweat.gif
really? haha. any idea on Taylor's fees?
reubenster93
post Sep 28 2013, 01:20 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 27 2013, 11:22 PM)
TARC. Now offering Degree program already.
Pending approval.

Last time when I entering UCSI also pending approval.
no way I'm going back to TARC. I don't wanna be a lab rat again. I went to TARC and regretted like hell. lol. I'm chinese and i speak mandarin but i dont wanna go to a college in which majority of the students converse in mandarin and suck badly in english. it is an important language for goodness' sake! doh.gif
and by going to a predominantly mandarin speaking uni or college, it is hard for a student to improve his or her english because he or she is being held back and handicapped by the mandarin speaking environment.

ENGLISH is an international language so everyone has to at least have a decent command of english.
MANDARIN/CHINESE is important too. but it is an extra on top of english. so yeah..

and i dont wanna go to a college or uni whose programs are pending approval and stuff. although chances are slim, what if their courses end up not being approved? your cert might end up not being recognized by companies. what will you do? sue the college/uni?

no hard feelings. just my point of view smile.gif

im.nic0le
post Sep 28 2013, 08:43 AM

I am interested to go for a BA in English Language and Communications. Is UCSI a good choice? Is this degree recognized?
Valentineday
post Sep 28 2013, 07:55 PM

478 posts

hi anyone taking dual qualification executive master of management on UCSI? i wish to know more information regarding this program fees etc...i tried called their office several time but no one revert to me so far
Icehart
post Sep 28 2013, 10:10 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(reubenster93 @ Sep 28 2013, 01:20 AM)
no way I'm going back to TARC. I don't wanna be a lab rat again. I went to TARC and regretted like hell. lol. I'm chinese and i speak mandarin but i dont wanna go to a college in which majority of the students converse in mandarin and suck badly in english. it is an important language for goodness' sake!   doh.gif
and by going to a predominantly mandarin speaking uni or college, it is hard for a student to improve his or her english because he or she is being held back and handicapped by the mandarin speaking environment.

ENGLISH is an international language so everyone has to at least have a decent command of english.
MANDARIN/CHINESE is important too. but it is an extra on top of english. so yeah..

and i dont wanna go to a college or uni whose programs are pending approval and stuff. although chances are slim, what if their courses end up not being approved? your cert might end up not being recognized by companies. what will you do? sue the college/uni?

no hard feelings. just my point of view  smile.gif
It's funny how you put English language as your utmost priority to reject TARC and choose UCSI without much study and regards to if these two educational institutions have any differences with the command of language used. As much as I am concerned with few years of studying experience in both institutions, it does not make difference if you're studying in TARC or UCSI. As long as there's chinese, they'll speak Mandarin. Not all, but most.

Don't talk about students lah, even lecturers/management in UCSI also cannot speak properly. You want example? Nah:

You want to improve your English? Start reading novel and join more NGOs.

This post has been edited by Icehart: Sep 28 2013, 10:13 PM
im.nic0le
post Sep 28 2013, 11:46 PM

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 28 2013, 10:10 PM)
It's funny how you put English language as your utmost priority to reject TARC and choose UCSI without much study and regards to if these two educational institutions have any differences with the command of language used. As much as I am concerned with few years of studying experience in both institutions, it does not make difference if you're studying in TARC or UCSI. As long as there's chinese, they'll speak Mandarin. Not all, but most.

Don't talk about students lah, even lecturers/management in UCSI also cannot speak properly. You want example? Nah:

So I guess taking a BA in English Language and Communications in UCSI is out of the question then? ._.
reubenster93
post Sep 29 2013, 12:07 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 28 2013, 10:10 PM)

and you're wrong. haha. I'm not looking to improve my english (not that i dont wanna). it's the matter of working with them in doing assignments. as far as i know, well, based on my experience, chinese-ed students work differently compared to english-ed ones. you can say that i'm half english ed and half chinese ed. hence, it's easier to work with people who're of the similar wavelength and mindset. i dont mind people speaking mandarin, it's the way they do things.

unfortunately for me, i went thru 2 1/2 years of that and i realized that i didnt learn much. i wasnt pushed to my fullest potential. i hope you can see that language isnt my utmost priority, but mentality, culture, the level of intellect (not implying that i'm a bright student), etc. hopefully you can understand my pain hahahaha.

again, no hard feelings aight smile.gif
AFAKFF
post Sep 30 2013, 04:38 PM

anyone studying degree in finance and investment in ucsi? i heard this is a new course.. i'm currently studying diploma in finance and investment.. think of switching to ucsi after completing my diploma here. any opinions?
Icehart
post Sep 30 2013, 04:39 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(reubenster93 @ Sep 29 2013, 12:07 AM)
and you're wrong. haha. I'm not looking to improve my english (not that i dont wanna). it's the matter of working with them in doing assignments. as far as i know, well, based on my experience, chinese-ed students work differently compared to english-ed ones. you can say that i'm half english ed and half chinese ed. hence, it's easier to work with people who're of the similar wavelength and mindset. i dont mind people speaking mandarin, it's the way they do things.

unfortunately for me, i went thru 2 1/2 years of that and i realized that i didnt learn much. i wasnt pushed to my fullest potential. i hope you can see that language isnt my utmost priority, but mentality, culture, the level of intellect (not implying that i'm a bright student), etc. hopefully you can understand my pain hahahaha.

again, no hard feelings aight  smile.gif
Oh so your purpose is for assignment?
Haha, good luck finding good people for assignment. I realized in my 2 years studying here; all good ones are fully booked. They're selling like hot cakes.
Lynn Khoo
post Oct 11 2013, 12:01 AM

hey guys any idea about chemical engineering in UCSI? and isit easy to get the scholarships thr with stpm results?
charlotte529
post Oct 14 2013, 11:33 PM

yea wanna know about chem engineering course in ucsi. are the lecturers good?
iammasivers
post Oct 19 2013, 09:36 PM

361 posts

anyone know got any room vacancy to be rented near ucsi for this january 2014?

31 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:21 PM