167 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Photography Sony RX100, New standard for compact camera ?

rsralf
post Aug 6 2013, 02:32 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(KB1 @ Jul 27 2013, 12:09 PM)
ya, interested to know too..with a cheaper priceĀ  drool.gif
HV50 is a digital compact camera and cannot be compared with RX100.
However it has a powerful 30x zoom which I love rclxms.gif
Even though it is a digital compact camera, performance wise is really good, it's just slightly lower than nex series.
I'm totally satisfied with my HV50X except it doesn't have 180 degree LCD screen flip as my NEX-5R.
I use it mostly for situations requiring me to zoom further (i.e. concert). In normal situation, i will use my NEX-5R (depending on situation, i prefer bringing 2 cameras than bringing my 55-210 lens)

This post has been edited by rsralf: Aug 6 2013, 02:36 PM
shogun_125
post Aug 6 2013, 02:41 PM

557 posts

do you think its good for DSLR user to switch to this camera :-) tired to bring big camera.. hehe.
tarm
post Aug 6 2013, 07:26 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Aug 6 2013, 02:41 PM)
do you think its good for DSLR user to switch to this camera :-) tired to bring big camera.. hehe.
I'm ex-DSLR user myself, from Canon 7D, to Nex-5R, now to this.

I agree, since I didn't do any more photo job anymore I'm tired to bring big bags with lenses and other stuffs. RX100 or RX100M2 is perfect complement camera.
shogun_125
post Aug 6 2013, 08:29 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(tarm @ Aug 6 2013, 07:26 PM)
I'm ex-DSLR user myself, from Canon 7D, to Nex-5R, now to this.

I agree, since I didn't do any more photo job anymore I'm tired to bring big bags with lenses and other stuffs. RX100 or RX100M2 is perfect complement camera.
ermmm..think to sell my dslr biggrin.gif ... but seem hard to find the stock isnt?

tarm
post Aug 6 2013, 11:28 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(shogun_125 @ Aug 6 2013, 08:29 PM)
ermmm..think to sell my dslr biggrin.gif ... but seem hard to find the stock isnt?
Still can get at Sony Center, however if u looking for cheaper price might have to wait until third party shop start selling it.

This post has been edited by tarm: Aug 7 2013, 03:38 AM
benl40
post Aug 7 2013, 03:44 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(kazairol @ Aug 6 2013, 10:51 AM)
Anyone getting this? laugh.gif

Hasselblad Stellar

Thinking of getting RX100M2 as my event camera, mostly indoor event, is it good?
The price is crazy O.O
benl40
post Aug 7 2013, 03:46 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(tarm @ Aug 5 2013, 07:22 PM)
Finally.

Just bought RX100M2 at Sony Store KLCC, RM2499. Will post pix soon.

For now RX100M2 only available at sony store due to limited stock.
Do they have a lot of stock for MKII? Thinking of heading down to KLCC on Sunday and hopefully I can still get it by then. Have been waiting so long for this cam since my S95 died off
shogun_125
post Aug 7 2013, 06:01 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(benl40 @ Aug 7 2013, 03:46 AM)
Do they have a lot of stock for MKII? Thinking of heading down to KLCC on Sunday and hopefully I can still get it by then. Have been waiting so long for this cam since my S95 died off
wahh..its available.. biggrin.gif i need to get 1
tarm
post Aug 7 2013, 06:23 AM

805 posts

The stock is plenty... Got demo set to play around.

Better call first to check the availability. I forgot the number but easily can get from sony.com.my which i did.
shogun_125
post Aug 7 2013, 06:27 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(tarm @ Aug 7 2013, 06:23 AM)
The stock is plenty... Got demo set to play around.

Better call first to check the availability. I forgot the number but easily can get from sony.com.my which i did.
great info and many thanks

SweeJ
post Aug 8 2013, 06:10 PM

64 posts

so.... i just got back from Sony KLCC. and i was attended to by a very knowledgeable salesman (perhaps of Indian nationality), who seems to knows his tech/IT/photography stuff in and out, to the point he could answer most of my questions about the RX100 MII.

they are selling it for rm2499 with a free 16GB memory card (no surprises being retail pricing). so far, they've sold only 2 of the RX100MII, since receiving stock last Saturday, and they've got plenty in stock.

i'm particularly interested in it's Wifi/NFC features as coming from dSLRs, 4/3 mid-rangers and point-and-shoot cameras, i found the image quality and the pocketability along with it's ability to directly send photos to your phone, make this even more an incentive to carry it around and process/forward/upload photos instantly. i find having to head back home or search for a place to sit down and use my notebook a deterrent to capture and share photos more frequently.

trying out the Wifi/NFC feature in Store, the iPhone PlayMemories (freeware by Sony) mobile app was a hit&miss though. it seems Android phones such as their in-house Sony phones worked very well, just by tapping on the camera. while the Smart Remote Control app worked flawlessly without any lags, the Direct Transfer to my iPhone/iOS had errors connecting. perhaps the demo RX100MII didn't have any memory card in it to send photos to. i will head back tomorrow to try it out with a memory card. if it does work, then i think this camera will be a real win in terms of greater usage.

of note, i had my Lumia 720 with me, and while it has built-in NFC capabilities, i was informed smartphones still required the PlayMemories Mobile app, which unfortunately does not support Windows Phone OS.

Lazyboy
post Aug 8 2013, 06:16 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(SweeJ @ Aug 8 2013, 06:10 PM)
so.... i just got back from Sony KLCC. and i was attended to by a very knowledgeable salesman (perhaps of Indian nationality), who seems to knows his tech/IT/photography stuff in and out, to the point he could answer most of my questions about the RX100 MII.

they are selling it for rm2499 with a free 16GB memory card (no surprises being retail pricing). so far, they've sold only 2 of the RX100MII, since receiving stock last Saturday, and they've got plenty in stock.

i'm particularly interested in it's Wifi/NFC features as coming from dSLRs, 4/3 mid-rangers and point-and-shoot cameras, i found the image quality and the pocketability along with it's ability to directly send photos to your phone, make this even more an incentive to carry it around and process/forward/upload photos instantly. i find having to head back home or search for a place to sit down and use my notebook a deterrent to capture and share photos more frequently.

trying out the Wifi/NFC feature in Store, the iPhone PlayMemories (freeware by Sony) mobile app was a hit&miss though. it seems Android phones such as their in-house Sony phones worked very well, just by tapping on the camera. while the Smart Remote Control app worked flawlessly without any lags, the Direct Transfer to my iPhone/iOS had errors connecting. perhaps the demo RX100MII didn't have any memory card in it to send photos to. i will head back tomorrow to try it out with a memory card. if it does work, then i think this camera will be a real win in terms of greater usage.

of note, i had my Lumia 720 with me, and while it has built-in NFC capabilities, i was informed smartphones still required the PlayMemories Mobile app, which unfortunately does not support Windows Phone OS.
Great share. Thanks! I think you hit all the strong points of the camera
Lazyboy
post Aug 8 2013, 06:17 PM

399 posts

I would not hesitate to buy this if I didn't already have the RX1. ..of course it's a little bulkier but still doesn't put me off carrying it....unlike DSLR
tarm
post Aug 8 2013, 08:20 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(SweeJ @ Aug 8 2013, 06:10 PM)

Sony Malaysia didnt promote enough the availability of RX100M2 here, perhaps they still try to clear older model stock with the Raya promo.

Guess i'm the second or first one bought from Sony KLCC rclxms.gif itupun just because i just called them out of blue to check without any hope if its already available or not. I thought they referring to the older model when they said they have the stock.

now at kampung still learning and exploring the camera icon_rolleyes.gif

Oh happy holiday and Selamat Hari Raya to all RX100ers!
aobk84
post Aug 8 2013, 08:24 PM

406 posts

cool I didn't know Malaysia have stock already, will get the RX100II soon
SweeJ
post Aug 8 2013, 11:33 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(tarm @ Aug 8 2013, 08:20 PM)
Sony Malaysia didnt promote enough the availability of RX100M2 here, perhaps they still try to clear older model stock with the Raya promo.

Guess i'm the second or first one bought from Sony KLCC  rclxms.gif itupun just because i just called them out of blue to check without any hope if its already available or not. I thought they referring to the older model when they said they have the stock.

now at kampung still learning and exploring the camera  icon_rolleyes.gif

Oh happy holiday and Selamat Hari Raya to all RX100ers!
actually, i was told that, officially, Sony Malaysia HQ hasn't launched the MII yet. however, because stock was sent to Sony KLCC, they decided to just sell it early, perhaps it being a flagship store.

enjoy your new toy, and Selamat Raya/Eid Mubarak to you too.

SweeJ
post Aug 9 2013, 01:02 AM

64 posts

just FYI for potential owners & new owners as well:

i just saw a really comprehensive and clear review/user's guide to the RX100MII on YouTube, as referred by a DPReview forum user, Elliot. and i think for those wanting to play with the new demo camera, but do not have it in their city or haven't the time to go to the Sony Flagship store, he does it really really well. it's so comprehensive it makes you feel as if you're playing with the camera yourself.

while it runs for over 45 mins, i feel it's a way for potential buyers, who are clueless about what to ask or what functions to explore even while playing with the demo version, to really get to know the camera.

personally, i think it will even benefit new owners as the German reviewer effectively cuts the time of you getting to know the capabilities of your new toy, as you may spend a much longer time from reading the more detailed user guide downloadable from the Sony website.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgwdHR8raMw

tarm
post Aug 9 2013, 02:31 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(SweeJ @ Aug 9 2013, 01:02 AM)
just FYI for potential owners & new owners as well:

i just saw a really comprehensive and clear review/user's guide to the RX100MII on YouTube, as referred by a DPReview forum user, Elliot. and i think for those wanting to play with the new demo camera, but do not have it in their city or haven't the time to go to the Sony Flagship store, he does it really really well. it's so comprehensive it makes you feel as if you're playing with the camera yourself.

while it runs for over 45 mins, i feel it's a way for potential buyers, who are clueless about what to ask or what functions to explore even while playing with the demo version, to really get to know the camera.

personally, i think it will even benefit new owners as the German reviewer effectively cuts the time of you getting to know the capabilities of your new toy, as you may spend a much longer time from reading the more detailed user guide downloadable from the Sony website.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgwdHR8raMw
rclxms.gif good finding
my44
post Aug 9 2013, 06:11 PM

2,489 posts

Just to verify that I also saw and played around with MKii at Sony KLCC. That's all. Hehe. I still have my RX100. Ok better run away before I change my mind.
tokiaday
post Aug 9 2013, 08:25 PM

22 posts

For sharing my RX100mII bought yesterday, welcome to join my flickr group and share.

1)
user posted image[/url]
DSC08001.jpg by tokiaday, on Flickr

2)
user posted image[/url]
DSC08008.jpg by tokiaday, on Flickr

3)
user posted image[/url]
DSC08016.jpg by tokiaday, on Flickr

167 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top