Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V34, Official ICS for Non-G and G! First Post

Eiraku
post Jun 20 2012, 09:23 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:03 PM)
try the game and IT WAS AMAZING!!!!!! thumbup.gif  thanks dude.... notworthy.gif

Added on June 20, 2012, 9:06 pmguys..any recommendation for an app that the same or have the fuctionality like hostpot shield to protect internet browsing in wifi connection?hostpot shield app doesnt work with s2.. doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Not sure what hotspot shield does (I rarely use free hotspots due to security concerns) but IINM "Orbot" does the same thing.
Eiraku
post Jun 20 2012, 11:02 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Jun 20 2012, 09:53 PM)
can find in google play?
Should be there last I checked. It's a bit slow for a security proxy though.

Plus we already have VPN built in, we just need a line to connect to.
Eiraku
post Jun 20 2012, 11:35 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Jun 20 2012, 11:09 PM)
can you teach me how to draw the line?i use my company wifi and i hated that they can snoop what i browse,google only show app
Google "Set up VPN android" or "set up VPN SGS2". Like I said, I don't really use unsecured WIFI to do stuff I wouldn't want people to snoop on, so I never really bothered.

Here's a link to help you get started: http://bit.ly/LfBM0l

And make sure you're either running stock Sammy ROM or something based on it. Some of these "customs" don't have (or have taken out) the enterprise grade stuff Sammy built in the stock ROM for VPN.

If you have TiBu, search VPN. If you're running LPG you should still have "vpndialogs" and "Enterprise VPN Services" installed.

If you're wondering what the heck I'm talking about, you're better of using Orbot, really.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 20 2012, 11:42 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 21 2012, 12:31 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jun 20 2012, 11:59 PM)
the Estoc i brought from you still sticking on my s2 now...
Mine got unwashably dirty lol. Changed to Optics, damn easy to scratch compared to the Estoc.

Anyway, as I'm bored and I just got VPN working on my S2 (for secure surfing purposes only, torrenters GO BUY A PAID VPN ACCOUNT), here's what to do on an LPG ICS SGS2:

1) Go here: http://bit.ly/L4DR9b.

2) Read.

3) Find the password page link. It changes every 10 minutes, so like it or not to VPN this way you're gonna have to sacrifice a little bit of your MOBILE DATA to GET THE DAMN PASSWORD EVERY TIME YOU WANNA CONNECT (because if you do so through your office/school WIFI connection, the site's likely to be blocked). BOOKMARK THE PASSWORD PAGE.

4) Setup a new VPN connection as per below.

5) Go to the BOOKMARKED password page. Get the username and password.

6) Go back to VPN. Use the username and password. Tick save user details so you don't have to type the (unchanging) username every time. Connect.

7) Repeat 5 and 6 as necessary. Remember, the passwords only last for about 10 minutes for login (it will remain valid for the next 2-3 days after you connect).

8) ...

9) Profit. Enjoy your new (semi-)secure data tunnel to the States (go to an IP check website to confirm).

JUST A REMINDER, IINM THIS ONLY ENCRYPTS YOUR BROWSER CONNECTION. Everything else (market, Facebook, email) goes through local data as per usual.

FYI, PPTP is not the best nor is it the fastest encryption protocol available, but it's a helluva lot better then nothing.

And VPN + 3G base encryption should be enough to block anybody short of a determined black hat to snoop around your surfing routine.

Unless you NEED to pay the RM40 for increased security that is.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 21 2012, 12:41 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 21 2012, 01:21 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(nehalem176 @ Jun 21 2012, 12:42 AM)
whoa, what a lovely font you got there. mine sharing it here?
It's Ubuntu Titling Bold. I've used all sorts of other fonts but I keep coming back to this one.

I dun have the APK anymore though (it's a Flipfont package), just pulled it from my GB TiBu backups when I went ICS.
Eiraku
post Jun 21 2012, 09:03 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(nehalem176 @ Jun 21 2012, 08:33 PM)
im not assuming neither to you nor to anybody here. to best honest, i always said that. haha
WTF, mai battery drained like hell. @#£& Samsung.

Really, you guys are spoiled. 4-5 hours of non-stop high speed cellular Internet access (worse case scenario) in the palm of your hand is not enough eh?

Just a few years back, the best I could do with WIFI and my Axim X51V was 1 hour lol.

But, with that said, watching BBS for misbehaving apps is actually very useful if you suddenly find that your battery life is suiciding out of the blue.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 21 2012, 09:18 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 21 2012, 11:29 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(nehalem176 @ Jun 21 2012, 11:07 PM)
1. reboot your phone.
2. after reboot, leave it your phone and get yourself some rest or you can use it as usual till you asleep
3. tomoro before your battery going to die, dump file first then attached here. then plug your phone to the charger

P/s: i just need single dump file.txt. you can delete the existing one. dont messed up your /sdcard.

Edit: thanks to pika and destex for helping out our friend here. tomoro im working so i try my best to look forward to your dump file. we got other expert here pika, destex, eiraku and antoo. (im new joiner, just recognize some expert here. SORRY, if your name not mention!!)
I'm no expert. I dun think I can read my BBS dump even if my life depended on it lol.

But then again, I don't really have much "standby" battery issues - my phone batt lasts happily thoughout the span of about a day or two of light use.

Problem is, I rarely put it through "light use" lol. So I'm forced to live with crappy half day (or sometimes even less) battery spans lol - depending on how bored I get at work.

I COULD go back to the Momax fatties (one lasts about 1 day, plus minus), but hell it makes the phone so unwieldy it's not funny anymore.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 21 2012, 11:31 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 22 2012, 11:40 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jun 22 2012, 01:17 AM)
did you try it? once you try to use turn by turn navigation it will say region not supported or smtg like that
Modded 6.8.1 with World Wide nav has been out for a while lol. It's a pain to install though, as per all modded system apps.

Plus it likes to die on it's own in Nav mode sometimes, vs the older 6.7 versions which was rock solid. AND the NEW integrated "bubble buttons" (it's no longer an option in Labs) cut down the action buttons per location to 1 (it was 2 originally), which might be WTF to some of you.

So your call whether to upgrade ornot.
Eiraku
post Jun 26 2012, 02:23 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 25 2012, 11:04 PM)
actually i'm confuse as well. CM9 seems like samsung ICS that is lacking more features.
no wifidirect,no fm radio,no swipe to call and sms, no complete video codec,

but for some reason it seems like a geek trend to use it, so call pure android.
cm9 suppose to be light and runs faster, but i dont really feel a big difference in speed.

but cm9 does looks much better, the whole theme and UI look.
i use samsung rom with theme similar to cm9, so best of both world for me biggrin.gif
AOSP/AOKP is Android w/o the Samsung bits, tweaks and extras, thats's all. ASOP/AOKP also more themeable, especially CM7/8/9 (modified AOSP) and AOKP.

MIUI is also modded AOSP, though you can say like CM, it's pretty much it's own branch now.

I I N M lar.

I like some of my Samsung bits unfortunately, but PA does looks interesting with it's hybrid UI. At least with PAD and PAL I can run PhotoShop Touch the way it's meant to be run. Almost.

My greatest beef with AOSP/AOKP/CM/MIUI/PA (something I like to repeat too) is the lack of an intergrated smart dialer.

(And kernels that can work with my Glas while phone is charged, but considering Siyah is cross branch now, that's a non-issue).

I know you can use Go dialer or Exdialer, but I'd rather it be an intergrated thing.

Otherwise I jelly with AOSP/AOKP/CM/MIUI ease of theming.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 26 2012, 02:26 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 26 2012, 03:32 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Trying out PA 1.5. Tablet mode is awesome but it's confusing all at the same time. Plus the CM9 dialer rocks.

Now, problems. My network-set time is all wrong. It's showing 7am now (WTF?) and a weird "no service" text is in place of my Carrier name. Hmmmm.
Eiraku
post Jun 26 2012, 05:05 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Jun 26 2012, 03:56 PM)
Did you sign to your android account or R your internet connection working?
Not in the beginning, but after reboot all connections work BUT it still shows "no service". Time is ok now (suddenly).
Eiraku
post Jun 26 2012, 08:38 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Jun 26 2012, 05:20 PM)
And now you cant surf using your phone is I?
I CAN, even with "no service". Weird isn't it.
Eiraku
post Jun 26 2012, 09:15 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:45 PM)
if working then no problem right?
Well, I'd like my carrier to show rather than No Service.

That said, the crashing phone.apk, the broken ics+ browser and some weird sheet with PreHome drove me mad. Now back on the safety of Wanam.

PA got potential, that's for sure. But a stable daily ROM it's not, at least not for me.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 26 2012, 09:19 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 26 2012, 09:54 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Jun 26 2012, 09:27 PM)
sad u tried PA at a bad version

the phone.apk problem only appeared in this version, the fix? put 184 dpi for phone.apk and apparently you can put any dpi for contacts, ics+ browser how broken? i dont see any brokenness
Not that I don't like it, I DO like it. Just a tad mafan, and for a daily use phone, stability is paramount.

ICS+ FCs a whole lot for me, especially when I hit menu button. Though the built in standard ICS browser works well though to compensate. Also, I often use full display mirroring through HDMI-out on the SGS2, which no CM/AOSP ROM can fully do yet (Fluxi's HDMI-out implementation is limited to piping out videos). Plus some full screen Flash FCs.

And before you ask, I started from a full wipe + fix permissions.

But the higher DPI hybrid UI works surprisingly well. It really is "more than just tablet mode". I'd say if ever I go the CM route, PA is the ROM to choose.

Fluxi is also very good, especially with xxtweaks. I got the touchscreen to work properly with my Glas while charging, which is a great sign that CM is progressing well (last time I tried I was totally fucuked).

But, right now, back to Stock Sammy simply because of the bullet-proofness, reliability and how everything just works (I sound like an iFag now lol). I dun have much time as I do before to tinker with the phone, so I need a boring, rock-stable ROM.

If I get an 16GB card later I'll install PA as secondary just to play around with it though, I'm still VERY intrigued by the hybrid UI.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 26 2012, 10:14 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 26 2012, 10:06 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Downloading the fixed PA for me to tinker around with another weekend.
Eiraku
post Jun 26 2012, 10:11 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Jun 26 2012, 10:07 PM)
its doesnt work it seem that streamyx connection suck tonight.. doh.gif ,i know i should have donwload it this morning but no.........i got work,f it,got to try it tomorrow vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Server overload maybe. I can't get decent speeds off 3G (here where I am right now 3Mbps is ACTUALLY achievable) either.

That said, Play Store also got slow download problems rite now. Everything crawls UNLESS I VPN.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 26 2012, 10:13 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 27 2012, 12:45 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Jun 26 2012, 11:59 PM)
This is quite amazing.
But only available for custom kernels?
Swapping too much is not exactly good for flash memory. It has re-write limits you know.

Although 3-4 years of over-swapping shouldn't do anything much to your phone.
Eiraku
post Jun 28 2012, 09:04 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Jun 27 2012, 10:54 PM)
Hmmm...  Anyone who has some notification issue with messaging? I seem to be 'missing' notifications with go sms pro. Sometimes I get the notifications and sometimes there are no notifications even when I've received many messages...

Anyone?
No issue here with wanam 12 + latest Siyah. Telco/SIM issue?

For that matter, I think my SIM holder got issue edi. Sometimes suddenly give me "no SIM inserted" errors (and automatically SMS people because of Cerberus).

And Project Butter drool.gif drool.gif

Hopefully we DO get Jelly Bean, although it's unlikely that we get official updates.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 28 2012, 09:06 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 28 2012, 09:22 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Jun 28 2012, 09:14 AM)
Hopefully there will be Jelly Bean custom roms available for S2.
Hopefully. CM9.1 anyone?

Wonder if S4 will come out with Key Lime Pie later or just JB.

From the looks of it, prolly JB (S2 came with Ginger with upgrade to ICS. S3 with ICS with upgrade to JB).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 28 2012, 09:25 AM
Eiraku
post Jun 28 2012, 09:59 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jun 28 2012, 09:47 AM)
S3 battery Li-Ion 2100 mAh, dun know can use in S2 or not?
Oi, go get the Ori Samsung 2000mah extra cap battery can or not? Oni like 150 and confirm can work with the S2 - I'm using right now and YES the extra 340mahs makes a difference.

How does 5-6 hours of heavy use screen on time sound like to you? That's with auto brightness and live wallpapers and shiat.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0262sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:29 AM