With the listing of IHH, if one is to pursue medicine locally, I believe IMU will be most ideal.
CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center
Jul 26 2012, 10:26 AM
2,214 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
With the listing of IHH, if one is to pursue medicine locally, I believe IMU will be most ideal.
Jul 26 2012, 11:25 AM
Jul 26 2012, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 26 2012, 11:34 AM) the listing of ihh, which owns imu, will have a negligible financial impact on the operations of imu.... IMU is being considered as a profit center, I suppose. it is not possible for clinical training to take place in private hospitals in the present msian context..... recent news about the private sector undertaking postgraduate training is just hot air... Back to the IPTAs then, if one can get in. |
Aug 13 2012, 01:06 PM
A levels results out this week. Hope all UK med applicants with conditional offers meet the requirements! Apparently UCAS received about 90,000 med applicantions for 2012/2013. This figure was then "trimmed" down to about 20,000 competing for about 7,500 places in the 31 medical schools.
Aug 14 2012, 08:09 AM
I don't dare imagine the numbers here. Even NHS' 6% rise in death rates is horribly scary! Black Wednesday indeed!
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthne...ing-season.html This post has been edited by podrunner: Aug 14 2012, 08:10 AM |
Aug 15 2012, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(Syd G @ Aug 15 2012, 09:51 AM) Netter is pretty good for atlas. It was very foolish to mislead and misrepresent in the first placeAdded on August 15, 2012, 10:20 amBtw : Winson Seow says sorry http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...0397&sec=nation » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Aug 18 2012, 05:17 PM
How recognised are the basic medical degrees from UM, UKM and USM? I know SMC recognises UM's and UKM's. It was mentioned in another forum that USM is also recognised (by SMC). Is this a recent addition? I am not able to verify this information.
Aug 22 2012, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 22 2012, 09:37 AM) Sounds promising, particularly the "eligible for provisional registration as a doctor..........UK General Medical Council"In the spirit of "anyone can be a doctor", there's also this: http://www.theborneopost.com/2012/08/01/go.../#ixzz22GskatOI |
Aug 23 2012, 06:22 PM
See Requirement 4 re MCAT - am I understanding it correctly, that one will be accepted and then sits for the MCAT? It is just a formality?
http://perdanauniversity.edu.my/pugsom/adm...sions-criteria/ Wonder what the numbers are like for the first batch. |
Aug 27 2012, 09:42 AM
Not too late to apply for Numed's September 2012 intake! One of the options available for those who did not meet their conditional offers for the 2012 UCAS cycle.
![]() Maxis being coerced as well, it seems. |
Aug 27 2012, 10:30 AM
Aug 27 2012, 05:16 PM
Why are some consultant surgeons being addressed as "Mr" instead of "Dr"? Female consultant surgeons are therefore Ms/Mrs/Madam?
This post has been edited by podrunner: Aug 27 2012, 05:17 PM |
Aug 27 2012, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 27 2012, 06:20 PM) because historical barber-surgeons were not considered doctors, and called mr. by the physicians... LOL @ tumpang glamour!! the barber surgeon colleges dates back centuries, the first being the rcs edinburgh, given the royal charter by king james in 1505 (not kidding).... for the first 3+ centuries they were not considered doctors by the physicians of the day, and the term mr. used, in a condescending way..... when formal medical education was established to include surgery, in the 19th century, the usage of mr. persist for barber surgeon fellows..... it is still used in the british isles and ireland, and some commonwealth countries..... it's use is traditionally restricted to fellows of the 4 historical barber-surgeon colleges, ie edinburgh, england, glasgow and ireland...but the australiasian college has also adopted the practice... there is reverse snobbery now, as surgeons proudly use that title as a badge of honour that they are 'higher' than mere doctors! however, ironically, in msia, masters graduates in surgery from local unis (um/ukm/usm) have used that title, although it is inappropriate, as they are not fellows of the barber-surgeons.....you know, tumpang glamour a bit... So this term dates back centuries. Good to know, thanks! |
Aug 27 2012, 10:11 PM
Aug 30 2012, 07:38 AM
http://www.intohigher.com/uk/en-gb/campaig.../into-sgul.aspx
http://www.sgul.ac.uk/international/into Quite interesting that SGUL has an international MBBS program, UCAS code A900 (instead of the usual A100), 6 years course, last 2 years "clinical practice in the United States or other international clinical sites". I wonder if these graduates will be eligible for FYP, alongside the grads from the A100 program....seems iffy when clinical training is done outside the UK. Prospective students should ask the right questions. Just read the brochure online : "Graduates will be provisionally registered with the General Medical Council (GMC). Applicants should note, that as MBBS International graduates, you will potentially not be able to complete the first year of foundation training in the UK leading to full registration, as under prevailing UK immigration rules you may not be able to get a work permit." This post has been edited by podrunner: Aug 30 2012, 08:09 AM |
Aug 30 2012, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Aug 30 2012, 09:50 AM) Good to know another pathway but for a high cost education its better to exercise caution. Yeah, for traditional courses, we prefer traditional and recognised universities. Or I'm just plain old- fashioned.As a Malaysian, I would prefer one that is at least recognised by our own gomen. |
Aug 30 2012, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 30 2012, 12:56 PM) they will be img's, but since it is gmc recognised, probably need not sit for the plab.... If I am not mistaken, this is only for international students.for non eu residents, they will have to fight with the sub-continent imgs for places... the question is, what happens if a british graduate with this degree.....what happens..... |
Sep 2 2012, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(jingyong @ Sep 2 2012, 10:31 AM) Doing biology will help u understand those mitosis stuff but when u're working, who cares about mitosis all those stuff?! What is the HO population like in SGH? Was there a few times last couple of months, and I got the impression that there are LOTS, and even lots more med students milling about. Some med students were observed to be really keen on learning, but noticed a few who were more keen on their smartphones WHEN things were being explained to them! I felt more uncomfortable than them.In your clinical years, ur examiner wont ask u about mitosis as well.. In your HO training, it's totally diff story.. so A-Level or STPM subjects are useless when u go into clinical years and beyond.. unless u wanna do research when u graduate la.. |
Sep 17 2012, 07:28 AM
QUOTE(ltvl0929 @ Sep 16 2012, 11:19 PM) Hello! I'm currently an A-Levels student and I'm looking forward to studying Medicine in the UK or Singapore. =P I assume you would have already sat for the UKCAT, and your PS is more or less written up. If you have not already visited TSR, it will be good to do so;Is there anyone here who is studying in NUS Medicine from A-levels? Because it seems that my actual results will only be out after the application deadline. The website says that SAT is needed for ppl like me but this pathway in inapplicable for Medicine. So I guess that the only way for me to apply for NUS is to wait for another year? I'm currently narrowing down my university options as I will need to send in my UCAS soon. Anyone here would like to suggest their UK university and share their experiences? http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=195 Lots of information here, and there are univeristy-specific discussions as well. Which universities are you considering at the moment? Good Luck! |
Sep 21 2012, 03:25 PM
Huge Malaysian presence in Uni of Liverpool this year.
3 "FAMA" scholars, 2 JPA national scholars (from the top 30 spm 2009 batch) - both with 4A* 4 Mara scholars 4 girls, 5 boys. |
| Change to: | 0.0458sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:09 AM |