CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

onelove89
post Dec 20 2012, 10:00 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(medwolf @ Dec 20 2012, 03:00 AM)
hello guys, im new here.
im spm grad and interested in doing medicine.
i have questions regarding a level  icon_question.gif
should i enroll to college in jan or march.
let say i enroll in january.
then, what if i get good result for my spm(which in march) then apply for scholarships and got offers for overseas.
what im afraid/unsure is if i reject those offers and continue my a level will i get to receive scholarship again to do pre med/degree?  unsure.gif

and what subjects should i take for a level.
i have done my homework  biggrin.gif  and thinking of taking chemistry and biology.
but idk what to take for 1 more subject.
if can i really dont want to take physics and take mathematics instead.
but for medicine do i really have to take physics or there is other option?

thanks in advance  biggrin.gif
How was your mock exam results?

I have friends whom enrolled for jan/march intake, and they dropped out half way because they've gotten the scholarship, of course they have to restart again. It depends really. Some just have a backup plan just in case they didn't get the scholarship.

physics is a part of medicine but I don't think it's a prerequisite for doing med. (do pardon if i'm wrong)

of course you can scroll through the many MANY posts in this thread before deciding that medicine is for you.

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 20 2012, 08:07 AM)
If you get a straight A's result for your SPM, you can try and might get the JPA scholarship to do medicine. They will sponsor you to do the A-levels and send you wherever they like after that.

eg; We got JPA students in MSU-IMS Bangalore who did their A-Levels in MSU Shah Alam.

If you don't mind being sent anywhere to do medicine by JPA and don't have the $$$ to do it privately... just apply and take the JPA route if it is offered to you~

Added on December 20, 2012, 8:15 amHere is a blog of one of my juniors (JPA scholar) and her experience:

http://www.tzequan.blogspot.com/2012/03/i-...end-myself.html

Or they might put you in one of the local private Us.

Good testimony from your junior. smile.gif Reminds me of how I prayed to God, and waiting for a long time for the answer. Still, I wish to come back to sarawak/sabah to serve my people one day, but I don't think it'll be that soon.

India's med course is much expensive compared to the local private Us, is that correct?
onelove89
post Dec 20 2012, 01:56 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Dec 20 2012, 10:29 AM)
I do think that you need to reread my question more carefully, I know about all those but which of it is dominant? (Hence hypermax's: (improve survival and quality of life))
vasoconstriction and sodium reabsorption.

was reading an article on AT2r, which is rather interesting smile.gif

http://hyper.ahajournals.org/content/35/1/155.full

http://circres.ahajournals.org/content/83/12/1182.full

However i think sartans and prils are pretty much the same in terms of efficacy. Still there are conflicting data saying one is better than the other.

Any clinicians can clarify the selection of sartans over ACEI? (apart from when the patient cannot take ACEI).

Added on December 20, 2012, 2:04 pm
QUOTE(medwolf @ Dec 20 2012, 10:41 AM)
well for my trial,
science subjects i got 'C' for chemistry/physics and 'B' for biology.
'A' for mod maths and 'E' for add maths (40 marks).
will i get accepted to a-levels with this?(for january intake)
but im pretty confident i can scores in my real spm.  nod.gif

since i was child my dream was to be a scientist but change my mind to be a doctor instead.
(since it looks like the profession dont do well in malaysia and i dont really have wide knowledge about being a scientist)
but now i got really interested and sothisphicated to be a doctor.
and it's my dream to be a doctor now.
i cant see myself doing other jobs than being a doctor.
i think my personality matches for doctor and can withstand the pressure of being a doctor  smile.gif
makes me think that you're now talking in jargon to be sophisticated.

It takes more than just 'dreams' to be a doctor. It takes more than 'personalities' to be a doctor. What IS the right personality to be a doctor actually?

Also, you can withstand the pressure being a doctor, like syd G said, it's not as simple as you think, even I don't quite fully understand what i'm venturing into. I'm certain the pressure then is much greater than what I'm experiencing now. To think about you'll be responsible for ones life, is different from the actual thing when you are holding the person's life in your hands.

I'm not discouraging you. just asking you to think twice smile.gif Ain't everyones cup of tea when it comes to the lifestyle.

This post has been edited by onelove89: Dec 20 2012, 02:04 PM
onelove89
post Dec 20 2012, 04:43 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 20 2012, 03:24 PM)
Here comes the smack down, oppa limeuu style biggrin.gif

Give him some chance la. Maybe he can do well in pre U? U never know.
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Damier @ Dec 20 2012, 03:31 PM)
How about do something nearer lor.......pharmacy or nursing also can lar......work in the hospital what.. LOL
Pharmacy and nursing aren't 'backups' for med. Both are noble professions which requires same amount of dedication and they all have their own difficulties. Don't enter the courses just because it seems like a 'backup plan' in case you don't get into med. Get in for the right reasons.

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Dec 20 2012, 04:03 PM)
Makes much more sense right now for it to be first line for BP in certain cases as well as CCF.

I remember our lecturers told us that sartans and prils are pretty similar, although there are different side effects due to presence/breakdown of bradykinin.

However, I do remember somewhere that sartans work differently something along the lines of losartan binds loosely whereas cadesartan binds tighter?
yes to everything tongue.gif but I don't know how relevant are those info to practical clinical scenarios. TBH i haven't seen any AT1r antag prescribed on the wards, yet. (or maybe I just missed them)

Added on December 20, 2012, 4:49 pm
QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 20 2012, 04:42 PM)
In clinical practice, first line is almost always ace-I. Arb is used when patient cant tolerate ace-i, usually due to dry cough (accumulation of bradykinnin in the lungs). Of course in some cases, double blockade is used (combination of both Arb and ace-i).
Was wondering if there are other criteria (other than the issue of dry cough/intolerance of ACEI) needed to prescribe arbs. I haven't came across dual ACEI-arb usage, so I found this along the way:

http://www.ccjm.org/content/76/12/693.full

This post has been edited by onelove89: Dec 20 2012, 04:49 PM
onelove89
post Dec 20 2012, 08:12 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(medwolf @ Dec 20 2012, 06:25 PM)
why so mean, you dont even know me.
im not fully prepared during my trial.
teachers dont finish sylllabus and so on (last minute study before exam).
but im giving my 100 percent for my real spm.
i know my capabilities.
i cant say anything right.
just wait for spm result in march and i will prove you are wrong.
i even dont hangout anymore with my socalledhipster* friend because they do stupid things and they dont realize how tough life is if you want to succeed.
it's a good thing to have confidence. Don't get us wrong. We aren't just being mean and trying to put you off or discourage anyone trying to get into med. Some of us here are real doctors and some of us are medical students. We say so because we know what you will be venturing into, and how tough it is from there onwards. Limeuu isn't being mean, he's just being realistic, and he's speaking from his experience.

Back then, I too was very sure med was the only path for me. Why? because the only reasons I had was 'I wanted to help others' and 'I can do it because I'm (sort of) top in class'. Oh how I crashed and burned. =P Even in my foundation program in OZ, they keep stressing that we should find an alternative to med. There were SO SO many out there trying to do med, including those who are just in the middle of the bell curve. I'm glad I didn't get in the first time. Get your reasons right. It's more than just 'I want to help others' or 'I KNOW this is my future career.' That isn't enough to get you any where.

Oh, and also, D_s_X's first question can give you an idea of how much you know about doctors/medicine. Do tell us what do you think about that.

Also with your trial results, well, for the time being it's not really enough to get you a scholarship, unless your SPM results prove us wrong. cheers.
onelove89
post Dec 20 2012, 08:55 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Dec 20 2012, 08:43 PM)
It is not recommended, but some nephro consultants do use such combination in selected cases. I am not sure of the indication as my haven't done my nephro rotation as MO. Will try to find out more about this.
http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/26/8/2268.long
this one says that it's renoprotective. Others say that they don't do much (in terms of renoprotection)

But it'll be great to see what the consultants say about the combination.
onelove89
post Dec 24 2012, 01:48 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Dec 24 2012, 01:04 PM)
Seems legit, cancer predisposes to dvt
This is sort of a dumb question, any particular sort of malignancies that normally presents with VTE/DIC? Was thinking of haemato malignancies? or solids have equal chances?
onelove89
post Dec 25 2012, 06:33 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Dec 25 2012, 01:20 PM)
Let's leave out other DDx and just discuss about Malignancies and Clots?
I was asking purely out of curiosity on the mechanisms/prevalence of hypercoagulability state in malignancies, so I agree.

any one can shine some light on this issue?

Also this article is pretty good:
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1550339/

another dumb question: do we put all patients undergoing chemo/radio with DVT prophylaxis?
onelove89
post Jan 4 2013, 04:46 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Dalmin_07 @ Jan 4 2013, 04:04 PM)
Hi guys,I am planning to medicine(doctor).I've just finished my SPM.What should I do next ? is A-levels the best option ? i am planning to study overseas after a year or two here....which countries is the best for medicine ?
You need to work on that english if you want to do med/ study abroad.

Alevels is the best choice imho. provides a broader pathways after and prepares you better for uni, in general.

If you want twinning, there are a few to choose from, manipal, pmc and IMU are basically the main choices. I don't really count Monash sunway>clayton as 'twinning' though.

How're your results?
onelove89
post Jan 5 2013, 12:01 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 4 2013, 11:26 PM)
the med schools to aim for are the ones you cannot qualify academically to get entry into......lol

true for probably 80% of med students in bolehland at the moment.....
20% gets into top private such as IMU/Monash? tongue.gif or are they the richer ones? hmm.gif I think it's a whole different story if one is aiming for local Us.
onelove89
post Jan 5 2013, 04:24 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 5 2013, 12:42 AM)
if stringent criteria as demanded for med schools in developed countries are applied, many in imu and monash will also NOT qualify.....
They should set an entry exam like ISAT too.

Any recommendation for OnG text? smile.gif thinking of getting one.
onelove89
post Jan 5 2013, 08:59 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 5 2013, 06:52 PM)
Williams obstetrics & Novacs gynecology. - Internationally recognized references.

Our HOD recommend the above text books for POST GRADUATE students... For undergraduate, our HOD  only wants us to read the following :

- Dutta's Obstetrics and Gynecology
- Shaws gynecology
- Mudaliar and Mennons obstetrics.

For our fast revision:

- Multani obstetrics & Gynecology notes.
Google these if you are curious about them....

(i personally dont like obstetrics and gynecology)  biggrin.gif
Llewellyn-Jones fundamentals of Obstetrics & Gynaecology by Oats J and Abraham S

Essential Obstetrics and Gynaecology by Hacker, Moore and Gambone.

These two are in my list recommended by our school. any one knows any of them? =/

Thanks Cybersetan. will google them up and go down Kamal to have a look. biggrin.gif The theory part is rather interesting for me, I haven't done the actual clinical part though. So we'll see smile.gif
onelove89
post Jan 6 2013, 12:23 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Jan 6 2013, 02:58 AM)
can apply for medicine with ccc a levels...realistically
is this a statement, or a question? blink.gif

Of course you can get in with CCC. Depends where and what uni you're going into. Same goes to the quality of education given to you. Airasia says everyone can fly, Msia says Msia boleh, I say, in Msia, everyone can be a doctor! biggrin.gif rclxms.gif We are at the top of the game cos we can do anything.
onelove89
post Jan 6 2013, 07:09 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(tqeh @ Jan 6 2013, 05:51 PM)
Limeuu,
Having said that, lotsa my consultants in hospital are pretty "$-minded". The first detail they look at (especially surgeons) for patient is whether or not he/she has private health insurance. If they have, they will try to drag them across to private and speed up the procedure.

Why cant people ask about which specialty makes more money? lol. And also, which specialty is more employable/ more business/ more jobs around.
I'm kinda interested to know how is the 'market' like in Malaysia.

As for specialties, In Aus, surgeons earn A LOT. Then comes GP (not all), then the physicians. But this is just too general.
onelove89
post Jan 6 2013, 07:58 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Jan 6 2013, 07:37 PM)
no my question is do student with those results get accepted??if so whr??....im duin computer science...i wana noe well for the sake of knowing
Some newly opened private uni and Russia mainly.
onelove89
post Jan 6 2013, 11:01 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Jan 6 2013, 10:51 PM)
yeah, that's true.

why would someone who got 3Cs in STPM / A Levels want to do medicine in the first place? the grades at A Levels give somewhat quite a good barometer whether one has the capability to study medicine. even straight As students found medical school to be super duper demanding.
A lot of them are ignorant and not knowing what they are venturing into. Even if they got in, they might not like the course or they might drop out after semester 1. I've even seen straight As quitting after 1 semester. But good on them as they found their real passion in life smile.gif
onelove89
post Jan 10 2013, 11:04 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(tqeh @ Jan 10 2013, 10:21 PM)
Too late already, head of pancreas is already out! haha, along with many other organ parts
well, at least the good news is that he doesn't have pancreatic cancer. That's like a death sentence really.
onelove89
post Jan 16 2013, 01:19 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 16 2013, 12:02 AM)
Let's pretend I'm naive but apparently, I still do have faith in humanity.

Oh well, 375k for an education.

Inflation's rate at 4% roughly now. In 5 years time, it would balloon up to around 500k just for a degree....
And once the first batch comes out, the fees will sky rocket again because they can brag that they are 'recognised'. smile.gif all in a days work to fish out money from students, desperate or not.

It's alright, it's much cheaper than overseas. MUCH cheaper. rclxub.gif
onelove89
post Jan 16 2013, 01:38 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 16 2013, 01:30 AM)
A little correction :-

1st batch already out.

It is just that because of the fiasco last time, the accreditation was changed to a 5 year by year approval my MQA.

So, they are technically not fully accredited yet. Might as well I top up another 30k and go IMU laugh.gif
by all means go ahead. well, that's my recommendation.
onelove89
post Jan 17 2013, 04:12 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 17 2013, 07:49 AM)
it's called 'not-for-profit'.....not that it is different from 'non-profit'.....

any med school (or business for that matter) needs to have a certain critical size to break even and have efficient use of facilities....and i think it probably works out to be about 100 students per year.....so less than that, you will loose money, and more than that, you make money....that is why all programmes try to aim for about 150 places...probably the optimal size.....

but it is impossible, in the business model current (ie private full fees paying students) to attract the top students....as the majority (probably 90%) of the student population will not have the money...so the target group are those with lower results with rich parents who harbour great hopes for their children....and they use their own foundation programmes to 'comply' with mmc....
I think monash malaysia has 3 interview sessions, one after Alvl results are out, one after MUFY/AUSMAT/SAM results are out, and one in between. So... I guess that's a way to 'maximize' the spots?

Also, I need help smile.gif I'm planning to do my electives here in Malaysia, probably HKL. Was wondering whether it is hard to apply? (as in, do I need connections to get in or just by formal letters will do?) Anyone has done an elective/attachment there before can share their experiences? smile.gif I'm planning to either apply for OnG or internal med/GE. Still need to wait till uni reopens before I can know more about the elective program.

This post has been edited by onelove89: Jan 17 2013, 04:13 PM
onelove89
post Jan 21 2013, 09:50 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(tqeh @ Jan 21 2013, 03:46 AM)
I am actually very surprised that they are paid for these bedside teachings, as far as I know some countries don't. Guess it is more of a formality.
i think in aus they don't get paid. but they are all so willing and eager to teach us all.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0545sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:36 PM