11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

cckkpr
post Jul 25 2012, 07:29 PM

4,514 posts

I dont think Sunway Monash students expected internships in oz when they started. Its just when the first batch graduated, some were offered which was a pleasant surprise. In the earlier batches, more than 30% are JPA scholars and will be automatically excluded.
cckkpr
post Jul 25 2012, 10:04 PM

4,514 posts

Numed students also don't get internship in UK.
Don't know whether it would affect them in future intakes.
There is also talk that Jeffrey may go independent and another pms could be in the making. Nothing is static and value added is always ongoing.
cckkpr
post Jul 26 2012, 12:07 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 25 2012, 10:46 PM)
i think the jury is out here.....

gmc will accredit the degree, so it will be allowed for provisional registration with gmc for the purpose of f1 and f2....

how the final year students will fit into the new system of f1 application and placement is unknown....there will be a test final year students in uk have to sit for nowadays....the score together with their final results will be used in ranking of applicants to the deaneries....

they do take in img into f1....and at the moment, it appears the available f1 places surpasses the number of graduating doctors from uk.....at least for 2012....

the other unknown is how ukba will look at this, whether they will issue tier 4 visas for non uk graduates for f1.....currently f1/f2 doctors gets extension of their existing tier4 student visas when offered f1......

Added on July 25, 2012, 10:48 pm
i think most monash msia students already know that....especially those who have applied direct entry into oz med schools.....the cut off between the clayton and sunway campus is like a world apart.....
When I spoke to the Dean of Numed, he said it was not possible for f1 but things could change.
Monash sunway intake this year somehow was lower this year and the numbers lesser but the previous year was practically all straight As and abt 30% more than this year's intake.
Yeah, the difference in requirements can also be seen in other courses as well.
cckkpr
post Jul 26 2012, 11:42 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 26 2012, 11:25 AM)
Funding and assumed (rightly or wrongly) possibilities of having wider "training" (clinical years?) access to its stable of hospitals.
Khazanah, govt owned. A stroke of the pen will have an impact on the medical profession!
cckkpr
post Aug 2 2012, 09:59 AM

4,514 posts

We are really in deep shit with all these fakes lurking around and worse still giving press conferences and media interviews.

Noted that this is not only in the med field but many of these fakes are holding high positions with the power to influence decisions made.

Boleh land is really on a downward slide.....what more can we do?
cckkpr
post Aug 4 2012, 01:13 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(jolenemeteor @ Aug 4 2012, 12:22 AM)
Wow you're fast! I'm actually in a grad entry MBBS so we've started a small amount of weekly training in the hospital since the beginning of year 1. I've also recently completed a 2 weeks General Paeds attachment over my last break, but I totally get what you mean about enjoying the long holidays! Just trying to perhaps look out for an attachment of a week or two to see how the healthcare setting in Malaysia is like in comparison to Aus. smile.gif

Looks like I'll resort to the unofficial way then....  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I have arrange twice for my relatives and frankly, you need to 'know' some ppl to have a meaningful attachment.
cckkpr
post Aug 13 2012, 01:59 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 13 2012, 01:06 PM)
A levels results out this week. Hope all UK med applicants with conditional offers meet the requirements! Apparently UCAS received about 90,000 med applicantions for  2012/2013. This figure was then "trimmed" down to about 20,000 competing for about 7,500 places in the 31 medical schools.
Apparently out today.
cckkpr
post Aug 15 2012, 01:39 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 15 2012, 10:32 AM)
It was very foolish to mislead and misrepresent in the first place
He is a fake and he cheated. Stupid!
cckkpr
post Aug 22 2012, 09:37 AM

4,514 posts

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/feature...al-brain-drain/

Some info on Numed Malaysia.
cckkpr
post Aug 22 2012, 02:31 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 22 2012, 01:15 PM)
Sounds promising, particularly the "eligible for provisional registration as a doctor..........UK General Medical Council"

In the spirit of "anyone can be a doctor", there's also this:

http://www.theborneopost.com/2012/08/01/go.../#ixzz22GskatOI
These students would most probably be placed in the least favored universities.

Don't know whether to cry or not to cry. If cry, also no tears.

Hope no rent-seekers come into play.
cckkpr
post Aug 23 2012, 11:39 PM

4,514 posts

I thought medic students require a higher muet band to graduate. If a medic graduate can't get band 4, he should not be there in the first place.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Aug 23 2012, 11:40 PM
cckkpr
post Aug 27 2012, 11:44 AM

4,514 posts

Looks like this year, fewer students going to UK to do med.

Could be failure to secure places or JPA won't sponsor any for this year.

Many are heading to India. (From relative contacts)
cckkpr
post Aug 30 2012, 09:50 AM

4,514 posts

Good to know another pathway but for a high cost education its better to exercise caution.

As a Malaysian, I would prefer one that is at least recognised by our own gomen.
cckkpr
post Sep 15 2012, 05:10 PM

4,514 posts

This year Glasgow University has 5 Malaysians, of which 3 are from Sunway, 1 from Kyuem and the other not sure. None from Sunway last year. Sg has 10+ and looks like sg are everywhere and they seem to dominate the international intakes.

cckkpr
post Sep 17 2012, 12:00 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(ltvl0929 @ Sep 16 2012, 11:19 PM)
Hello! I'm currently an A-Levels student and I'm looking forward to studying Medicine in the UK or Singapore. =P

Is there anyone here who is studying in NUS Medicine from A-levels? Because it seems that my actual results will only be out after the application deadline. The website says that SAT is needed for ppl like me but this pathway in inapplicable for Medicine. So I guess that the only way for me to apply for NUS is to wait for another year?

I'm currently narrowing down my university options as I will need to send in my UCAS soon. Anyone here would like to suggest their UK university and share their experiences?
Any of the Russell group is recommended.
cckkpr
post Sep 18 2012, 12:24 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(ltvl0929 @ Sep 17 2012, 10:38 PM)
Yup, I've been there. Would like to get the opinions of Malaysian students too because most ppl from TSR are UK locals if not mistaken. Yea, I've written my PS but still some tuning to do. Sadly, I didn't do so well for my UKCAT. I'm actually considering places like Belfast, Manchester, Southampton. But I haven't really narrowed down my choices yet. Thanks  laugh.gif
Belfast do offer places at the education fairs and some agents can get direct entry but not a preferred one.
cckkpr
post Sep 21 2012, 05:22 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Sep 21 2012, 03:25 PM)
Huge Malaysian presence in Uni of Liverpool this year.

3 "FAMA" scholars,
2 JPA national scholars (from the top 30 spm 2009 batch) - both with 4A*
4 Mara scholars

4 girls, 5 boys.
Any from sg?

Glasgow has >15.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Sep 22 2012, 11:55 PM
cckkpr
post Oct 6 2012, 10:09 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Oct 6 2012, 08:10 PM)
Many ppl very vulnerable to fear and that's what certain religious preaching thrive on. Once it gets to the subconscious mind, it's more or less a done deal. Sad, real sad.
cckkpr
post Oct 12 2012, 11:16 PM

4,514 posts

When rational ppl starts moving, things get done. Get politics out of the way. Bolehland need lots of such ppl.
cckkpr
post Oct 17 2012, 05:25 PM

4,514 posts

Don't tarnish the reputation of University of Glasgow! mad.gif mad.gif

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0516sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:20 AM