7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

seantang
post Jul 9 2012, 09:40 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(bradshaw6861 @ Jul 9 2012, 09:04 AM)
1. my CGPA only slightly more than 2.5/4. I'm an accounting grad, soon-to-be at least. I don't mind working at small auditing firm, just wonder if there's any marketability at Singapore...

2.  If I stay at JB, near to larkin station, how early should i be at the CIQ? 530, i suppose?? let's say i start work at 830am somewhere near Central region?? also what time i should leave Singapore back to JB?? I suppose the bus service doesn't work for 24 hrs, right?? Don't mind if the travelling 2 hrs++ back and forth everyday. it's not like i hv something else to do if i reach home earlier if i stay in sg. not to mention, im first jobber, stay at jb more economical.
1. I guess it's possible. There's always a shortage of accounting staff here. But I'm guessing the pay won't be fantastic.

2. I'm not sure what's the work hours are for smaller firms. But for the large firms esp Big4, don't expect to leave office before 9-10pm on most days when you have a job on hand. And it's not like you can then come in late the next morning. Midnight and weekends are commonplace too. It would really, REALLY suck to live in JB under these conditions.
seantang
post Jul 9 2012, 11:29 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(bradshaw6861 @ Jul 9 2012, 09:49 AM)
thanks for your reply.
1.  hopefully can get into audit firm, small firm is fine. wonder if you can advice if my expected salary would be around 1.8k-2k with 2.5 cgpa. tx biggrin.gif
I think around 2K should be okay. The Deloittes auditors stationed in my company are getting 2.6-2.8K fresh. But seriously, I'm just pulling the assumption about small firms out of thin air. I have absolutely no experience or dealings with them.

QUOTE(bradshaw6861)
2. i hope smaller firms wont have huge workloads like the larger firms...don't mind work until 9 or 10pm...it'd be off-peak  hrs..maybe travelling back to JB wont be too hassling / take shorter time?? so, what time i need to be in CIQ? if i hv to start work at 830am?? tx
Problem is that public transport don't run 24 hours. I think the causeway bus service ends before midnight.

If it's anything like the Big4, the working hours will not be uniform each and every day. Some days, you might need to leave the client's office at Shenton Way (down south) after 10pm. In that case, there's practically no chance for you to take public transport across the entire island to Woodlands etc and still be in time to take a bus across the causeway. If that happens, what are you going to do? Bunk for the night with a colleague? You're basically up shit creek without a paddle.

If you're taking public transport - living in JB and working in SG only works if you have very steady work hours and locations ie. you know exactly what time you need to be exactly where.

The other option... get a motorcycle and bike in every day. Then you have all the flexibility you need, except when it rains. Clients don't appreciate wet auditors... trust me. I assume you can't afford a car.

To answer your question about timing... I used to take the overnight bus to Sg from Ipoh. I will reach SG at about 4:30-5:30am depending on the driver's balls. First bus from Woodlands CIQ to MRT is at 6:15am. Get into a train to Orchard Rd at 6:40am. Reach Orchard at 7:10am. Reach office at 7:20am. Takes about 1hr:5minutes. Add 5-10minutes for every bus/train you miss and have to wait for the next one. And when it's peak hour... you might not get into the first arriving bus or train.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 9 2012, 11:35 AM
seantang
post Jul 11 2012, 07:26 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jul 10 2012, 06:51 PM)
Still am. 4 years in KL already doing audit. But Singapore ain't calling!!! sad.gif

If you have Linkedin, do PM me your profile.
seantang
post Jul 12 2012, 08:15 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 12 2012, 12:05 AM)
15% Cpf 5% cash

Assuming that you have enough CPF. If you buy a simple average condo of around $1M, you are already looking at $175K for the 15% and stamp duty. Unless you have been working in SG for 10 or so years with a salary >4500, now 5000... you probably have less than that in your OA.
seantang
post Jul 12 2012, 09:28 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 12 2012, 09:10 AM)
That's not my point...my point is that how many % of the people(MYsian working/PRs in SG) owns a private housing?

I guess you're one of the luckier ones....owning a private condo......must be big time earner/salary.....
Actually it's a lot.

It really depends on your circle. If your circle of friends comprises mostly young people or non-professionals,.. then yes. Private property is very much out of reach until they are 10-20 years older or find another source of income. Amongst the Malaysians in my workplace, 90% of homeowners own either landed or condos (for those who started their careers in SG, it's on top of the HDBs they bought much earlier).

But as a % of total Malaysians in Singapore, you might be right. There are a lot more labourers/workers vs managers/directors.

In this forum however, I think many of you are just starting out. Private looks out of reach. But after a few promotions etc... you'll see things quite differently.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 12 2012, 09:29 AM
seantang
post Jul 12 2012, 09:36 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 12 2012, 09:31 AM)
For me I took loan in SG to place a sum of money in MY flexiloan account since the interest there is higher. Let the CPF slowly pay off the HDB.
Exchange rate's moving against you right now.

seantang
post Jul 12 2012, 03:37 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 12 2012, 02:32 PM)
HDB downpayment also 20%? Killing man... Imagine 500k hdb, 20% downpayment + admin fee $18k + COV $15k. Cash need to standby = $133k? Haven't count the renovation too... Can easily to need prepare $150k for  hdb buyer. Imagine as an employee with median income range let say $4k, after cpf $3.2k, how are you gonna save and many years you need to get $150k? I wonder how you guys did that.
If you earn only $4K a month, you need to target those HDBs further out and smaller costing $200+K. Don't try to run with the big dogs.
seantang
post Jul 13 2012, 12:05 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jul 12 2012, 05:49 PM)
Even $200k+, do some maths and how long you need to have the minimum cash to purchase it.  sweat.gif
200K flat, you'll generally need only 50K to fund all the initial payments from downpayment to stamp duty etc. 4K salary, you can save 2K a month. So... all you really need is 25 months or 2 years. And if you withdraw your CPF and start to complicate the math a bit with compounding the interest/dividends on your progressive savings, you'll move into 200+K territory.

Question is... have you done your math?

I've done mine. I just bought my first property in SG last weekend.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 13 2012, 12:06 AM
seantang
post Jul 13 2012, 08:38 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 13 2012, 12:34 AM)
Congrats! Where did you bOught!? Katong? New or resale?
The one I asked you about in Simei. Supposed to TOP in 2014. Was sold on it when I stepped out of the MRT. Took 3 minutes to walk the 80m from platform to project entrance and 1 minute to cross the road to shopping mall. Figured it was a sure rental or resale.
seantang
post Jul 13 2012, 10:28 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 13 2012, 09:41 AM)
congrats for u bro
Thanks. Expected the market to sink after Lehman Bros but... Got tired if waiting and paying rental.

Added on July 13, 2012, 10:31 am
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 13 2012, 09:59 AM)
seantang is the #1 elite in this thread lah, he where will buy $200k hdb?? he was just saying that the rest of us peons need to target $200k flats that are 10 mrt stops and 10 bus stops away from town biggrin.gif
HDB... If I could, I would. But I can't.

Simei IS 10 stops from town leh. It's all the way in the East, physically right next to Expo.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 13 2012, 10:31 AM
seantang
post Jul 13 2012, 10:40 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 13 2012, 10:06 AM)
yah most probably by cash summore, no financing  rolleyes.gif pity us here still stress on the 20% downpayment
No leh. Took maximum loan, maximum tenure. CIMB has a pretty unique reducing interest rate loan and my company pays half the interest on employee home loans anyway. And found a place that fits my definition of location, location, location which should offset any issues with increased supply coming online in 2013/2014.

Time was right I guess.
seantang
post Jul 13 2012, 06:05 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 13 2012, 12:50 PM)
wah, so nice to have company share half of the interest.
May I ask a finance question: Say you have to pay same amount (say total 100k across 30 years) of interest money for a loan,

a) pay larger portion in early stage 

b) pay larger portion in later stage

considering the inflation or devalue of the notes you paid less VALUE with option B correct?
Assuming the principal is the same, the amount of interest you pay at the early stage or later stage depends on the interest regime across time ie. does the interest rate increase or decrease across time.

Unless you are comparing 2 loans with differing principal amounts, tenure and interest rates, you will never be given 2 choices with the exact same total interest amount... one of which is front loaded and the other is rear loaded.

I always compare cashflow. If I receive $XXX, how much $YYY do I have to pay back over how many years (which will yield the NPV of YYY)? It doesn't matter how much of YYY is interest and how much is principal. It's basically comparing how much comes into my pocket now vs (the NPV of) how much I need to fork out over the next 30 years.

Generally, the lower rate is ALWAYS better. No exceptions. If you want to fine tune, the lowest rate at the highest loan drawdown is better... which is why I opted for a reducing rate loan to fund a property that is under construction.

seantang
post Jul 14 2012, 09:46 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Jul 14 2012, 02:38am)
should aim Boon Keng la, the strategic one
You are by far the last person whose advice I would follow. Much less advice of a "strategic" nature.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 14 2012, 09:53 AM
seantang
post Jul 14 2012, 10:40 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 14 2012, 10:08 AM)
Thank you.

I stayed in Dahlia before. Despite being a circa. 1000sqf unit, the rectangulars are oddly designed, creating many "inefficient" spaces. The problem with these condos is the "effective" floor space is indeed much smaller due to design flaw.

23% spent in less than 6 months? I suppose is different for newly launch condos (where construction has not even begun).

From your experience and generally the network of people you constantly have discussion with, do they make purchase based on current or potential income?
Look for 3/4/5/etc box layouts. Stay away from corridors, bay windows, store room/utility room/bomb shelter/study, wet/dry kitchens, immovable islands (eg. counter tops, decoration cabinets, room dividers, indoor gardens etc) etc. Smallest possible aircond compressor 'balcony' and washing machine/dryer area.

And these days, they sure whack you with a useless balcony. So I look for the narrowest, shortest one or one with unblocked view so that you can open the sliding doors and actually extend the space abit. But on the other hand... think of the dust.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 14 2012, 10:43 AM
seantang
post Jul 14 2012, 06:45 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jul 14 2012, 12:23 PM)
Need some advice from sifu. With a budget of about sgd 300k (in hand), which one of the following is more feasible:
You have to determine the following:

1. Do you value your time or extra space. This is the real decision. And no matter what anyone tells you, the commute takes a long time. Don't sugarcoat the traveling time. As for space, some people find its a big deal. I don't really care. The business side of me want PSF rather than SF. The leisure side wants aircond, big screen TV and a comfortable sofa. And I don't want to do any cleaning or gardening. The fewer chores the better. So a condo suits me to a tee, plus the fact that the security's so much better (twofold, Sg vs My generally and condo vs house).

2. Do you have a job that allows you to take your time to commute? Do you have a personality that can stand the commute?

3. If you are buying for investment esp unsupervised rental, it's a no brainer to buy a condo and to buy in Singapore. Easier to find high quality tenants, arguably more professional agents to help you manage the rental when you're overseas. Also it's harder to trash or strip a condo in Singapore vs a house in Malaysia.

In terms of appreciation, I must say I have no idea about Johor. But to me, the long term security of capital appreciation is in Singapore. That's why foreigners invest in Sg. Malaysia, especially Johor with its ahem "golf stick royalty" and UMNO bigwigs - reads like a cowboy town to me.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 14 2012, 06:48 PM
seantang
post Jul 14 2012, 10:38 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 14 2012, 08:48 PM)
Usually, we are very cash poor after paying the down payment, legal fee, agent fee etc. Most of the package available then was increasing interest until the 3rd year (sibor - fix x%). The lower interest in the first 2 years helps us to reduce the interest pay to the bank. Until 3rd year, we are more stable and have some cash to consider refinancing or increase the monthly instalment.

Perhaps my purchase is for own stay so there is no real rental revenue. I look at the total "overhead" cost for my SG home instead of cash flow.

If we are ready for private property in SG, I sure will remember your advice, thanks.
Even if you have no rental revenue (I also did not consider rental because I intend to live there), there's actually still a lot to consider. Besides the loan, you have your free cash balance, CPF and future net income that can (in a myriad combinations and timings) either pay down the loan or be invested elsewhere. The trick is to forecast now... how, when and what those future decisions will be - so that you select the correct tenure, interest regime, principal borrowed and place the offset investments that maximises your cashflow. Added complications are stuff like company interest subsidies, interest offset loans (from Stanchart, HSBC, DBS), future refinancing options... which can really f*ck up the spreadsheet to model the whole damn thing.
seantang
post Jul 14 2012, 11:05 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 14 2012, 10:56 PM)
Yes, I am lost in the complex calculation.  rclxub.gif

but I till have a long wait until I have the money for condo, so nothing much to confuse at the moment  blush.gif
There are loan consultants/brokers you can engage to do all this analysis for you. No need to pay them. Apparently their payment is that you confirm to the bank that they brokered the loan for you. Quite useful I think.
seantang
post Jul 15 2012, 12:16 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 14 2012, 11:25 PM)
MY Housing : got a few bank and insurance consultants (some pretty gal too) belanja at cafe to explain their package etc..

SG HDB : the housing agent that you engage will bias to some bank and law firm. We were quite frest back then so we just follow agent's advice but we were lucky to have a very nice agent. May be the treatment is different for condo.
Unless the consultant does not represent a particular bank else they are just telling you whats on their hands. Forum will provide broader view.
My colleague gave me a freelancer that he used. He'll compiles and present the features of all the loans from major banks and any specific banks you ask. Yes, he'll be biased towards the bank with the highest commission but simply to get a single report listing all the loans with common denominators is damn useful already. Much easier to shop around. Then for courtesy, listen to the guy's pitch for 15 minutes lor.
seantang
post Jul 15 2012, 01:11 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jul 15 2012, 10:12 AM)
I'm currently working in the west, any recommendation which area should I look into to get a decent unit should I decided to get one in SG? Be it new/used. I would prefer 2-3 bedrooms unit, around or below $800psf. Any informative websites will be appreciated.
Google for propertyguru's website. It's got a pretty comprehensive database and search tool that can accommodate selections from price range, psf to distance from MRT. Or you can select your favorite MRT station and it'll search for developments around it etc. Even the agents use it on their iPads to show stuff to their clients.

Added on July 15, 2012, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 15 2012, 12:34 PM)
freelancer?  hmm.gif  those independent financial planners?
No, this guy only does property loans. More like a loan broker.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 15 2012, 01:12 PM
seantang
post Jul 15 2012, 04:24 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 15 2012, 03:37 PM)
Now it makes sense. These are not design flaws but safety and supplies necessities. It also explains why corner units garner a "privacy" and "better square" premiums.
When the bomb shelter is the stair well, you're not charged. When it's your "utility room", you pay the psf. When the corridor is the lift lobby, you're not charged. When they put a corridor inside your flat (instead of say, having all the bedrooms open directly into the living room), you pay the psf.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:12 AM