7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

seantang
post Jun 21 2012, 03:40 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(twentyseven @ Jun 21 2012, 02:52 PM)
need advice on transfecting SGD to malaysia bank acc for monthly house payment etc...what are the best method used ? hehe..I had check the rate for TT, pretty expensive where they charge about sgd 30 for each transaction...

Just open a MY savings or chequing account in the same bank as your MY home loan. Then TT one time a large amount (6 months or something) into the MY account and autopay your loan from there lah.

Maybank and CIMB are pretty active in SG. If your MY home loan is also with them, you can open an account with them in SG and use their ibanking webpage to pay the loan from your SG account via a remittance or perhaps against your credit card.
seantang
post Jun 21 2012, 06:27 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 21 2012, 06:09 PM)
Don't tell me the elder kid is girl, and younger kid is boy. Stay along ECP, very near CBD.
The world can't be that small  tongue.gif
Actually I don't know how many kids he has or where he lives. The chap's called Harry.

seantang
post Jun 22 2012, 09:47 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jun 22 2012, 09:11 AM)
i was just trying to ask whether anyone had that kind of experience whereby you needed to travel to singapore just for one interview. just to know whether this is common.
Depends on how many interviews you get, right?

If you only have one interview... doesn't matter if it's common or not. You have no choice unless you feel this job is not worth trying for.

If you have a few interviews, naturally you would tell them that you're an outstation applicant and try to group all the interviews together into a couple of days.
seantang
post Jun 23 2012, 06:24 PM

6,624 posts

Yesterday's Maybank2U.sg remittance rate to Malaysian Maybank accounts was 2.47. $15 fee for maximum transfer of $20K. That works out to be an effective rate of 2.468. Pretty good. Will probably transfer next week when salary's out on Monday.
seantang
post Jun 23 2012, 06:57 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Jun 23 2012, 06:50 PM)
hi guys,

I was wondering how do I receive those online banking TAC (Maybank Malaysia) in Singapore? I do not use my Malaysia number anymore currently since I am in Singapore.

Is it possible to request Maybank to send those TAC to my Singapore number instead?

Occasionally I still need to use Malaysia online banking for fund transfer etc etc. unable to receive those TAC means no transaction can be done.

Any suggestion?

02-12345678 or 65-12345678 is 10 digits, just like a malaysian mobile number 0xx-1234567. My SG number has been receiving TAC sms for years.
seantang
post Jun 23 2012, 07:30 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Jun 23 2012, 07:17 PM)
I see, didn't know they will send TAC overseas. I think I should head to my bank and change my mobile number to SG ones. Thanks
Just update your profile in Maybank2U website.

seantang
post Jun 24 2012, 06:27 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Jun 24 2012, 05:16 PM)
Guys, need help from you all...
I alr got my EP and still looking for a room in SG.
Budget around 500SGD and I'm working in Chinatown that side.

Is there any advise to rent a room? which place is nearest and of course if can get nearby MRT, would be good enough.
The feeder buses in Singapore are pretty good. Staying 2-5 bus stops away from the MRT might be quite a bit cheaper than "walking" distance". And if you dislike walking or the weather, choosing a block with a bus stop directly downstairs/next to it, is a good idea.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 24 2012, 08:00 PM
seantang
post Jun 24 2012, 11:40 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Jun 24 2012, 08:57 PM)
Hi All,

I might be moving to Sg very soon (like in 2 months time) if all goes well.
Have been surveying on the cost of living. Now still trying to check out if there are any room availability for Malaysian female (dont mind sharing), max $350...

Working location: Tai Seng area

My budget:
HP (with data service)  = <$50
Transport (MRT/Bus) = <$180
Food = <$350
Total monthly : max $1000
Please feel free to comment if my estimation falls below the actual threshold. Also need to ask what do I expect to fork out in the first month, as in do I pay like 1/2 months of deposit for rental and so on?

p.s:I'm still deciding to go or not depending on cost factor...Pay is gonna be approx SGD 2xxx only...
You have left nothing for toiletries/cosmetics, girly stuff, restaurant meals, new clothes/bags/misc stuff etc.

Either you get a bf who will buy you all that, or you have the strongest self discipline and willpower of any girl I know.

Added on June 24, 2012, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jun 24 2012, 10:08 PM)
I remitted yesterday at Rafflles Money changer with rate of 2.48...
Somehow, I still don't trust money changers completely. How do you pass the funds to the money changer? A suitcase of cash, a cheque or how?

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 24 2012, 11:42 PM
seantang
post Jun 25 2012, 12:10 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jun 25 2012, 09:40 AM)
I do it cash, withdraw from bank $100 notes, I don't take $1k or $10k notes, scared money changer don't accept.
I usually transfer 20k because I tend to wait and wait for good exchange rates and also accumulate the amount to minimize fees. That's 200 notes. Ya, damn stress to walk around with that much cash in your pocket.
seantang
post Jun 25 2012, 03:19 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jun 25 2012, 03:06 PM)
actually no need to stress la in Singapore, I sometimes hang out with some contractor with side business in joochiet, you will be surprised how much they carry around by cash.
Ya, that's because they look like contractors from Joo Chiat. If you look like an accountant with a wad of cash in your pocket... you'll be stressed.
seantang
post Jun 27 2012, 04:26 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 27 2012, 04:15 PM)
refer the new ...the end is inevitable.
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/singtel-launches-...-at-a-cost.html  biggrin.gif
That's why the mainstay of my shares is always telcos. Starhub, M1, Maxis, Digi... super cash cows. On one hand, I dislike having to pay extra... maybe $30-40 per month on my telephone bill... but on the other hand,.. the additional income will mean much more additional dividend over the same period.
seantang
post Jun 28 2012, 02:47 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jun 28 2012, 02:25 PM)
*some correction from my previous statement
S$10 processing fee (can be waived if you transfer more than 50K back to malaysia)
Do they take cheques? Or must bring cash?
seantang
post Jul 3 2012, 12:08 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Dayang Kemboja @ Jul 3 2012, 11:49 AM)
What are the chances of Malaysians securing a high-end job (finance industry etc) in Singapore?
Just wondering..  hmm.gif
Unlike Malaysia,.. high end jobs in Singapore is determined by merit.

seantang
post Jul 3 2012, 04:44 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Dayang Kemboja @ Jul 3 2012, 12:13 PM)
I see. It means that it is determined by your education level?
Education (your qualifications), skillset (what you can do), experience (what you have done), network (who you can influence) and reputation (what you can influence).
seantang
post Jul 4 2012, 10:44 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Dayang Kemboja @ Jul 4 2012, 09:42 AM)
I agree with network skills.
I think most companies would like you to be able to socialize with others.
I mean who wants to hire someone who cannot mingle with clients right?
I actually mean your network of people. Not how well you mingle with people.

Do you have a network of customers or suppliers aligned to you, which the company will benefit from if they hire you. Do you have a network of professional peers and acquaintances if you need to obtain expertise, advice, hiring etc.

Being able to deal with people is a given. It's like not having a criminal background. You need before you can start. You don't even need to put it down as a strength.

seantang
post Jul 4 2012, 10:50 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Sayid Kasturi @ Jul 4 2012, 10:10 AM)
I think so.
In Singapore, IT jobs are highly paid. May be higher than 7k, depending on the company.
Similarly to the finance industry.
Also depends on your skill sets.
I think Deo's 'dafug' is because he thinks 7K is much too low.

seantang
post Jul 4 2012, 11:24 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 4 2012, 11:17 AM)
MoM presented the data on a median basis. Having said that, it does not mean the data is only relevant to the average Joes. The lower 25th percentile can strive to reach the median while the top 75th percentile has a rock bottom number as benchmark to refer to when negotiating contracts.
I think it's down to a liberal use of the words "Chief Whatever Officer".

It's quite possible that the one and only IT guy in an Abang Ah Beng Pty Ltd is classified as CTO/CIO.

seantang
post Jul 5 2012, 10:26 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 5 2012, 09:04 AM)
Within the first year of employment pass and a valid malaysian license,you can drive a singapore registered car, i done it b4...malaysia registered car i not sure,but after one year, you need to convert license then only u can cont drive
Don't mix up the 2 things.

1. The regulation of drivers ie. drivers' licence is regulated by Traffic Police. It determines WHO can drive (verb). Not WHAT you drive. It's all about which licence you need depending on your residency status and your length of stay in Singapore.

2. WHAT you drive ie. the regulation of vehicles is by LTA (Land Transport Authority). It determines WHAT you can drive according to your status, assuming you are already a WHO under #1 by having a qualified driving licence for your particular status.

There is absolutely no causal relationship where the such & such driving licence you have allows you to drive such & such registered car.

It's your status (residency and residence) which determines which driving licence you need to be able to drive.

And then it's again your status (residency and residence) which determines which car you need to drive... assuming you have the appropriate driving licence from above.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 5 2012, 10:30 AM
seantang
post Jul 6 2012, 04:06 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jul 6 2012, 03:23 PM)
fathers (mothers?) aunties lah haha rolleyes.gif
Have you ever seen chess gal or pix of her? She's pretty darn hot.
seantang
post Jul 6 2012, 10:36 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 6 2012, 10:13 PM)
Sean, still active huh? When I joined this thread I was just 21 years old, new in Singapore. 6 years have passed and I think am definitely qualified to be an aunty! Btw Sean, you ffk me last time at Orchard, I was auditing around there, then you said you have got a date or something and couldnt make it.
Sorry lor blush.gif

By the way, real estate queen... any thoughts on My Manhattan in Simei? I was looking at Katong Regency because I really like the idea of living directly above a shopping mall / MRT, but I couldn't kowtim the $2000 psf kind of pricing. My Manhattan's concept is pretty close as it's directly opposite Eastpoint Mall and diagonally opposite Simei MRT. The psf is much lower as Simei is obviously further from town and not as hot. What do you think? I'm heading to the showroom tomorrow to look see look see.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 6 2012, 10:41 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:55 AM