Jul 26 2007, 04:33 PM
2,690 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Penang/ Kuala Lumpur |
i dun mean the name but the mechanic u know...
felt like i've seen this before but cant remember where... |
Jul 26 2007, 09:31 PM
7 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 26 2007, 11:00 PM
64 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
but you can only play it at sorcery speed right??? so its not that fun la hehe... but still can try la... will it be one of lorwyn's mechanics??
The evoke cost must be higher than terror la... i mean what use is terror if there is a built in creature with terror AND could also be played as terror... the differences is the spell speed only... just my 2 cents |
Jul 27 2007, 12:43 AM
277 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: PJ |
yah, i think it'll be sorcery speed also or those pandemonium style decks are going to have like uncounterable damage spells coming at ure face out of nowhere! Not to mention it's uses with wild pair and grave pac etc @@
Jul 27 2007, 09:29 AM
7 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i think wizards is going for spells on a stick. you can use it early to clear a really big creature or when you have 5 mana you get to clear a creature and get a 3/2 fear as well. in the second scenario you will gain card advantage because your opponent lose a creature and you gain 1.
here's another interesting thing about evoke, i believe its blinkable. you can play it for its evoke cost then momentary blink it to get double effect and a free creature. hopefully the blue one has flash and evoke UU, cip counter spell |
Jul 27 2007, 11:29 AM
ya its blinkable...
i would love to run it with gravepact though XD still i doubt there is actually a meta to running it lol |
Jul 27 2007, 12:36 PM
169 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 27 2007, 11:29 AM) ya its blinkable... Are you sure it's blinkable ? Apparently it's not a triggered ability and it will check straight away if you played it for the evoke cost.i would love to run it with gravepact though XD still i doubt there is actually a meta to running it lol The text on the card says "if you do, it's sacrificed when it comes into play" . I think that means that the card will hit the graveyard first before anything else. I think it's something like state-based effects. Like how Blood Moon effects lands coming into play. When you lay a non-basic land it's already a Mountain. That sorta thing. Then again I may be wrong . |
Jul 27 2007, 09:15 PM
well i cant confirm since i'm not a judge...
let say u envoke it and it comes to play rite then the ability would trigger and u blink after that? its something like blinking during echo if i'm not mistaken but still not sure though... |
Jul 28 2007, 03:29 AM
277 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: PJ |
I was also hoping you could momentary blink the evoke-creature but apparently we cant respond to the sacrifice trigger once it's in play (the evoke and its conditions already resolved and you cant respond to stop it from resolving). Have to wait for the evoke FAQ to be sure though...
But boy would it be sweet if we could! |
Jul 28 2007, 08:20 AM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(tyrion4 @ Jul 28 2007, 03:29 AM) I was also hoping you could momentary blink the evoke-creature but apparently we cant respond to the sacrifice trigger once it's in play (the evoke and its conditions already resolved and you cant respond to stop it from resolving). Have to wait for the evoke FAQ to be sure though... The way they word it, I think it prevents you from blinking the evoked spell/creature. This will also stops things that can bounce the target back to your hand (unsummon), or blinking it. So when it comes into play, the ablity will trigger and go to the stack, and the creature is sacrifice immediately. Even you have other trigger ability that cause you to return it to your hand, it's no longer a legal target when those ability resolve.But boy would it be sweet if we could! However, things like wildpair should still work, as the rule state that if a permanent is remove from play, it's immediate state before it goes to the graveyard will be used to determine it's characteristic. So you should be able to evoke that guy, then use wild pair to bring out another one for free. But I think it'll be better if we wait for the official rule on evoke. |
Jul 28 2007, 01:19 PM
haih no blink T.T
but maybe its a good thing since blink now is dominating meta... pinkles blink, UW blink, aethermage blink and blink raiders =.=" |
Jul 28 2007, 01:28 PM
1,393 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Dust |
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 28 2007, 01:19 PM) haih no blink T.T I hate blink decks ... always loss to the deck. Just saw the grinders deck for the US National .. mostly all blink deck. Thanks goodness got 1 U/B Dralnu deck .. me so happy but maybe its a good thing since blink now is dominating meta... pinkles blink, UW blink, aethermage blink and blink raiders =.=" |
Jul 30 2007, 07:47 AM
426 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: London, UK |
Just returned from the biggest MTG event in Great Britain, the 2007 M-Fest.
Man it was hectic weekend and quite happy with the performance of everybody from my local store. 4x members won 1 & 2nd in a 2hg Sealed Challenege and in another event got 2nd and 4th in a Historical Sealed event. I myself who was there merely for fun was enjoying myself playing the less crowded and considerably cheaper Gateway events (Absolutely useless because the prize for being first is only 2x Summer Mtg Cards which were Foil Treetop Village and Faerie Conclave). Still competition was tough and eventhough it was suppose to be a (casual less competitive event), I sure as H**L didn't win easy. Faced Solar Flare, GW Aggro with Tarmagoyf's and Trolls, Mono Red Gargadon burn, Korlash Control, Blink 187 and one Boros deck. I only decided to post because I've been reading your comments about the Blink decks. Well I must admit that yes, Blink is good however from experience of watching ppl play, and listening from the pro's themselves, each build is unique. Unlike other decks such as Bridge where you follow a certain set of prefixed cards (4x Stinkweed imp , 4x Magus of the Bazaar etc) Blink has to be customised. There is the control version that plays Grand Arbiters, then you've got the more aggro version with things like Avalanched Raiders. Personally I think Korlash Control is one of the most easiest to pilot and do well however the most versatile has to be Angelfire. Its just so consistant and fun that once you start you can't stop. Oh saw the UK Vintage National Championship. Simply Awesome ! At one point everyone on the table (which were about 12 of them) had a Black Lotus in play. Flash was there as everyone expected coupled with the usual Control Slaver and various other combo decks. I sure wish I can play that format someday. |
Jul 30 2007, 10:33 AM
well with coutnerspell blink is easily managed cause unlike many contorl decks out there they are mana hungry...
i'm using a hybrid korlash teachigns deck... |
Jul 30 2007, 01:36 PM
921 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Argentina |
Yetserday is such a bomb day.
I went to CCE play the Seal Tournament. So it happen got deck-swap. Best case is I open 4 packs of crap and 1 shivan reef. So SWAP, I got Glorious Anthem, Troll Ascetic and Pithing Needle. Muahahahahaa. Is the person call Ivan Moe give me this. Hehehehe Anyway, as usual I do kinda suck. So afer that I went to crack packs inside the shop. Gay thing happen again, I crack 6 packs and it come out 3 pain land, consistency = 50/50 Muahahahaha. And then, I purchase half of Wai Seng winning (6 packs) for 40 bucks. Open it got 1 land, and 2 decent card. Consider cover back lar. But the best thing is another guy get 2 Karplusan Forest when he take another half pile, I was like T-T |
Jul 30 2007, 04:32 PM
lol...
a lucksack as usual zzz... anyways how's the saturday events nowadays? |
Jul 30 2007, 04:33 PM
1,393 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Dust |
QUOTE(7chai @ Jul 30 2007, 01:36 PM) Yetserday is such a bomb day. Luckly lar u 7Chai ...I went to CCE play the Seal Tournament. So it happen got deck-swap. Best case is I open 4 packs of crap and 1 shivan reef. So SWAP, I got Glorious Anthem, Troll Ascetic and Pithing Needle. Muahahahahaa. Is the person call Ivan Moe give me this. Hehehehe Anyway, as usual I do kinda suck. So afer that I went to crack packs inside the shop. Gay thing happen again, I crack 6 packs and it come out 3 pain land, consistency = 50/50 Muahahahaha. And then, I purchase half of Wai Seng winning (6 packs) for 40 bucks. Open it got 1 land, and 2 decent card. Consider cover back lar. But the best thing is another guy get 2 Karplusan Forest when he take another half pile, I was like T-T Wei .. goto CCE, never call also .. haha .. anyway I goto work also. U going for PTQ Valencis this weekend ?? Yo Lepakboy ... u taken any pictures of the event ?. If yes .. post here lor. Added on July 30, 2007, 4:35 pm QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jul 30 2007, 04:32 PM) This saturday got FNM at CC Damansara and Manawerx .. i also not sure which one im going to. I think I follow Jeremy This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jul 30 2007, 04:35 PM |
Jul 30 2007, 05:58 PM
921 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Argentina |
Jul 31 2007, 01:53 AM
O.o...
i see i got time or not... msotly no time (bloody programmign lab every week)... anyways if got gravepacts save for me k... i jz need 2 more i guess... |
| Change to: | 0.0316sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:36 PM |