SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V15, [Official Malaysia ICS 4.0.3 - DXLP9]

cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post May 25 2012, 01:04 AM

#DBAP
1,031 posts

QUOTE(A.I @ May 25 2012, 12:09 AM)
No, no need to format your phone before upgrade to ICS. The firmware is non-wipe version. Every data will remain. You can update via Kies, OTA or PC Odin.
ARE SURE IS IT POSSIBLE VIA OTA ?
eddmecha
post May 25 2012, 01:07 AM

And its LEGEND...wait for it.........DARY!!
3,688 posts

QUOTE(Coisox @ May 25 2012, 12:55 AM)
Need help. I boot into recovery using CWM. Then I flash Abyss 4.2. It takes about 5 minutes then reboot by itself. In the apps drawer i couldnt find Abyss. So I boot into recovery again using CWM, then go to Advance > boot recovery. Am i now already in Abyss recovery? Coz it say at the bottom "CWM-based Recovery v5.0.2.7"
mind to let us know u r on what firmware?i assume is GB since u can boot up ur phone still..and u can check from ur settings>about phone>kernel version should have "abyys xxx version if i am not mistaken coz i have been on ics for quite sometime now.so basicly u wont find any icon of abyyss where u only manage to see cwm manager

Added on May 25, 2012, 1:09 am
QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ May 25 2012, 01:04 AM)
ARE SURE IS IT POSSIBLE VIA OTA ?
YES ITS RELEASED TODAY AS SOME FORUMER ALREADY SUCCESSFULLY UPGRADED TO ICS VIA OTA..CHECK BACK THE PAST erm...40++ pages...

This post has been edited by eddmecha: May 25 2012, 01:09 AM
Coisox
post May 25 2012, 01:10 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ May 25 2012, 01:07 AM)
mind to let us know u r on what firmware?i assume is GB since u can boot up ur phone still..and u can check from ur settings>about phone>kernel version should have "abyys xxx version if i am not mistaken coz i have been on ics for quite sometime now.so basicly u wont find any icon of abyyss where u only manage to see cwm manager

YES ITS RELEASED TODAY AS SOME FORUMER ALREADY SUCCESSFULLY UPGRADED TO ICS VIA OTA..CHECK BACK THE PAST erm...40++ pages...
I'm on AlBa XXLPY Full Repack v2.2. Oh and this might help; After flash Alba 2.2, I reboot then back into recovery to flash 2.3. I thought everything is ok untill just know I realize that I still on v2.2. But i don't bother to flash v2.3 again since i wanna switch to Rocket v2.

This post has been edited by Coisox: May 25 2012, 01:13 AM
eddmecha
post May 25 2012, 01:14 AM

And its LEGEND...wait for it.........DARY!!
3,688 posts

QUOTE(Coisox @ May 25 2012, 01:10 AM)
I'm on AlBa XXLPY Full Repack v2.2.
well AFAIK alba is on ics so basicly u cant boot up after u flash abyyss kernel as its built for GB but u still can fullwipe ur rom thru recovery and u MUST flash / Restore a nandroid(ics) to boot up ur phone this is because of the so called unsafe kernel on ics that can cause hardbrick if u fullwipe using cf-kernel
stanley_85
post May 25 2012, 01:27 AM

Testing
1,050 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ May 25 2012, 01:51 AM)
freeze app using TB pro or u can un-install using free version tb
hey bro. i didnt find TB Pro in market. full name?

Thanks..
Coisox
post May 25 2012, 01:30 AM

517 posts

OMG.... im starting to loose my sense to understand tongue.gif
Abyss is a new thing to me but now nandroid...erk... So are u saying that my current state is in danger mode? Or my next action may cause hardbrick?

Emm.. my phone can boot up but u ask me to flash nandroid so that my phone wont hardbrick?
arslow
post May 25 2012, 01:40 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(stanley_85 @ May 25 2012, 01:27 AM)
hey bro. i didnt find TB Pro in market. full name?
Thanks..
Titanium Backup Pro
stanley_85
post May 25 2012, 01:41 AM

Testing
1,050 posts

okok... thanks you very much...

Added on May 25, 2012, 1:42 am
QUOTE(arslow @ May 25 2012, 02:40 AM)
Titanium Backup Pro
thanks you very much.

This post has been edited by stanley_85: May 25 2012, 01:42 AM
antu_biskut
post May 25 2012, 01:47 AM

Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star..!!!
2,879 posts

QUOTE(Coisox @ May 25 2012, 01:30 AM)
OMG.... im starting to loose my sense to understand tongue.gif
Abyss is a new thing to me but now nandroid...erk... So are u saying that my current state is in danger mode? Or my next action may cause hardbrick?

Emm.. my phone can boot up but u ask me to flash nandroid so that my phone wont hardbrick?
a piece of advise..ONLY USE ABYSS KERNEL IF U WANNA DO WIPE/INSTALL ANYTHING USING CWM since abyss just for GB..if u flash abyss as ur ICS Kernel ur device will hang..

if u r using custom kernel like AlBa, u dont hav to flash any other kernel since AlBa Rom also include cf-kernel-LPY or LPF..

nandroid is backup whole ur device include rom,software,data,system and setting..let say u hav nandroin backup rom A and u now in rom B..u can just simply revert to rom A without flashing the rom..all ur data,apps,setting will be revert as rom A like when u do nandroid backup

hope this can help u understand more on abyss kernel and nandroid..

This post has been edited by antu_biskut: May 25 2012, 01:51 AM
h11g
post May 25 2012, 01:56 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ May 25 2012, 12:07 AM)

if OTA definitely is no wipe. only ODIN is full wipe.
Coisox
post May 25 2012, 02:14 AM

517 posts

ooo so nandroid is like a Disk Image software (eg Norton Ghost, Acronis). Hmm.. I should install that at the first place...

Quoted from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1654838:
b2) coming from other rooted LPY-ROM or rooted ICS Stock ROM (FullWipe):

- download Abyss Kernel 4.2 from here: http://www.mediafire.com/?c65mndvpk6ocbaa
- put zip-file on your USB-storage
- boot in Recovery
- Flash Abyss Kernel 4.2!!!
- boot back in Recovery (find it under 'advanced')
- now FullWipe!!!
- Flash ROM
- reboot system
-...you are done
I think i've followed the wrong one. Since nothing happen with those steps, I do the other option:

b1) coming from RocketROM v1, other rooted LPY-ROM or rooted ICS Stock ROM (No Wipe):

- boot in Recovery
- Wipe Caches and Dalvik only!!! Don't FullWipe!!!
- Flash ROM
- reboot system
-...you are done

Which then i think i did it wrong again. So I try to revert back to Rocket GB v23 by doing the process when I first flashing Stock GB --> Rocket v23:

1. Start the download mode (POWER,HOME,VOL_DOWN)
2. Start PC Odin and flash N7000XXKL3_N7000ODDKL1_N7000DDKL1_HOME.tar.md5
3. Auto reboot

Which then makes my phone hang at the "touch the android to begin" rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

So, is this called hardbrick? Should I worried? Too tired already need to continue tomorrow... rclxub.gif
kailoonthedog
post May 25 2012, 02:17 AM

I have no super cow power~~~
2,470 posts

Apple fags keep bashing about samsung gNote stylus , now i wanna see how they act when apple comes out with one

http://www.engadget.com/2012/05/24/apple-a...-stylus-patent/
antu_biskut
post May 25 2012, 02:29 AM

Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star..!!!
2,879 posts

QUOTE(Coisox @ May 25 2012, 02:14 AM)
ooo so nandroid is like a Disk Image software (eg Norton Ghost, Acronis). Hmm.. I should install that at the first place...

Quoted from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1654838:
I think i've followed the wrong one. Since nothing happen with those steps, I do the other option:
Which then i think i did it wrong again. So I try to revert back to Rocket GB v23 by doing the process when I first flashing Stock GB --> Rocket v23:

1. Start the download mode (POWER,HOME,VOL_DOWN)
2. Start PC Odin and flash N7000XXKL3_N7000ODDKL1_N7000DDKL1_HOME.tar.md5
3. Auto reboot

Which then makes my phone hang at the "touch the android to begin"  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

So, is this called hardbrick? Should I worried? Too tired already need to continue tomorrow...  rclxub.gif
just pull the battery out and count to 10 sec..20 sec is better..then try switch on ur device..and piece of advice if u want to use RR V2 i would advice u to flash ICS Germany Version 1st since some ppl who coming directly from GB to RR V1 got stuck at boot loop..
AMDunFreak
post May 25 2012, 03:12 AM

I am the best!
2,582 posts

QUOTE(h11g @ May 25 2012, 01:56 AM)
if OTA definitely is no wipe. only ODIN is full wipe.
Odin is not necessary full wipe. depend on the rom.

kayrolSPIKE
post May 25 2012, 05:27 AM

36 posts

okay just got update with kies last tuesday..
evrything is just smooth...no need to backup everything..fyi my note is not root..just stock rom 2.3.6..
application just stay there..sms contacts..email configuration..tak hilang pun sume2 tu..
even live wallpaper pun dye tak tukar..just homescreen arrangement je jadi standard..
first thing to test out...(have tested 3days)

1.homescreen transition...laggy...(i remove the clock and weather to not cover my live wallpaper)

2.menu, laggy..not smooth as you all said..

3. nak buka settings pun kene tunggu drawer keluar tu lambat.

4.s note xboleh nak insert picture.

5. too fast draining battry..if 2.3.6 i used to charge twice a day 12am and 6pm..now with ics i have to charge three times a day..12am, 1pm and 8pm...

6. it used more ram..i usually used 350-480mb

7. sometimes, samsung keypad hangs and ask me to closed it..

anything else is awesome..
1. like different interface settings,

2. can use s pen as mouse hovering by tick this..(in web browsing can use as pointer)

3. new setting shortcut at notification bar.(power saving)

4. new interface with installing and uninstalling apps, new ics theme that we see at youtube.

and here my antutu benchmark i got.sad.gif

from what i can see, the performance is poor...many lags...
this is unstable version of ics...i think..maybe we should wait once more for further official announcement from samsung itself about the update..last day, i had email this problem to support center samsung malaysia and got answered that ics for note not released yet..ics is just for sII only.. rclxub.gif maybe samsung kies had problem with this update..
because at facebook page samsung mobile malaysia they said

"Hi, we sincerely apologize for the delay. Actually sepatutnya the ICS for galaxy note should be release at the same time but so happen that one of them came out earlier, we are also trying to find out why it came out the other way round. But not to be worry, the ICS for Galaxy S2 I9100 will be release in this few days, followed by the I9100G in the coming weeks. Sorry for the delay again and we do appreciate for your patience and understanding. Please bear with us just awhile more."

and got updte from XDA about this version ics had problem..sad.gif
http://www.xda-developers.com/android/ics-...-note-released/

This post has been edited by kayrolSPIKE: May 25 2012, 05:45 AM
mctrader
post May 25 2012, 05:51 AM

158 posts

As there are quite a number of forummers who are concerned with the superbrick condition. Hopes that this clarifies.

FACT 1 - about superbrick
Yes, it is real, IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING, ASK A PRO or wait for OFFICIAL ANNOUNCEMENT (compare to a car, you would not try to fix everything yourself, you should not be doing the same with the innards of your phone, either).

FACT 2 - official update for Malaysian sets
GNote is an awesome piece of equipment, but Samsung is a very stubborn company who sticks to, "old but still stable, if it ain't broken don't update" principle" - that's really too bad

This post has been edited by mctrader: May 25 2012, 05:56 AM
kurogane
post May 25 2012, 06:51 AM

508 posts

Oh man, stock LPF is truly a monster. Using for 2 days and STILL surprised at how good battery life is. Overnight six hours, only 2% battery loss... look at how straight that line is!

That's not including how my normal usage (12 hours at work with 3G on and light net surfing) only uses up like 40% battery now compared to 50-60% previously on LPY ROM and stock GB.

Tempted to try ICS RR v2 to see how it compares too. LPF kernel is totally different from LPY kernel, srsly.

Also applied the new TouchWiz UX + SGS3 Accuweather widget.

TouchWiz UX for GNote: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1668999
SGS3 Accuweather widget: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1660993

Damn, I wish Samsung will port the new TW for GNote as well. The new Accuweather widget is also really sexy too, can lawan HTC Sense's one. Love the background transitions that fit with the current weather.

This is what they really should have given us with the ICS update instead of timebomb kernels and just one new app!

This post has been edited by kurogane: May 25 2012, 06:54 AM
Duckies
post May 25 2012, 07:07 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

Ohh!!The cool lock screen animation found in Stunner is back in Rocket rom! icon_rolleyes.gif
benny888
post May 25 2012, 07:09 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

After whole day yesterday testing both midteam 1.4 n rocket v2 it is just inevitable this morning I revert back to my favourite rom cyanogen9.
These 2 roms are good but can never match the slickness n smoothness of pure aopk roms
Between these 2 I prefer rocket . And if you want some of sgs 3 goodness as in midteam can install those sgs3 features separately
Duckies
post May 25 2012, 07:11 AM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

Lol my phone couldnt go into deep sleep mode yesterday and I knew it's a known issue in RRv2

some of you may face the Device not getting in Deep Sleep Mode (I experienced this myself, it is a kernel related bug!). Check this with app 'Spy CPU' from market and just follow these instructions here to get rid of it: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...45&postcount=9

Wanted to try the solution after I woke up.Reboot the phone but then it can go to deep sleep adi sweat.gif

Added on May 25, 2012, 7:17 am
QUOTE(benny888 @ May 25 2012, 07:09 AM)
After whole day yesterday testing both midteam 1.4 n rocket v2 it is just inevitable this morning I revert back to my favourite rom cyanogen9.
These 2 roms are good but can never match the slickness n smoothness of pure aopk roms
Between these 2 I prefer rocket . And if you want some of sgs 3 goodness as in midteam can install those sgs3 features separately
True true.Tat's the reason I stick to Stunner for so long coz AOPK roms r juz awesone icon_rolleyes.gif But I do have issue playing full HD 1080p videos.It lags.Some say it's because of hardware rendering.Not all faces this issue though sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Duckies: May 25 2012, 07:17 AM

122 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:12 PM