7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Planted Aquarium V9

jctasoga
post Jul 29 2012, 09:35 PM

179 posts

depends. i think the pricing quite standard. its all glass items so i'd recommend getting in msia even though it might be cheaper by 10% here. then again, i no check local pricing, so unable to advise.

Added on July 29, 2012, 9:37 pmactually, i just notice one thing. most of hte moss tanks has very high lights ie the moss tank kimi said has about 36w x 4pcs x 2 units. so its like 288w!!! and thats maybe a 2 or 2.5ft tank... i'm like wow! unbelieveable high light range......

This post has been edited by jctasoga: Jul 29 2012, 09:37 PM
jctasoga
post Aug 2 2012, 03:43 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(bartbarb @ Aug 2 2012, 11:51 AM)
Anyone use those commercial hang-on Cooling Fan before? Is it really that effective, or it just the same as a DIY dc fan ?
i saw in japan aquarium shop, no cooling fan, it was 28c. on the comparison side, cooling fan on same size aquarium, its 26c. 2c difference. the aquarium is nano 1ft type.

Added on August 2, 2012, 3:51 pmfor those with small aquarium ie nano tanks, u can actually put an inverted (upside down) 1 liter bottle like our coca-cola bottle and it will auto top up as the water reduces. some scientific term to it.. but it works! i may try it on my 4ft tank.. haha

This post has been edited by jctasoga: Aug 2 2012, 03:51 PM
jctasoga
post Aug 3 2012, 01:26 PM

179 posts

kimi : i got same problem too. but as i think its normal becoz the water will dissipate after some time of use. its becoz the bubbles make splashes when it burst at the water surface inside the bubble counter. thus, the gas carries the evaporated water to the aquarium (not the co2 tank).

the trouble is that we need to refill the water once in a blue moon.

i kept mine going 24/7 on manual regulator, no on-off solenoid la...

*also, if ur tube is clear/transparent type, if there's water inside the tube from co2 tank to the bubble counter, then ur check valve got problem lo.... if there's water droplets after bubble counter but before the aquarium, i think its normal.

hope above helps. other sifus may chip in if i'm incorrect. smile.gif

Added on August 3, 2012, 1:29 pm
QUOTE(weijie @ Aug 2 2012, 04:08 PM)
jctasoga:

what is the ambient temperature? it is highly affect the performance of cooling fan.

yeps thats another alternative for auto-top. but for sure it wouldnt look nice if you have a coca-cola bottle on top of your nano tank.
i believe its 28c or 29c. as mentioned, there are 2 tank side by side. same setup. only 1 tank is with the cooling fan. so its a fair test. however, becoz its small tank, its easier to see the water temp swings. 1-2c on small tank should be faster to see the effect of temp swings.

This post has been edited by jctasoga: Aug 3 2012, 01:29 PM
jctasoga
post Aug 3 2012, 01:31 PM

179 posts

deric ya. its DIY.

use syringe + check valve. can DIY this weekend liao!! ahaha

kimi : this is for you : auto top up tank

its similar to what i saw. but of course, this is DIY while the one i saw is much more sleek and pleasing to the eye.. hehehe.

the concept is the same smile.gif

This post has been edited by jctasoga: Aug 3 2012, 01:41 PM
jctasoga
post Aug 3 2012, 02:49 PM

179 posts

max, as i know, the syringe can be pulled apart. no need to cut it and no need to get super grade stuff. or are you referring to cutting the syringe tip to get the air tubes to fit? wink.gif

just those once off disposable are good enough.
jctasoga
post Aug 3 2012, 03:20 PM

179 posts

deric : auto timer got issue if your tank suddenly empty.. then again, i think you got the experience.

as long as you know what you're doing, its fine smile.gif
jctasoga
post Aug 3 2012, 08:33 PM

179 posts

kimi : er.... how did you get the water in the BC in the first place?!

u forgot ah?!

the DIY bubble counter is nice but need to be airtight. otherwise, co2 will leak lo... waste the co2 only...
jctasoga
post Aug 3 2012, 09:34 PM

179 posts

kimi : sorry, which type r u using? the 2 tips are on the top type or the tube type (the inlet is at bottom and outlet at top) type?

mine is the 2 tips at the top type. i run it under the tap until full. then i reconnect it to the check valves and air tubes. i think its the same for the rest of the people.

i believe unscrewing got more problems like leakage etc...
jctasoga
post Aug 3 2012, 10:19 PM

179 posts

yaya.. i missed the part about levelling until the line marked.. hehe

so the same goes for either type... can fill until near the top la.. no worries.. hehe..

Added on August 3, 2012, 10:20 pmi think as long as can see the bubble or can count bubble then ok liao.. smile.gif

Added on August 3, 2012, 10:22 pmkimi : if u diy then only poorfag. if its bought, not poor liao... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jctasoga: Aug 3 2012, 10:22 PM
jctasoga
post Aug 4 2012, 06:36 AM

179 posts

i got a few echinodorus amazonicus ( i think its the species ) to let go. FOC, pls PM me. they are now growing like crazy in my tank!!

these are great for beginner tanks but i would suggest 2ft and above only as these plants are big!!
jctasoga
post Aug 4 2012, 08:19 AM

179 posts

haha.. i told you so.. yeah they grow large from 6" to now about 10" height depending on ur fert n lighting. its broad could be anywhere from 0.5" to 1" width leaves.
jctasoga
post Aug 4 2012, 11:51 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Aug 4 2012, 10:21 AM)
usually how many leaves per bulb/plant ?
a lot maybe 6-10 leafs... it can keep growing wide and tall... see how you trim to keep it down to a few broad leafs.

Added on August 4, 2012, 11:53 am
QUOTE(kurangak @ Aug 4 2012, 11:00 AM)
i dont think that would be a prob bro... water backflow i think is because co2 got absorbed into water, less pressure in the co2 line, thats why water seems to be getting inside the co2 line, if u really that worried just install one checkvalve near the tank, somewhere ard the water level. i find mine works perfectly in stopping water backflow...

even if d water manage to reach the tank, i believe it will stops at the tank's regulator, so dun worry it will not backflow into ur tank... coz got pressure inside wat  sweat.gif
good explanation

This post has been edited by jctasoga: Aug 4 2012, 11:53 AM
jctasoga
post Aug 4 2012, 12:58 PM

179 posts

the white thick ring is it? or its black rubber?

i guess both can be found at the LFS or local hardware. best to bring it with you so that they can find an exact size.
jctasoga
post Aug 4 2012, 03:43 PM

179 posts

its better to bring the unit there to get a good match smile.gif
jctasoga
post Aug 6 2012, 11:51 AM

179 posts

i was quoted rm30-40 at least in BP. coz no refill station here. need to send to JB... x_x
jctasoga
post Aug 6 2012, 06:54 PM

179 posts

nice! mine ori came wif 1200psi.. i was like... wah!! yawn.gif

hope it dun explode haha.. biggrin.gif
jctasoga
post Aug 7 2012, 01:45 PM

179 posts

actually, amano uses the foam to make it higher and stability purpose.

furthermore, the white foam that you use below your tank is sufficient to even out the pressure of your entire tank over the cabinet / stand. as long as your rocks are not moving inside the aquarium or fishes big enough to rock it, there is no immediate danger of the rock making a crack at your bottom glass.

all above said, i'm referring to general rocks. unless you are talking about a very heavy 30-50KG++ rock...
jctasoga
post Aug 7 2012, 01:46 PM

179 posts

- double post -

This post has been edited by jctasoga: Aug 7 2012, 01:46 PM
jctasoga
post Aug 7 2012, 08:42 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Aug 7 2012, 07:27 PM)
anyone , any brand and type of PH TESTER PEN to recommend ?,
kind of lazy mixing the ph tester solutions.

Saw in NA SS19 got JAD etc..some bulky one.. feeling  rclxub.gif  , mr.yee always not around and his wife
keep on 'boiling' hokkien drama(so don't want to bother her, only 0.1% chances she have the answer anyway  shakehead.gif ).
actually, the co2 indicator is a good ph meter also right? or is it a totally different thing? rclxub.gif
jctasoga
post Aug 8 2012, 12:54 PM

179 posts

use stones. foam can easily float if not water soaked enough.

Added on August 8, 2012, 12:54 pmgo go v10!!

This post has been edited by jctasoga: Aug 8 2012, 12:54 PM

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0481sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:01 PM