RON 95 CAUSED DAMAGES, Rumours has been spreading around.
dinwaja
Jul 30 2012, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(alxdc @ Jul 30 2012, 01:25 AM) Wow suddenly this topic become hot again. Ok guys despite all the theories, do you realizes (some of u will shoot me for this question). Using Ron 95 your engine bay gets hotter? I meAn just stand infront of your car after a drive. U will be surprise to feel the very warm heat that I never experience before when I was using 97. I have been using 97 for a year. Then try out 95. No doubt 95 makes the the engine raw and no power and sometimes I can hear my engine pings. I have been using 95 for 6 full tanks. I can tell that 95 is not a pleasant fuel to drive. It just make too much noise and sluggish. In long run it may damage my car. After using back 97. Everything goes back smooth and normal. Oh yeah and the engine bay warm temputure. When back to normal. No more very hot sensation. Added on July 30, 2012, 1:38 amIs it 98? That is what I heard. shell got V-power 1stly ron99...then ron97 also been upgraded with v-power formula... Added on July 30, 2012, 1:52 amanyway,i've been using ron95 since rebuild @ top overhaul my engine and until now,no problem...engine is clean...still can touch 180kmj (waja auto 4G18 engine)...and quite smooth.... This post has been edited by dinwaja: Jul 30 2012, 01:52 AM
jasonloh7906
Jul 30 2012, 02:14 AM
no idea about new car or old car having difference on RON. instead i know if you are driving a sport car then definitely got difference.been pumping ron95 since the first day i get my persona. Now 76k km. no problem at all. on my volvo 850, last time pump Ron97, since introduce ron95, i pump ron 95. same, no problem. only thing is both my persona and volvo choke on shell ron95. other is ok. Volvo is a 2.5 which seems to have better FC, using RON95 caltex/esso, fc is around 11km/l. RON97 i get around 12km/l. for persona, i get the same. but high end revving on RON97 is of coz much smoother. if RON95 will damage car, while previously our RON92 wont, why dont pump RON92?, coz we got no choice. minimum requirement of new car is RON95.
btw, about mixing RON97 and 95, i got experience on my persona only. Volvo never try. pumping RON97 on the volvo gonna burn my wallet. RON95 alone reach RM100. Half tank of caltex RON95 and RON97 is quite worth if you wish to have RON97 running in your car. i pump RM30 of RON95 and remaining pump RON97. i think RON97 is around RM50@RM2.70 per litre that time. RM80 for full tank instead of RM60-65. A difference of RM15 to RM20 is actually acceptable. Power I wont say is powerful, but is smoother. Idle time, engine sound same regardless of mixing, pure 95, pure 97. High rev at 5000rpm and above, noise lvl is higher when using RON95 than mixing with RON97/ pure RON97. So if you always drive at below 3k RPM, no point. I get same FC on all. RON97 caltex is recommended for high rev kaki. hahaha~~i tried shell 97, i got no comment. is not even better than BHP RON97. Unless is V-Power Racing. I never visited shell since shell fuel save 95 save 1 liter per full tank is introduced. 70 litres on volvo save 1 litre =="
This post has been edited by jasonloh7906: Jul 30 2012, 02:40 AM
raclette
Jul 30 2012, 02:31 AM
QUOTE(alxdc @ Jul 30 2012, 01:25 AM) Wow suddenly this topic become hot again. Ok guys despite all the theories, do you realizes (some of u will shoot me for this question). Using Ron 95 your engine bay gets hotter? I meAn just stand infront of your car after a drive. U will be surprise to feel the very warm heat that I never experience before when I was using 97. I have been using 97 for a year. Then try out 95. No doubt 95 makes the the engine raw and no power and sometimes I can hear my engine pings. I have been using 95 for 6 full tanks. I can tell that 95 is not a pleasant fuel to drive. It just make too much noise and sluggish. In long run it may damage my car. After using back 97. Everything goes back smooth and normal. Oh yeah and the engine bay warm temputure. When back to normal. No more very hot sensation. Added on July 30, 2012, 1:38 amIs it 98? That is what I heard. Yeah maybe ron 97 or 98 with special additives. V power racing n not v power 97.
mADmAN
Jul 30 2012, 02:35 AM
i once saw an old article on the shell website regarding the launch of the first ever vpower... and it stated that by law...maximum RON in malaysia is 97.
so the Vpower racing is 97 with additional additives.
tried finding that article again so many times and still havent been able to find it...
raclette
Jul 30 2012, 02:41 AM
Yep. Max ron available in that specific country as it seems. Ron 100 somewhere else hence people claiming it to be so in Malaysia.
sol_badguy
Jul 30 2012, 08:12 AM

Sometimes, when I drive my car (Myvi 2011 edition) during hot weather and dry condition, I kinda get these jerking feelings, like my engine was a little bit sluggish. Was it caused by RON95?
ultramaman
Jul 30 2012, 08:20 AM

right, so now, every possible problem with the car engine is now caused by the gas that it burns. http://auto.howstuffworks.com/premium-gas-...ry-vehicles.htm
cracksys
Jul 30 2012, 08:23 AM
lol. if i'm not mistaken, honda city can even use RON89 (based on user manual)
Jul 30 2012, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(sol_badguy @ Jul 30 2012, 08:12 AM) Sometimes, when I drive my car (Myvi 2011 edition) during hot weather and dry condition, I kinda get these jerking feelings, like my engine was a little bit sluggish. Was it caused by RON95? its cause ur engine is sucking in warm air which is less dense with oxygen. at night when air is cooler u can feel the engine perform better cause cold air is denser
OC4/3
Jul 30 2012, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 30 2012, 02:35 AM) i once saw an old article on the shell website regarding the launch of the first ever vpower... and it stated that by law...maximum RON in malaysia is 97. so the Vpower racing is 97 with additional additives. tried finding that article again so many times and still havent been able to find it... Remember octane rating in US is RON + MON/2 Malaysia only use RON I believe V Power Racing MON is higher but RON remain at 97 RON=Research Octane Number MON=Motor Octane Number
mADmAN
Jul 30 2012, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jul 30 2012, 10:27 AM) Remember octane rating in US is RON + MON/2 Malaysia only use RON I believe V Power Racing MON is higher but RON remain at 97 RON=Research Octane Number MON=Motor Octane Number the article only said that V Power is RON97 due to Malaysian law. no mention of mon or ton or kon or lon or pon or won or .........
dares
Jul 30 2012, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 30 2012, 02:35 AM) i once saw an old article on the shell website regarding the launch of the first ever vpower... and it stated that by law...maximum RON in malaysia is 97. so the Vpower racing is 97 with additional additives. tried finding that article again so many times and still havent been able to find it... http://paultan.org/2010/09/28/not-all-fuel...-shell-v-power/
SUSendau02
Jul 30 2012, 12:40 PM
RON 95 is bad for JDM, high compression and poorly tuned FI engines.. my 2 septims
MeToo
Jul 30 2012, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 30 2012, 02:35 AM) i once saw an old article on the shell website regarding the launch of the first ever vpower... and it stated that by law...maximum RON in malaysia is 97. so the Vpower racing is 97 with additional additives. tried finding that article again so many times and still havent been able to find it... Weekend Track days can get RON99/100 supplies .... but pay thru the nose lor..
keanutan
Jul 30 2012, 08:26 PM

QUOTE(alxdc @ Jul 30 2012, 01:25 AM) Wow suddenly this topic become hot again. Ok guys despite all the theories, do you realizes (some of u will shoot me for this question). Using Ron 95 your engine bay gets hotter? I meAn just stand infront of your car after a drive. U will be surprise to feel the very warm heat that I never experience before when I was using 97. I have been using 97 for a year. Then try out 95. No doubt 95 makes the the engine raw and no power and sometimes I can hear my engine pings. I have been using 95 for 6 full tanks. I can tell that 95 is not a pleasant fuel to drive. It just make too much noise and sluggish. In long run it may damage my car. After using back 97. Everything goes back smooth and normal. Oh yeah and the engine bay warm temputure. When back to normal. No more very hot sensation. Added on July 30, 2012, 1:38 amIs it 98? That is what I heard. i totally agreed with you regarding the hot issue .. becarefull some one will boom us saying we are stupid bcos ron95 is ok ....
mugenz
Jul 30 2012, 09:31 PM
Sluggish feeling is definitely there. But heat frm engine bay hmmmm
I dunno is good or not but I do feed my city frm time to time some 97, always 97 is really not economical in long run as travel quite often..
Nightstalker1993
Jul 31 2012, 12:07 AM
heat from engine bay i think is just coincidence that when he pump ron97 the radiator fan had not started running yet but when he check his car whien it was pumped ron95 the radiator fan was running, pushing hot air to his legs lol.
TSalxdc
Jul 31 2012, 12:46 AM

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 31 2012, 12:07 AM) heat from engine bay i think is just coincidence that when he pump ron97 the radiator fan had not started running yet but when he check his car whien it was pumped ron95 the radiator fan was running, pushing hot air to his legs lol. Coincidence only happen after one year I used 97 only I feel it when switch to Ron 95? Wow ok. That's really a coincidence. Wasn't checking anything. I always clean wipe the engine bay after a drive back from A car wash. That's where the most obvious I felt it was really hot compare to Normal warm temp when I was with 97. Hm....coincidence? I don't think so. Well This is just my opinion and experienced. No need to urge with it. If u don't have the same experience. Then good for u. Your car is great with Ron95 ( our so called 95). Majorities knows is not pure 95 This post has been edited by alxdc: Jul 31 2012, 12:48 AM
e36.hartge
Jul 31 2012, 12:52 AM

QUOTE(endau02 @ Jul 30 2012, 12:40 PM) RON 95 is bad for JDM, high compression and poorly tuned FI engines.. my 2 septims the only low-compression JDM I know is impreza wrx/sti--so theoriticaly ron95 will not make the EJ20 engine pinging while its rival 4G63 surely will pinging hard can any WRX owner can verify this low-compression EJ20 theory? while mass produced engines from merc & bmw are generally low-compression as well(except AMG-tuned) so they good for ron95,even merc stated their engine can use ron92 as well Added on July 31, 2012, 12:57 amQUOTE(alxdc @ Jul 31 2012, 12:46 AM) Coincidence only happen after one year I used 97 only I feel it when switch to Ron 95? Wow ok. That's really a coincidence. Wasn't checking anything. I always clean wipe the engine bay after a drive back from A car wash. That's where the most obvious I felt it was really hot compare to Normal warm temp when I was with 97. Hm....coincidence? I don't think so. Well This is just my opinion and experienced. No need to urge with it. If u don't have the same experience. Then good for u. Your car is great with Ron95 ( our so called 95). Majorities knows is not pure 95 the best ron95 around i think is petronas & bhp tested shell ron95 & it will make my old conti jerking This post has been edited by e36.hartge: Jul 31 2012, 01:03 AM
keanutan
Jul 31 2012, 01:26 AM

QUOTE(alxdc @ Jul 31 2012, 12:46 AM) Coincidence only happen after one year I used 97 only I feel it when switch to Ron 95? Wow ok. That's really a coincidence. Wasn't checking anything. I always clean wipe the engine bay after a drive back from A car wash. That's where the most obvious I felt it was really hot compare to Normal warm temp when I was with 97. Hm....coincidence? I don't think so. Well This is just my opinion and experienced. No need to urge with it. If u don't have the same experience. Then good for u. Your car is great with Ron95 ( our so called 95). Majorities knows is not pure 95 finanly can get someone who know the ron95 .. me also the same not our car cannot ron on ron95 if our ron 95 is the same with oversea then should not be problem .. but the price differrence so much and the effect on this ron 95 on my 2 previous car .. just my opinion this ron95 not really ron95 ..