How do DELL Support & Warranty Works, DELL Malaysia On-Site Service

TSzsnipes
post May 19 2012, 10:54 PM, updated 14y ago

878 posts

How do DELL Support & Warranty work in Malaysia ?

What telephone number to do reporting on hardware problems & need warranty ?

How many days do the technician come over to the on-site service ?

Till today, Dell always doing On-Site Warranty and has no walk-in service centre to repair on the spot ?

pipi_6988
post May 19 2012, 11:06 PM

250 posts

for me i think dell warranty and services was the best in town. i got one monitor buy online from lowyat and about a month using it the monitor broken and i call the dell services number (google online) and they ask the serial number, after i gave it then tomorrow they came and replace the monitor with the new one, they just drop the monitor and there was another van came after few days later to take the broken monitor..very satisfy..until now i still using the monitor wink.gif
v1900130
post May 20 2012, 12:48 AM

745 posts

The Dell telephone number can be found on the website. You need to go to www.dell.com.my Depending on your parts availability, if the laptop is popular and new, most of the cases, you call today, it reaches you tomorrow. Yes, Dell has no official retailer, best way is to call Dell or make purchases online. Although, recently there are shops bought laptops from Dell and sell them to public.
mrkenn
post May 20 2012, 01:52 AM

723 posts

QUOTE(pipi_6988 @ May 19 2012, 11:06 PM)
for me i think dell warranty and services was the best in town. i got one monitor buy online from lowyat and about a month using it the monitor broken and i call the dell services number (google online) and they ask the serial number, after i gave it then tomorrow they came and replace the monitor with the new one, they just drop the monitor and there was another van came after few days later to take the broken monitor..very satisfy..until now i still using the monitor wink.gif
Wow. 1-to-1 exchange? how did your monitor broken?
putochip123
post May 20 2012, 10:34 AM

1,496 posts

call 1800881306(General monitor)

for monitor yes 1 to 1 exchange. if laptop they will come to ur house after phone diagnosis. they will come on the Next day(working day), unless u purchase the premium 1, they will come even on night time heheh
pipi_6988
post May 20 2012, 02:28 PM

250 posts

dont know..no picture although the power is on..
TSzsnipes
post May 20 2012, 11:48 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(pipi_6988 @ May 19 2012, 11:06 PM)
Thanks for sharing your experience ! One-to-One Dell Monitor Exchange, good ! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(v1900130 @ May 20 2012, 12:48 AM)
The Dell telephone number can be found on the website. You need to go to www.dell.com.my Depending on your parts availability, if the laptop is popular and new, most of the cases, you call today, it reaches you tomorrow. Yes, Dell has no official retailer, best way is to call Dell or make purchases online. Although, recently there are shops bought laptops from Dell and sell them to public.
You mean the Dell shop at Mid Valley, is NOT the Dell Official Retail Store ?
If it is True, then everyone buy from Mid Valley will be the 2nd hand Users, the 1st Hand Users would be always the Retailer purchased from Dell Online.
Correct me if I'm wrong. sweat.gif

QUOTE(putochip123 @ May 20 2012, 10:34 AM)
call 1800881306(General monitor)

for monitor yes 1 to 1 exchange. if laptop they will come to ur house after phone diagnosis. they will come on the Next day(working day), unless u purchase the premium 1, they will come even on night time heheh
Thanks for sharing!

Is this 1800881306 only served for "Monitor" Support & Warranty ?

I checked Dell Malaysia website, this numbers might be useful for all,
please share to us if u got a more precise direct number to call.

DELL Customer Service & Sales
Home User = 1800-88-0301 Option 1 Ext #: 2133550
Small & Medium Business = 1800-88-0301 Option 1 Ext #: 2133550

DELL Technical Support
Home User = 1800-88-0022
Small & Medium Business = 1800-22-2091
putochip123
post May 20 2012, 11:51 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ May 20 2012, 11:48 PM)
Thanks for sharing your experience ! One-to-One Dell Monitor Exchange, good ! rclxms.gif
You mean the Dell shop at Mid Valley, is NOT the Dell Official Retail Store ?
If it is True, then everyone buy from Mid Valley will be the 2nd hand Users, the 1st Hand Users would be always the Retailer purchased from Dell Online.
Correct me if I'm wrong.  sweat.gif
Thanks for sharing!

Is this 1800881306 only served for "Monitor" Support & Warranty ?

I checked Dell Malaysia website, this numbers might be useful for all,
please share to us if u got a more precise direct number to call.

DELL Customer Service & Sales
Home User = 1800-88-0301 Option 1 Ext #: 2133550
Small & Medium Business = 1800-88-0301 Option 1 Ext #: 2133550

DELL Technical Support
Home User = 1800-88-0022
Small & Medium Business = 1800-22-2091
1800881306, is general. any products for Dell also can(not applicable to small bussiness or firm use)
l K l P l
post May 21 2012, 12:10 AM

Zinedine Zidane
837 posts

from what i experienced and saw with my own naked eyes, Dell technician came to our college to replace the motherboard of my friend's laptop.That time I know how good their services are.
putochip123
post May 21 2012, 01:16 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(l K l P l @ May 21 2012, 12:10 AM)
from what i experienced and saw with my own naked eyes, Dell technician came to our college to replace the motherboard of my friend's laptop.That time I know how good their services are.
yup, they cover almost everywhere in malaysia, except those place like sarawak there or sabah, someplaces isnt covered
l K l P l
post May 21 2012, 04:23 PM

Zinedine Zidane
837 posts

QUOTE(putochip123 @ May 21 2012, 01:16 AM)
yup, they cover almost everywhere in malaysia, except those place like sarawak there or sabah, someplaces isnt covered
yup too bad sarawak and sabah not covered.always left behind
putochip123
post May 21 2012, 05:33 PM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(l K l P l @ May 21 2012, 04:23 PM)
yup too bad sarawak and sabah not covered.always left behind
sabah and sarawak si covered. just some places is nto covered
FabregasFc
post Jul 18 2012, 08:35 AM

Hi guys.. sorry im a newbie here..

Im new in Dell.. and currently i have a problem with the fans, noise banging loudly. I just bought it about 1 month ago somewhere lowyat shop. In addition, the laptop is currently not here but in new Zealand. So i had few questions that need your attention:

1. Do I bought on authorised retailer, coz Dell NewZealand asking about
my retailer in Malaysia?
2. Do my warranty 1 year cover globally?
3. Are there any differences in the procedure of having technical
support?

tq

[PF] T.J.
post Mar 25 2013, 11:29 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(FabregasFc @ Jul 18 2012, 08:35 AM)

Im new in Dell.. and currently i have a problem with the fans, noise banging loudly. I just bought it about 1 month ago somewhere lowyat shop. In addition, the laptop is currently not here but in new Zealand. So i had few questions that need your attention:

my retailer in Malaysia?
    support?

tq
I think for Dell units only 3 years are considered as international warranty hmm.gif
JJKTP
post Mar 26 2013, 03:10 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 25 2013, 11:29 AM)
I think for Dell units only 3 years are considered as international warranty  hmm.gif
I not sure if I understand your sentence. Care to explain?
[PF] T.J.
post Mar 26 2013, 03:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ Mar 26 2013, 03:10 PM)
I not sure if I understand your sentence. Care to explain?
Last I checked with Dell, units with 3 years warranty upgrade will automatically turn into international warranty coverage; regardless of whether its "carry-in", "on-site" or "complete-cover" warranty hmm.gif
However, international warranty only works if the country you are going to also offers that particular model, and the user is also required to "transfer" the warranty record to that particular country
devour
post Mar 26 2013, 05:17 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(FabregasFc @ Jul 18 2012, 08:35 AM)

my retailer in Malaysia?
    support?

tq
http://support.ap.dell.com/support/topics/...DoNotRedirect=y

Here u go
JJKTP
post Mar 26 2013, 10:27 PM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 26 2013, 03:55 PM)
Last I checked with Dell, units with 3 years warranty upgrade will automatically turn into international warranty coverage; regardless of whether its "carry-in", "on-site" or "complete-cover" warranty  hmm.gif
However, international warranty only works if the country you are going to also offers that particular model, and the user is also required to "transfer" the warranty record to that particular country
I see. That info is new to me. Thanks for the knowledge bro. thumbup.gif
ralfvi
post Nov 12 2013, 05:21 PM

109 posts

just to update. on the overall warranty experience.
**make sure laptop/desktop is in front of you with internet connection

1 --call the hotline no
2 --key in option --- warranty parts replacement
3 --the Rep will ask for service tag no / your details etc / state ur problem
4 --he will ask to go to dell.com.my and install like a team viewer software
5 -- after that he will run all the required test ---accordingly
6 -- if problem still persist ---they will hand over to parts replacement--- parts and replacement will give you a call to make appointment to come to your house/office
7 -- wait for them to come and repair/replace parts.

so far a good and easy experience , though im not sure if they can talk other than english. say mandarin,malay or tamil.

LightningFist
post Nov 14 2013, 11:01 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 26 2013, 03:55 PM)
Last I checked with Dell, units with 3 years warranty upgrade will automatically turn into international warranty coverage; regardless of whether its "carry-in", "on-site" or "complete-cover" warranty  hmm.gif
not too sure about this

according to the Dell website you can get service when you travel, it doesn't say it has to be 3 years

also basic warranty should hold regardless of whether they sell the model or not, because they should ship the parts... the only thing is possible delays

of course there is always the chance they try to deny service... maybe not outright, but they could try to persuade you otherwise
LightningFist
post Nov 14 2013, 11:02 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Anyone in Malaysia got service outside of working hours or office hours before?
nexus2238
post Nov 15 2013, 03:50 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 14 2013, 11:02 PM)
Anyone in Malaysia got service outside of working hours or office hours before?
If you buy standard in-home on site warranty, only 10 hours working / office hour. You can pay more to get Night&Weekend extender package.

If you buy Pro support warranty, you have the option to buy (and pay through the nose for) mission critical enhanced service. Dell sell 2-hour / 4-hour / 8-hour response time package.
LightningFist
post Nov 15 2013, 03:55 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 15 2013, 03:50 PM)
If you buy standard in-home on site warranty, only 10 hours working / office hour. You can pay more to get Night&Weekend extender package.

If you buy Pro support warranty, you have the option to buy (and pay through the nose for) mission critical enhanced service. Dell sell 2-hour / 4-hour / 8-hour response time package.
thanks for reply.

I have 3 year pro support/nbd but there weren't other options presented - think they will layan off hour?

like how do ppl get service anyway, i read about ppl who took days off work to deal with service... i dont own my business i cant have them come in at work... maybe lunch
nexus2238
post Nov 15 2013, 04:11 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 15 2013, 03:55 PM)
thanks for reply.

I have 3 year pro support/nbd but there weren't other options presented - think they will layan off hour?

like how do ppl get service anyway, i read about ppl who took days off work to deal with service... i dont own my business i cant have them come in at work... maybe lunch
specifying exact hour could be tough. Dell will try to schedule, but you cannot be 100% the technician will be on the dot.
If you don't want them into your office, you can meet them at a café nearby, give the laptop to them, and they can work right there (I've seen them in a shopping mall food court before laugh.gif ). Then ask them to give you a buzz when they are done, and you can quickly go and pick it up.
azerak
post Nov 15 2013, 07:17 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 15 2013, 03:55 PM)
thanks for reply.

not sure for off hours. but for my laptop, i called them and a technician was sent to me the next day. he did it in my office.no problem whatsoever.
divo90
post Nov 18 2013, 04:24 PM

92 posts

The way Dell manage the Support & Warranty is a understanding piece of work , they have appointed official person / company to incharge of that region . Thus with effective call centre they can deliver outstanding service to the customer . Really happy with their service .
Other laptops brand should Dell system ..
*Dell users

SupremeSS
post Nov 18 2013, 06:40 PM

461 posts

Just bought Dell Monitor U2312Hm ips panel within 1 month the screen top left appear pink tint, and flikering, how should i do?
chopin
post May 22 2014, 07:06 PM

234 posts

hi all, if i bought a dell monitor with 5 year warranty, then lost the receipt, would my monitor still be covered by the warranty? or the serial number would be enough?
mfitri77
post May 23 2014, 09:37 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ May 22 2014, 07:06 PM)
hi all, if i bought a dell monitor with 5 year warranty, then lost the receipt, would my monitor still be covered by the warranty? or the serial number would be enough?
Did you buy the Ban Leong supplied models? You need to make sure you have a service tag first. I had problems when I found out that Ban Leong didn't actually pass me the service tag needed for my customer to ask for warranty (which Dell Support) insisted on, so had to pester Ban Leong to give me the service tag so my customer can warranty the screen.

Looking at the 5 year warranty made me think you were supplied a Ban Leong model.

@meno
post May 23 2014, 10:22 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ May 23 2014, 09:37 AM)
Did you buy the Ban Leong supplied models? You need to make sure you have a service tag first. I had problems when I found out that Ban Leong didn't actually pass me the service tag needed for my customer to ask for warranty (which Dell Support) insisted on, so had to pester Ban Leong to give me the service tag so my customer can warranty the screen.

Looking at the 5 year warranty made me think you were supplied a Ban Leong model.
Service Tag generally only applies for Monitors with size above 27".
Anything below 27" doesn't come with service tag number.

For models with no service tag number, your serial number, express code number will be the key for a warranty claim.

Besides, Ban Leong doesn't pass you a service tag number, a Dell service tag will come pasted on the unit itself the moment it leaves production.
mfitri77
post May 23 2014, 10:29 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 23 2014, 10:22 AM)
Service Tag generally only applies for Monitors with size above 27".
Anything below 27" doesn't come with service tag number.

For models with no service tag number, your serial number, express code number will be the key for a warranty claim.

Besides, Ban Leong doesn't pass you a service tag number, a Dell service tag will come pasted on the unit itself the moment it leaves production.
Not in the case of Ban Leong, especially the first batch that we got. My customer referred to Dell, which asked the customer to give them the service tag numbers. Had to ask Ban Leong to get the tag numbers. It was the U2312HM models. After that then only they started giving the service tags with the units.

This post has been edited by mfitri77: May 23 2014, 10:29 AM
@meno
post May 23 2014, 11:03 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ May 23 2014, 10:29 AM)
Not in the case of Ban Leong, especially the first batch that we got. My customer referred to Dell, which asked the customer to give them the service tag numbers. Had to ask Ban Leong to get the tag numbers. It was the U2312HM models. After that then only they started giving the service tags with the units.
Fitri, to date i have not heard of any service tag numbers for U2312HM.

So far most of the time the Tech Support guys will only request for the Order number.
This one needs to be provided by Ban Leong.

A service tag number is a chain of 7 Alphanumeric characters.
If you receive a chain of 9 numbers, that should be the order number.

This should apply to all Dell Direct Purchase and also Dell Authorised Partners.
mfitri77
post May 23 2014, 11:45 AM

1,167 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 23 2014, 11:03 AM)
Fitri, to date i have not heard of any service tag numbers for U2312HM.

So far most of the time the Tech Support guys will only request for the Order number.
This one needs to be provided by Ban Leong.

A service tag number is a chain of 7 Alphanumeric characters.
If you receive a chain of 9 numbers, that should be the order number.

This should apply to all Dell Direct Purchase and also Dell Authorised Partners.
Well, it was more than 2 years ago, so I don't remember all the specifics, so maybe you are right. We don't normally order Dell's anyway so it was a learning experience dealing with how they manage their warranty.

I think you are probably right in the sense that we needed something from Ban Leong, which probably would be the order number, just to get Dell support working on servicing the customer's monitor. It took a few days for us to get the number anyway.

chopin
post May 23 2014, 04:02 PM

234 posts

ok, this morning i called the 1-800 dell number and asked. the nice guy answered that for units bought from a reseller, if the reseller took the stock from Dell in let's apr 2013, and then sold it to you at jan 2014. it depends on whether they register for your unit after sale or not. if yes, then your 5-year period starts from jan 2014, if no, then you are unlucky that the warranty starts from apr 2013.

regarding the lost receipt, he says if you have the order number, then they can check (and found mine sweat.gif). so i think if you have the serial# and the order#, you should be alright. If in doubt, just get these two numbers and call them to verify.

p/s mine was not bought from Ban Leong.
tcheric
post Jun 3 2014, 10:35 PM

139 posts

So far Dell laptops, PC, monitor ... In terms of support, is the best so far ... 90% of my company PC/Laptop are Dell .. Care free ... Call, next day got ppl on site, UNLIKE brands like Asus ...
Pewufod
post Aug 19 2014, 10:41 PM

1,537 posts

guys can you help me with this

want to ask if its safe to purchase 2nd hand dell monitor ?

im concerned about the warranty part
seller says the service tag is behind the lcd
is it the only thing that matters ?
Kaka23
post Dec 27 2015, 07:23 AM

8,259 posts

Is there an email contact for warranty purposes? As need to send pictures to better understand the problem?
myway1985
post Dec 27 2015, 11:29 AM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 27 2015, 07:23 AM)
Is there an email contact for warranty purposes? As need to send pictures to better understand the problem?
Call 1800880022 straight..
JackieJack88
post Dec 29 2015, 11:43 AM

17 posts

If for me i won't wait them walk-in service on the spot. Cause we don't know when they will walk-in, so you better bring in by yourself. Last year i bought a Dell laptop to my wife for use, so far don't have any issue till now .
Supercc888
post Dec 30 2015, 11:17 AM

15 posts

wow, on-site service sounds very cool, never try before
pakub3si_design
post Dec 30 2015, 03:46 PM

On-site memang best tp jangan harap ada software fix.

My friend office bought few Dell in bulk and one by one the OS crash. Instead of recover they just come and replace HDD. Tu je.

Fast and efficient but bye bye all your saved files.
sammiey
post Dec 31 2015, 09:33 AM

139 posts

I think you may check out their official website, there should be contact/email..
Good luck! =)

0.0481sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:13 PM