8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LYN swimming thread V3

johny2k
post Apr 22 2016, 02:32 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(wantedgal @ Apr 22 2016, 01:59 PM)
Any pool for kiddies in KL or Selangor area? Thanks
For Selangor Subang 3K got kid swimming pool. smile.gif
johny2k
post Apr 25 2016, 10:56 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(~Joey~ @ Apr 22 2016, 11:00 AM)
You're welcome  biggrin.gif
I went there yesterday for the 6 to 8 session as well. One thing to note about is the pool water seems to be a bit murky. Not sure if it was due to the constructions nearby. Even with my goggles on, I can't really see anything further than 5 meters away when I'm underwater lol. I guess this is the only downside as of now.
Hi, brother. Just want to update status from 3k swimming pool. Yes, it really murky. And there is no lane, & also very very slip. doh.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif
johny2k
post Apr 25 2016, 02:04 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(~Joey~ @ Apr 25 2016, 01:59 PM)
I guess they haven't change the pool water for quite some time. Hopefully they do something about it ASAP as well. And which part you are referring to when you mention slippery? You mean the pool floor or the area around the pool?
The floor all round pool area, I slip & direct fall in to pool water, lucky not fall on the floor... doh.gif doh.gif I already direct complaint to manager there. bangwall.gif
johny2k
post Apr 26 2016, 09:28 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 25 2016, 06:55 PM)
What the :omg: doh.gif

Thks goodness you are ok and not masuk hospital from that horrible fall rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Ya, thanks for concern brother. I think I won't go back there if their management still nothing change. bruce.gif
johny2k
post May 1 2016, 12:49 PM

382 posts

Yesterday just bought Aqua SphereKayenne swim goggles. Just test it this morning, I would say it is great!! Super fit with very comfortable, the only downside is it looks not Anti Fog.
johny2k
post May 4 2016, 11:24 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(chin5331 @ May 3 2016, 03:52 PM)
reading all the comment feel like should buy Aqua SphereKayenne rather than aqua sphere kaiman exo.

while i test on both i feel kaiman exo more comfortable than kayenne and sale guy told me should buy something comfortable .i also thinking he right, because normally i go swimming is non stop for 2km 60min, so comfortable should be 1st choice.

but when i wear it go swimming i feel the view is different in water and out water, in water will feel everything become bigger and out water view is clear.

look like need to buy another one aqua goggles already..><..
Alamak, that's sad brother. How long you have been purchase it? If not more than 7 days, maybe you can return it and exchange to other model. doh.gif
johny2k
post May 4 2016, 02:32 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(chin5331 @ May 4 2016, 01:57 PM)
what!!! can exchange?? cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif almost 20days d..
thanks you for inform.
i did ask any warranty, but the sale person didn't tell me this.
Yes, basically they will say no have any warranty. But we are under consumer law protect on 7 days since date of purchase. Any happen you still can exchange it, some of the company are allow to refund. Really sorry to hear about your case... shocking.gif shocking.gif
johny2k
post May 5 2016, 06:16 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(El-LoboSolitario @ May 5 2016, 02:12 PM)
I received news that 3K will be shut down or was already shut down for further maintenance indefinitely... heard was the pump issue, barely reopened half a month... doh.gif
Memang shock!!! Baru buka balik, lagi tutup sudah!!? shocking.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif

Try go to DSwim Kampung Pandan, it is an indoor pool too. I can say the pool is not bad, only the shower place door broken. doh.gif
johny2k
post May 13 2016, 12:00 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(vampire411 @ May 11 2016, 03:27 PM)
Hi all, beginner here..want to check what is normal public pool depth? especially if anyone has been to public swimming pool at putrajaya... just starting to learn swimming, try to go those not so depth pool for practice, pool that I cannot stand up is still too freaky for me now..
So far as I know The Club Damansara is 50m long, and all the way 4ft depth. There are suitable for beginner who want to try 50m long. thumbsup.gif
johny2k
post May 14 2016, 10:00 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(vampire411 @ May 13 2016, 04:36 PM)
thanks for the info, sound good for me...this place open to public or only limited to members?
It is open for public, but entry fees is not cheap. RM10.60 included GST, optional for Locker + Tower charge RM1, deposit need pay RM10 (Will return to you while check out).

Oh ya, that is one thing you must have One Card from 1 Utama. Then you need to top up money inside the card from The Club counter. A bit complicated, haha.

The environment & facility is super B, so far is the best place I swim before. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by johny2k: May 14 2016, 10:01 AM
johny2k
post Jun 1 2016, 03:08 PM

382 posts

Long time no update here, just call to 3k swimming pool (03-56210645). They say will not open back until replace the water pump... doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by johny2k: Jun 1 2016, 03:08 PM
johny2k
post Jun 29 2016, 11:36 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(hongzheng @ Jun 27 2016, 11:11 PM)
some newbie question.

is there any drill to minimize the flutter kick for freestyle?

Been stuck with 25m freestyle for 3 months now, mainly due to leg become tired after kicking more than 6 times per stroke. Reason for doing so was to keep afloat.

The kicks tempo is increasing past few months and always need to stop at 25m 30m to rest a while...
Brother, from what I learn flutter kick is for propulsion not for keep afloat. I'm using 2 beat kick not 6 beat kick. There have a lot of reason why can't float, but properly normal problem will be: head up (look forward), not enough relax, not enough balance, sinking leg.... I will suggest you doing some balance drill first. You can try have a look at youtube below, hope can provide some help. smile.gif

johny2k
post Jun 30 2016, 09:13 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(hongzheng @ Jun 29 2016, 07:36 PM)
i'm awared of the video from youtube. watch it n times

propulsion n floating is twin brother, if not enough propulsion the leg will start to sink and not streamline

when using the buoy it is difficult to balance, body will roll left n right when performing the strokes
Indeed, brother. That's why I suggest you practice more on core balance drill first, it will help a lot. You can swim without kicking & sinking leg, if you are good in core balance. You can have a look at video below:

johny2k
post Jul 23 2016, 09:52 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(huruhara @ Jul 21 2016, 10:38 AM)
Hello, 3k pool open already?
Hey, brother. I just call and ask, they say the Adult swimming pool is done repair. Now is in repairing kid swimming pool, she say hopefully will open back at next month August. And she say will be announce at Kompleks 3K Subang Jaya facebook there. thumbup.gif
johny2k
post Aug 8 2016, 03:10 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(MatXSelamat @ Aug 7 2016, 12:47 PM)
not sure whether anyone notice this.

Big & deep pool tend to float quite easily when swimming. Small & shallow (1.2m) tend to be easy in sinking.

it will have greater impact on Freestyle & Butterfly and lesser on breaststroke...
Agree, deep pool will more easy float. nod.gif
johny2k
post Aug 8 2016, 09:09 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(MatXSelamat @ Aug 8 2016, 06:13 PM)
B

Normally you take how many strokes for 50m?

I think mine was around 46 strokes, with a buoy...
Haha, bro. I never swim at 50m pool. I swim at 25m pool, I still a noob here. My 25m SPL are 18 - 20.
johny2k
post Aug 11 2016, 12:03 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(MatXSelamat @ Aug 11 2016, 06:59 AM)
That is quite similar to mine for 25m, if i were not using the buoy and do flutter kick. After 25m need to long rest lol

After consuming so much energy, the kicks only boost the efficiency by 10-15%....
Brother, looks like you using too much energy & not enough relax at all. Did your leg sink a lot? As early I mention early about flutter kick, from what I learn it is for propulsion. I always practice the balance & skate drill to help my body relax. smile.gif
johny2k
post Sep 4 2016, 12:46 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(MatXSelamat @ Sep 3 2016, 09:11 AM)
if without kicking the wall normally what is the timing of your 25m? currently i'm doing 50m between 1:20-1:40 on 38-42 strokes. there are some dude that do 80 strokes for 50m ohmy.gif but most does not last very long, sometime they change breaststroke after 4-5 laps

what is balance & skate drills? any video?
Wow, brother. According the record you provide in 50m your strokes still can go 38 - 42. You must very tall, if not it's mean you over glide.

Haha, I swim very very slow brother. Because I still a novice swimmer, just learn freestyle swimming 1 year 1 month only. laugh.gif For 25m pool my time is around 40 sec per laps, for pace on 100m will be 2:40/100m.

For the balance drills, I always practice this. But not that back part which train the core musle with boxing. lol

This post has been edited by johny2k: Sep 4 2016, 12:48 PM
johny2k
post Sep 5 2016, 04:27 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(MatXSelamat @ Sep 4 2016, 07:00 PM)
Not tall, but i use buoy so it helps in gliding the extra miles. Avg 2 sec per stroke so it is slow. Going to do a few more weeks with the buoy and let see how it goes, i reckon without it leg will sink and cannot do 50m already

this is the same drill i did for yesterday also, not easy since my neck is stiff and easily get injure. Always twist my neck due to bad sleep posture...

currently the left stroke is not balance with the right dominant stroke, so this drill may help, but if roll the left shoulder the same as right some how the goggle will start to leak water making it very uncomfortable to swim.
Hm... Actually I'm not recommended my friend using buoy doing full strokes swimming, because the more you using it the more you will rely it. Buoy is great on doing drills practice.

I think the first thing you need relax your body to fix is your sinking leg problem. Have you watch the youtube video I share before? It is about Common Freestyle Mistakes in Swimming, try it. Happy swimming. smile.gif

johny2k
post Sep 9 2016, 12:14 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(~Joey~ @ Sep 7 2016, 02:32 PM)
Got confused over something here... When you mention 25m SPL are 18 - 20, does that mean you need 18 - 20 strokes from one end to another end (total 25m) or 18 - 20 strokes from start point back to start point (total 50m)???

Cause I tried freestyle for 50m pool and it took me around 50 strokes from one end to the other end of the pool (total 50m)...
If you say you are noob, then what am I  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
SPL = Strokes per length (From one end to another end total 25m). I did try before at 50m pool, my SPL is around 42 - 45. Actually not low count strokes always better , it is depends on each swimmer height, example like me: my Height are 168cm, so my best efficiency SPL for 25m pool will be around 18 - 21.

You can have a look at chart below, for the noob question I think no need to say brother. Because we swim for personal healthy not for compare smile.gif. So, must swim happy ya. smile.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0626sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:20 AM