LYN swimming thread V3

Vincentccw
post Apr 12 2016, 03:30 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Apr 12 2016, 02:22 PM)
hi, need some tips from swimming sifus here.

i can swim quite decent stroke. my problem is, breathing.

i have very bad timing on when to breath out...

can advise which is better?
1) breath out when turning head before breath in?
2) breath out immediately after face start facing down after breath in?
3) breath out along the way until next breath in?

icon_question.gif
Breath out slowly along the way, you breath in the moment you clear out all the reserve air in your body.
Vincentccw
post Apr 12 2016, 03:49 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(maraippo @ Apr 12 2016, 03:36 PM)
another question. sometimes when i breath in, i have not fully breath out yet as i count to breath every 3 stroke (right side). so chest feels like tight.

should i just get along and blow out then breath in or match up by blowing harder to match up with the stroke count?

which one is easier to manage?
It depends on personal preferences, some people train to reduce interval of breathing (since it causes delay) by only exchange breathe when they need to.
Other people like you are more pace oriented to improve efficiency in the pool, for your case I would suggest to keep your breathing in every 3 strokes but try to balance out your breathing. So breath out along the way and by the time you finish your 3rd stroke you are ready to breath in again. If you still have some reserve air in your body just force it out quickly and get ready for the next interval.
Vincentccw
post Apr 12 2016, 11:42 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Apr 12 2016, 10:27 PM)
Yes, it is from TI taiwan. I'm learning it too. Took me 7 months, from don't know how to swim freestyle until now can swim 200m. Still the noob.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
They have workshops in Malaysia actually.

http://www.fishlike.net/landingpages/klang-fmb-landing/

Vincentccw
post Apr 14 2016, 02:08 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Apr 14 2016, 02:05 PM)
Actually I'm not learn myself, I pay to learn it. But I will not mention here, no want to promote anything here. Below is my first under water footage, it take at 3 months ago (January), a lot of mistake and a lot of things need to improve. But be honestly the feeling is great, I swam slow but very enjoy it.  smile.gif

How did you take the video underwater?

Vincentccw
post Apr 18 2016, 09:20 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Bombgen @ Apr 18 2016, 02:26 PM)
Hello guys, I'm new in this thread. Just want to ask regarding the best goggle we can buy. Currently using Speedo Aquapulse Max which is shit. Before this using View. Now looking for a new google. The price range should be below RM200. Any recommendation guys? Thanks in advance..

Ok guys now I know what brand already, gonna go for Aqua Sphere Kayenne. Did any of you guys know where is the best deal for this goggles? Thanks..
For Kayenne goggles I don't think it is available anywhere other than the the Rip Curl outlets in Malaysia, price range should be between RM100-RM120. Aqualpulse Max looks cool in general but leaks sometimes for me. If you want try other options I would recommend you to try speedo vanquisher goggles (now re-brand as speedo opal I think).
Vincentccw
post Apr 19 2016, 09:23 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(Bombgen @ Apr 18 2016, 10:36 PM)
Went to Rip Curl Wangsa Walk today but to no avail.. yup Aquapulse leaks alot of time for me..not gonna wear Speedo anytime soon..thanks anyway..
You could try the one in Fahrenheit 88 and KLCC, I saw they have it
Vincentccw
post Apr 19 2016, 10:06 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Apr 19 2016, 10:01 AM)
no more ripcurl outlet at fahrenheit 88 when i visited it last month.
blink.gif Didnt know they close down
Vincentccw
post Apr 19 2016, 04:53 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Bombgen @ Apr 19 2016, 04:41 PM)
Bought my Aqua Sphere Keyenne already at Rip Curl Suria KLCC. There's not much color left..thanks guys for suggestion =)
That's quick, try and let us know how it is.
Vincentccw
post Apr 21 2016, 09:43 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Apr 21 2016, 09:36 AM)
Morning, guys. Yesterday I just did my first 1000m drill (100m x 10), with super slow pace 2:43/100m.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  Now I feel painful on my shoulder, hahahahaha.  doh.gif  Still got a lot of things need to improve again.  thumbup.gif
Did you took a rest inbetween with TI freestyle while doing your 1000m? I'm using normal freestyle and I have to take a rest every 160 to 200m. sad.gif
Vincentccw
post Jul 29 2016, 11:08 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 29 2016, 02:03 AM)
I've trouble doing the dolphin kick .... sad.gif

maybe my body is not strong enough.

I've watched many youtube clips but I'm still not good at it.
Dolphin kicks are very much on core and stamina, and also learn to wiggle wiggle your body. Try to do dive in the pool and do dolphin kicks and swim from one end to another.....

Vincentccw
post Jul 29 2016, 11:27 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 29 2016, 11:21 AM)
how to improve the core and stamina??

I tried many times; the most is 12.5m. Can't go any further without catching my breath. sad.gif
Just have to keep practicing, stop and breath when you need and it will eventually gets further once you are used to it.

Also dolphin kicks is more energy/stamina consuming stokes, any reason why u want to learn it. If you are planning to learn butterfly then you dont have to worry about the breathing issue. Coz you can exchange air when you lift your head
Vincentccw
post Jul 29 2016, 10:22 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 29 2016, 07:50 PM)
I want to be like this. brows.gif

of coz can, but first you need to have enough breath to hold under water and also need to do this in deeper pool flex.gif

This post has been edited by Vincentccw: Jul 29 2016, 10:23 PM
Vincentccw
post Aug 1 2016, 02:06 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jul 30 2016, 12:40 AM)
why deeper pool? Any reason??

how deep??
Is just for you to have more place to dive, if u look closely right whenever the swimmer kick off from the wall their body will slightly tilted towards the deeper end rather than going into the straight line. Then once it reaches the deeper end they will gradually swim back up to the surface to catch breathe.
Vincentccw
post Aug 11 2016, 01:25 PM

363 posts

Swimon Larrosa 2016 Perhentian Island OWS Camp:
http://www.malaysiaopenwaterswimming.com/2...ntian-ows-camp/

Anyone going?
Vincentccw
post Sep 22 2016, 01:25 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ Sep 21 2016, 10:16 PM)
may I know for regular swimmer like you all, do you get yourself a waterproof swim/pool bag?
Just normal bag lol, not professional swimmer, but I do have one waterproof bag for the beach but not the pool whistling.gif
Vincentccw
post Sep 22 2016, 09:33 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 22 2016, 05:48 AM)
Anybody here knows how to swim butterfly?
me but gets very very tired, cant swim for long
Vincentccw
post Sep 22 2016, 03:58 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 22 2016, 01:58 PM)
Is it easy to learn from youtube u think?
possible but hard, coz you will think you are doing the right thing but actually you are not.
Vincentccw
post Sep 22 2016, 05:07 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 22 2016, 05:00 PM)
Thanks for feedback... but I guess hiring a coach will not be my option for now.

Just want to swim as exercise and learn additional new stroke if possible..
What I suggest is learn yourself, and once you are confident enough to swim all the strokes then only hire a coach and attend few lessons and mainly just base on correcting your stroke rather than learning from ground up.
Vincentccw
post Sep 22 2016, 07:28 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Sep 22 2016, 06:29 PM)
cry.gif

No $$ and time to hire coach...
I know in Chin Woo stadium they do have swimming classes, 4 lessons around RM80 I think, cheapest I have seen so far...
Vincentccw
post Sep 23 2016, 04:58 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(johny2k @ Sep 23 2016, 09:24 AM)
Morning, just want to provide my personal opinion again. Go and see the coach how to train, and how's the student performance before you join the class, I'm sure they will allow you visit them before you join the class.

Previously, I already visit more than 5 swimming class before I join the class. Because I don't waste the money, before survey. Actually, in that time what I want to see is not how coach can train the student become faster swimmer. I just want learn freestyle swimming with efficient, enjoy & relax, because I'm not a competitive swimmer, because I'm an old man too, LOL.  sweat.gif

Must see how's the coach train & how's the performance from students. At last, I choose the most expensive class, after I do the survey.

Just my another 2 cents... Must swim happy ah.  laugh.gif
I subscribe to https://www.facebook.com/Trinity-Swimming-A...520891/?fref=ts, http://www.tsamalaysia.wix.com/trinityswimming base on their updates, you can really see skills and improvement from the students, even little kids can perform butterfly better than adults.

http://www.dswimacademy.com/, DSA offer certs as well but I'm not sure about the quality of the coach.

There is one that I don't want to mention the name, claim herself to be a swim coach and only take female students only and she updates the student progress on Facebook.
After so many lessons I can't even see one that can swim even a proper front crawl or breaststroke. sweat.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0549sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:07 AM