Dell 14r or 15r special edition
[PF] T.J.
May 19 2012, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(crazyissac @ May 19 2012, 11:57 AM) Dell 14r special edition or 15r special edition ? why both are same price as Rm2999 ??? 15r is bigger and better ? why still same price ? i dun get it=-= This is marketing strategy  14" notebooks are smaller and thus lighter, the smaller screen will consume less power as well, leading to longer battery runtimes 15" notebooks, on the contrary have larger screens, thus more workspace. The larger size will mean better cooling as well due to the large space within the laptop. However, the larger size will result in it being less portable and have shorter battery lives.. Your pick
[PF] T.J.
May 20 2012, 06:05 PM
Nvidia Optimus is a technology (program) allowing you to switch in between your Nvidia card and the Intel HD3000/4000 of the CPU. Optimus will automatically switch to the Nvidia card when you are playing games for better performance; and will automatically switch to the integrated GPU when you are trying to save battery
[PF] T.J.
May 21 2012, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(crazyissac @ May 20 2012, 08:20 PM) Wohhh~~that's cool~ so...it's good thing or bad thing ?@@ Its a good thing when it works properly  The problem with Nvidia Optimus is that sometimes it doesn't switch the GPU for certain games and you'll have to do it manually  Still, its acceptable since the technology is still quite new, it'll require some time to mature..
[PF] T.J.
May 24 2012, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(clon12 @ May 24 2012, 09:59 AM) I think RM3399 is the one with FHD. QUOTE(PhungTM @ May 24 2012, 10:18 AM) yea RM3399 is the one with the FHD. 15R SE with FHD or 14R SE  touch choice... I think you guys should hold 1st... It seems like Dell Malaysia haven't fully updated their customization options for the Inspiron 15R (Special Edition) yet... There might be HDD customization options as well Still, with FullHD, this laptop will probably be a hit, even better now since its a Dell
[PF] T.J.
May 24 2012, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(clon12 @ May 24 2012, 10:56 AM) I can't seem to find the FHD option though... QUOTE(PhungTM @ May 24 2012, 10:58 AM) Isn't the FHD already integrated in the SE version? correct me if im wrong Yes, the RM3399 version of the 15R comes with FullHD as standard... There is a description on "mSATA SSD - 32GB " as well... so you guys might want to wait until the customization website is completed 1st
[PF] T.J.
May 24 2012, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(crazyissac @ May 24 2012, 11:09 AM) But the coupon only works before JUN~how can we wait ><....RM200++ woh~ I thought those coupons are constantly being given out?  Anyway, I doubt it'll take long for Dell to update their systems  If you are really that impatient, then do confirm with Dell Sales Agents on the available customization options for the HDD (if you are looking into using SSD/ SSD-HDD hybrids systems, that is).. Personally I would try to avoid the 1TB (5400rpm) HDD because its very slow... at least go for 7200rpm ones even though the storage might be smaller (750GB).. which is why I would advice you guys to wait and see 1st as we're not sure whether they are offering these kind of configurations or not
[PF] T.J.
May 28 2012, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(koh_424 @ May 28 2012, 10:14 AM) Currently viewing for the Dell Inspiron 15R SE also. My current desktop is kinda dated. New house built in table hard to fit in my current CPU. Was thinking change to laptop. It is a wise choice from desktop change to laptop? Not much play games. But recently play Diablo3 only. Comment? If you're not planning to move about with your laptop, then changing from desktop to laptop is not really a good choice
[PF] T.J.
May 28 2012, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(Ahkwang @ May 28 2012, 02:49 AM) hi. tumpang thread  planning to get the 15R SE, buying thru online thru one of their salesperson with discount. Is it safe - i mean have to give the salesperson my cc details. Any one purchase thru their salesperson (via email) b4? how is the process like? Why would you want to purchase via email? You can purchase through Dell Malaysia right?  You could also deal with Dell sellers here in Garage Sales, where payment will be via cash/ bank transfer
[PF] T.J.
May 28 2012, 11:07 AM
There are small desktops as well  Something like this http://www.dell.com/my/p/alienware-x51/pdYou do get a lot more bang for the buck with desktops... This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: May 28 2012, 11:08 AM
[PF] T.J.
May 28 2012, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(koh_424 @ May 28 2012, 11:16 AM) But is bit pricy wo rite? Some more without monitor.  Its just an example bro  There are mini tower Vostro/ Inspiron desktops as well.. Anyway, its up to you in the end  If you're going to go for laptops, then try not to compare them with desktop performance
[PF] T.J.
May 28 2012, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(koh_424 @ May 28 2012, 11:56 AM) Seen the Vostro/Inspiron, but the spec not really up to wat i wan. Important point is the casing size. I know nothing to compare between laptop & desktop.  Can't decide.  Those are just for reference.. You could always customize your own desktop, and you decide what kind of atx casings you want (small ones for your case)  Simply put, a RM1.5k desktop can easily pawn a RM3k laptop
[PF] T.J.
May 28 2012, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(Ahkwang @ May 28 2012, 12:03 PM) Is DELL agent. We liase thru email after we chat online on DELL website Agent send me the quote and everything via email. Via email got discounted price due to pay by CITIBANK. Agent call me asking my CC details and i gave everything. Now order has been processed. Only thing i worry is the agent himself got my CC details, so fingers crossed he dont abuse. Anyone got go purchase thru email via agent using CC before? Kinda worried now actually.  No worries bro, if he's a Dell agent, then you'll be fine... Dell cannot afford any con cases
[PF] T.J.
May 28 2012, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(danleongwz @ May 28 2012, 03:36 PM) just got inspiron 14r se today at 9.30am  Grats grats~~ Review please
[PF] T.J.
May 28 2012, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(danleongwz @ May 28 2012, 03:54 PM) WEI rating at 5.9 coz lowest score is the hdd. im still testing it btw. havent tried any games on it yet. been on for about 3 hours without cooler, and it isnt hot. The HDD is 5400rpm, so 5.9 is normal... the bottleneck in performance will most probably be caused by the HDD  Please do keep us posted, this is a hot model and I'm sure a lot of people are waiting for reviews  You can obtain temperature readings by downloading HWMonitor  Thanks~
[PF] T.J.
May 29 2012, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(danleongwz @ May 28 2012, 11:22 PM) well, been leaving it idle since 1pm till now, no heating issues. and yes, it does feel a bit plastic to me coz of its design i guess. yea i'll be uploading a few pics, sry for the late posting as i was a lil bit busy. i played a few rounds of LoL just now at very high settings and benchmark fps, no problem at all  about offline games i havent try it out yet. will test it later or tomorrow. and btw, all the usb ports are 3.0. Wow, it looks quite nice and classy man Mind sharing temperature readings? Can download HWMonitor to check the temperatures
[PF] T.J.
May 29 2012, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(Icehart @ May 29 2012, 10:20 PM) Urm really ah? Until have to resort to external keyboard? Maybe I'll try once it is available at Dell retail store. Thanks for the feedback ya  QUOTE(danleongwz @ May 29 2012, 10:26 PM) to me, yes, but you have to try it out for yourself. everyone's different  Wah, so serious ar? The keyboard buttons are plastic right? It looks similar to the keyboards in the current Inspiron 14/15
[PF] T.J.
May 30 2012, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(Marz CJy @ May 29 2012, 11:13 PM) may i ask. The game performance good or not how the temp when full load by using a cooler or not...coz im interest this laptop and 1st time buy the laptop so maybe have this noob question...  QUOTE(danleongwz @ May 30 2012, 03:57 PM) havent been gaming coz was busy for the past few days. the only game i've played on it is league of legends. well i've been on the laptop from 8 till now without turning it off. the lappie is only a lil bit warm only. no overheating issues. core temp at average 60 degress on all cores at 56 degress on gpu. Mind sharing the max temperatures when on load/gaming? Idle temperatures doesn't fully reflect the cooling system of the laptop~
[PF] T.J.
May 30 2012, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(Ahkwang @ May 30 2012, 02:54 PM) Usually they will give freebies when they delay
[PF] T.J.
May 31 2012, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(crazyivan @ May 30 2012, 10:37 PM) what i notice here.. 15R SE includes price of bag while 14R SE need to pay rm69. As what danleongwz mentioned, you can always bargain for the bag, or for more discounts... The bag is quite good in terms of quality, but its kind of ugly haha
[PF] T.J.
May 31 2012, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ May 31 2012, 09:31 AM) Some people have said because the speaker is located UNDER the laptop, that sound is pretty rubbish. Well, just try not to expect too much from budget-line laptops  Get a pair of external speakers if sound quality is important for you... any cheap ones will be able to pawn laptop speakers