MAS, under value?

htt
post Jul 16 2012, 09:40 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(wing13 @ Jul 16 2012, 08:53 PM)
Accounting

Net Tangible Assets or Net Asset Value ie. total liabilities less total assets/issued shares

As reported for Q1, the Net asset is now 0.28 sen down from 0.32 sen

This means if MAS cannot sustain or gov final bail out, this is the net value of the company as at Q1.

Added on July 16, 2012, 8:54 pm
Typo should be assets less liabilities/issued shs
Sometime think this company was lock into +tive NTA -> make loss until -tive NTA -> right issue -> +tive NTA... history did repeat itself in this company, and we have to continue paying them to fly.... haiz...
htt
post Jul 17 2012, 08:33 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(wing13 @ Jul 16 2012, 10:05 PM)
Cheap for gov to privatise now, few years later list again at few dollars ...  smile.gif
Even worst, then no one will know how much it sucks from rakyat... Maybe they will buy mineral water at the price of petrol... or higher...
This is a dead loop, unless someone with will really going to revamp that.
htt
post Nov 28 2012, 04:01 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Nov 28 2012, 03:53 PM)
then if 1000 shares at 0.1 par value, if they sell it at 90 cent, it still is RM900 right ?
What you trying to ask? rclxub.gif
htt
post Nov 28 2012, 04:41 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Nov 28 2012, 04:15 PM)
I just wanna ask what is the different for existing holder if the par value drop from 1.0 to 0.1
Basically no diff, that's just some kind of information to the shareholder that: We had loss 90% of the capital that you invest in our company, and seems like we are not going to earn them back, as we are in need of fresh fund now, we have to admit that and write them off so we can call you to inject more money under the regulation that govern the account.

As shareholder, you might need to prepare for the rights call, the rights price can start from RM0.10 (rights normally same or higher than PAR value, unless that's 2 call rights). Ratio & price will be determine later (actually also can roughly estimate, get the market value, divided by the intended capital need to be raise which is RM3.1b, then you will see roughly how much per share, that should be more or less the money need to be prepared).
htt
post Nov 28 2012, 06:51 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(bursalchemy @ Nov 28 2012, 06:35 PM)
wont take up the right issue sure will dilute the interest since right issue price usually cheaper than market price. Theoritical ex-price (TERP) wise. however, market is irrational. Finance knowledge dont apply much in stock market. such as efficinet market hypothesis, M&M theory are just bullshit. nothing applicable.  tongue.gif

Added on November 28, 2012, 6:40 pm

We still not sure how the new entrance of Malindo will affect MAS market share. Even existing rival of Airasia he also cant compete ady.

The battle like 3 kingdom, Airasia is 魏国,malindo is 蜀国,MAS is 吴国. They have to keep battle and ensure all of them survive to avoid stiff competition. 生生相息. hmm.gif

Added on November 28, 2012, 6:45 pm

MAS need a 周瑜 to run the board.
Never know you are Chinese... But the situation might be slightly different, MAS is the one that can 挟天子以令天下, we all victim...
htt
post Nov 30 2012, 11:03 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(alenac @ Nov 29 2012, 08:11 PM)
MAS has accumulated losses of slightly above 8 bill. So much for the many attempts in the past including Idris Jala to recover from losses. So the next best alternative is to go for capital reduction then rights issue and start anew. So the pricing for the rights according to The Star today is around 60 sen for 10 sen per share par value. Effectively, it will create a share premium account that is 5 times more than its share capital. So far so good. But the issue is that will the rights be priced competatively and based on forward PE of how much? I would say should be not be more than Airasia's 14. Or given it's lousy historical earning's record it should be below 10 as an added attraction for existing shareholders to subscribe for the rights and sustained it's share price above 60 sen, of course if 60 sen is the reasonable price to forward P/e. Or else, the scenerio of Asstro IPO will be replayed.
If based on 14, probably they have to pay the shareholders and give them free shares at the same time... hmm.gif
htt
post Mar 8 2014, 01:44 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 8 2014, 09:08 AM)
http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-26492748
Malaysia Airlines 'loses contact with plane'

"Good" news for Monday trade brows.gif
Bad taste, those are all human life. shakehead.gif
htt
post Mar 8 2014, 03:37 PM

4,305 posts

At least one thing they did correctly, they post the new with multiple languages on their main page online.
htt
post Mar 8 2014, 11:22 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Mar 8 2014, 10:55 PM)
Buy mas?

Wah.. u are being contrarian?
I will buy, if it drop to 0.5c, throw RM100.00 in, just like buying 4D.

Btw, can I lodge order of 0.5c on Monday? Anyone have idea?
htt
post Mar 9 2014, 12:15 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(wenqing @ Mar 8 2014, 11:56 PM)
U can buy MAS-HA brows.gif  brows.gif
How HA works? Like put warrant?
htt
post Mar 9 2014, 09:12 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Mar 9 2014, 09:08 PM)
till the compensation off the loss of airplane.

then only know how much value of MAS.
Most likely the plane is not own by MAS, but Penerbangan Malaysia Bhd, government rescue vehicle that bought all MAS planes during last last round of bail out.
htt
post Mar 9 2014, 09:20 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Mar 9 2014, 09:14 PM)
...sorry...i didnt know,,must read their report see what their asset and cash..
I also not confirm, but judge from the age of the plane, that most likely should be. notworthy.gif
htt
post Mar 9 2014, 10:57 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(sampool @ Mar 9 2014, 10:53 PM)
i thought insurance company will cover the loss of the incident.
For the plane, yes.
For the live, not all, SIA still fighting court cases with next-to-kin of victims for their crash in Taipei, that had been donkey years ago.
Loss to reputation, priceless...
htt
post Mar 10 2014, 11:28 AM

4,305 posts

Strong support, good for contra trade...
htt
post Mar 10 2014, 08:20 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 10 2014, 03:16 PM)
U place any bets?
No, scare get stuck.
htt
post Mar 10 2014, 10:58 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(topearn @ Mar 10 2014, 09:46 PM)
It's impossible for MAS to drop 20 cents from now 24 cents to only 4 cents. MAS has probably 200 planes and just 1 plane missing will not cause price zoom down over 83%.
It has 88.
htt
post Mar 12 2014, 11:58 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 12 2014, 11:56 AM)
Confirmed news or speculation?
The photos looks real.
htt
post Mar 26 2014, 03:02 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Mar 26 2014, 02:35 PM)
i thought they sold most of their building during idris jala time? ..... during the restructuring period that pull mas from the deep hole  hmm.gif
Sale and lease-back.
htt
post Mar 26 2014, 04:16 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Mar 26 2014, 03:27 PM)
so it doesn't belong to them?
Can check in their annual report, their property should be listed somewhere behind... Pls help to check...

htt
post Mar 26 2014, 06:19 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(topearn @ Mar 26 2014, 04:26 PM)
If U read thier latest annual report, if I'm not mistaken they have properties worth like over RM1 billion.
No, beside airplane, they don't have RM1b worth of properties.

On the balance sheet, note 11, state cost of RM1b on building, after depreciation, current value is about RM500m, and that is only buildings (most of them sit on Federal land or MAB land), the lease hold lands they have value at RM18m.

There is 2 pieces of significant properties, one value at RM210m, but sitting on Federal Land (they sit on other ppl's land, only the building is their), the other is hangar under lease of 30 years valued at RM259m. I just doubt anyone will buy the properties at that kind of price (except all mighty government of course).

The significant asset they have is airplane worth RM14b, but their debt is also almost there liao...

The only play for MAS is hope for government to privatize them. But we also hope MH370 can return safely previously, we all living on hope, just sometime hope did not make it through.

This post has been edited by htt: Mar 26 2014, 06:22 PM

0.0461sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:31 PM