5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

MAS, under value?

topearn
post Mar 11 2014, 02:39 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 11 2014, 09:01 AM)
Thats how it works...

You cant simply buy at 40cents, just that it will kept matching all your order at the lowest seller price, and vice versa if you key in very low price for sellers.

Still don't understand how it works. Take this example below -

Bid Qty Bid Ask Ask Qty
5K 4.23 3.00 3K
10K 4.22 4.24 20K
5K 4.21 4.25 15K
20K 4.20 4.26 5K

Can I key in 4.24 for 3K to buy the seller who wants to sell at 3.0 ? Will I get 4.24 or 3.00 ?

topearn
post Mar 11 2014, 09:49 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 11 2014, 06:48 PM)
Definitely not 3, but the last done price or theoretical closing price.

If you got an idiot like the one in KLK case and key in 300k at RM3, then its a different story.

http://stockstradingmalaysia.com/others/th...work/#more-1459

Thanks. Really need to study it to understand 100% how it works.

topearn
post Mar 13 2014, 01:46 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(w19 @ Mar 12 2014, 11:59 PM)
MAS 3786

Net Profit Lost RM1.168 Billion, Earning Per Share Lost 8.69 Cents. Are you crazy to buying in this kind of stock please? Sell!

Decision to buy is usually based on stock is under or over-priced. If stock ABC is worth RM1 and it's making a loss of 10 cents but price is just RM0.25, will people buy it ?

topearn
post Mar 13 2014, 01:54 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(gracelim2202 @ Mar 13 2014, 09:18 AM)
After this unfortunate incident settled, there will be lots of bills for MAS to pay. Surely will hurt its earning this year, or the management can "conveniently" declare big losses again?

Management can't simply declare big losses.....financial figures are not subject to manipulation by anyone...figures can't just be plucked from the air. If not, then management better to declare big profits year after year so that they can also declare big bonuses for themselves for the "excellent work" done.

topearn
post Mar 13 2014, 07:51 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(w19 @ Mar 13 2014, 05:24 PM)
I dont buy a company making lost in business. I invest for increase my wealth.

If the company is making losses but the stock price is under-valued, it makes financial sense to buy it and wait for the price to increase to its fair value and then U sell it thereby increasing your wealth.

On the other hand if a company is making profits but its share price is over-valued, sooner or later the price will drop to its realistic value, so U R decreasing your wealth if u buy the over-price stock which will drop in price later.

topearn
post Mar 14 2014, 05:10 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Mar 14 2014, 11:12 AM)
Indeed, to give a positive value to the company you must be able to posit a year in which it will start to actually earn profits and calculate a future value for that income stream. Everything will hinge on which year you pick when MAS will return to profit and how quickly its profits will grow when that happens.

There are quite a few methods of valuing a company. It is very difficult to forsee when MAS will start being profitable again and thus using your discounted cash flow is not approprioate cos U do not have the +ve cash flows to compute.
Similarly for a loss-making company like MAS, PE Ratio is also out.
Asset-based method is IMO appropriate to value loss-making MAS and since MAS NAS is presently RM0.24 but since it is expected to bleed red some more a discount to the NAS is needed - perhaps 20% ? That would give a RM0.19 to MAS price.

topearn
post Mar 14 2014, 05:19 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 14 2014, 11:06 AM)
How do you value a company which is making losses year after year after year with reducing/depreciating asset values?

There are quite a few methods of valuing a company. It is very difficult to forsee when MAS will start being profitable again and thus using discounted cash flow is not approprioate cos U do not have the +ve cash flows to compute.
Similarly for a loss-making company like MAS, PE Ratio is also out.
Asset-based method is IMO appropriate to value loss-making MAS and since MAS NAS is presently RM0.24 but since it is expected to bleed red some more a discount to the NAS is needed - perhaps 20% ? That would give a RM0.19 to MAS price.

topearn
post Mar 14 2014, 05:22 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Mar 14 2014, 05:17 PM)
You said this is value play, but after you count yourself you give 0.19.

Share price today around 0.24. So how to value play ?  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif

I'm saying IMO, MAS is not worth RM0.24...but RM0.19. Anyway, I do not like investing in airline stocks.

topearn
post Mar 14 2014, 05:26 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 14 2014, 05:24 PM)
Whatever methods use to value a stock is purely academic. In actual case, price is irrational

Agree with U.

topearn
post Mar 17 2014, 10:05 PM

3,459 posts

Down another cent to RM0.23 now. I expect it to ease further to about RM0.20 by end of the week.
topearn
post Mar 20 2014, 02:05 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(Gummiboy @ Mar 20 2014, 11:18 AM)
collect or sell?. what does the future hold for mas?..PN17?..or 0.10cents?

Impossible to go to 0.1 cents...lowest is 0.5 cents.

topearn
post Mar 20 2014, 02:08 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 20 2014, 11:42 AM)
Heading to privatisation

Guess it's time for U to withdraw your millions and millions of RM U earned from bursa and using it to take MAS private.

topearn
post Mar 20 2014, 09:10 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Mar 20 2014, 03:17 PM)
My wish

Share price usually jump up when news of company going private...so U're hoping for the windfall since U're one of the shareholders.
Privatizing MAS is good for the airline to run efficiently...right now MAS is under too many constraints especially from the government.

topearn
post Mar 24 2014, 11:48 AM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 24 2014, 09:35 AM)
Anyone seen this?
If there is a risk like this, who wants to privatise?
At $150k each, MAS is looking at $150k x 230 = $35m  basic.  cry.gif

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MAS can be sued over MH370, say legal experts
MARCH 22, 2014
LATEST UPDATE: MARCH 22, 2014 09:40 AM

Speaking to CNN, they said while the claims process would be complicated, it is difficult for MAS to plead absence of negligence.

"The negligence may have even begun in the process of accepting stolen passports," said Brian Havel, a law professor and director of the International Aviation Law Institute at DePaul University, referring to the earlier discovery that two Iranians had boarded the plane using stolen passports.
Under the Montreal Convention adopted by members of the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO), an airline must pay initial compensation of between US$150,000 and US$175,000 (RM494,000 and RM578,000) to relatives of each passenger killed in an air crash.

And unless the airline can prove it took all necessary measures to prevent an accident, the relatives can sue for further damages.

A lawyer who has dealt with passenger claims said not knowing what happened to the aircraft would present "some significant hurdles", but from a legal point of view, it was not unprecendented, said Dan Rose, as quoted by CNN.

Legal experts said Boeing, the plane's manufacturer, can also be held liable if a mechanical flaw is ruled as the cause, but this could be difficult if the plane was not recovered.

Monica Kelly, an attorney at Ribbeck Law Chartered who plans to file a suit against Malaysia Airlines and Boeing, told CNN that based on her experience, families could receive between US$400,000 (RM1.3 million) and US$3 million (RM9.9 million) in damages.

However, it could take two years before they see the money, she said.

The CNN report said a lot would depend on where the lawsuits are filed.

According to aviation lawyer Mike Danko, plaintiffs tend to be awarded much larger sums in US courts than in other countries, with some awards touching US$6 million to US$8 million.

Lawsuits could be filed in several countries as there are at least 14 nationals on board flight MH370.

CNN reported that US lawyers are already in Beijing.

Chinese citizens make up 153 of those on board the MAS plane.

Havel, meanwhile, believed that most claims would be settled out of court.

The CNN report said uncertainty about the passengers' fate could slow the legal process but most countries would allow judges to rule that a passenger was presumed dead if there was no news for months.

This will enable the families to file claims including for life insurance.

CNN said much of MAS's expenses would be covered by insurance policies which cover a plane and its passengers.

"Coverage averages between US$2 billion and US$2.5 billion per aircraft, including about US$10 million per passenger," Havel told the network.

The first claims for the missing aircraft has already been paid.

Allianz had confirmed that it is the lead insurer covering the MAS aircraft and said the company and other co-reinsurers of the MAS aviation hull and liability policy had made initial payments.

"This is in agreement with the insurance broker, Willis, and is in line with normal market practice and our contractual obligations where an aircraft is reported as missing," the German insurer said on Wednesday.

The search for the Malaysian jet is the longest in modern passenger-airline history. The previous record was the 10-day search for a Boeing 737-400 operated by Indonesia’s PT Adam Skyconnection Airlines, which went missing off the coast of that country’s Sulawesi island on January 1, 2007. – March 22, 2014.

To a billion RM company, RM35million is sap sap sui......MAS has revenue of over 3,800 million in its last quarter results.

topearn
post Mar 25 2014, 09:00 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Mar 25 2014, 08:28 PM)
http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...ane-MAS-liable/

If this really happens, what will MAS's fate be? Bankrupt? Gov continue to bail MAS?

Insurance will cover most of the costs. Anyway, US$40million (RM130million) is no big deal as MAS has 16,710,781,200 shares, so just do a rights issue at say RM0.20 per share in a 1:1 issue will generate a huge RM3,340 million cash.

topearn
post Mar 26 2014, 08:46 AM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Mar 25 2014, 11:44 PM)
Sorry noob question. Will ppl still buy the share? What would be a beneficial scenario for investors?

Yes if MAS price then is above RM0.20 as still profitable to pay RM0.20 to get MAS shares above RM0.20.

topearn
post Mar 26 2014, 11:02 AM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Mar 26 2014, 10:48 AM)
What happen when MAS stock drop to 15 cent? Or drop to 5 cent?

Those who hold MAS shares will be crying all the way to the banks ! But it's still business as usual for MAS.

This post has been edited by topearn: Mar 26 2014, 11:04 AM
topearn
post Mar 26 2014, 11:19 AM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(arthurlwf @ Mar 26 2014, 11:06 AM)
Means stock means nothing to MAS company, is it?
Kinda wonder whether MAS can go bangkrupt.

Of course share price is very important to MAS also...at RM0.05, MAS will dropped its status from being a billion ringgit capitalization company to just millions; much much harder then to borrow money from the banks....also rights issues will need to be priced a lot lower; staff morale will definitely be affected when they see their MAS shares nose-drive.

But share price has nothing to do with cash in the MAS bank accounts. And off course fixed assets of MAS like thier building will not drop in value die to the share price drop.........so it's still business as usual for MAS.

topearn
post Mar 26 2014, 04:26 PM

3,459 posts

QUOTE(hey_there @ Mar 26 2014, 03:27 PM)
so it doesn't belong to them?

If U read thier latest annual report, if I'm not mistaken they have properties worth like over RM1 billion.

topearn
post Mar 27 2014, 01:49 PM

3,459 posts

Everyday drop 1/2 cent this week from 24 cents till 22 cents now.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0279sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:45 AM