Wizard Discussion, Come, all ye arcanists

Nels
post May 22 2012, 05:33 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

ehh actually my left and right click is pretty messy tongue.gif

*note i priotize damage over anything. >_< sometimes I go crazy as to only have 6k Max HP even solo-ing in inferno. But that also depends on how fast I can react to magic attacks from mobs. Sometimes mobs does this crazy magic instantly and by the moment you realised it you already on the floor. - so I always bring my vit pair Armor + pants which give me additional 10k hp or more i forgot biggrin.gif

my left would be FrostHydra and right click would be blizzard + unreletting storm (more damage for blizzard - my kind of thing!)

1 - Energy Armor + Energy Tap (extra 20 arcane is definite welcome to me)
2 - Familiar + Sparkflint (like i said I priotize damage)
3 - Magic Weapon + Force Weapon (damage damage damage!)
4 - Diamond Skin + Crystal Shell ( without this runes Diamond Skin is pointless to me in inferno )

Passive - Cold Blooded (Reason for my Frost Hydra), Galvanizing Ward (the regen is much welcome), Astral Presence (again AP is like Wizardy life.)

So yeah After I use blizzard (increase damage by 20%) I use Hydra (to damage them) I then repeat this steps. Whenever the mobs reaching closer, I activate Diamond skin and walk through them - in the middle of that I drop a blizzard again and recast Hydra if necessary then went behind them. I repeat this back and forth until the mobs are all cleared.

Of course the trick here is to never get hit at all. Since I only have 6k hp lol. Even if we do get hit a little, there's this awesome regen every wiz know.

I wanted to try Venom hydra next. It sounds cool since it does dps overtime. How big is the pool anyway?
Nels
post May 22 2012, 06:09 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(Szzz @ May 22 2012, 05:41 PM)
You should try Force Armor + Diamond Skin since your vit is so low, its really overpowered atm. With force armor, the maximum dmg you can receive from a single blow is 6000hp * 35% = 2100 HP. Thats good but here's the killer part; Diamond Skin only absorbs the damage AFTER the force amor reduces the damage. This means with Diamond Skin, you can take about 10 hits from mobs before Diamond Skin breaks.

10 free hits...thats really alot
Hey! Thanks for the note up! I didn't know Force Armor will reduce the damage first over Diamond Skin. This is cool rclxm9.gif

eh How did you manage to DPS with Disintegrate while slowing them with blizz and using Hydra at the same time? Wouldn't that overkill usage of AP?

I did use Disintegrate as my main last time but it consume to much AP for of course a crazy amount of damage. But in a long run, it gives me trouble. sad.gif

Also my reason for not using Glass (even though aim is damage) because of the decrease in armor and resistance. (i know i have sucky hp and it don't really help to have extra armor and resistance) but there is no point for me to use Energy Armor to increase my resistance and armor but my passive end up decreasing it. But yes the extra damage is very nice still.

Also cooldown don't really that matters anymore to me because Blizzard + Hydra has no CD at all - plus they slow and give me enough time to wait for Diamond Skin to finish CD.

But if your option to go for party overall your build is better because of the CD and extra damage. I will opt for your build over mine in party hehe.
Nels
post May 23 2012, 03:51 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

shojikun, what level are you? I might have some weapon to spare.

Guys what is your total damage in inferno? I find it hard still to kill those monkeys with 15.4k damage.

I can't find any good source so still stick with 2 handed. In away its better since my AP consume is not so hardcore.
Nels
post May 23 2012, 04:55 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

im bored. anyone wants me to hunt weapon for them just state how much DPS 1 hand or 2 hand in here or pm me.
Nels
post May 23 2012, 05:15 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ May 23 2012, 05:05 PM)
any nice weapon that's around level57? my weapon doing 300dps nia

wakakka
2handed or 1?

i mostly got 2handed for higher dps

lol..played in nightmare suddenly got legendary .___. sadding. why must u drop in nightmare.

Nels
post May 23 2012, 07:45 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ May 23 2012, 06:02 PM)
After magic weapon I sit on about 19-20k dps on inventory view.

Normal mobs are fine, champion packs and elites depend on their skill.

And getting sick of Blizz, they're planning on "hotfixes" to nerf/remove skills they consider overpowered, so things are rather uncertain. Meh
eh mist your weapon 2handed or 1? if 1 what source are u using? sad.gif

How come chances on getting critical hit = increase your base damage?

Added on May 23, 2012, 7:57 pmthis is shiat. why is Energy Armor + Force Armor being nerf????????

This post has been edited by Nels: May 23 2012, 07:57 PM
Nels
post May 23 2012, 08:12 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

this is fukin shyt. Force armor now is totally worthless. and the skill description is still the same. + diamond skin is messed up. WTF IS BLIZZARD DOING? dafuq with this kind of patch. no changelog also. Now my wizard is so messed up i can't do anything even with 30k health I get 1 hit k.o.
Nels
post May 23 2012, 08:52 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

nah i knw how to get it work already.

u need around 200-300 resist. with FA activate it works again.

well thats for me. cuz i was doing Leoric until the server restart I keep dieing 1 hit k.o from him no matter what build I use with FA on or off with 30k health or what still die.

Until I up my resistance.

Now I'm back to normal. gee. haih..
Nels
post May 23 2012, 11:36 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

best way to try it its to fight boss.

I keep trying fighting leoric until he has to hit 4 times to kill me.

FA still works. U need a certain resist or health to activate it.
Nels
post May 24 2012, 11:15 AM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(JAYworm @ May 24 2012, 04:51 AM)
Glass cannon and magic weopon?
225 dps weopon is not bad but u still able to look for better 1.
And your str and dex looks alot hmm.gif , mine only 100+. Or u can choose those with attack speed increase equipment.
INT does increases damage but item that Add 'Damage' are better. Eg: Ring, Amulet, Source or Weapon. Mainly Weapon + Source is sufficient to boost your damage.

Also, Your weapon seems weak. Look for a better DPS weapon in Auction House.

Added on May 24, 2012, 11:17 am
QUOTE(joeong @ May 24 2012, 10:37 AM)
that means the new force armor can tank 1 hit?
old one can take 4 hits? correct? haha still too low lvl to test myself damn.
We can still take 4 Hits if you have decent armor + vit.

This post has been edited by Nels: May 24 2012, 11:17 AM
Nels
post May 24 2012, 01:04 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(chitchat @ May 24 2012, 11:51 AM)
At which level ? Hell ? Inferno ? i used to think so too but now i change from +dmg (ring, amulet) to INT. Those +dmg (ring, amulet) i found at most +7-12 dmg+socket but i am now using 90 INT+50 VIT ring, 140 INT+70 VIT amulet (can get below 20k at AH) which give better dmg wor.

Added on May 24, 2012, 11:51 am
Try to look at Auction house for item that gives High DPS, + Damage (does not matter fire, electric or anything as long it adds damage) & Give additional int (prefer 100+ ints)

Yes INT is equally important but at max level you need to give priority to other stats as well such as Vit, Resistance or Armor. So pump your damage now, so that when you decrease your INT to sacrifice it for other stats it does not entirely reduce your damage.
Nels
post May 24 2012, 02:25 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(chitchat @ May 24 2012, 02:10 PM)
shocking.gif 170k dmg everybody will be one shotted, only char with high evasive stand a chance. So after the latest nerf still got ppl can clear Inferno ?
Wizard is still cool in inferno. Do take note INT give out resist. Force Armor is not the only rune for Energy Armor. We still have Prismatic Armor.

Also, Energy Armor gives ou 65% increase in armor, Prismatic Armor gives out 40% increase in Resistance, Blur reduce 30% melee damage. Not included Diamond Skin + Crystal Shell another 21707 HP shield for you.
Nels
post May 24 2012, 03:40 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(gbwedward @ May 24 2012, 03:23 PM)
oh? blur has increased melee dmg reduction in inferno mode?
ah my bad its a typo. its 20% melee dmg reduction.
Nels
post May 24 2012, 10:40 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

How much is Fiery Brimstone? (crafting material for legendary item)

This post has been edited by Nels: May 24 2012, 11:04 PM
Nels
post May 25 2012, 05:28 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

erk the perma frost still working. been using it fer hours.
Nels
post May 25 2012, 05:49 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ May 25 2012, 05:37 PM)
It's upcoming fix. Once they nerf it, they will update nerf list

I geevup, invest gear one place nerf. Invest next build nerf. Screw it >_<
nah i didnt spend a gold on this build. i already have it in the first place. Finally a way to make use of my legendary shield tongue.gif
Nels
post May 26 2012, 02:39 AM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ May 25 2012, 08:33 PM)
Good to hear =)

I didn't spend too much, but still did spend lol. Most in weapon, but I guess as long I don't use chanelling spells, added att spd won't hurt too much.

But yeah, I believe they just nerfed it. They had warning about server reset, suddenly it stopped and think it stopped working for me. So yeah.

What build you gonna go for now dude?
I don't know what build is viable now other then kitting and kitting...

I've tried Dodge build = phailed misereably. Tank build with resist over 500 hp 30k still pointless. Lightning build + paralysis + aspd = pointless.

Best build is still Vit + Resist + FA + Blizzard + Venom Hydra.

So to say I rest my Wizard starting today. Until I able to farm for a crazy set for my wiz or until blizzard is in good mood.

I'm going to make a Monk now.

So ya wizardy - annyeong!

Regards,
Nels
Nels
post May 26 2012, 03:21 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ May 26 2012, 10:43 AM)
those who complain that wizard cant play at all in hell/inferno must be those who r forever alone? if u have two more company you wont have problem playing!
Oh gee please. No one says that its not playable to play wizard in hell or inferno.

It is a waste of time to heavily kitting on every act just so you could clear Inferno. Plus, even if you do clear the inferno level what's next?

So yeah, the priotize here is to farm for good equips, sells it and = profit. There's no point in clearing inferno as a wizard now (now that its very heavily depending on kitting) just to 'brag about it'.

If you're so keen on kitting, might as well use a Demon hunter, since they have double your damage, with huge critical rate + better at kitting then wizard.

Coming from a guy who play in a party of 4 from Normal to Inferno that consist of a full tank Barbarian, a support monk, a carry demon hunter and full spec wizard.

QUOTE(Y.K. @ May 26 2012, 11:42 AM)
sigh i cant solo inferno after the wiz nerf cry.gif

any wiz able to do solo inferno butcher or later act? please share your build and your stats, need advices now sad.gif
Practise your kitting. The key to playing Wizard in inferno is to never get a hit. Or, you could try going for VIT+Regeneration+INT build. This is better.

Also for me I no longer priotize Force Armor after the nerf. I would prefer to go for Prismatic as it give good bonuses especially it goes well with your High vit + armor.

QUOTE(Szzz @ May 26 2012, 06:34 AM)
i really don't know either...was playing with 10-12k hp with 1.1k hp regen per sec in Act 2...hard but at least I can make progress

up till Act 3...everything 1 hit me here 4k armor/200+ resist to all/28k hp
what build i play aso die in Act 3
You need damage for Hell Act 3 my friend. What level are you? You can easily get 500 dps weapon at level 57+ or 800-1200dps weapon at level 60.

Just one arcane orb able to obliterate all the mobs. Even gold will die if you just use Diamond Armor (go for the first rune) and use arcane + signature constantly or just normal attack.

------------------------------------------------------

So yeh just saying that..if your priotise is getting items over completing Inferno, put your wizard to rest now. That just me. But if you still want to go on and Solo wizard in inferno, go ahead. Its playable and it is definitely possible. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Nels: May 26 2012, 03:28 PM
Nels
post May 29 2012, 07:25 PM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ May 29 2012, 07:09 PM)
I found a 600+ dps blue for lvl 47 smile.gif

-13 level requirement FTW!
That's really a very good find biggrin.gif 2handed?
Nels
post May 30 2012, 01:12 AM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ May 29 2012, 07:41 PM)
Nels what weapon you on currently?
My monk still at lvl 58. sad.gif haven't farm for wizzardy item yet (:

But currently I'm using a 1 handed with 700 dps + a shield. (awesome legendary shield tongue.gif)

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0483sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:30 PM