4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Monk Discussion, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

evofantasy
post Jun 4 2012, 03:01 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jun 4 2012, 02:36 PM)
i tried solo.. .. act 1 from... khanz staff .. until .... butcher..
die few times  ... skip one of the elite.. i think.. one of the elite with immune ability... ... kenot tahan  sad.gif
the rest manageable.. butcher 3rd try only win with proper buff and skill ..

i tried coop.... i need a barbi war cry buff and stun skill and some dps-er (HD/ Wiz) to deal massive damage.. and change my skill to full tank mode (also with dual-wield..)...only can tank and survive..
for act1 i go all dual wield dps and it is pretty much easy...
butcher can die within 30sec usually lol...

the thing which made dual wield possible in act1 is life on hit...

Added on June 4, 2012, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jun 4 2012, 03:01 PM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif can explain more on this?
cause ur damage alternate between ur MH and OH if u dual wield...
thus if ur OH is bad, half of ur damage is from ur OH damage which is well bad...
for me, i dual wield jz for the increased life on hit...
my dps spec only have 20k hp but i have around 900 life on hit thus i can survive lolx

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 4 2012, 03:02 PM
evofantasy
post Jun 5 2012, 12:26 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 5 2012, 12:19 AM)
over 1.2k all resists. still get my ass handed to me. need to deal with dex/armor/vit too sad.gif
how much is ur life on hit?
evofantasy
post Jun 5 2012, 12:08 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 5 2012, 12:36 AM)
500-600. see, life on hit is not a prob. i play on 4peeps coop. assholes hit for over 20k. act 3 bastards hit for 50-80k, with my stats (6k armor, 1.2k all resist)
the dmg scaling in coop really needs to get looked at. :/

we had to corpse flopped to skip a invulnerable extra fast minion elite sand golem pack while doing ******* kulle quest. they hit for 20k per, and lol invulnerable, and theres 4 of them, 4x20k = hahahahaa (i got 40k hp)

ironically kulle's golem adds, are WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY bigger than those normal golems. and guess what, they hit for like... 2k? whats with the glaring 2k vs 20k difference? not to mention the sizes are totally not appropriate at all! sad.gif

and belial, lol i just tanked it.... 10-20k dmg per hit, but he hits SOOOOOOOOOOOO slow, life on hit/MOH healing and the occasional health globes maxed me up before his next hit. lawl!
i cant tank his aoe spam thingy (the one where he plunge both his hands underground and spam the map with explosions)

took like 2-3 in a row and had like 5-10% or less hp, almost dead, i spammed cooldowns like serenity/breath/moh activation/blind LAWL full HP
then i start to move on the subsequent explosion spams XD
4ppl would need the ~30% block (the more the better from the legendary shield, ring and helm) with around 3k block damage and some melee reduction (like the 20% from melee legendary belt which i just gotten 2 days back and is totally awesome)... u can get another 50% armor from keen reach's rune as well... so i guess those wit life on hit really helps a lot...
evofantasy
post Jun 7 2012, 05:38 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 7 2012, 05:20 PM)
if you click on it you will crash your d3

Added on June 7, 2012, 5:21 pm

belial hits like a ***** compared to some of those rare/elites out there.
i tanked inferno belial with 24k hp back then...
when i go act3, i get WTFBBQraped within 3 sec by the fireballs lolx...
elite/ champion packs > bosses in D3
evofantasy
post Jun 9 2012, 04:23 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

i killed butcher with only 12k damage O.o
then again, i am using dps based skills and he jz burn down so fast...
now with 14k damage, he melts in 15-25sec lolx
evofantasy
post Jun 9 2012, 09:58 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

get around 500-600 life on hit and more atk speed
evofantasy
post Jun 10 2012, 08:48 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 10 2012, 07:17 PM)
You guys currently "stuck" on Act1 Inferno, where do you farm? Tired of doing Butcher runs for crap gear and very little money.
act2 magda runs (and all the ones b4 tat)
evofantasy
post Jun 11 2012, 12:18 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 10 2012, 10:53 PM)
resist makes a HUGE difference in act 2. what i found was that with high dps and low resist, you died to elites SO fast that your higher dps doesn't matter. Ideally I would maintain high dps and pump resist, but I don't have the money, so I pumped resist by sacrificing dps. Yes, I still take long to kill things, but 12k dps isn't too bad when you have constant +15% from the heal rune.
i balance my resist armor and dodge and it work wonder for act 2...
with the 50% armor from deadly reach, u can really tank for a long time without dying...
of course u need life on hit with decent atk speed to stabilize ur hp...

Added on June 11, 2012, 12:19 am
QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Jun 10 2012, 11:35 PM)
trying to follow like you pumping into resist but then no dps and current dps with 615dmg item only 12k dps. but resist 200.. not enough and hp 30k T____T

12k dps also i don't mind. as long as i can tank.. but in act 2 cannot wasp i can survive but cannot if too much come and atk me. :|

pump into critical also good! can hit up to 40k dmg.
i am doing act2 with 1k resist and 30k hp >.<
200 resist is way tooo little...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 11 2012, 12:19 AM
evofantasy
post Jun 11 2012, 12:39 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 11 2012, 12:25 AM)
that's what i'm stuck at right now. have only 400k on hand but that doesn't seem anywhere near enough for a decent life on hit weap. i'm looking at AH and it seems if I want a >400 LOH >600 dps +atkspeed weap I'm looking at closer to a million gold.

wondering if I should just buy a cheaper one for 400k without the +attackspeed so i can sort of more efficiently farm act2 instead of act1 butcher rinse repeat x 1000
what i did was buying a fast type of weapon (dagger/ fist) with atk speed stat and a gem slot since u can craft 300 life on hit gem without any recipe early on...
damage doesnt matter much early on...
300 life on hit is more than enuff to last u early on imho (i did act2 inferno finish with that only lolx)...

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:26 AM)
@deodorant, clerickilla, evofantasy

may i know what are you guys priority when looking for armor set?
1) dex
2) specific element resistance (and then use passive skill to boost other element)
3) vit

or resist 1st, dex 2nd, vit 3rd?

please share your build.. thumbup.gif
i usually see which piece...
helm = physical resist, all resist, dex, slot (for % life), armor
bracer/ chest/ pants/ shoulder = p.resist, a.resist, dex, armor
glove = atk speed, p.resist, a.resist, dex, armor
amulet/ ring = armor (as a bonus since those doesnt have it usually), atk speed, life on hit, p.resist, a.resist, dex

^ vit is a bonus, not a must. i stack physical resist for one with nothing together with all resist. u can replace physical resist with something else

Added on June 11, 2012, 12:41 amhttp://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/monk#bYXgjh!ZXU!ZYcaca

^ my defensive tanking build... my offensive one is a big different lol

Added on June 11, 2012, 12:43 amand for shield, look for high block chance... if then u can use legendary items with block chance like the helm 7% and ring u can use justice lantern...

string of ears is a very good belt with up to 20% melee damage reduction =)

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 11 2012, 12:43 AM
evofantasy
post Jun 11 2012, 01:01 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

if u are farming so much, u would have gem overflow like me lol... in the end it is jz 500k to craft it i guess... still cheaper than those overpriced weapons and reusable for new weapon upgrades =)
evofantasy
post Jun 11 2012, 12:29 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2012, 09:03 AM)
why?

act 1-2 shares the same loot table/maximum ilevel, might as well run for easier/faster butcher

Added on June 11, 2012, 9:05 am

im selling off my previous tanking LOH weapon which is 34x something, however dps is under 400 so... yeah tanking
bored of act1 runs...
it is more challenging and fun...

act1 warden + butcher 5stack runs would take me 15-20minutes compared to act2 runs around 30-45min but something different i guess
evofantasy
post Jun 11 2012, 01:54 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2012, 12:55 PM)
IINM its fixed on 1.03 ma, cuz act 2 is so full of shit atm lol.
yup, nt fixed here yet but am having fun in act2 rather than mindless facerolling through act 1...
good practice in kiting for ponyland as well...
evofantasy
post Jun 11 2012, 02:16 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2012, 02:06 PM)
until they feel like changing tracking maces, and kiting wasps/lacunis, or lol golems with invuln, id pass on the frustrations biggrin.gif

Added on June 11, 2012, 2:06 pm

all defensive skills 1 mantra, stack heavy resistances etc
the earth ally actually do a great job tanking the stupid wasp lolx...
like u, my problem is with invulnerable since it negate all my life on hit (dun get me started with invulnerable !@$%^!%$*&% minions) but other than that, i can shutter step anything wit deadly reach...

Added on June 11, 2012, 2:18 pm
QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Jun 11 2012, 01:55 PM)
hi, wondering how u guys survive in inferno act 2? my friend's monk keep die. which skill u guys use to survive?
balance of armor, resist and dodge and of course defensive spec...
i am able to dual wield act2 so shield is nt a must but i rather use a magic find + gold find shield lolx

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 11 2012, 02:18 PM
evofantasy
post Jun 11 2012, 05:59 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2012, 05:53 PM)
-45% dmg from monsters while i coop, that alone is more than enough for me to push through act3 inferno lol
it is already hotfixed la...
8th june onwards no more 45% bonus to mobs anymore =)
evofantasy
post Jun 11 2012, 06:36 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2012, 06:17 PM)
so whats the math/basis on picking submission instead of overawe for mantra of conviction?
i use overawe cause i am on faster weapon -> lower top end damage (wow concept) -> overawe is better
besides, overawe works better with follower/ party and ally
evofantasy
post Jun 11 2012, 06:59 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2012, 06:44 PM)
and wouldnt overawe works for higher top end dmg? (eg: 2handers)

eg: 3sec activation for 48% dmg and then drop a nice spirit spender like 7SS/WoL?
ya overawe work for both high and low end...
for the same dps, faster atk speed means lower top end damage...
thus for us going for 2 atk per second with life on hit setup, we'll have faster atk speed thus lower top end damage which make it bad for submission...
evofantasy
post Jun 12 2012, 10:38 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

i cant help feeling u guys invested too much on vitality rather than mitigation stat...
i am only at 38k hp fully buffed with earth ally's 10% but have 1.2k resist, 50+ dodge, 30+ block and 10k armor...
managed to tank 2 blue, 1 gold in act2 with another barb last nite (stupid timed quest) without dying...
wit mitigation, it is so much easier to heal up since heals dun really scale for monks compared to barb...
evofantasy
post Jun 12 2012, 10:58 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jun 12 2012, 10:45 AM)
scary resist and armor.  sweat.gif using Keen Eye?

i complete act 1 inferno with 21k HP.
yeah, with keen eye it is around 11k armor...
keen eye buff only work on the base armor value...

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 12 2012, 10:46 AM)
it is called effective health folks. do read up the thread/post by another member that linked to bnet on the formulas/calculations/explanations.

regardless of monk's healing scaling, the same applies to barbarians too as they cannot go immune like monks and their ignore pain/avatar etc are on cooldowns in which, unless you tend to run around useless while waiting for cooldown, you need to be able to have mitigation smile.gif

also, health potions are static values.
yup, for me vit is an extra bonus...
i'll always pick the other stats over it for that reason...

for barb, vit gives them armor as well unlike us...

of course for my build, having invulnerability mob is annoying as well up to the point i jz aggro move mobs to get LoH heals lolx

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jun 12 2012, 10:49 AM)
So you meant that we don't need 50k health and high dmg? Yes I know that to survive better we need high resistant but 1.2k resist  shocking.gif
my act1 farming is 20k hp only but my spec is geared towards damage (using loads of MF/ GF gears thus lower damage)

Added on June 12, 2012, 11:04 am
QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jun 12 2012, 10:55 AM)
ya.. with high resist.. really helps... plygin with my fren with war cry buff.. really helps alot.....
with war cry buff.. i can win elite 2 v 1 ... the war cry buff makes my resist to 1.1k...
without... i cant.. sad.gif

maybe I shall use MOH + buff resist?  hmm.gif
i am using the dodge mantra + armor rune...
armor is a good mitigation stat still even with diminishing return and with high life on hit, u dun really require the heal per second from MoH as opposed to dodge (since u can dodge n block everything in the game for whatever reason)...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: Jun 12 2012, 11:04 AM
evofantasy
post Jun 12 2012, 11:14 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 12 2012, 11:05 AM)
variables:
mob dmg is 50k
your hp 50k
5k armor + 1k resist = 50% reduction (may not be exact value, this is just an example)
potion heals 25k

scenario:
without armor and resist, mob hits you = dead

with armor and 1k resist, you take 25k dmg, requiring 2 hits to kill you.

from there, your effective health is theoretically 100k (as 2x 50k dmg is needed to kill you)
and your potions that heals you for 25k is effectively theoretically doubled. (allowing you to take 1 more hit from the same mob instead of not having a chance to even use potion being 1 shotted from full hp)

now, what if your armor + resistance is doubled and it reduces 75% dmg? (again, fictional exemplary values)
you may think that due to diminished returns it is not worth it, however it still is (refer that previous post for the complex number/graph)

mob dmg is now 12.5k, requiring 4 hits to kill you.
your potion is now capable of extending 2 additional hits from the same mob, as opposed to just 1 more hit.

so remember folks, plain vit with shit mitigation = bad
all mitigation but having no vit is also bad as you cant have enough hp buffer to deal with crits or big hits from certain monster/elites/bosses where your mitigation is just not enough smile.gif

Added on June 12, 2012, 11:06 am
yeah i am using it because with LOH + basic regen and that, i can last really long smile.gif

+ my allies (again, i always coop) can top their hp easily especially when theres stray lightning enchanted/mortars around and their potion's on cooldown.

Added on June 12, 2012, 11:08 am

never worked on flies missiles despite around 60% dodge. block not sure though as i die before ever able to block before
hmmm it work for me kinda well and i spam it as a CD every 3 sec so tat my barb friend dodges more as well

QUOTE(Wazzzap @ Jun 12 2012, 11:08 AM)
how do you get high resist and vit dex at the same time? if u forego ur vit how to get so high hp?
38k hp fully buffed is really little actually...
my wizard fren got as much hp as me >.<
evofantasy
post Jun 12 2012, 11:25 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jun 12 2012, 11:19 AM)
They need high HP cos they got overall low resistant. Monk got damage reduction and evasion making us able to sustain longer. Just like what Quazacolt mentioned, we only need health to sustain 2-3 more hit. U ask those wizard can they? I believe most are 1hit KO.

Added on June 12, 2012, 11:20 amNot like we are gonna stand infront those bosses and yell at them: "you are the boss and I am the boss" to do 1on1 fist exchange.

Smart move. hit, avoid hit, run around, hit again, heal.
actually they do have high resist as 10int = 1resist all...
that with the force armor or something which they have helps a lot...
so they can actually sustain better than those DH (my DH fren get 1 shotted by almsot everything despite his insanely high damage lolx)...
besides, reflect damage elites are a troll to these dps classes lolx...

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0379sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:35 PM