5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

deodorant
post Jun 7 2012, 12:45 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Jun 6 2012, 11:41 PM)
seriously guys, monks got plenty of dmg reduction skill. even my monk wearing dumb gears can solo pretty well in act I inferno

go to act ii then come back and tell us whether you would like to change your statement on inferno survivability.

in any case patch 1.03 they're reducing act ii incoming damage ... time to do a monk dance
deodorant
post Jun 7 2012, 09:51 AM

5,691 posts

Oo just noticed that gems are available on AH now.

flawless square ~1.5k
perfect square ~35-38k lawl
deodorant
post Jun 7 2012, 11:14 AM

5,691 posts

Aesthetic, huh. So no "OK this fire weapon will do less damage against blazing ghouls"?

6) WHY U DESECRATOR JAILER MORTAR?? WHYYYY?!
Because we love you.

lol
deodorant
post Jun 7 2012, 11:38 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(3ternal @ Jun 7 2012, 11:37 AM)
Then all other element damage are worthless except for cold damage?

not worthless. my fire axe leaves behind a very nice looking fiery trail when I run thumbup.gif
deodorant
post Jun 7 2012, 04:56 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 7 2012, 04:38 PM)
please dont bother posting link hacks  doh.gif

cheh, fake one ah that link? doh.gif
deodorant
post Jun 8 2012, 11:15 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(kewo @ Jun 8 2012, 10:50 AM)
I know my resist is low, but even fighting a simple Skeleton Elite in act 1 with the properties "mortar, jailer, extra health, fast" which should be simple for a melee, I still cannot tahan. Any advice from the sifus here?

Bump resist.

Anyways ... I spent a bit of time farming Act I butcher, got some drops, bought some stuff off AH. ~6k armor (67% DR), ~600 resist (67% DR).

The more "beefy" white mobs whack me for 12k:

The stupid flies, even though on my screen I've clearly side-stepped their mini-flies, but I guess due to lag I still eat the full barrage for ~4.5k each

First Elite pack, these lacuni things, hit me FAST for 8k-9k, plus ~1.5k from their lightning shield.

I mean, are you kidding me? Solo Act2 inferno 600 resist not enough to stand more than a couple seconds?

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jun 8 2012, 11:15 AM
deodorant
post Jun 8 2012, 11:30 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Jun 8 2012, 11:23 AM)
Deo,
That's why they are nerfing it.

Have to wait for 1.03 though sad.gif

I mean I go to the D3 official forums and I see people posting things like "oh no worries I'm not godly geared, here's how I cleared act 2"

like this: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5578597076

And then they say "As you can see I'm certainly not geared godly or anything. I spent around 8mil to get my gear."

wtf, I have to farm close to 10mil in Hell or Inferno Act 1 before I can go to Act 2?

Just wondering how this passed bliz internal tests (without AH, no less). My gear all in is probably worth like ~1million LOL
deodorant
post Jun 9 2012, 12:47 PM

5,691 posts

"I actually spent some extra time the other day to make sure if a Sand Wasp runs away from you, and you start chasing the wasp, it doesn't turn and shoot 4 bees in your face"
^
THIS. I swear even when I clearly sidestep the 4 bees, they still somehow hit me (latency, maybe).

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 9 2012, 03:47 AM)
~15k dps to kill butcher.

I currently farm butcher with 10k dps lol. Probably cos I sacrificed all my damage for mad (relative to act 1) resists.
deodorant
post Jun 9 2012, 05:01 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(anechoic @ Jun 9 2012, 04:43 PM)
19k health but only almost 1.5k DPS.. resistance below 100. I guess need to pump resistance and DPS for Hell??

No need to really worry that much. Until the end of Hell just need to regularly refresh your weapon.
deodorant
post Jun 9 2012, 10:20 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Jun 9 2012, 10:15 PM)
how many % of lifesteal should i look for in a weapon in order to get 500-600 life on hit?

don't go for %'age lifesteal. there was a video on youtube showing that the % lifesteal amount is nerfed to 10% or something ridiculously low in inferno. get "Life On Hit" items.
deodorant
post Jun 10 2012, 12:05 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ Jun 9 2012, 10:51 PM)
hmph when u filter lifesteal as one of ur attributes when searching for weapons, didnt it turn out to be ie 2.8% damage dealt is converted to life? is this considered as life on hit also?

no. life on hit is life on hit.

deodorant
post Jun 10 2012, 07:17 PM

5,691 posts

You guys currently "stuck" on Act1 Inferno, where do you farm? Tired of doing Butcher runs for crap gear and very little money.
deodorant
post Jun 10 2012, 09:53 PM

5,691 posts

Wewt got past Magda so far. You might notice only 3stack Valor for this kill, actually would be 5 stack but I had to quit halfway for dinner. I think I can kill about 3/5 packs fairly comfortably, 1/5 pack with a few death, 1/5 pack I see the combo and think "f*ck it," drag it to somewhere out of the way and skip.

Personally I think my main glaring gear hole now is life on hit and/or attack speed. Only got 300k though and this is sort of "the best" I can get. Worth it? Not worth it? Should I just farm Magda and/or Butcher until I have more money?

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jun 10 2012, 09:54 PM
deodorant
post Jun 10 2012, 10:31 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:23 PM)
@deodorant: what is your current dps, armor and hp?

~35k hp, ~12k dps, ~6k armor (before enchantress/mantra), ~600 resist.
deodorant
post Jun 10 2012, 10:53 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:44 PM)
so high compared mine.. sweat.gif vit dex build?

resist makes a HUGE difference in act 2. what i found was that with high dps and low resist, you died to elites SO fast that your higher dps doesn't matter. Ideally I would maintain high dps and pump resist, but I don't have the money, so I pumped resist by sacrificing dps. Yes, I still take long to kill things, but 12k dps isn't too bad when you have constant +15% from the heal rune.
deodorant
post Jun 11 2012, 12:25 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 11 2012, 12:18 AM)
of course u need life on hit with decent atk speed to stabilize ur hp...

that's what i'm stuck at right now. have only 400k on hand but that doesn't seem anywhere near enough for a decent life on hit weap. i'm looking at AH and it seems if I want a >400 LOH >600 dps +atkspeed weap I'm looking at closer to a million gold.

wondering if I should just buy a cheaper one for 400k without the +attackspeed so i can sort of more efficiently farm act2 instead of act1 butcher rinse repeat x 1000
deodorant
post Jun 11 2012, 12:52 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Jun 11 2012, 12:39 AM)
what i did was buying a fast type of weapon (dagger/ fist) with atk speed stat and a gem slot since u can craft 300 life on hit gem without any recipe early on...

wah, expensive leh. in act1 the only gems that drop are flawless square (65 LoH). you're talking about needing 27 of these --> 9 perfect square (105 LoH, 270k crafting cost) --> 3 radiant square (190 LoH, 150k crafting cost) --> 1 star (300 LoH, 80k crafting cost). That means I need to farm 27 flawless square AND pay 500k in crafting costs, expensive leh!
deodorant
post Jun 11 2012, 10:14 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2012, 09:03 AM)
act 1-2 shares the same loot table/maximum ilevel, might as well run for easier/faster butcher

I did not know this. Screw Act2 then. 5 NV Butcher runs til I get something leet enough for mad gold on AH!

[edit] boss your info legit or not one. that bliz 1.03 write up they said currently act1 = ilvl61, act2 = ilvl62, act3-4 = ilvl63 ler

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jun 11 2012, 10:49 AM
deodorant
post Jun 11 2012, 01:08 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2012, 12:55 PM)
IINM its fixed on 1.03 ma, cuz act 2 is so full of shit atm lol.

what i remember from the 1.03 notes (can't check in office lol) was that after 1.03, even Act 1 will have a (reduced) chance of dropping ilvl63 items.

but right now it seems that act 2 drops ilvl 62 vs act 1 only ilvl 61 (according to that designer who wrote the 1.03 article). which is a bummer cos it is SO much harder to farm 5 NV magda in comparison with 5 NV butcher which i can almost do in my sleep.
deodorant
post Jun 11 2012, 01:30 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 11 2012, 01:00 PM)
very hard for monks to die

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jun 11 2012, 01:12 PM)
i hope they buff monk soon..
Below is my full build at lvl 45:

uh wait, are you level 45 or level 60 as what your signature says?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0565sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:05 AM