SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V14, Phone? Tablet? It's Note!!!

kurogane
post May 17 2012, 07:53 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ May 17 2012, 02:24 PM)
To all sifu......

Need some help here! While installing SuperCharger below error appear. Currently, i am running rooted ICS....

I have installed all needed like Script Manager and Busybox installer that running on 1.18.2. I follow all the instruction stated...

"Command:

'/mnt/sdcard/V6_SuperCharger_for_Android-update8_sh'

-------------

Out:

exec sh '/mnt/sdcard/V6_SuperCharger_for_Android-update8_sh'

V6_SuperCharger_for_Android-update8_sh'                    <

REMINDER: ONLY USE BUSYBOX v1.18.2 OR LOWER!!

/mnt/sdcard/V6_SuperCharger_for_Android-update8_sh[53]: can't create temporary file /sqlite_stmt_journals/mksh.ZQinN24427: No such file or directory

/proc//oom_adj: No such file or directory

/mnt/sdcard/V6_SuperCharger_for_Android-update8_sh[87]: syntax error: 'in^M' unexpected"
What is your kernel for LPY?

Added on May 17, 2012, 8:00 pmHmm... Taiwan/HK ICS upgrade for Note is out. Seems to be quite a big one too, even includes bootloaders.

Tempted to flash the modem to try tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kurogane: May 17 2012, 08:00 PM
kurogane
post May 17 2012, 08:57 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ May 17 2012, 08:52 PM)
do we really need Quad Core phone? Nokia boss says Quad Core is a waste...
Do we really need to answer this here? It's not even relevant.

Try creating thread at main forum instead.
kurogane
post May 18 2012, 08:33 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ May 18 2012, 08:21 PM)
bros, out topic abit, i bought sum stuffs over ebay(new battery and external charger for note), from korea, then according to the tracking number, it says handed over to customs officer.

my question is, will i kena tax? the things only cost rm 130

Arrival at inward office of exchange  MYKULA
09:36 18-May-2012 Handed over to Customs  MYKULA
Customs retention reason : Awaiting presentation to customs commissioner
Same thing happened to my Zenus casing which I bought off eBay seller. Still arrived in the end. Should be gettiing to you by next week if it's already here. I don't think small electronics stuff like that will kena tax anything.
kurogane
post May 18 2012, 09:21 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(shinzan @ May 18 2012, 09:13 PM)
Seems like after flashing LPF stock rom, my Note cannot detect my Unifi network...anyone got this problem ?
Taiwan ROM supporting different Wi-Fi channels. You may need to change it in your router. Channel 13 I believe.
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 01:28 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(Alx77 @ May 20 2012, 01:20 PM)
Im from LPY official rooted rom, I want to flash to  PARANOIDANDROID v0.1 anyone can pls guide me how? I dont really understand this:-

DON'T flash FROM ANY SAMSUNG ICS OR ROMS BASED ON SAMSUNG KERNELS (my CM9, AOSP, etc)
Flash any stock GB rom with odin / or any GB kernel, and reboot into recovery once again before flashing this
Install Rom: http://www.mediafire.com/?sq1j0j40f2m69az
Install HYBRID Gapps: http://tjohansson.is-a-geek.com/file...0511-fixed.zip
Wipe caches, factory reset is a must if you're coming from another rom than CM9
If your statusbar is gone after the first reboot: longpress Powerbutton > Toggle Statusbar
Reboot and edit your Apps Dpi under Settings/Paranoid Settings/P.A.D. Hold the powerbutton to see the new fullscreen-togglebutton
Pls learn the basics first by reading the first page of this thread.

---

One week after flashing LPY ROM, the battery life is still pretty atrocious if you don't take steps to counter it. I find that after charging, you must really reboot the device in full flight mode (no wifi, anything) in order to get the device to deep sleep properly.

Going to move to the Paranoid Android 0.1 build today. I've been waiting for this ROM for a while. Finally a compelling reason to use AOSP (hybrid tablet mode).

This post has been edited by kurogane: May 20 2012, 01:47 PM
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 02:41 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(shahiryusoff @ May 20 2012, 02:33 PM)
Guys, can this phone play .mkv files? Or is there any app that can play .mkv videos? Thanks.
You can play mkv files using MX Player. Highly recommended app.
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 03:24 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(mmw5610 @ May 20 2012, 03:23 PM)
i'm quite confuse right now.
so we shouldnt flash the german and taiwan stock rom cos it might brick our phone.

and other rom like tmt and ALba which based on the previous stock rom is safe?
The consensus is ALL Samsung-based ICS ROM's are not safe to flash.

AOSP ROM like Cyanagen is safe for now. You can read at this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1633943
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 03:41 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(antu_biskut @ May 20 2012, 03:27 PM)
the problem was not the rom..but the kernel..any CF-KERNEL BASE ON ICS was deem as "unsave"..
No difference in the end since you can't use GB Kernel on ICS ROM. Also it's not on CF-Root Kernels, there has been confirmed cases of stock kernel triggering the bug from Factory Reset within menu.

QUOTE(mmw5610 @ May 20 2012, 03:30 PM)
thank you for the answer to clear my doubts. and i wanna ask, can we just install the premium pack onto my stock gb rom to use it? or ics is required?

my current phone status :
2.3.6 gb rom with franco kernel.
I don't think so, I believe it requires ICS API calls or something.
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 07:23 PM

508 posts

Installed Paranoid Android 0.1 and quite liking it, although it's not as smooth as I would like.

Here's some comparison of apps I use on a daily basis on how much difference it is..

Better Battery Stats (213dpi)

Chrome Beta (220 dpi)

ES File Explorer (213 dpi)

ES Note Editor

landscape mode

Instagram (220dpi)

This post has been edited by kurogane: May 20 2012, 07:34 PM
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 07:35 PM

508 posts

More comparison

twicca (240 dpi)

typing in tweets with Go Keyboard (213dpi)

landscape mode

reddit is fun

at 320 dpi (default)

changed to 240 dpi

See how much more stuff I can actually read in lower DPI setting lol. But of course, sweet spot differs for everyone..

The beauty really is in how i can change each app's DPI setting to suit my liking so I can see more content or more accessible UI.

Going to keep with this ROM for the next week, see how the battery life is. Definitely loving P.A.D feature for sure.

EDIT: ORZ I forgot to deselect do not combine previous post lolol
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 08:28 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ May 20 2012, 08:27 PM)

Hmm, do you know how to remove the icon dock?
You mean the bottom app dock? I don't think you can remove it?
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 09:00 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ May 20 2012, 08:39 PM)
Hmm tempted on PAD...now downloading....wohoo....u guys poison really kuat
I'll warn you before hand, it requires a LOT of time to configure. I install like 3:30pm, only till 7:30pm I feel satisfied lol.

Also no Maps apk is included, have to go find yourself.
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 09:46 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(A.I @ May 20 2012, 09:19 PM)
Do you mean by setting up each app to the best DPI using PAD that consume alot of time?
Yeah, pretty much.

The easy way is to set the global DPI and let every non-system app use it though, so if you just want to run it pure tablet mode, just set to 192 or 240.
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 11:15 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(mr hellscream @ May 20 2012, 10:56 PM)
PAD is a really nice ROM, except for my problem with AOSP, missing CWM for no apparent reason. Everything else very good, I think it's smoother then CM9(my two cents tongue.gif )
What do you need CWM for?
kurogane
post May 20 2012, 11:48 PM

508 posts

QUOTE(linux_osx @ May 20 2012, 11:17 PM)
can i know how to install paranoid from ics stunner.need back to gb rom,or just use cwm with full wipe?
Go back to GB ROM first, reboot in to recovery, install from the zip file downloaded.
kurogane
post May 21 2012, 12:24 AM

508 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ May 20 2012, 11:49 PM)
Use abyss kernel to go back to GB rom?
I just flashed from PC Odin since that's the cleanest way.
kurogane
post May 21 2012, 12:34 AM

508 posts

QUOTE(kingvui78 @ May 21 2012, 12:27 AM)
who with paranoidandroid, can you please test the GPS connection, mine only can lock with two satellites, but with CM9 no GPS problems.
Maps works for me and detects my location.
kurogane
post May 21 2012, 01:00 AM

508 posts

QUOTE(linux_osx @ May 21 2012, 12:50 AM)
can i know.how to set wallpaper appear at my menu..just black only..
QUOTE(mr hellscream @ May 21 2012, 12:54 AM)
what ROM? AOSP? if AOSP can set wallpaper on menu or not? If TouchWiz just change normally I think
Press menu button on homescreen and choose Wallpaper option.

Alternatively, go to Settings -> Display and find the Homescreen wallpaper option (Stock ROM)
kurogane
post May 21 2012, 01:03 AM

508 posts

QUOTE(linux_osx @ May 21 2012, 01:02 AM)
paranoid..try to make wallpaper at menu.
Settings -> Interface|System -> Wallpaper.

That's the place to change your wallpaper.
kurogane
post May 21 2012, 01:12 AM

508 posts

QUOTE(linux_osx @ May 21 2012, 01:05 AM)
ya oledi change.but only appear at home screen.not at app menu..just black one at app menu
.... change launcher then. I don't think Trebuchet launcher support that feature.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0496sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:10 PM