7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

kejusan
post Aug 23 2012, 12:26 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(KLTEOH @ Aug 18 2012, 02:06 AM)
Just get my car, i observe in front brake is like "too more ketat" when every time push the brake to maximum and release it. it have sound come out.. do all of u have this problem during ur new car?? after back home, i look at the front rim. i fell front rim is hot but rear rim is like normal temp(cool). it mean my front brake system got problem?? pls share ur all exprience. just want to make sure is it normal or no.. thx.
Do you experience the 'too more ketat' thing while driving or while the engine turned off? If you experience it while driving, I suggest you get it checked.

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 20 2012, 09:19 PM)
3M quality not bad also, almost the same with V-Kool.
Just that the color not dark enough, thats why I didnt take that. If you don't really mind the darkness of the tinted. I would recommend to take 3M.
Light transmission of 3M -->> 70%
Light transmission of Huper Optic -->> 40%
I've heard that 3M doesn't come with tint+security film. You have to put another layer of security film after the tint film. Is it true?

QUOTE(net_mave @ Aug 22 2012, 04:18 PM)
I'm experiencing the rattling sound from right side of dashboard and front left window. The rattling is so noticeable and kind of annoying when I was cruising without the radio on normal federal road. Wondering if anyone is experiencing the same? Will complain to SC during my first inspection. Also, I must say the NASIM assembling work for 408 needs miles of improvement. I noticed that lots of flaws with the assembling work in and outside of the car. Will try to take some photo and post it here to share.

Added on August 22, 2012, 4:26 pmI noticed there are few complaints logged under http://www.facebook.com/peugeotmalaysia about 408 which pending for Peugeot's reply that we should be noticed of.
I've 'PM'ed on Peugeot's facebook with regards to rattling sound and they give me this email to lodge complain to ; clic@naza.com.my.

Please do share your observation with us. I also noticed that my 408 rear bumper is 'hanging' on the left, meaning that I could lift the bumper up and there're still room for it to move upwards around 3mm before it touches the rear brake light.
kejusan
post Aug 24 2012, 04:47 PM

15 posts

Bro Kenso has put up an article regarding the current hype on proposal to reduce car price.

http://www.kensomuse.com/reducing-the-pric...it-affects-us/#

For us Pug owners, we've bought our car not because resale value, so maybe this will not affect us much but in a bigger picture, the effect is quite huge, especially when 'The G' is trying to compensate their loss on car tax on other sector.
kejusan
post Aug 26 2012, 11:51 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 26 2012, 02:14 PM)
This is very general question and the answer has far fetching implications.   I know business implication are grave and immence. I believe the government of the day will come with a workable rescue plan. It may not be a 100% cure,I have no idea. Not to get too long winded,I'm going to keep the answer to how I will be affected.
Although I bought my car 2 months ago and reduced tax will drop valve of my car drastically, I'm for the move. Peugeot has never had good resale valve in Malaysia. All of us buy the car knowing this. We buy this car for it has to offer, not how much we can sell it for later. Unfortunately this move of reducing tax will further drop the valve of my car. I'm not going to drool over it but when the time come to sell,I'll write it off on the years of pleasure of ownership of a great car. 
On the positive side,due to reduced tax,my next ride will be a even greater one!
As for the proposal of reducing tax, yes I'm all for it!
I believe most of us all for the tax reduction, moreover us Pug owners hence my statement that it will not affect us much as we're not buying this car because of resale value. What I'm implying is even if it will be implemented in the near future, we may be imposed with another form of tax for the government to compensate with this income loss. Anyway, it should be discussed in another topic altogether, not here.

Also read the test drive review of the new Ford Focus here http://www.kensomuse.com/the-new-ford-focu...ied-and-tested/.

One of the car that falls under my radar is this Ford Focus but decided to go for 408 as I foresee that the price will not fall within my budget. The spec is impressive (especially on the safety features) but most of the goodies such as Active City Stop, Blind Spot Information System and most importantly for me, cruise control, is only available on Plus variant. Even some of the features which are available on 408 2.0 such as auto headlamp and wiper is not being made available on standard spec.

From the estimated selling price of this Focus, I would say I'm satisfied with my choice eventhough the design of this Focus makes me drool.gif

This post has been edited by kejusan: Aug 27 2012, 12:03 AM
kejusan
post Aug 27 2012, 12:17 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Aug 27 2012, 12:04 AM)
Back to topic then,

Is anyone had apply Sierraglow coating here?
How much and will it void the paint warranty?
I just had my car recently and I am not sure I should apply now or few years later.
I've applied Sierraglow on my ride and I've paid RM750 for it. Not sure about the warranty though. If you want to apply coating, you should do it on a new paint job or IMO it will defeat the purpose of doing a coating, which is to protect the paint. Within few years, scratch will surely appear (at least hairline scratches) and most importantly is the effect of oxidation on the paint.

From my limited observation, grey colored cars will not have much of the 'shiny' effect of this coating though but same level of protection of course.

This post has been edited by kejusan: Aug 27 2012, 12:18 AM
kejusan
post Aug 29 2012, 01:28 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 27 2012, 09:44 AM)
Guys correct me, Sierraglow is purely to retain that factory paintwork shine? Does it protect the paintwork from scratch?
Do they provide guarantee on shine retention period?
The scratch will be dependent on how you take care of your car (ie: use microfiber cloth to wash your car) and could be unavoidable sometimes. But Sierraglow have 5 years warranty against any oxidation on paintworks. So somehow, it should still have the shiny effect even after few years but I doubt it will be as equal as when you've bought it and I doubt that any coating product would warrant on something that's hard to gauge (ie: shine).

Anyway, I've known about the DIY coating but figure out that it would be simillar in cost and quality and with 5 years warranty, I take my chance with Sierraglow. But after reading about PERMANON, I think it's fairly cheap and seems easy to apply.
kejusan
post Aug 31 2012, 01:35 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 30 2012, 09:35 PM)
The points actually not much affected me. This is more to the fineness while assembling the car. They should giving more care on these tiny miny things~ The most attractive to me is the point number 3
I totally agree that the 6 speed gear is not SMART enough, it drag till around 2500rpm to change to the next gear. Its ridiculous it dragging the gear at 2200rpm while I am moving at a slow speed!! End up I was like the commenter changing the gear manually!
As for point no. 3, I didn't give much observation on at what rpm the low gear shift take place on my 4 speed 408 but if I'm on light footed mode, the gear change seems to occurs at lower rpm, not like when I rammed the pedal. The only thing I notice is it will be quite 'jerky' when gears are shift at lower gear when I'm in light footed mode. Is it because the adaptive gearbox has adapted my aggressive way of driving?

Anybody can elaborate more on 'BUMP STEER' as pointed out in point 5 of the thread?

Huh... following Hyundai Elantra footstep?
Normally by end of the years most of the car brands will give promo as people will wait for next year manufacturing date, no?
Elantra's price increased already? I thought it was just a sales gimmick.

This post has been edited by kejusan: Aug 31 2012, 01:38 AM
kejusan
post Aug 31 2012, 02:16 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 31 2012, 10:16 AM)
I'm actually quite surprised about your jerky gears. You did mention this earlier. By now the adaptive gearbox should have settled in to your style of driving. Mine a 6 spd,was not jerky from the start,but has now settled to my driving style with silky smoothness. To be frank, I really don't know when my gears are changing. I only realise gear change if I happen to notice the drop in RPM. However, your is not a serious problem. Might need a TCU remap. See the SC at your convenience.

BUMP STEER effect is simply the vibration and jerks you feel on the steering wheel when run over speed bumps. These speed bumps are usually laid continuously to slow down vehicles at accident prone areas. 

The vibrations and jerks appear more pronounced on the turbo models due to the sports tuned suspension.  I'm sure even the NA models will feel this,but being a softer suspension,it may not be as pronounced. The writer however suggests a defect in the manner the wheels are fitted on the 408s. Will be interesting to see if it is so!
Like I've mentioned before, the slight 'jerky' only happens during heavy traffic when I ramm the pedal slowly until it shift from 1st to 2nd gear, otherwise, if driven normally with not much obstruction on the road, the gear change would be smooth. Other 2.0 owners would like comment on this matter? icon_question.gif

Anyway, a friend of mine who owns a 1.8 FD1 Civic comments that the gear change on my 408 is smooth. It's somehow comforts me but will highlight this during my first service. I'll 'reset' the gear box and will observe the gear change from an unlearned gear box after that.

For the BUMP STEER, I didn't feel any vibrations on the steering.
kejusan
post Aug 31 2012, 06:35 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 31 2012, 05:48 PM)
If you don't feel any vibration running the speed bumps,then there may be something wrong with your car. Some of these speed bumps ( speed breakers ) are quite vicious. The intention is to force the driver to reduce speed.
What I mean is there're no vibration on the steering. For sure there's vibration on the car, that's the time when the annoying rattling sound is more obvious
kejusan
post Aug 31 2012, 07:42 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ken_twh @ Aug 31 2012, 06:48 PM)
well, just back from ford showroom after test drove again pug 408 1.6t.

ford are launching all new ford focus sport. and sport plus mid of sept.

with RM115888.00 for Ghia titanium and
      RM128888.00 for Ghia titanium plus

with so many features like ford always do.

but the SA claim that this 2.0L Petrol Direct Injection l4 DOHC 16v, FC can do somewhere 6.5L/100km 100% highway and mix 5050 about 7L/100km. cos it's direct injection.
but now i just noticed pug 408 1.6 thp also using direct injection what....

any comment on the handling wise?

Added on August 31, 2012, 6:55 pmbtw, i went to mazda showroom to see mazda 3 2.0 again.
oredi sien with the mazda interior which i feel not bad b4.
no offence to m3 fans. cos the judgement may vary for anyone.

beside that found that there's torque vectoring control in new focus.
do 408 have this feature? or it's similar to traction control?
They've already announce the selling price? And its very close to elantra's price. SD surely have a lot of confidence on elantra. If the price for titanium is 116k, it would be quite a hard decision for me to make between 408 2.0 or ghia titanium. But then, ghia titanium lacks some of the spec that's available in 408 2.0 and the good gadget is only available on plus spec. But then, the safety features is abundance on the focus and very much worth it IMHO.
kejusan
post Sep 2 2012, 09:41 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(ken_twh @ Sep 1 2012, 05:48 PM)
http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/news/nb_det...=RT.ATC.CAR.BTW

btw. my fren tell me 308 is still consider cbu france but 408 cbu china.

the SA sales talk 408 ckd gurun and import part from france is bull shit?
I'm sure it's CKD Gurun but most of the parts are made in China but some are from France (this I'm not exactly sure of).

Anyway, I've started admiring Ford right after I had my driving license as my mother was driving a Ford TX3. My admiration wasn't because I've driven it, but rather because I was forbidden to drive it, or any car at that time. I never exactly keep sight of Peugeot's car before this (apart of 407) but Ford Focus manage to make me drool everytime it came on sight (which is rare) though I've never driven any Ford. drool.gif

Also, could any 4-speeder 408 owner could comment on how the gearbox behave? I find mine quite smooth when normal pace is kept. But when traffic is heavy meaning that the transmisison has to be on 1st gear for quite some time, the shift from 1st to 2nd gear is not that smooth. Any 4-speeder out there experience this?
kejusan
post Sep 5 2012, 11:47 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Sep 3 2012, 04:56 PM)
You can sort out the problems anytime,don't have to wait for 1st inspection. Rattling on left rear door seems common,most of us had it. Got mine sorted out. Slight pull to the left is still there,even after SC visit.
May I know how do they resolve the rattling issue? I believe you've been to Seremban SC for the first inspection. During my first inspection, I've commented on the rattling issue and they just tightened the door trim. The rattling doesn't appear again after the inspection but only while I was speeding on the highway that I noticed it's still there.

Anyway, they didn't happen to ask you for the warranty cert during your first inspection?

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Sep 4 2012, 02:52 PM)
Normally i start my engine without waiting for the STOP light to turn off......and when i turn off the engine i did not off the aircond.....will it cause any problem?
My SA told me that it wouldn't be a problem but I've been driving cars with carburetor injection up until I've bought this 408, so its been a habbit for me to wait for few seconds (until the faint high pitch sound dissappear) before starting the engine. The manual also mention that the engine does not require 'pre-heating' by leaving it idle for few minutes before moving. You will burn unnecessary fuel if you do this.
kejusan
post Sep 7 2012, 10:01 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Sep 7 2012, 06:02 PM)
Really aah! I have been reading the manul upside down to auto connect Bluetooth,but no success. Finally asked my SA,he said no auto connect. This SA not the bullshit type,he's been honest and delivered on all his promise. After that I manual connect every time. A bit cumbersome,every start got to reconnect,especially when go out makan and then want to go elsewhere!
My blackberry connects itself to my 408 automatically whenever the Bluetooth is turned on. I think its more to the type and setting of the of the phone. BB will connects automatically with paired device in its list whenever discovered.
kejusan
post Sep 7 2012, 10:39 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Sep 7 2012, 10:34 PM)
just to verify, the long button at the end of the windows switches at driver's door is only to "lock" the windows, and is not child lock?
Its only for window lock. And it will only lock the rear windows, not the front windows.
kejusan
post Sep 7 2012, 10:49 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Sep 7 2012, 10:46 PM)
That is different from 308, where that button is actually child lock button.
Yes. Someone complained about this somewhere in this thread. It seems that 308, 407 & 508 have this function but in 408 the child lock is manual. For me it doesn't matter at all but to some, this is a major issue.
kejusan
post Sep 10 2012, 10:10 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(R-1 @ Sep 10 2012, 03:13 PM)
Hi everyone, I’m new here and hope to learn from all the otai2, taiko2 & abang2 long here.

Since my wife and I want to purchase spacious and comfortable car, we had ditched the ever popular new 9th Generation Honda Civic and bought Peugeot NA 2.0 blue colour instead one month ago. We also add leather seat cover for the comfort for our expecting baby by end of this month smile.gif . Here I want induct myself in the list below:

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody – black
6. R-1 - blue

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue
16. parasolx - black
17. mojonish - grey
18. jonathkhoo - grey
19.orangkpg - white
20. JessYeo - Silver
21. cityofdevils - Aster grey

The car now has run 1.2k km and currently anxious waiting for the next inspection at 2.5k km. Hope there would be no negative findings. So far the car is smooth and the grip in taking speedy cornering is good.

The only negative is the difficulty in connecting my iPhone to the car’s Bluetooth system. It’s always disconnect when trying to make a call out. I found out that my current iOS software version 5.1.1 has issues on connecting to car’s Bluetooth system. This is proven when my wife’s iPhone iOS software version 4.3.3 has no problem in calling out via the car’s Bluetooth system. Hope someone can help me to rectify this. Thanks in advance.
Glad to here another 2.0 is joining the list of which is dominated by the 'T' tongue.gif

Anyway, how do you find the 4 speed transmission so far? Is it always smooth when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear? Mine is also a 4 speeder 408 but I found it quite 'jerky' when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear if kept at low speed. Appreciate feedback from you since the other 4 speeder seems to be hiding or feeling somewhat insecure over the 'almighty' 408T tongue.gif

On the bluetooth connection, my Blackberry is working perfectly.

QUOTE(yhchai @ Sep 10 2012, 05:37 PM)
Just got an update from SC. Faulty manifold sensor. They need to order the parts which mean my lion will be hospitalized for few more days.
I've heard few feedbacks from owners and non-owners alike that Peugeot's sensors have high tendency to fail. Is it true? Some also advice me to keep a jumper cable ready as the battery is also prone to drain.
kejusan
post Sep 13 2012, 12:00 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Sep 12 2012, 11:28 PM)
I checked the details..i think it's not 1400kg...it's 1800kg. I hope I m wrong.
To put your mind at ease, go check out how much is Cruze's kerb weight.
kejusan
post Sep 17 2012, 10:09 PM

15 posts

Been experimenting driving between manual and auto for the past few days. The FC is significantly better when driving in manual and shifting gears before the 2.5k RPM. For example, I've managed to get 7.6l/100km when driving in manual mode from Serdang to Glenmarie (50% hway, 50% city) with a distance of 30km and average speed of 55km/h. When driven in auto, best FC observe is only 8.2l/100km, and that is on a very light right foot.

I also observe that there seems to be an 'intermediate' gear in-between the 1st and 2nd gear; once shifting from 1st to 2nd gear, the RPM will drop TWICE, but it's still at the 2nd gear, which seems like there's an intermediate gear. None of this has been observe when shifting at higher gears.

Also, on manual mode, shifting from 3rd to 4th gear below 2.5k RPM isn't smooth. Shifting it slightly above 2.5 is silky smooth. rclxms.gif
kejusan
post Sep 18 2012, 12:07 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(GenY@MY @ Sep 18 2012, 11:17 AM)

Here's the pic of my 408NA's speedometer at 190kph along PLUS highway a few days ago.
No issues in terms of stability but my balls did shrink a bit.

It's been a while since I did something crazy like this....pls do not compromise your safety in similar fashion.
I wouldn't attempt this a second time.
And you snap the picture while doing 190kph on Malaysian highway? shocking.gif
kejusan
post Sep 18 2012, 08:18 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(9368 @ Sep 18 2012, 07:01 PM)
i notice there are speed limit stated in the brochure. 1.6T is 215km/h and 2.0 is 195km/h. Does that mean the car cannot go more than that? anyone tested?
The speed is limited by the ECU. I believe it's adjustable. You just have to find the right person.

Personally, I've never exceed the 150kph mark (current or previous cars) and does not plan to do so.
kejusan
post Sep 19 2012, 09:47 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(wayne84 @ Sep 19 2012, 08:56 PM)
Drop by puchong Peugeot showroom near IOI with t-short pant...but get good service by the SA and keep asking me to test drive 408 2.0 and 1.6 Turbo...lolx...make me hard to make decision even bfore i test drive...nice car with nice price range...omgness

Btw, i m planning to get an elantra 2013..did anyone know that will there any facelift 408 comming 2013?
Not sure about the facelift, but are you sure you'll choose Elantra before test driving the 408? I'm trying not to be bias here but you should test drive the 408 before making your choice IMHO.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0542sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:18 AM