7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

kejusan
post Jun 26 2012, 12:38 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(chinana @ Jun 26 2012, 12:01 AM)
after reading most of the info and replys...

which should i choose? 1.6THP or 2.0NA?

after my test drive THP its impressed me on the power. that shows lots of difference between THP & NA.

guys... may i seek your reply in voting THP or NA?
On the other hand, is kenso's maintenance data referring to THP or NA?
Thanks for entertaining. tongue.gif Cheers!!
If you want to play safe (but lacking one safety feature; ESP), choose NA. If you're more on the 'wild' side, take THP (but be prepared with higher maintenance cost). If your concern if the leaking engine in THP, I believe they've resolved it but to be sure, better you do your research carefully. Maybe someone here might also shed some light on that issue..

Kenso maintenance's data should refer to THP. NA will be cheaper due to the NA engine and 4 gear transmisison.
kejusan
post Jun 26 2012, 10:13 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ Jun 26 2012, 09:56 PM)
Kevin, forgot to ask previously. The tail-light, I assume both sides are fully lighted right?

Not like HE, where the only the outer (larger side) of the tail-light is lighted, and the inner part is not?
Don't worry, its full taillight, unlike elantra.

Presenting...

However, I plug in my 20gb iRiver player but couldn't acess the music file. Does it need to be paired with hard disk ONLY and not music player with USB? Bluetooth pairing works fine.
kejusan
post Jun 27 2012, 08:31 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jun 26 2012, 10:13 PM)
Don't worry, its full taillight, unlike elantra.

Presenting...

However, I plug in my 20gb iRiver player but couldn't acess the music file. Does it need to be paired with hard disk ONLY and not music player with USB? Bluetooth pairing works fine.
Solved!! USB functioning properly when connected with hard disk or music player. rclxms.gif

Anyway, noticed that wiper rotate clockwise on the right and counter-clockwise on the left, thus no obstruction of view. And the rain sensor works perfectly.

My only complain for now is the jerking during gear switching. I believe it is due to its being a 4 gear transmission. But then I'm used to driving Vios and it seems bearable. Have to check the tyre pressure as now it feel stiff.

Overall thumbup.gif
kejusan
post Jun 27 2012, 10:49 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Jun 27 2012, 10:25 PM)
but even so, once in a blue moon, there will be shift shock. just don't be alarmed and post 'my car has a big problem' everywhere. it is completely normal. my 207 is about 1 and half years already. it runs super smooth but once in a while there will be sudden shocks to the transmission. just don't panic. it is normal. also, your right foot should not drive it like a japanese car. since it is adaptive, the transmission reacts differently to sudden jabs at the throttle, to how fast you lift off, to how fast you step on it and how deep in you step or how fast you step on it and release (to change up). discover it as you drive and you will soon drive it very smoothly. remember one thing. it is NOT a japanese car and the gear characteristics are a total change from what you find in japanese and korean brands. it is adaptive and different degrees of input have different reactions from the transmission. just keep that in mind and you'll be fine.
Care to elaborate more on 'should not drive it like a japanese car'? I'm a noob here.

Also, this is the first time owning a new car. Is it true that for the first 1000km there're few rule of thumb to be followed such as not to exceed certain speed or RPM, not to drive at certain speed for long duration etc? Or is it just applicable to older car and not the cars of today??

And for those who have collected their cars, can you guys confirm that they supplied one car key with remote and the other one is just key?
kejusan
post Jun 27 2012, 11:51 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Jun 27 2012, 11:00 PM)
in a japanese car it is simple... step on it, it drops one or two gears then accelerates. no brainer there. do this and you will get that sort of programming. in the peugeot, whether or not it downshifts depends on how fast you step on the accelerator. sometimes, faster steps on the accelerator does not guarantee a downshift. for me, i give it a quick step to about 3/4 throttle then lift off slightly to induce downshifts and if i want it to stay at low gear i modulate the accelerator and keep accelerating. in a japanese car, it will shift up once it reaches a certain speed or rpm. but you can prolong it in a peugeot in case u need to have an extra burst of acceleration while keeping it in lower gear. when the car has already downshifted and u need to slow down, lift off abruptly to keep it in low gear and then accelerate again to keep it running in low gear. lifting off gently will tell the car to shift to higher gear.

try it, everyone has their own styles with the transmission. the above is my style of playing with the al4 transmission. has worked on a 407 as well.

the car 'learns' your style... like a nicely trained puppy following the master's instructions. but you have to train it. also, since it is adaptive, it will take about 10 mins to learn your style. if you drive for power, the car will oblige with snappy downshifts and holding gears for a longer period. if your partner drives gently, the car will initially feel rough to her. but give it about 10 or 15 mins, then it will learn her style and when you drive it again, you need to drive it like you always do. initially it will be sluggish because your partner drove it gently but once it detects your driving pattern, it will readjust to your style as it already has the maps for you by then.

it is kinda hard to explain everything here. you just need to try it. BUT, it will still snap back at you with violent jerks once in a blue moon. it is called a shift shock. nothing to be alarmed at. perfectly normal for peugeot transmissions.

as for the first 1,000km, just follow what your owners manual tells you. please don't miss your 2,500km inspection (nothing is changed. just a technical check up and for you to feedback to the mechanics if you have any concerns) or you will have issues with warranty claims later on. as the service centres are always busy, make your service appointments at least 1,000km away.
Thanks for your info sifu!! notworthy.gif

I still couldn't find anything in the manual indicating the recommended driving style during the first 1000km.

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Jun 27 2012, 11:34 PM)
Mine is both remote with key.....never tried the spare key remote but logically should work cause it has the same buttons
Mine is one key with remote and one is key without remote. But SA claim that both come with electronics for immobilizer. Meaning if they duplicate the key, they could just open the door but not start the car. I've already asked SA during collection but he said that only one remote is given and apparently the DO indicate one remote and one key. So what should I do??? shocking.gif
kejusan
post Jun 28 2012, 05:13 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(din5353 @ Jun 28 2012, 04:29 PM)
1. kejusan  - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71.    - blue

Turbo
1.SKYjack - blue
2. sbd      -  blue
3. kevinboey -white
4. din5353 - black
Which category is yours?
Update the list.  smile.gif
2.0 is catching up with TURBO rclxms.gif
kejusan
post Jun 29 2012, 01:06 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(kevinboey86 @ Jun 28 2012, 10:43 PM)
So for those who got your car d can you check if the temperature is showing "--" or it can detect the temperature......Anyone tested with bluetooth yet and knows if the car can autoconnect with our phone ones we enter the car? Cause currently i need to connect to it manually each time i enter the car
Mine can detect the outside temperature with no problem.
I only turn on my bluetooth when needed. So when I want to pair the phone with the car, I just simply turn on my phone's bluetooth and it's connected since I've set 'Peugeot' as default device to connect to on my phone.
kejusan
post Jun 30 2012, 10:13 AM

15 posts

I think all are busy enjoying their ride now.

I would like to ask, how do we raise the wiper so that it won't be in contact with the windscreen? It seems that the hood is blocking the wiper if we don't want the wiper to be in contact with the windscreen.

Please also share your fuel consumption. Mine indicate 9.2 km/l, 50% town, 50 highway.
kejusan
post Jul 1 2012, 08:46 PM

15 posts

Anyone realized that the rear bonnet require extra force to close it? Or is it just mine??
kejusan
post Jul 2 2012, 11:04 PM

15 posts

Went back to my hometown in JB during the weekend with my new 408NA. Since I'm quite worried with the break-in period, I keep the RPM below 3k and speed below 100km/h throughout my journey. Every half an hour, I will slow down to 70 - 90 km/h, so not to stress the engine under constant speed for too long. FYI, the mileage before I start the journey was 100++. No findings were made during the journey to JB, just that I noticed that there's a slight pull to the right on the steering wheel.

When heading back to KL, the mileage was already close to 700. Still drove it as in break-in period. Best mileage observed when driving this way is 6.9 liter/100km. When reached 1000km, I raise the speed to 110-120km/hr and able to set cruising speed at 120km/hr on most of the journey onwards until I reached KL. Best mileage observed is 7.2 liter/100km. Observed that there's audible rattling sound came from under the dashboard and the wind sound is noticeable on the front passenger's window. No floaty feeling but the slight pull to the right is still noticeable. Can I report these findings during my 2500km inspection?

Also, I noticed that in the morning, there's a slow 'knocking' sound under the engine hood. This sound is not audible in the cabin but can be heard from outside the cabin. Is this normal??

Now my mileage is close to 1200km. Will call for appointment with the SC tomorrow for the 2500km inspection rclxms.gif
kejusan
post Jul 2 2012, 11:23 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jul 2 2012, 11:11 PM)
Is naza offering any promotion for the 408 or 308?

Like free service or 1.88 interest rate? Anything...?
They're only offering 5 years unlimited warranty. Other than that would be the normal offerings from SA (vouchers, full tank etc.). Not aware of any other promotion..

tunasandwich, seen you in Elantra thread. Still haven't made your decision eh? brows.gif
kejusan
post Jul 4 2012, 02:17 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Gill71 @ Jul 4 2012, 01:45 PM)
good to hear that... as for contacting the management for any unsatisfactory issues, i suggest writing to Nasim CEO Dato Samson for a more localised solution.
Any email/proper channel which we can highlight our concern to him?

BTW, I've contacted my SA yesterday for the 2500km inspection at Glenmarie SC and managed to set appointment on 16 July. A little advice, please book for servicing at least one month earlier.
kejusan
post Jul 4 2012, 06:24 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Jul 4 2012, 05:03 PM)
Peugeot called me to do customer satisfaction survey just now. I mentioned to them that the waiting que for servicing/inspection is too long and I didn't manage to get appointment date to my convenience. I also ask them which channel to go to if I want to complain and they told me just call and email as stated in website above.
kejusan
post Jul 6 2012, 12:25 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 3 2012, 09:04 AM)
Good FC. The NA is also economical. After the 10k service,FC will improve further. Do report the pull,although this seems to be common with Pugs. I have not gone long dist. yet, but I notice a slight pull to the left.
Usually you might hear a soft repeated tick for a while untill the engine cools down,but this is after engine shut down. I'm puzzled you say it happened in the morning.
The 'knocking' sounds will be heard when I turned on the AC before the engine warms up. If I let the engine warms up for a while and then only I turn on the AC, the sound wouldn't be there. Anybody experience this or maybe could try switching on the AC right after starting the engine and straight away drive the car slowly out of the porch and observe for any slow knocking sound from under the hood??
kejusan
post Jul 7 2012, 10:34 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(kenso77 @ Jul 6 2012, 07:36 AM)
Knocking sound or tapet sound?
It's not like engine knocking or anything, it's just a knocking sound from under the hood. Try to get it on video this morning but then the sound wasn't there. Anyway, it seems like the sound is somehow related to the mechanical linkages for the AC. I've tried turning off the AC when the sound is present and there was no sound after that. hmm.gif

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 7 2012, 09:48 AM)
Two unserviceable issues in my car.
1. Speed limit function 
2.Bluetooth phone book streaming.

On way to Seramban, tired the speed limiter. Set it to hwy limit speed of 110kmh. Got the speed limit indication on the instrument display. As I gently edged the accelerator, car continued to exceed 110kmh. Supposed to feel a stop on the accelerator.  Did not feel anything. 
Then i set the cruise to 110kmh. Display changed from 110kmh limit to 110cruise. After braking and when traffic cleared, depressing the cruise button accelerated the car to cruise setting swiftly and maintained. That worked fine.

Phone book streaming is done by depressing the stalk button for 2 sec. The phone must be connected for this. It only picked out the last callers number. It should indicate all numbers for you to make the selection to call. 

All else working like a dream!
Haven't tried the speed limiter. Still busy finding the source of the rattling sound. And the wind noise on the front left door seems to be more noticeable. Just wondering, if I complain about the wind noise, can they do something about it?

Phone book streaming works fine for me. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kejusan: Jul 7 2012, 01:28 PM
kejusan
post Jul 9 2012, 12:06 AM

15 posts

Managed to get 10.9 l/100km for best FC on 2nd fill up. BTW, I fill up RM50 and the mileage is 240+km. 90% town, 10% highway.

Tried the speed limiter, works absolutely fine.

Thinking of putting in the coil mat, any recommendation??
kejusan
post Jul 10 2012, 11:48 PM

15 posts

Seems so quiet lately in this forum so let me break the ice. cool.gif

I've just done Sierra Glow coating today and I would say eventhough the initial result is as per expectation, but their service is top notch and because of that, eventhough I couldn't validate the lasting effect of their product, I would highly recommend everybody to use their product and services. Let me tell you why..

I managed to set an appointment to coat my 408 today and so, by 10.30am, I've reached their shop. Mr Chong, the owner, even sent me reminder SMS the day before. And because I have to get back to my office, Mr Chong is kind enough to send me back.

Then in the afternoon, I have a meeting at Jalan Ampang. The meeting was supposedly until 5.00pm but been dragged until 7.00pm. As expected, the traffic only let me reached his shop around 8.30pm. Again, he was kind enough to wait for me to arrive and fetch my car!!

In conclusion, even only after few hours of coating my 408, with their top notch service, I felt that my money is worth spending and hopefully the coating would be long lasting. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by kejusan: Jul 10 2012, 11:50 PM
kejusan
post Jul 12 2012, 07:28 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jul 11 2012, 09:13 AM)
How much was the job. Need you find out from Seirra glow guys how they will handle scratches,nicks and small dents that owners pick up in use of the car.
I'm a little hesitant to carry out any protective care cos the most vanuranle parts of this car are plastic. Both front side fenders are plastic and I don't think repairs can be done. sad.gif
If you're talking about repair on hairline scratches, yes they could do it. I've got few scratches on my fender, not sure where or when I pick that up, and they've managed to find and repair it. But for scratches that have gone through all the layers of coating, I don't think anyone is able to repair that. And then they will apply this coating on plastic, chrome, rims, windows and steel.

QUOTE(kdnfz @ Jul 12 2012, 12:26 AM)
How much was it? Will be picking up 408 hope by next week as the registration no i want already past... biggrin.gif
He quoted RM800 initially, but maybe because I'm the first 408 that came into his shop, I managed to get RM750. rclxms.gif
kejusan
post Jul 12 2012, 11:18 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Gill71 @ Jul 12 2012, 12:53 PM)
there are so many claying, waxing etc offers in the market for very reasonable prices, are they good?
Well, if you do some research on the internet, you will find people arguing for and against this protective coating. Some claim that waxing/polishing is better than spending money for protective coating while some argue that waxing/polishing will subsequently deteriorate the paintworks.

The way I see it, I prefer to wash the car myself since with this coating, dirt will easily be cleaned. I've heard feedback that Sierraglow coating is reliable and with an affordable price, so I go for it.

It's up for you weight the arguement and decide.
kejusan
post Jul 13 2012, 10:31 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Jul 13 2012, 07:44 PM)
Just got my car yesterday, did tinted film immediately.today got a quote for protective coat....rm2380..... Nano technology...5 years warranty... How many warranty for sierraglow?
What brand did you get quoted for? Sierraglow's warranty is 5 years. I've a voucher for G'zox coating (3 years warranty) for RM400 but doesn't plan to use it. If anybody is interested to go for G'zox, do PM me.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:31 AM