Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

cybermaster98
post Oct 19 2012, 03:51 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ahui @ Oct 19 2012, 03:23 PM)
HI,
book my 408na (gray color) Wednesday and today my SA told me the loan has approved and the car is ready for register. now waiting me to pay the down payment.
the plate number registration need pay RM320++? cox i tot in was included in car price.
n this is my first non local car!
Congrats! So your car plate would be WXL rite?
cybermaster98
post Oct 20 2012, 08:33 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ahui @ Oct 19 2012, 09:13 PM)
what my SA told me, plate number is RM200++ (will issue jpj receipt), runner rm150.
i got ask him, regarding number plate registration is already included in the car price, but what he answer me is the RM50 showed in car price list is the physical plate number.
i also feel weird............
Let me clarify for you. The RM50 is for the physical number plate. But you are also paying 'registration fees' which covers the cost of registering your car & number plate with JPJ.

If you choose a running number within the same state then there are no runner costs. Any costs associated with the number plate are already included in your OTR price.

But if you choose a specific number either within / outside the state then you will need to pay the runner's cost. But there is no way the runner's costs are RM 150 for a local KL/Selangor registration. Even for outstation number plates, the most you'll need to pay is about RM250 only and thats because your dealer would need to pay the dealer in another state to get his runner to get the number you wish for and courier the road tax back to him.

Most of the time, for 'unpopular' cars like Peugeot, Kia, etc the salesman would be able to provide this 'runner cost' free of charge to you to close the deal. Im not sure if its possible at this stage but if i were you i would raise this issue with him and refuse to pay the runner's fees.

But are you choosing a special number or a number which is not in the running sequence?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 20 2012, 08:38 AM
cybermaster98
post Oct 20 2012, 09:16 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ahui @ Oct 20 2012, 08:45 AM)
thanks for the clarify!
i no choose any number, even no mention need any requirement on the number, just let it run on sequence.
feel angry now, i will call him and talk to him later.
i can forgive him know nothing abt the car, but cant forgive for not honest.
i book the car at CSL
Then its clear. If its running number there arent any runner fees involved. If he insists there are, tell him you want to see his branch manager. Usually this will scare them into complying.

Rule of thumb: If you arent sure about something, dont agree to it. Always seek clarification first.

Let me know if you need any further advice.
cybermaster98
post Oct 22 2012, 10:36 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Oct 22 2012, 05:30 PM)
1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue
4. AHY20 - bronze
5. prody – black
6. R-1 - blue
7. GenY@MY - black
8. Zumaidi - aster grey
9. Matsukatsu - aster grey
10. EnergyAnalyst - silver

Turbo
1. SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black
5. shyguy_shah - white
6. chinana - white
7. Kndfz. - Black
8. Termibait - white
9. OrangBiasa - White
10. Rick.st.lim - blue
11. Jfcheong - Black
12 Austin -Silver
13. Bearheart - black
14. net_mave - blue
15. klteoh - blue
16. parasolx - black
17. mojonish - grey
18. jonathkhoo - grey
19.orangkpg - white
20. JessYeo - Silver
21. cityofdevils - Aster grey
22. Skysiow - blue

New owners mind to update this?
Thread starting to go quiet eh? It normally will once the initial hype has disappeared. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Oct 23 2012, 02:58 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Oct 23 2012, 02:33 PM)
New Camry 2012 still using 2.0L VVTI with 4 speeder while price is RM 149,900 ?
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Camry no problem. 10 yr gearbox and engine, 2 airbags and no VSC will still sell.
cybermaster98
post Nov 16 2012, 08:17 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zeelim @ Nov 15 2012, 03:09 PM)
Quick check with you guys.

I just got my 408 2.0 a few weeks back. Current mileage is around 1.5K. As the 2.0 version does not have a dedicated FC counter (seriously wtf Peugeot), my calculation is based on using manual calculation. Each fuel top up is exactly 52L using Shell Ron95 from the exact same station.

First tank:  52L
Total Distance : 385km
FC: 13.5L / 100km

Second Tank: 52L
Total Distance: 390km
FC: 13.33L / 100km

Third Tank: 52L
Total Distance: 400km
FC: 13L / 100km

This calculation is based on 100% City driving, with smooth driving (max out at 80-100kmh), totally no traffic jam (as my working hours is abit weird), and is for a round trip from my home to the office and back. Thats it.

I'm curious, isn't the FC abit HIGH for a C segment car? Or is there something wrong with my car? I'm from JB btw, so would totally appreciate it if any bros with the 408 2.0 can share their FC as a reference. One more question btw, anyone top up for the Insurance windscreen coverage ? My SA told me I would need to top up around RM 600+ as the windscreen cost RM 4K! I'm just curious as I only needed to top up like RM 300 for my 20010 Camry!
Even though your driving is 100% city but in actual fact it can be considered as highway too since your driving speed is fairly constant and you dont get stuck in traffic. If this is the case, then i would say that your consumption seems a bit high. But your FC will probably become better over time but im puzzled as to why your consumption is this high now.

Just for your info, i recently managed to test my Kia Optima K5's FC at a constant 110kmph for almost entire full tank. Based on the 'fill-drive-fill-measure' concept, i covered 1011km on 76L of fuel. 90% of the journey was at a constant 110kmph. This equates to about 7.52L/100km average over 1000+km.

My previous record was 780km on 80L of fuel driving at 160-170kmph on 80% highway. This equates to 10.2L/100km. I measured this when my car was about 2 months old.

Fyi, the K5 is considered slightly underpowered due to its higher body weight.

cybermaster98
post Nov 16 2012, 02:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Nov 16 2012, 01:49 PM)
I got about 7.5l/100 km driving with average speed 107 km/hr with my 408 2.0.
Use the 'fill-drive-fill-measure' method over a long distance to calculate. Readings from the meter are only indicative. I got 6.8-7.0L/100km during my 110kmph drive.
cybermaster98
post Nov 16 2012, 04:18 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Nov 16 2012, 03:47 PM)
I did do the same for many other readings for my 408 and at high speed the fuel consumption as shown by the 408 is almost the same with the method. Maximum difference is only about 0.1l/100km.

Maybe KIA needs to work to improve it? wink.gif
Nope. The readings you are getting are average readings taken over the course of the drive. Your difference based on the fill-drive-fill method wont be 0.1L/100km as you claimed as your filling method will have its variables depending on how much you fill. For instance, the first click of the fuel pump will vary depending on the pressure in the tank and from station to station.
cybermaster98
post Nov 16 2012, 05:31 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Nov 16 2012, 04:41 PM)
I don't know how your K5 works, but my 408 works like this: there are no multiple readings, there is just 1 reading. I compare this 1 reading to the fill-drive-fill reading.

I agree with you on the variables, but noticed the difference is always something like this:
- difference for readings at lower average speed is about 0.4l/100 km
- difference for readings at higher average speed it is about 0.1l/100km

Good luck with your K5. smile.gif
Even your fill-drive-compare method will not have the accuracy of 0.1L/100km so how then can you have this accuracy for your comparison? rclxub.gif
cybermaster98
post Nov 19 2012, 08:33 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Wanky15 @ Nov 18 2012, 06:25 PM)
Since here all are well praised for the Pug 408T, I would like to ask here; with Volks Jetta vs Pug 408T vs Ford Focus, may I knw which one is better: in terms of handling, servicing cost and value for money? Cos I'm in the middle to change to new car but stuck to these three choices. Really need you guys expertise to help me.
The VW Jetta is in a D segment price range while the other 2 are still C segment. If ure considering the Jetta, then u have other choices out there as well. My advice would be to set a budget first.

But if ure willing to consider cars in the 150K+ range, then the upcoming 2013 Mazda 6 2.0L would be the best option with its latest tech and futuristic design. If u want something slightly cheaper, then give the updated Kia Optima K5 (143K+) a look. It now comes with a more powerful 2.0L Nu engine which is more refined and quiet and gives out 170Hp and 201Nm torque (7Hp more than the previous model). Also has a speed sensitive electric steering.

Either way, wait for 2013 as there would be some new upcoming models.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Nov 19 2012, 08:34 AM
cybermaster98
post Nov 21 2012, 01:06 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Nov 21 2012, 12:56 PM)
Hello boss the design of the engine might come from the same person.
Bro, even if it comes from the same designer the very fact that its a newer engine would mean that it has been improved. So its rather pointless to be going on and on trying to defend yourself by talking about an older engine unless you have proof that the current engine has problems. You made a mistake and they have corrected you. No harm in making mistakes but trying desperately to defend yourself by illogical arguments is not gonna win the war for you. Just move on ok? biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Nov 21 2012, 04:44 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Nov 21 2012, 04:18 PM)
Argh....got a call this morning from SA, another 5K off the price for 2012 model. Wow desperate to meet quota or plenty of stock ups? Pulling hair now.
So whats the total discount to date for a 2012 model?
cybermaster98
post Nov 22 2012, 08:09 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yhschen @ Nov 22 2012, 03:38 AM)
Hi I am considering to buy the 408 2.0 and need some help. Plan to change to leather seats. SAs says will not void warranty but Peugeot will not give written confirmation.

Has any 408 2.0 user changed to leather seats and any issue with warranty when going to SCs. TQ
Give the new Kia Forte K3 some thought first. Its already ungoing road testing in Malaysia. I would expect some new models coming in 2013. if ure not in a hurry, then it would be wise to wait and see whats on offer.
cybermaster98
post Nov 22 2012, 10:57 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Nov 22 2012, 10:28 AM)
the additional 5K promo is for car register till end of this month... that's only 8 days to go
hmm.gif
So what is the total discount?
cybermaster98
post Nov 22 2012, 03:18 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Nov 22 2012, 11:55 AM)
huh..25 408t owner only ah? I thought more than that. Im going for 10k servicing tomorrow. Current mileage only 7k. need to do earlier since going for long trip early next month.
Wow! What kind of trip covers 3,000km? Only thing i can think of is a return trip to Bangkok by road. Even if mileage exceeds a couple of hundred wont have any effect.

Added on November 22, 2012, 3:22 pm
QUOTE(dchan126 @ Nov 22 2012, 11:58 AM)
WOW..  should i buy now or wait till early next year... very hard to decide.. hmm.gif
Year end discounts are very common across most models. Simple reason is cuz they need to clear old 2012 stock. But you need to keep in mind, the losses from asset depreciation. Cars like Peugeot, Kia, Hyundai, Chevrolet, etc lose about 10-15K a year in value especially the first 2 years. So you need to assess value of the discounts ure getting for a 2012 model vs the asset value for a 2013 model.

So far ive yet to see any car manufacturer offer discounts that cover this depreciation. It may save you a portion of the value but overall you are usually still at the losing end in the long run if you buy a 2012 model in Nov/Dec.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Nov 22 2012, 03:23 PM
cybermaster98
post Nov 22 2012, 04:28 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Nov 22 2012, 04:04 PM)
Actually I've checked with few of my 2nd hand car dealer friends on the differences between Nov/Dec car with Jan (new year car) for Peugeot. Many of them told the difference should not be more than RM 5K as when they take the car, the month is also taken into consideration (only for year end car).

Not sure how true is that....  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Boleh percaya kah?
Usually when you trade in cars year end after Sept, the price given by dealers is actually based on following year prices because of the risk of not being able to sell the car within the same year.

But its common knowledge that, if you buy a 120K in Nov/Dec 2012 and sell in 2016, your car value is based on 5yrs. If you buy in Jan 2013 and sell at the same time in 2017, your car value is based on 4 years. There will be a slight difference in the selling price of the 2nd hand dealers when dealing with cars of different months of the same year but this difference is rarely passed on to the person trading in.

Added on November 22, 2012, 4:31 pm
QUOTE(dchan126 @ Nov 22 2012, 03:42 PM)
Thanks for the advice. Maybe i should wait till early 2013....
Yes i would think that would be wise. But with CNY coming in Feb, im sure there will be some small discounts for 2013 models next year. The other positive would be that you have some additional time to sample other makes and do more reseach. A win in the coming elections for Pakatan might result in some changes to our automotive taxes. It wont be anything major (if implemented) and would probably be small amounts of reduction spread over a few years. But still worth a wait.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Nov 22 2012, 04:32 PM
cybermaster98
post Nov 22 2012, 08:22 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jessyeo @ Nov 22 2012, 08:18 PM)
10k service due on 8th Dec even I havent reach 10k. Have to do it first since I might stay abit longer in Singapore.
How much longer?
cybermaster98
post Nov 23 2012, 09:32 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Nov 23 2012, 01:26 AM)
Before I bought my 408NA ( now 2 months old and clocked in >3,000 km), I have test driven Ford Focus, checked up VW Jetta and even polo sedan. At the same time view the new Honda civic, face lifted Nissan sylphy and Mazda 3.  I have decided to forget about Nissan and Honda for a very simple reason, most popular Japs car are practical but mostly boring inside out and the design is full of aspect that just irks me. Let's face it, these mass produced japs car is not meant to be exciting.   Mazda offers some external visual designer excitement. But when I viewed the interior and cockpit BECAUSE THAT IS WHERE I AM GOING TO SPEND MOST OF MY TIME IN, I find the material in there, its internal finishing and the design very generics just like the current Hyundai and Kia cars---Great from the outside... But once u step in, u are back into ordinary realm. Both German VW and Ford (Thai-made) are meant to be mass market affordable cars just that it did not translate into that due to the not so nice and hefty excise duty. i Like the technology advancement or  supremacy shown by  German and American ( please tell me that you do know whole ford is but chevvy cruze is not) I don't breathe and live technology advancement for a car. I instead live and breathe comfort, style, elegant , class, and most importantly a car that is really one with ample legroom, head room, shoulder to shoulder distance. Peugeot 408 is not winner of all aspects, and i don't think it is trying to be but I will forego a push start button anytime for cruise control. I will choose a well built solid steel laden with a door that closes with a thud but come at a price of higher fuel consuming car from a lighter and lower fuel consuming car with door closing at a ugly bang sound. In summary I have chosen this car and would chose it again over and over again because I am finally able to buy a car with all those qualities that I miss, because car maker seldom care for them any more, such as notice how smaller and smaller new generation of most car model gets?!
Yes, while i agree that more n more ppl should start choosing other makes over the Japanese, we also need to keep in mind that one of the things that Japanese car makers like Toyota excel in is long term durability. This is something both the Koreans and French are trying very hard to replicate. Both you and many of us here on LYN have brand new non Japanese cars. We dont know how things are gonna be in say 5-7 years time. So while its good that we're happy with how things are now, we must always remember that a majority of problems the Koreans and French makes faced, came after a few years of ownership. That's what destroyed their credibility both in Malaysia and overseas.

My family had 3 previous generation Peugeots, all of which were CBU France and all had numerous problems. Same with the Korean makes. Right now if im not mistaken the 408 is manufactured in China or Argentina rite? So quality could be better or worse. So although our cars come with better physical looks and better specs, durability over the longer term is still something which none of us know of at this moment.

We just have to keep our fingers crossed i guess. But for now, we'll enjoy our rides. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Nov 23 2012, 09:38 AM
cybermaster98
post Nov 23 2012, 11:57 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(OrangBiasa @ Nov 22 2012, 10:10 PM)
I just did my 10K service last Saturday at Nasim Balakong. Took close to 2 hours to complete. I plan to rotate the tyres but the service superviser told me that Peugeot recommends to rotate every 30K.
Why would the car manufacturer have any recommended rotation? Shouldnt it be the tyre manufacturer? Isnt it a general assumption that tyres should be rotated every 10k? I think the more often you rotate, the more even your wear is gonna be. Ive tried the 30k rotation before and it resulted in totally different wear between the tyres hence now im sticking to the 10k rotation cycle. Some tyre manufacturers like Bridgestone recommend rotations every 5,000-8,000km. But I think that rotating it every 10,000km is the best.
cybermaster98
post Nov 23 2012, 10:51 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Nov 23 2012, 05:00 PM)
Cybermaster98
I'm not sure about your claims here. I thought car dealers usually look at the  manufacturing year of the car not the year car registered. Correct me if wrong.

For eg.
If car is made 2012 but registered with RTD Nov/Dec 2012, sell in 2016 considered 5 y.o car.
If car is made 2012 but registered with RTD Jan 2013, sell in 2016, dealers still considered 5 y.o car, isn't it?

Same goes for CBU units, the AP will detail out the manufacturing date. I think Peugeot 408T is CKD right?
Yes im refering to year of manufacture. Sorry if it wasnt clear.

Added on November 23, 2012, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Nov 23 2012, 12:11 PM)
9.5L/100km for 50% city and highway drive
Around 7.3L/100km for 100% highway drive (consistent 110km/h)
Try the fill-drive-fill method and your results will be slightly different. I got about 6.8-7.0L/100km at 110kmph but using the fill-drive-fill method, i got 7.5L/100km.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Nov 23 2012, 10:54 PM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0439sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:46 PM