15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

SKYjack
post Jun 25 2012, 09:09 AM

367 posts

According to Ford Malaysia website, Focus comes with 2 litre Duratec engine putting out 145hp 185nm torque. It's no match for the 408 turbo. Even the 408NA might accelerate a tad better with 200nm torque,but has a heavier body weight.

SKYjack
post Jun 25 2012, 03:27 PM

367 posts

Peugeot has invested heavily in Malaysia putting up a state of the art robotic assembly plant in Gurum. The intention is to make Malaysian assembly plant cater for the whole of ASEAN. Certainly this spells a lot of product confidence. With the parent company having a strong foot here, things should only get better for Peugeot brand of cars.
As for the THP, I understand it's been given a serious make over addressing reliability issues. The new Prince seems to be behaving!
SKYjack
post Jun 25 2012, 03:40 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jun 25 2012, 03:33 PM)
Mine not behaving. Now already 11k mileage and it's going to the workshop for the 3rd time in 1 month timeframe. Damn. Advise to people, make sure you have spare car just in case. I did have a spare car lying around, but then the service center is quite far away from home (Balakong <-> Ampang). So I always end up waiting at the service center anyway
Is your the 156THP 6 speed?
SKYjack
post Jun 25 2012, 08:28 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(afag @ Jun 25 2012, 06:48 PM)
SKYjack is this a reliable info?
when i refer to other country spec, it stated 2.0engine give 170hp 202nm torque.
There appears to different spec for different countries. It is a business strategy. The Malaysian spec seems to be lower powered. Google it and see for yourself.
I actually saw the car in OZ, really superb looking. They had the turbo diesel which is what I wanted. Unfortunately not for Malaysian market!
SKYjack
post Jun 26 2012, 09:55 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jun 25 2012, 10:58 PM)
ok , back to topic - i still havent seen any 408 on the road.....how come?!
1st batch for Malaysia were 50 units. The 50 is for Nation wide. So I'm not surprised you have not seen any on the road. Deliveries would have started about a week ago. I have seen one at SS5,sliver. Should get mine this week. Some of our bro's have suddenly gone quiet. I guess they are too busy with their new car.

Added on June 26, 2012, 10:10 am
QUOTE(chinana @ Jun 26 2012, 12:01 AM)
after reading most of the info and replys...

which should i choose? 1.6THP or 2.0NA?

after my test drive THP its impressed me on the power. that shows lots of difference between THP & NA.

guys... may i seek your reply in voting THP or NA?
On the other hand, is kenso's maintenance data referring to THP or NA?
Thanks for entertaining. tongue.gif Cheers!!
If you enjoy sprited driving( not reckless driving ),get the turbo. I believe it's reliability issues have been addressed.Even if you encounter any problem,the 5 year warranty is there. 6 speed gearbox with additional safety and cosmatic features are worth the cost.
The NA is not bad, but just did not carry enough safety features for me.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 26 2012, 10:24 AM
SKYjack
post Jun 26 2012, 12:23 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(din5353 @ Jun 26 2012, 11:24 AM)
Very busy with delivery of second new princess last Sunday.
I will get the car tomorrow as today will do the registration of plat number at JPJ in my hometown.
Very eager to get "3rd princess" tomorrow.
brows.gif
Congrats on your princess and your prince later. I'm coughtup with our famous Bolehland snail mechanism. I have to wait for the official letter on my tender before the car can be registered...... doh.gif
SKYjack
post Jun 27 2012, 09:29 AM

367 posts

1. kejusan - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71. - blue

Turbo
1.SKYjack - blue
2. sbd - blue
3. kevinboey -white
4. din5353 - black

Blue seems popular with our bros

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 27 2012, 09:30 AM
SKYjack
post Jun 27 2012, 09:48 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jun 27 2012, 08:31 PM)

My only complain for now is the jerking during gear switching. I believe it is due to its being a 4 gear transmission. But then I'm used to driving Vios and it seems bearable. Have to check the tyre pressure as now it feel stiff.

Overall  thumbup.gif
Don't worry about the jerks bro. It's the adaptive gearbox,learning your style of driving. In a few days when it got all the inputs,will run smooth! Enjoy,enjoy! rclxms.gif
SKYjack
post Jun 28 2012, 08:40 AM

367 posts

Actually it was not the power shift that startled me. It was the long period shift, as a result of my driving style. My intro to these adaptive gearbox was quite worrying. I thought my gearbox was about to packup as gear changes were kind of long. After much consultation and reading I realised, it was my style of driving that it had adapted to. I guess the owner too has to go through a learning period.
However if the power shifts are often with only you driving all the time, then it is something that needs investigation! Once in a way electronic glitch is not much cause to worry.

You'll not find anything regarding driving speeds below 1k km with these new engines. The reason is these new engines don't need run in periods. However it would be prudent to keep gentle reffs and low speeds till 1k km or at least till 500 km. Now that's going to be a reat test for me with my turbo babe......hehehe!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 28 2012, 09:15 AM
SKYjack
post Jun 28 2012, 09:34 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(din5353 @ Jun 28 2012, 09:03 AM)
Happen to find these article. Is it we need to do break in to our engine?

http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

Who know what is the center electronic meter indicator? Have 3 indicator:

1.not sure
2.XXL/100KM
3.not sure.
Like I said there's no break in period needed on these new technology engines and not specified in the owners manul. Some are calling for hard driving as break period. I need to digest this carefully before commenting. This is not recommended by the manufacture.

No.2 on your multifunction display is fuel consumption. Litres/100KM. The xx will soon indicate a number. The computer calculates and indicate the figure based on your driving.
Will tell you 1. & 3. after I've got my car.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 28 2012, 09:37 AM
SKYjack
post Jun 30 2012, 10:12 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(shyguy_shah @ Jun 29 2012, 10:43 PM)
Hi guys, another proud owner of pug 408 turbo reporting in...
rclxms.gif
If don't mind update list,tks!
1. kejusan  - blue
2. Poyoguy - blue
3. Gill71.    - blue

Turbo
1.SKYjack - blue
2. sbd      -  blue
3. kevinboey - white
4. din5353 - black

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jun 30 2012, 10:15 AM
SKYjack
post Jul 2 2012, 05:41 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(din5353 @ Jul 2 2012, 08:42 AM)
Yes quite busy.  smile.gif
last weekend, i go back to my home town,Terengganu. So, got 7.2l/100km for highway.for town will try to get this week.
That's very good FC. What speeds were you doing?
SKYjack
post Jul 2 2012, 06:02 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Jul 2 2012, 09:10 AM)
last bit, the 2,500km inspection (nothing is changed here, oils and parts remain), do not treat this lightly. you must go and get your car inspected and likewise, the grace period is 500km.
Assuming one did this exactly at 2500km,the next service is 7500km away not 10000km away!

Added on July 2, 2012, 6:19 pm
QUOTE(din5353 @ Jul 2 2012, 05:43 PM)
110 - 130 km/h
tongue.gif
That's the speed I'll be doing too,beyond this speed my wife starts wayang kulit.....hehehe! But the car just wants to go and it so difficult to keep it at this speed. I've not done long distance trip yet. I think after the 1st service FC will improve further.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jul 2 2012, 06:22 PM
SKYjack
post Jul 2 2012, 09:46 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(din5353 @ Jul 2 2012, 09:20 PM)
Btw, my meter already 1100++km.i think i will the first to service the car, i mean the inspection of 2500km.  smile.gif
Yes I think you've got pole position. Do let us know your experience and choice of SC. Any comment you observe will be helpfull to us bro! As I 'm from Seremban, I'll update you all about situation here!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jul 2 2012, 09:49 PM
SKYjack
post Jul 3 2012, 09:04 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jul 2 2012, 11:04 PM)
Went back to my hometown in JB during the weekend with my new 408NA. Since I'm quite worried with the break-in period, I keep the RPM below 3k and speed below 100km/h throughout my journey. Every half an hour, I will slow down to 70 - 90 km/h, so not to stress the engine under constant speed for too long. FYI, the mileage before I start the journey was 100++. No findings were made during the journey to JB, just that I noticed that there's a slight pull to the right on the steering wheel.

When heading back to KL, the mileage was already close to 700. Still drove it as in break-in period. Best mileage observed when driving this way is 6.9 liter/100km. When reached 1000km, I raise the speed to 110-120km/hr and able to set cruising speed at 120km/hr on most of the journey onwards until I reached KL. Best mileage observed is 7.2 liter/100km. Observed that there's audible rattling sound came from under the dashboard and the wind sound is noticeable on the front passenger's window. No floaty feeling but the slight pull to the right is still noticeable. Can I report these findings during my 2500km inspection?

Also, I noticed that in the morning, there's a slow 'knocking' sound under the engine hood. This sound is not audible in the cabin but can be heard from outside the cabin. Is this normal??

Now my mileage is close to 1200km. Will call for appointment with the SC tomorrow for the 2500km inspection  rclxms.gif
Good FC. The NA is also economical. After the 10k service,FC will improve further. Do report the pull,although this seems to be common with Pugs. I have not gone long dist. yet, but I notice a slight pull to the left.
Usually you might hear a soft repeated tick for a while untill the engine cools down,but this is after engine shut down. I'm puzzled you say it happened in the morning.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Jul 3 2012, 09:06 AM
SKYjack
post Jul 3 2012, 06:27 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(din5353 @ Jul 3 2012, 05:59 PM)
1 question, if happen that we need to leave our car in SC, do they give temp car for us to use? Because my friend honda accord, they give temp car while he's car in SC.  smile.gif
They do have temporary cars for use. But not everyone seems to able to get hold of it. The excuse is that all cars are taken. The real situation is NASA's customer service sucks. They are always late in taking remedial steps. Remedies on the whole are only feeble. With Peugeot France coming in a big way in Malaysia,I was under the impression things would improve at NASA. Unfortunately nothing much has changed. 
It is indeed sad to see this attitude,especially since we are the customers who are putting food on their table! 
SKYjack
post Jul 4 2012, 09:45 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Gill71 @ Jul 3 2012, 07:04 PM)
i think it's really important to take this matter to its highest authority/ management and demand for resolvement, because this cannot continue further..
Yes you got my vote! Any idea how we should this? A collective move will be better than individual demands!
SKYjack
post Jul 4 2012, 04:15 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(LLH @ Jul 4 2012, 02:57 PM)
To be honest, there are many peugeot fans around including myself but many have turned away after learning so many service n after sales problems.
You are right bro. I kept away from Peugeot for 2 years due poor customer service reputation. I had decided on a used 407 and do servicing with indpendent workshops. But these fellows are so clever with their pricing that I got trapped into buying the 408. My car is running very well and I am pleased. Touch wood! However I am nerves about Nasm's continued poor customer service!
SKYjack
post Jul 4 2012, 07:22 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Jul 4 2012, 06:24 PM)
Peugeot called me to do customer satisfaction survey just now. I mentioned to them that the waiting que for servicing/inspection is too long and I didn't manage to get appointment date to my convenience. I also ask them which channel to go to if I want to complain and they told me just call and email as stated in website above.
Yours can be a test case here. Let's see if they are serious. Why don't you callup and try to change your appointment date to your convenience?
SKYjack
post Jul 7 2012, 09:48 AM

367 posts

Two unserviceable issues in my car.
1. Speed limit function 
2.Bluetooth phone book streaming.

On way to Seramban, tired the speed limiter. Set it to hwy limit speed of 110kmh. Got the speed limit indication on the instrument display. As I gently edged the accelerator, car continued to exceed 110kmh. Supposed to feel a stop on the accelerator.  Did not feel anything. 
Then i set the cruise to 110kmh. Display changed from 110kmh limit to 110cruise. After braking and when traffic cleared, depressing the cruise button accelerated the car to cruise setting swiftly and maintained. That worked fine.

Phone book streaming is done by depressing the stalk button for 2 sec. The phone must be connected for this. It only picked out the last callers number. It should indicate all numbers for you to make the selection to call. 

All else working like a dream!

15 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:54 AM