8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V13, Phone? Tablet? It's Note!!!

benny888
post May 9 2012, 06:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(superjoe @ May 9 2012, 05:13 AM)
How to flash back

Added on May 9, 2012, 5:15 am

How to flash back to stock rom? My note now gb stock but preroot. Affraid wont get ics premium update. Help guys.
Use Odin in pc n flash back official stock rom. You will lose root n cwm
Actually even if rooted on official stock you can still get ota updates.

Added on May 9, 2012, 6:58 amGoing back to gb from ics. Do check back my opinion on these which I posted last 2 days
I will never go back to gb.

This post has been edited by benny888: May 9 2012, 06:58 AM
benny888
post May 9 2012, 10:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waters @ May 9 2012, 10:51 AM)
Do you guys think that flashing with a custom rom might help? I'm a noob with all these rom thingys...
Your phone should basically works well . You DON"T solve such problems by flashing custom roms
If you are unhappy with the reception, either change simcard first or sent in to service center to check
benny888
post May 9 2012, 11:14 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ May 9 2012, 11:08 AM)
Those who are on Stock GB can try flashing their fons with Lite'ning rom and then add on the ICS domination theme with Jkay mods.. The rom is awesome.. tried and tested!! smile.gif Has my approval.. battery life is awesome also :B
I find the Litening rom is sluggish versus any of the ICS roms. I would say Cassie lite rom is much better than Litening. I took it down just 2 hours testing it

Added on May 9, 2012, 11:15 am
QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ May 9 2012, 11:11 AM)
Would you be kind enough to guide us such as where to get the ROM?
rclxms.gif
XDA lah. Search for it at the android development thread

This post has been edited by benny888: May 9 2012, 11:15 AM
benny888
post May 9 2012, 11:54 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(stanley_85 @ May 9 2012, 11:48 AM)
i have consider for this problem too. some problem face for when i switch off my phone and restart, the phone battery will 90% drop to 30%. this is the problem ics before for my s2. will be not stable for that. but my friends say, if you want stable and save battery, just root and adfree. because some of app wil running anytime.
THis is totally unacceptable if the drop is from 90% to 30% just after a restart. I don't think this is ICS problem. Your battery drop is unexceptionally crazy

For the G note on all the ICS roms I have tested , The most it should drop with a restart is just maximum 2 % only
benny888
post May 9 2012, 12:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nazrey704 @ May 9 2012, 12:39 PM)
Thax Bro..smile.gif

But its ok to buy Ap set??
Get AP sets from reliable resellers with shops, not from those kiosks sellers. Such sellers get their units from A who get it from B or even down to C. If your unit has problem, it'd be a great hassle as the seller need to pass it back to A who will than pass it to B or even C than only to the authorized importer
My personal experience, I have no problems generally with AP sets except only one time a HTC Touch Pro where I need a motherboard change. However the seller was very efficient and I got it back in 10 days
Make sure the AP set that you buy comes with a warranty card showing the authorized importer ( must be Msian ) and not some foreign country importer
benny888
post May 9 2012, 12:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nazrey704 @ May 9 2012, 12:46 PM)
Haha,I really interested to buy note, but im not decide yet to buy ori set or ap set..
what is the best price for SGN sme set for now??and where??
Sorry to many question..(':thumbs:')
Gogle lah at garage sales to get a price indication : http://forum.lowyat.net/MobilePhonesandRelatedAccessories
benny888
post May 9 2012, 01:27 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(superjoe @ May 9 2012, 12:51 PM)
uncle benny i read someone post on video cursed4eva doing root to ics stunner the rom breaking his note. Need to change the motherboard etc. Im affraid the same thing will happen to my note. But im really want to try ics stunner for.my daily usage. My battery now is drain so so fast.
Don't flash ICS if you worry. You ask me a few person brick phone does not mean is not safe.
Or just flash cyanogen9 rom only as is claim with safe kernel
And touchwiz ics replace it with entropy kernel if you want more assurance
Still not confident stick to gingerbread

benny888
post May 9 2012, 03:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Interesting thread about flashing ics rom
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1640679

benny888
post May 9 2012, 04:39 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(naimadam @ May 9 2012, 04:16 PM)
I was looking for ICS modem.
You can use any of the gb modem for ics rom

Added on May 9, 2012, 4:43 pm
QUOTE(flawless_333 @ May 9 2012, 03:31 PM)
Benny, regarding the ICS warning, what i understand is :

1) the Kernel either LP5 or LP6 is only the problem right

2) nothing to do with the rom itself aka Stunner,Alba or any ICS rom else

3) if we need to do anything such as wipe cache, wipe dalvik, flash modem, backup or restore in CWM, do it with Abyss 4.2 instead of the given CWM

is there anything else should we know regarding the warning?

pls correct me if im wrong
Correct. It is lp5/lp6 kernel issue nothing to do with the rom
Be safe use abyss 4.2 as recovery mode only
Want extra security
Non touchwiz ics use only cyanogen9
Touchwiz ics change kernel to entropy

This post has been edited by benny888: May 9 2012, 04:43 PM
benny888
post May 9 2012, 09:13 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Good news for Note and Tab users:

Google may have slacked on its Android Developer’s Challenge, but Samsung isn’t messing around with encouraging developers to design high-quality Android apps. The company already held an S Pen dev challenge that wrapped a few weeks ago, and it’s already hosting another competition that will reward more 80 developers with a total of $4,080,000 in cash prizes.

The Samsung Smart App Challenge 2012 seeks Android developers to create great apps for the Galaxy Tab and Galaxy Note devices in its Samsung Apps store.

Read more at :

http://androinica.com/2012/05/samsung-smar...challenge-2012/
benny888
post May 9 2012, 09:16 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ronaldlee007 @ May 9 2012, 08:15 PM)
The market enabler required phone to be rooted... What is the easiest way to root my stock rom? I scared learned root, then, devil coming and start flashing like sugar.. Haha
Start by reading here : use zergrush exploit

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1329360

Ask your questions here any stuff not clear
benny888
post May 9 2012, 09:22 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ May 9 2012, 09:17 PM)
isnt the first page already mentioned how to root clearly...
page 1 post #6 IS ROOTING BY FLASHING A PRE ROOTED ROM. Some users just want to root only
you only flash a pre rooted rom if your rom is not listed/not rootable and you don't mind flashing ANOTHER ROM NOT YOUR STANDARD STOCK
benny888
post May 9 2012, 10:10 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ronaldlee007 @ May 9 2012, 09:54 PM)
Thanks Uncle Benny for the clarification.. My main reason for root ATM is to install and enable market enabler..  rclxms.gif

My kernel is LA6, from xda, it says not rootable. Meaning, I need to install the prerooted singapore rom as in page 1#6?
If I were to unroot, where to get pure stock rom? I assume, any rom will do, right? Not necessary to find same LA6, right?
You can install the Spore prerooted rom

If you wish to maintain your present rom, only way is to downgrade and root than flash back your rom. Refer my blog
http://leemn.wordpress.com/2012/01/11/sams...e-kl-and-above/

Download any stock official rom from here : You can flash any of these roms in your phone
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1424997
benny888
post May 10 2012, 04:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ May 10 2012, 04:42 PM)
And devs have not come up with a way to root official ICS.

So that means if I don't like it, I can't revert back right?
You use Odin to flash back any prerooted stock rom . Than install cwm n thereafter flash any other custom rom
benny888
post May 10 2012, 04:56 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

XDA buzzing with ics release. I believe root will come within days. Those who cannot wait just flash it in PC with odin. Your phone will be wipe n you will lose root/cwm

benny888
post May 10 2012, 06:22 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(antu_biskut @ May 10 2012, 05:38 PM)
i think yes bcos got flash counter..
You will never get flash counter flashing a official build in Odin. Only those custom cook roms will give you flash counter and sometimes yellow triangle during bootup
benny888
post May 10 2012, 06:25 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ May 10 2012, 06:21 PM)
im on criskelo ics...gonna flash direct to germany thingy tonight...via cmw....should i revert to stock gb? if yes how?
Just use Mobile Odin and flash it directly. No need to go back to GB rom
benny888
post May 10 2012, 06:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ May 10 2012, 06:32 PM)
becoz Mobile Odin will flash Kernel/Modem/system/whatever in totality, so doesn't matter what kernel our Note is currently using - is this statement correct?

but seems like quite a few at XDA mention should flashed from "safe" kernel.  sweat.gif
Quite few users has reported successful flashing from other ICS rom besides CM9 - if one is worried about the "unsafe kernel" in other ICS rom, than go back and start from GB base
I still think until now this claim of "unsafe kernel" is way over exaggerated
benny888
post May 10 2012, 06:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ May 10 2012, 06:35 PM)
so guys can i just use this steps?
-download ics germany to external
-download the cf root for LPY
-open mobile odin pro
-select file
-select kernel(cf root for LPY) then
-flash firmware...
coz i did this to get to LC2 +root
I'd suggest you flash the CF kernel later - only after you have successfully flash the rom first
benny888
post May 10 2012, 06:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mmw5610 @ May 10 2012, 06:28 PM)
do i need to flash back to stock kernel from abyss note kernel to update to ics?
If you are on GB rom, no need to change back to stock kernel

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1685sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:05 PM