4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Guys, Have you ever dropped your iPad ?, Come let's share our experience!

TSchristcwl9
post May 15 2012, 12:00 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(beanbeanchong @ May 15 2012, 09:16 AM)
That mean your iPad also have dent on it?
For my model need plus RM900 to get new wan if opt for out of warranty exchange.
For the warranty extension from senheng is RM355 for 4 year warranty coverage.
So how is apple Malaysia reply bro? hmm.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 15 2012, 12:47 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(jep @ May 15 2012, 12:19 PM)
My cousin's ipad dropped and now his ipad screen cracked from top corner to bottom corner..but can still use...Ouch!
New iPad? Wow, that's the worst case of a dropped but working iPad doh.gif still under warranty?
TSchristcwl9
post May 15 2012, 02:07 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(beanbeanchong @ May 15 2012, 01:37 PM)
i just call apple malaysia hotline.that person told me,is depend on where is the dent also.
he suggest me to bring to nearby service center to check regarding the warranty status.
he will say 50% chances can claim warranty if got manufacturer problem.
but better bring to service center to check as on the phone just assumption.
he also tell me,his ipad also drop then got dent.he suggest me to buy a tough casing if the warranty still not void.
will call up apple service center in penang for more info whether the refurbished set can change if found not satisfied on spot.
if dun have 4 year extension,i will not thing about exchange program.
Yea, some how like what my uncle told me last time. But he is more clear that at least the screen is not broken, then warranty remains. U can google around and a lot are saying Apple is giving out UNOFFICIAL one time replace for dropped iPad.

BTW, keep me updated with how's the service centre reaction after you have it checked. I am thinking should i go and have it check as well. BTW, mind to post pic of your dent ipad ? Just a pic of the dent site.

Mine are solely on the top right corner ( Near the volume button and the power button at the top ). Even though it feels heart pain and sad when you see the dent, but undeniably, i have to say thanks for the dent blush.gif

Without the dent to eat up all the impact force, my screen would have probably broken already tongue.gif

This post has been edited by christcwl9: May 15 2012, 02:30 PM
TSchristcwl9
post May 15 2012, 02:35 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(blunderboy @ May 15 2012, 02:33 PM)
Hi Guys... Need your help... My sister drop her iPad 2 and the screen broke - only the digitizer broke I believe....

Where can I send it for repair... Do I need to replace the whole screen or only the digitizer?
Your iPad 2 still under warranty ? Drop naked or with case ? From what height ?

Erm, i think you should better send it to Apple Service Provider to have them examine it first, if you feel the price is damn high and unreasonable, maybe you can search for 3rd party service provider.
TSchristcwl9
post May 15 2012, 03:39 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(beanbeanchong @ May 15 2012, 03:31 PM)
Apple not doing repair,they only have out of warranty exchange program in case you check with apple confirm no warranty for your iPad.

Added on May 15, 2012, 3:33 pm

Me too,feel uneasy to see the dent there.
You have apple ID for ur iPad?
Bro, did you ask APPLE can we pay them to exchange the cover only ? I want to use back my IPad and not exchange with other unit.

What do you mean by apple ID for my iPad ?
TSchristcwl9
post May 15 2012, 06:53 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(beanbeanchong @ May 15 2012, 03:47 PM)
Mean your imessenger ID for me to message u the pic.u can PM me for privacy.haha.
Apple told me is same for all country,they only do exhcnage program.
May be that price is apple sell to third party for repair purpose?
Ok check your pm smile.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 15 2012, 10:31 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(TearsOfLuv @ May 15 2012, 10:25 PM)
Dents on the iPad exceeding 4mm will void the warranty. Trust me, you will never want to talk to those authorized service provider in Malaysia. It took a century to get them understand about how I got my dent. I took a period of 3 weeks to get my iPad exchanged. It's like calling over to Apple Singapore everyday in order to claim my warranty.
@@ But bro at last you manage to get a replacement ? Did you take a pic of the dent site of your ipad ?
TSchristcwl9
post May 16 2012, 12:23 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(TearsOfLuv @ May 16 2012, 12:17 AM)
If you don't mind the hassle of calling to Apple Singapore for gazillion times, you can have a 1-to-1 exchange. Most probably they didn't want to waste so much time on my calls and rather attend others, they gave me an exchange for free. The exchange programme that Apple gave is totally useless. I mean, you can sell the not-that-faulty iPad for more than the price. Why bother giving away to them at such price ?

Furthermore, I argued with them on the basis that void of warranty caused by dents weren't notified to the consumers/users through a proper way. They didn't wrote that in the Information Guide provided in the iPad, hence, it can't be enforceable if we do not know anything about it. I don't know about the new iPad's information guide, but I managed to get off the hook by using the guide provided in the iPad 2 box. Nothing was mentioned about void of warranty by dents, only not covered by warranties. A way to get Apple's attention on it. biggrin.gif
Bro, u got a new non refurbished ipad from Apple Singapore ? They post it to u ? or through Apple Malaysia?
TSchristcwl9
post May 17 2012, 10:59 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(TearsOfLuv @ May 17 2012, 12:24 AM)
I guess the shortest length will be considered as the width and the longest will be the length, hence any of it exceeds 4mm will void the warranty. But note that the voiding of warranty is not listed in the iPad 2's information guide given to users (not sure about the New iPad though). If any of you guys would like a photo of my previous iPad that were dented, I can provide it to you. Just give me a PM ! biggrin.gif
Share the pic to me pls smile.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 17 2012, 12:13 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(TearsOfLuv @ May 17 2012, 11:14 AM)
PM me your email address, I'll send it to you guys. biggrin.gif
Wow bro, those dents are so damn obvious and deep doh.gif lol
TSchristcwl9
post May 17 2012, 03:03 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

It's like all sides also have dent doh.gif
TSchristcwl9
post May 19 2012, 09:25 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(zainalmy @ May 19 2012, 08:43 PM)
I dropped my iPad 2  64GB Wifi + 3G last year. No dent but the screen cracked. Apple offered me a new set but must pay RM1800.00. I told them to forget it and managed to get the screen replaced for RM400.00.
where do u fix it ?
TSchristcwl9
post May 21 2012, 05:20 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(bleeper @ May 21 2012, 04:21 PM)
I dropped my ipad 2 and it hit the bottom right corner. The corner dented and screen also cracked. Shop in digital mall quoted me rm450.
Anyone know any shop in PJ which can fix for rm400 instead?
Do they fix for only dented corner ? how much will it be ? they using original case?
TSchristcwl9
post May 21 2012, 06:30 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(bleeper @ May 21 2012, 05:33 PM)
Yes, he said he will fix the dented corner too. But i havent send my ipad yet as i was scouting around first.
Forgot to ask if ori case, but a shop in lowyat quoted me 450 as well with ori parts
Do u think the warranty still continue after they fix it ?
TSchristcwl9
post May 28 2012, 12:00 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ May 28 2012, 11:22 AM)
my new ipad also crack after i charge it out of malaysia, can i still claim it under warranty?

if not, after i repair outside can i still get apple warranty continue cause i just got it for 1 month.

is outside got ppl repair the new ipad screen?

Crack itself without u touching it ?
Is the crack 1 line only or many lines?
TSchristcwl9
post May 30 2012, 10:51 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(pin10 @ May 28 2012, 03:53 PM)
many line, like hit with something, then crack

my friend say maybe got press it with other things, then after charge it crack

you think still got warranty??
Perhaps u should go try tongue.gif
TSchristcwl9
post Jun 1 2012, 09:52 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(rushoe @ Jun 1 2012, 12:02 PM)
I have a friend, who just put her ipad 2 inside her handbag.... one day when she took it out, it was crack.... she didn't know when it was cracked....
she spent RM300 to replace the screen....
QUOTE(pin10 @ Jun 1 2012, 04:35 PM)
mine is like that too, scare is presure in bag before i charge it. then crack...
With casing to protect front screen?
TSchristcwl9
post Jun 2 2012, 10:45 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(+h0m@s.. @ Jun 2 2012, 09:04 PM)
previously I dropped on the caroet and the screen straight away dead. went apple and exchanged another iPad already.
Got warranty? whistling.gif
TSchristcwl9
post Jun 2 2012, 10:56 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Ahmad nizar @ Jun 2 2012, 10:52 PM)
i dropped it past afternoon,screen ok no crack but screen goes blank....can i still get a warranty coverage?i got many dent on my iPad...buy at singapore...
Try to pat the back of your ipad, see if it revives? Erm, mind to show us the dent ? Normally i am sorry to say that your warranty might just have been void doh.gif
TSchristcwl9
post Jun 2 2012, 11:34 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Ahmad nizar @ Jun 2 2012, 11:18 PM)
Man, u dropped to wat type of floor > @@

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0277sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:42 PM