5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Interview, What to prepare...

faceless
post Mar 30 2011, 01:38 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(prelude23 @ Mar 28 2011, 02:29 AM)
I have a question. Gonna attend an interview tomorrow.
Most likely there will be more than 1 interviewer.

So when I greet them, do I address 1 by 1 or all together?

I feel 1 by 1 more polite but feels silly to be going:
Good morning sir.

May I take a seat?

Sorry, kinda slow to response.

Yes it is silly to address one by one unless you know their names. You can always a the person that leaded you to the interview room. May I take a seat sound very amateurish. Dont say anything wait for them to tell you to sit down. I use body language to make them invite me to sit.
faceless
post Apr 8 2011, 09:42 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Apr 7 2011, 10:59 PM)
I got called by an advertising/event firm....currently i am going for internship...any advise?..... laugh.gif  besides wearing formal....i came across that wearing blue shirt with formal always gives a better outlook compare to other colors...like black......and was wondering what if the interviewee ask about weakness.....what should I answer and what are the normal thing they would ask??? sweat.gif

and also portfolio should have original, photocopy ready and what else need to aware of when comes to interview?? hmm.gif

The first 5 pages of this thread should give you most of the tips yous seek.

As to blue shirt, I dont think it will change anything. People look at your personal grooming not the colour. If you want to go into the science of colour, then it would be the colour that make you strike out the most. If you want a short cut way to this science, ask your sister (if she know how to make up) or your mum.

faceless
post Apr 18 2011, 09:37 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 17 2011, 08:54 PM)
A company called me for interview and asked me to disclose "3 years performance evaluation reports".

Is it reasonable and ethical to do so? I thought performance evaluation reports are current company confidential.

Need advices on this matter. Thank you.

Tell them you dont have it. It is with HR. If they asked for your consent to get it from your HR tell them "NO". Tell them even you cant see it why should your give them access to it.

faceless
post Apr 25 2011, 08:54 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(Nuke @ Apr 24 2011, 10:41 PM)
I went for the interview last week, and i got this opportunity via the headhunter. If i would like to know the status, should i ask the headhunter or the interviewer himself. He gave me his card during the interview.

Ask the headhunter he is the agent for the deal.

faceless
post Jun 9 2011, 10:05 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(furryfluffy @ Jun 9 2011, 08:08 AM)
There is nothing wrong with that.

Wat kind of questions n answers so difficult to remember?

Yeap nothing wrong with that but it reflects your inadequacies. It give the, "Like that also can not remember" impression to the interviewer. So you think it is a good practise?

faceless
post Jun 14 2011, 09:57 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 13 2011, 03:09 PM)

4) What type of animal would you be and why?

- The more suitable answer would point back to the job description. Eg. the job needs someone outspoken, bold and independent, you might want to link it to a lion and explain the rationale behind.
I will be a fox.
faceless
post Jun 20 2011, 09:18 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 14 2011, 01:11 PM)
lol faceless! because foxes are cunning and fast yet adorable?

In what way did you find the fox cunning? Are there any observed behaviour when they hunt their prey that display their cunning? Are they no different from tigers or other predators when hunting?

Sometimes I wonder how our folklore can say the Sang Kancil is smart.

This post has been edited by faceless: Jun 20 2011, 11:57 AM
faceless
post Jun 20 2011, 12:20 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 20 2011, 11:36 AM)
Haven't you heard, "Cunning as a fox"? Besides, I believe there is always a basis for folklore. God knows what and how, but based on personal belief - there is some truth.

Here, if you wanna find out more about how foxes are popularly known as cunning:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGvQjstJjDw
http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index...23032942AAFjNoh

I think you can Google it.

Besides, I'd love to see you challenge an interviewer if this person every says "cunning" to you laugh.gif
Go to English 101 to study the chapter on "metaphor and simile," and you will understand how and why people come up with terms like "cunning as a fox".

In all my cases whenever I challenge an interviewer, I end up getting the job. They usually dont mind if my asking salary is above their budget. In this case we will go back to English101 again and perhaps even Sociology 100 to show why you are brought up to buy these stories.
faceless
post Jun 21 2011, 10:53 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 20 2011, 04:57 PM)
The basis of my judgment is quite literal: "cunning as a fox" lol

Good for you o.O and interesting site. I'll dwell into it when I get home. Thanks.

I never gave you any site.

faceless
post Jun 21 2011, 04:33 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 21 2011, 02:59 PM)
You mentioned English 101 didn't you? Although you didn't give the link, I Google-d it.

You are sooooooo cute. wub.gif You must be a straight A student. While most people here would be critique for not using the search engine, you are the opposite. Did you google Sociology 100 as well?

Did you managed to find the solutions when you googled English 101? If you had just asked what is English 101 shakehead.gif Then again perhaps you can go to EE to find out the meaning of English 101.

If only you asked why I choose the fox doh.gif

Added on June 21, 2011, 4:41 pmBy the way Sweet Pez, you really made my day.

This post has been edited by faceless: Jun 21 2011, 04:41 PM
faceless
post Jul 5 2011, 08:50 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ Jul 4 2011, 12:40 PM)
issit ok to go for job interview wearing a shirt that represent ur previous company ??

NO, because some people will think as below.
QUOTE(imyourlimbeh @ Jul 4 2011, 02:25 PM)
why you want to wear the company shirt? is it make you higher chance to get the job? or you have nth else to wear?  brows.gif
QUOTE(mkaz @ Jul 4 2011, 03:25 PM)
its not really a competitor .. diff. industry ..  biggrin.gif
idk i just want to wear for no reason ..  tongue.gif

doh.gif and it seems limbeh is right too.

This post has been edited by faceless: Jul 5 2011, 08:51 AM
faceless
post Jul 8 2011, 09:36 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Jul 7 2011, 03:16 PM)
so no playslip is given.....how to show to the new company.....haiz....

can give EA statement? or BE form?

salary can be calculated by divide the annual income to 12 months....that will be including the bonus and etc....this method acceptable?

For me this carries more weight than the stupid pay slip. I would sight original to authenticate it. Pay slips can be original but forged.

faceless
post Jul 8 2011, 11:41 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Jul 8 2011, 11:14 AM)
To me...show payslip...means the company will judge or offer me based on my current salary....not by my experience, skills and knowledge....

i'm not quite satisfy with my current salary....that y i wan to find a better salary job....and the new company also going to give me back the same salary +mayb 15% increment.....haiz...for what i want to change my job...the salary range is still the same....and i need to suit myself into the new working environment....plus....i'm happy working in my current company...only not happy with the salary...

any comment?

You keep trying to jump for your 120% increase. If you cannot get it then accept that that is you market rate. If you dont like it then try to jump for a promotion. Before doing that assess your ability to for a promotion. If you think you can be promoted try it when there are vacancies available.

faceless
post Jul 8 2011, 12:07 PM

4,515 posts

August, what if they say no payslip no interview? Then you would have made a trip for nothing.
faceless
post Jul 12 2011, 11:25 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jul 8 2011, 01:54 PM)
I got one question:
EA statement or BE form both show our percentage of EPF or income tax charged per month or per year, if interviewer wants, he/she can really go and calculate and can estimate how much is our salary per month also.

So there is no difference if you show your pay slip or not.

If you dont want to furnish documents that reveals your pay, that is your prerogative. If they dont want to interview you without these documentation it is their prerogative too.
faceless
post Jul 14 2011, 04:07 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Jul 14 2011, 03:21 PM)
anyone here know that if 1 day...the company that we went to interview hired us...do they able to check our previous emploment epf contribution?

You can check it yourself. Those days employers can check. I am not sure if they can still do it because people are now more aware of privacy issue.

faceless
post Sep 14 2011, 02:33 PM

4,515 posts

Siew,
Unless you have attended more than 100 meetings you are still a novice when it comes to interviews. A novice should never take an interview without sufficient time to prepare for it.
Yes, you can postpone the interview. Assume they interview someone else on the day they plan to interview you. Assume also that they decided to hire that person but interview you for they sake of courtesy because they made the appointment. It either case (you postpone or did not postpone interview) the result is the same. You missed out on a job opportunity. But it is better to go prepare than to foul up due to lack of preparation.
faceless
post Sep 26 2011, 12:18 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(edvey @ Sep 23 2011, 12:31 AM)
hi faceless, i would like to clarify on this. i actually did postpone one interview session this week because i wanted to arrange another few up coming interviews on next week, so i dont have to travel to kl just for one session. i did call the hr person and he said will revert back to me. according to what u said, am i actually forsaken my chance on getting the job?

another thing, i remember last time one agent asked me to bring along my current payslip. is it necessary to provide them the payslip when u're not being offered to the job yet? i thought it's PNC. or maybe once got accepted only they will ask to present the original payslip and other docu to be certified.

ps: just wondering how many of you really send a thank you later after the interview? i just dont know how can i ask for the hr person's direct email.
Edvey,
You quoted me out of context. What I said could be true in Siew's case but not necessary in yours. In Siew case the interviewer is super urgent. So, it is likely the interviewer will just take anyone that comes.
QUOTE(siew14 @ Sep 13 2011, 11:03 PM)
FYI, i did pretty bad for the interview.. >.<
nervous, some basic question regarding my syllabus also answer wrong and give not much details...... i wasnt really prepared for the interview, i focus more on the company's product and stuff, and forgot to prepare how to sell my points and also my course syllabus... sigh.....  it was damn last minute, they called me in the evening, and scheduled the interview tomorrow... 
I will not give a copy of my payslip. They can sight if if they want. After hiring me they can have a copy if it is so important that they need to keep a copy.

I never bother to thank the interviewer after the interview. I rather spend the time thinking where I screw up.
faceless
post Oct 21 2011, 11:36 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(cmk96 @ Oct 19 2011, 07:05 PM)
yes... last time i gv them the copy of my cert, pay slip, photo.... everything...waited 1 hour at the lobby...interview started they dun introduce themselves...no idea who i'm talking to... in the end... one simple email also they won't reply me.

as if we go there to feed them with information. now smart already... no more copy of payslip... no photo.. they don't want to hire... so be it.

Yup, everything cost money to you. nod.gif

faceless
post Oct 25 2011, 10:37 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(elv2k @ Oct 22 2011, 12:13 PM)
I see less jobs posting in Jobstreet recently. Probably because employees now waiting for year end bonus before leave?

Yup this is the time people dont jump ship. I also think the economy is slowing down a bit.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:49 PM