Mechanical Keyboard Club V6, For Gamers and Typist Enthusiasts

SUSHuman10
post Jul 11 2012, 03:05 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Jul 11 2012, 12:52 AM)
Ripster, can I throw a challenge to you?
Convert the Poker into a wireless/BT keyboard with as little damage as possible to the stock hardware.
Is it doable? laugh.gif

My poker is itching to be used as a truly pick and go keyboard sad.gif
Actually, the easiest wireless mod board IMPOV is IBM Model M.
Someone in GH did it b4.

What you need is just a old Logitech wireless kb, a Model M and some wires and you are pretty much good to go.

Those two boards are having almost the same matrix layout(except the swap of "-" and "+" on numpad). Thus you only need to fit on the Logitech controller onto Model M and the mod is done.

Added on July 11, 2012, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Jul 11 2012, 12:52 PM)
Anyone can advice me for silent mechanical keyboard? Silent and won't need to press hard. Is there this kind of keyboard available for RM 100? If not, anything within RM 200. RM 250 is the max budget I could push. Tight budget man...
Mechanical kbs(particularly Cherry MX) are not mean for silent.
If you insist, brown switch and black switch(without bottom up) should be the nearest option you have(though they are still far from "silent").

For your budget, importing from China/Taiwan will get you more options/choices and better budget(at the cost of sarificing the warranty though, cause the shipping cost is very very steep). But this also gain you a early pass to modding your boards because no need to fear for lossing warranty... sweat.gif

Those board normally cost below RM200 shipped to Malaysia. brows.gif

If you only consider local options, then I think only Ducky 10xx model, CM Storm Quickfire rapid(tenkeyless kb) and Cherry MX2.0 board fit in your RM250 budget.

Added on July 11, 2012, 3:14 pm
QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Jul 11 2012, 02:54 PM)
How much then the keyboard that you guys thinking? Maybe I can up abit. I'd rather eat maggie mee for 1 month as long can buy good keyboard.  blush.gif
CM Storm Quickfire Rapid is a good choice(cost below RM250 in GS), IF you can accept the following condition:
1. Tenkeyless layout(w/o numpad)
2. Overbranding(having awkward amount of CM logo on the board...)
3. Rubber coating on the board(subject to wear and stain as you use, may even become sticky after a long term usage).

This post has been edited by Human10: Jul 11 2012, 03:15 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jul 11 2012, 06:50 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Jul 11 2012, 03:54 PM)
So, how to import etc? I do gaming and typing. I think typing most of the time. I prefer keyboard with numpad since I also do office work. And what does steep shipping cost? Expensive? Actually, I can buy from e-bay or newegg and import for free. There is one person provide this kind of service at LYN. And still need to modding the keyboard? Modding for what exactly? Where can I read all these? Currently reading about switches at thread V4 and some associate link but still blur. Sorry ask too much. Hehe...
Import from China we normally talking about Taobao(use those taobao agent in service noticeboard subforum).
Import from Taiwan we consider global.PChome(cheapest shipping cost). If you need more choice, you can try Inpad and also armygroup too, but the shipping need to specially email/notify them as they don't normally ship globally.

Some of us here also importing kb stuffs from US sites like elitekeyboard or WASDkeyboard.
For UNICOMP stuffs, try ask for more details from epicguru as he deal with the site most often among us.

Added on July 11, 2012, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(melvintcs @ Jul 11 2012, 04:44 PM)

Added on July 11, 2012, 4:45 pm
got any link from taobao? i cant find any sad.gif
I guess those pokers are made by SP from US? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Jul 11 2012, 06:52 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jul 11 2012, 09:19 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Jul 11 2012, 06:55 PM)
btw, are there any aftermarket ps2 to usb converter?

my converter broke yesterday, luckily i have spare... just another reminder of why I didnt want to use converter in the first place >"<

I wonder if there's L shaped converter hmmm
You want make PS2 connection to USB? hmm.gif
AFAIK, you can only find this(if available) in Malaysia.

The performance of it is quite limited. You can't hold more than 2keys stroke at the same time... rolleyes.gif and not compatible with all kbs.

Ppl at GH mostly recommending the "blue cube" and Belkin branded one(cost over 30USD, 2nd hand in TB cost around RM10).
SUSHuman10
post Jul 12 2012, 03:48 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Jul 11 2012, 10:47 PM)
its like this... i was cleaning my table when i decided to move it out abit. my desktop is placed on the floor, so the back of the table hit the cables, and the metal part of the converter literally bend. all the connections went loose, and now i put back also no signal tongue.gif

i leave only few cm of spaces in between the back of the table and my desktop...
Oh, that thing. It is quite cheap but also hard to find locally AFAIK... sweat.gif

It is mostly bundled together with some keyboard. So your worse choice is to buy another cheapo keyboard, LOL...
SUSHuman10
post Jul 12 2012, 01:08 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jul 12 2012, 11:48 AM)
Gold plated connectors for keyboards are overrated.
Other than making you feel good, it has no benefits whatsoever.

Anyhoo, you can get these converters for cheap via eBay, no need to order them via Taobao, and then order a bunch of keyboards together with that to justify the shipping cost  tongue.gif
Remind me of this
SUSHuman10
post Jul 13 2012, 04:08 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(zongeva @ Jul 13 2012, 02:00 PM)
wait I thought ducky 100X series uses ALPS switch, not Cherry MX?

by the way, I am thinking to get my hands on Filco MJ2 Camo blue switch ._.
10xx is cherry switch, but not sure if local distributor still carry them as the sale of it isn't too good

10xx XM is alps switch.
SUSHuman10
post Jul 21 2012, 04:10 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(SetsunaFSeiei Exia00 @ Jul 21 2012, 03:53 AM)
Hmm, will there be a second time group buy for the Sanctuary kit? Cause right now no money liao.
The chance will be very very low. Because normally they don't simply GB back exactly the same layout/design.

Also the price may be even higher in future judging from the trend of higher and higher price by Signature Plastic... sweat.gif

Added on July 21, 2012, 4:12 am
QUOTE(mikko2 @ Jul 21 2012, 02:08 AM)
my new Ducky Shine 9008s used 2 days and now my space bar have squeaks noise. The brown switch no noise... maybe Need put oil at metal wire there?? xD what should i do...new to keyboard.
Try remove and reseat the spacebar and see it helps.

If not, you may try to lube the stabilizing switch & metal wire.

The worse case is RMA it. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Jul 21 2012, 04:12 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jul 21 2012, 01:29 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jul 21 2012, 01:06 PM)
So it truly exist hmm.gif I never thought that this mecha keyboard need a lubing. Can I use WD-40?
As you stated, it is mechanical keyboard, which having mechanical parts.

You need some lube to keep it smooth.

IIRC, those switch came lubed(the inside) by default. Thats why the feel of switch will change after you disassemble and wash them.
SUSHuman10
post Jul 26 2012, 03:45 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(MrAhLim @ Jul 25 2012, 10:58 PM)
feeling weird now..becoz my bro say my ducky shine kb consume lots of electric current..lol  rclxub.gif
Your bro sounds like a trolll, LOL...

I guess that it won't consume too much power even using ps/2 or USB as the maximum power supply of both of them are pretty low compared to your whole rigs.

I believe any GPU/CPU will consume more electric than your keyboard.
SUSHuman10
post Jul 28 2012, 09:54 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 28 2012, 12:21 PM)
engraved will be like the symbols will be "tenggelam" inside, and you can feel the carvings on the keycaps, thats why i pick laser etched

Added on July 28, 2012, 4:44 pmanyone want join me in taking this?
i get quote of rm216.50 for one, from taobao agent
The keycool 84 is BL kb? Why a little pricy compare to their TKL(stop doing my research for few months already sweat.gif ).

Added on July 28, 2012, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(IntensiveBytes @ Jul 28 2012, 07:27 PM)
I wanna get a Razer BlackWidow.. first mechanical keyboard I'm buying.
I've used it at a friend's place before, and I always type the wrong keys since the placing of the keys are like, a bit different.
To those of you who use the Razer BlackWidow, can give me a short few sentence review of it? tongue.gif
Like you experienced, the layout is a little odd compared to what we normally faced. Another reason may be cause you first shift/experiencing mechanical keyboard, thus the typo. Those macro keys on the left may also cause you press the wrong key. But you will get used to them in a week or two.

When I first owned it around a year+ back, the QC is indeed sucks and the keyboard is not well-built. Not sure if newer batches had those problem solved.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jul 28 2012, 09:58 PM
SUSHuman10
post Jul 28 2012, 10:57 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Jul 28 2012, 10:54 PM)
sure bro coz its made in Taiwan, under/designed by japan
Fixed.
SUSHuman10
post Jul 29 2012, 11:37 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kid.itech @ Jul 29 2012, 12:12 AM)
Got myself and friends 4 units of KC87 MX Red. Its on some plane now  hmm.gif  will post some feedbacks after i try it out.

Btw anyone here know where to get : This? at the cheaper price and 87keys.
Erm, FYI, most PBT, metal or dye-sub keycaps you found in ebay are actually China/HK reseller or westerner which got those stuffs from China(taobao).

In other words, it should be cheaper if you get them directly from Taobao.

Added on July 29, 2012, 11:43 am
QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jul 29 2012, 04:05 AM)

Anyone using this? It's like the cheapest MK I found on tb laugh.gif
It is using Kai Hua switch(a switch cloning the design of Cherry MX). The quality of the switch itself is a doubt... sweat.gif

The original board is Rapoo V7 and then rebranded into M1 and then then board in your picture.

Rapoo V7 should be the best board among them if you plan to get one as it come with programmable at hardware level. You can get some fun to swap off all those clone switch into Cherry MX if you want.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jul 29 2012, 11:43 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jul 30 2012, 01:08 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(rao2100 @ Jul 30 2012, 12:23 AM)
Have you guys heard of this one?

Pretty cheap for the features.

http://www.amazon.com/Tesoro-Durandal-Ulti...5?s=electronics
Suspected to be a clone of Razer BWU, IOW same OEM as BWU, that is by iOne.

If you desperately need it(in ANSI layout), you can get them from Taiwan/China(taobao).
SUSHuman10
post Aug 3 2012, 01:08 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Aug 2 2012, 10:51 PM)

Pics from KBDMania

Looks a bit underwhelming  sad.gif
You need a white/red/grey/metal color keyboard to increase the effect. brows.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Aug 3 2012, 01:08 AM
SUSHuman10
post Aug 3 2012, 03:35 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(BennyBaka @ Aug 2 2012, 11:50 PM)
hihi. anyone knows where to find custom keycaps shop in kl or locally online? smile.gif
If you insist on locally, wait & seek if any Group Buy is carry on around here.
SUSHuman10
post Aug 3 2012, 02:59 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(zeromafia @ Aug 3 2012, 02:48 PM)
what price for filco TKL?
i cannot find any filco TKL
selling. only filco majestouch.
Go for CM Storm Quickfire Rapid then.

Technically it is a clone/brother of Filco as they came from same mother(OEM) - Costar.

It is cheaper and pack more features but came at the price of (serious) overbranding. rolleyes.gif
SUSHuman10
post Aug 3 2012, 04:31 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(zeromafia @ Aug 3 2012, 03:14 PM)
Well cm storm quickfire rapid is
almost 300. my budget is 200 or less.
maybe i need to fund more smile.gif
200 or less you simply can't find any option locally. You need to go for those boards from China(some are as good and promising as those branded boards).

BTW, some dealers in GS sell CM Storm at around RM220 last time. The RM300 is the SRP.
SUSHuman10
post Aug 3 2012, 05:17 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Aug 3 2012, 05:09 PM)
or Rm219 for a Cherry MK3800
IIRC, someone here posted a picture that ALL IT/Viewnet priced it at RM249. sweat.gif
SUSHuman10
post Aug 3 2012, 11:16 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kid.itech @ Aug 3 2012, 10:19 PM)
Wah, Keycool redesigned their packaging, now it look much classier than the previous one...

Also, they fixed the old fugly cursor legends... rolleyes.gif
SUSHuman10
post Aug 4 2012, 01:42 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(kaysa @ Aug 3 2012, 11:19 PM)
Box is the least of my concern of a keyboard....

Human10, do you know the new 87 backlit keyboard from Keycool,
how does the spacebar go?
is it same design with the Leopold FC500R series? or 200R series?
No idea. Had not visit those China forums for months already, LOL... sweat.gif

The last that I can recall on it's prototype(around June), it use the new(common/Filco/Ducky compatible) standard of spacebar spacing.

May be you can ask the guy who just got his KC(non-BL) to check if they also change the spacebar for non-BL version.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0561sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:15 AM